Superfast helicopters: will Russia break ahead?


Racing with the laws of physics


Despite their somewhat extravagant appearance, helicopters are actually more conservative than their winged “brothers” - planes. Of course, revolutions did occur in the world of helicopter manufacturing, but they were not as frequent as in the world of "large" aviation (which is just the transition from propeller to jet aircraft). Even if we look at the screw machines of the last decades, we will see that the differences between them are much smaller than the similarities. The changes that were introduced concerned mainly on-board electronics and the use of new composite materials in the design. We can say that stealthTechnology Helicopter world passed by: in contrast to the same fifth-generation fighters, rotorcraft do not need cardinal stealth, and besides, any stealth is a very expensive “toy”. In the case of helicopters, technology risks making them too expensive.

The military and civilian helicopters that exist now have reached, one might say, the pinnacles of their evolution. This, however, does not mean that they have no shortcomings. One example is increased fuel consumption (specific fuel consumption). As a result, a higher flight cost per passenger-kilometer or unit mass of the transported cargo, in comparison with airplanes. Roughly speaking, helicopters seem economicalbut they are not. Another problem closely related to the first is the relatively low speed. Alas, the laws of aerodynamics are such that to make a "classic" rotorcraft much faster, without changing its concept, will fail. The newest Russian Mi-38 has a maximum speed of 320 km / h, and cruising - 295 km / h. This is a lot by the standards of helicopters, however, as you can easily see, the difference is not so great when compared with the Soviet-era rotorcraft. For a number of versions of the Mi-8, the maximum speed could reach 260 km / h. By the way, the new American convertiplane Bell V-22 Osprey, with all its drawbacks, such as complexity, unreliability and high cost, can develop 565 km / h. Feel the difference, as they say.


Bell V-22 Osprey

However, the concern of domestic experts is not the exotic Osprey, but the fundamentally new creations of Europe and the USA. We are talking about helicopters equipped in the appendage to the rotor with a pushing screw or, for example, two pulling screws. That is, we are talking about "helicopter-planes", but not as complex and moody as the V-22 tiltrotor. These include the Sikorsky S-97 Raider, an American military intelligence officer, who received a coaxial rotor design uncharacteristic of the American aircraft industry, as well as one pushing screw at the rear of the fuselage.


Sikorsky S-97 Raider

Another example is the “peaceful” European Eurocopter X3, which was equipped with additional pulling propellers on the sides. The car looks a little ridiculous, but this does not negate the fact that it can fly at a speed of almost 500 km / h! No other helicopter is capable of this. And even more so, built in the framework of the classical scheme. The X3 itself is experimental and it won’t go into production. However, based on the experience gained, Airbus wants to build a hybrid Racer: conceptually similar, but having propellers not of a pulling, but of a pushing type.


Eurocopter X3

However, it is not enough just to “attach” one additional screw to make the helicopter faster. “At maximum flight speed, the tip of the“ advancing ”blade approaches a sound barrier, and the effect of a“ wave crisis ”arises on it - the drag increases sharply. On the "retreating" blade increases the area of ​​the reverse flow. The swing movements of the blades become more intense, and it reaches supercritical angles of attack. There is a "stall", and the car loses control. Pilots call this phenomenon “felling”, ”says Vyacheslav Poluyakhtov, associate professor at the Department of Aerodynamics and Flight Dynamics of the Syzransky VVAUL (now a branch of the Air Force Research Center VVAS). This is only part of the problems and contradictions.

Superfast helicopters: will Russia break ahead?


“Hey, come on, man, with a breeze ...”

In Russia, affairs with high-speed helicopters are, frankly, bad. The only thing that exists in iron is a somewhat strange flying laboratory, performed as part of the PSV (Perspective High-Speed ​​Helicopter) program. It was created on the basis of the Mi-24K and is referred to in a number of sources as a “demonstrator of a promising high-speed helicopter." But it sounds a little too ambitious. In fact, the car is simply “licked” by the Mi-24 (the original cockpit light is noteworthy) and does not pretend to act as a base for a technological breakthrough. In the presented form, the helicopter, of course, will not go into the series either. Yes, and this is not necessary: ​​the Mi-24 has long been outdated as a base for promising machines of the future. “The main goal of the project is to create a scientific and technical reserve for increasing the flight speed of helicopters by 1,5 times in comparison with serial machines that are currently produced,” the Russian Helicopters said in a statement. By the way, almost nothing is heard about the work under the PSV. Back in 2015, they reported the first flight of a flying laboratory. The project was then often referred to in the context of future plans. On this, in general, that's all. Now they expect that the development work on the creation of the Promising high-speed helicopter should be completed in about 2020. But postponements are possible, as is often the case with complex and revolutionary developments.


Mi-24LL PSV

To summarize. Russia has not abandoned high-speed helicopters, although now it is only taking its first steps in this direction. Previously, several similar machines were immediately shown as models of future high-speed helicopters:

- Miles Mi-1X;
- Kamov Ka-92;
- Kamov Ka-90

The first two are multi-purpose helicopters, which, in addition to the rotor (on the Ka-92 it is coaxial), received a pushing screw. It is very similar purely conceptually to the American S-97. With the difference that the latter exists in reality. And flies for a long time.


The most original, we can say - fantastic - version looks Ka-90. For the first time, the helicopter concept model was presented during the HeliRussia 2008 international exhibition, which was held at the Crocus Expo center (other models of high-speed helicopters were shown there). This is a jet helicopter project, which, according to calculations, should develop a speed of 800 km / h, which is absolutely prohibitive for rotorcraft. The concept looks like this: when taking off, the helicopter rises from the ground with the help of hard and shortened propellers. Then he picks up speed of 400 km / h, after which the pilot turns on the turbojet dual-circuit engine, which accelerates the device to 700-800 km / h. The screw, in turn, folds into a case on the "back" of the helicopter.

If you have experienced deja vu now, do not be surprised. A similar apparatus was present in the American science fiction film "6th Day." Perhaps it was from there that those who proposed building the Ka-90 model drew inspiration. Seriously speaking, given the current state of affairs in the economy, it is naive to count on the rapid creation in Russia of a high-speed helicopter (especially such as the Ka-90). In this regard, the example of a long and painful bringing to mind the already mentioned Mi-38, which made its first flight now back in 2003, is very revealing. Recall that the machine still exists only in the form of several prototypes. This is despite the fact that we are facing one of the most priority projects of modern Russian helicopter industry.


Ka-90

If you look more broadly, it should be noted that the concept of a high-speed helicopter, as such, only has to prove its potential by the example of American or European novelties. To challenge the classic rotorcraft, they must be not only fast, but also reliable and economical. And to achieve all this at the same time will be very difficult.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: www.depositphotos.com
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 3 September 2018 18: 30
    +1
    The main thing is that the work does not stop and the funding is constant. Then the result will be.

Сверхбыстрые вертолеты: вырвется ли Россия вперед?


Наперегонки с законами физики

Несмотря на свой несколько экстравагантный вид, вертолеты, на самом деле, более консервативны, нежели их крылатые «братья» — самолеты. В мире вертолетостроения революции, конечно, случались, но они не были столь частыми, как в мире «большой» авиации (один только переход от винтовых к реактивным самолетам чего стоит). Даже если мы посмотрим на винтовые машины последних десятилетий, то увидим, что различий между ними намного меньше, чем сходств. Изменения, которые вносились, касались, в основном, бортовой электроники и применения в конструкции новых композитных материалов. Можно сказать, что стелс-технологии прошли стороной вертолетный мир: в отличие от тех же истребителей пятого поколения, кардинальная малозаметность винтокрылым машинам не нужна, а кроме того, любой стелс — очень дорогая «игрушка». В случае с вертолетами технология рискует сделать их чересчур дорогими.



Военные и гражданские вертолеты, которые есть сейчас, достигли, можно сказать, вершины своей эволюции. Это, впрочем, не означает, что у них нет недостатков. Один из примеров — повышенный расход горючего (удельный расход топлива). Как следствие, более высокая стоимость полета в расчете на пассажиро-километр или единицу массы перевозимого груза, в сравнении с самолетами. Грубо говоря, вертолеты кажутся экономичными, но таковыми не являются. Другая проблема, тесно связанная с первой — это относительно небольшая скорость. Увы, законы аэродинамики таковы, что сделать «классическую» винтокрылую машину намного быстрей, не изменив ее концепцию, не выйдет. У новейшего российского Ми-38 максимальная скорость составляет 320 км/ч, а крейсерская — 295 км/ч. Это много, по меркам вертолетов, однако, как несложно заметить, разница не столь велика, если сравнивать с винтокрылыми машинами советской эпохи. У ряда версий Ми-8 максимальная скорость могла достигать 260 км/ч. К слову, новый американский конвертоплан Bell V-22 Osprey, при всех его недостатках, таких как сложность, ненадежность и дороговизна, может развивать 565 км/ч. Почувствуйте, как говорится, разницу.


Bell V-22 Osprey

Впрочем, беспокойство у отечественных экспертов вызывает не экзотичный «Оспри», а принципиально новые творения Европы и США. Речь идет о вертолетах, снабженных в довесок к несущему винту толкающим винтом или, например, двумя тянущими винтами. То есть, речь идет о «вертолето-самолетах», но не таких сложных и капризных, как конвертоплан V-22. К их числу можно отнести американский военный разведчик Sikorsky S-97 Raider, который получил нехарактерную для американского авиастроения соосную схему несущих винтов, а также один толкающий винт в задней части фюзеляжа.


Sikorsky S-97 Raider

Другой пример — «мирный» европейский Eurocopter X3, который снабдили дополнительными тянущими пропеллерами по бокам. Машина смотрится несколько нелепо, однако это не отменяет того факта, что она может летать со скоростью почти 500 км/ч! Ни один другой вертолет на такое способен. И уже тем более, построенный в рамках классической схемы. Сам X3 экспериментальный и в серию он не пойдет. Однако на основе полученного опыта Airbus хочет построить гибридный Racer: концептуально похожий, но имеющий винты не тянущего, а толкающего типа.


Eurocopter X3

Впрочем, недостаточно просто «прицепить» один дополнительный винт, чтобы сделать вертолет быстрее. «На максимальной скорости полета кончик "наступающей" лопасти приближается к звуковому барьеру, и на нем возникает эффект "волнового кризиса" — резко возрастает лобовое сопротивление. На "отступающей" лопасти увеличивается зона обратного обтекания. Маховые движения лопастей становятся более интенсивными, и она выходит на закритические углы атаки. Возникает "срыв потока", и машина теряет управление. Летчики называют это явление "валежка"», — говорит доцент кафедры аэродинамики и динамики полета Сызранского ВВАУЛ (ныне филиал ВУНЦ ВВС «ВВА») Вячеслав Полуяхтов. Это только часть проблем и противоречий.

Сверхбыстрые вертолеты: вырвется ли Россия вперед?


«Эй, гони-ка, парень, с ветерком…»

У России дела со скоростными вертолетами обстоят, откровенно говоря, плохо. Единственное, что существует в железе — несколько странная летающая лаборатория, выполненная в рамках программы ПСВ (Перспективный скоростной вертолет). Ее создали на базе Ми-24К и в ряде источников упоминают как «демонстратор перспективного скоростного вертолета». Но это звучит как-то чересчур амбициозно. По сути, машина является просто «вылизанным» Ми-24 (обращает на себя внимание оригинальный фонарь кабины) и не претендует на то, чтобы выступать в качестве базы для технологического прорыва. В представленном виде в серию вертолет тоже, конечно, не пойдет. Да и не нужно это: Ми-24 давно устарел как база для перспективных машин будущего. «Основная цель проекта — создание научно-технического задела для увеличения скорости полета вертолетов в 1,5 раза по сравнению с серийными машинами, которые выпускаются в настоящее время», — заявили в холдинге «Вертолеты России». К слову, о работах в рамках ПСВ сейчас почти ничего не слышно. Еще в 2015-м сообщили о первом полете летающей лаборатории. Затем проект часто упоминали в контексте планов на будущее. На этом, в общем-то, всё. Сейчас ожидают, что опытно-конструкторские работы по созданию Перспективного скоростного вертолета должны завершиться примерно в 2020 году. Но возможны переносы сроков, как это часто бывает со сложными и революционными разработками.


Ми-24ЛЛ ПСВ

Подытожим. Россия не отказалась от скоростных вертолетов, хотя сейчас делает лишь первые шаги в этом направлении. Ранее в качестве моделей скоростных вертолетов будущего показали сразу несколько подобных машин:

– Миль Ми-1X;
– Камов Ка-92;
– Камов Ка-90

Первые два представляют собой многоцелевые вертолеты, которые в довесок к несущему винту (у Ка-92 он соосный) получили винт толкающий. Это очень похоже чисто концептуально на американский S-97. С той разницей, что последний существует в реальности. И давно летает.


Самым же оригинальным, можно сказать — фантастическим — вариантом выглядит Ка-90. Впервые концепт-модель вертолета представили во время международной выставки «HeliRussia 2008», которая состоялась в центре «Крокус Экспо» (другие макеты скоростных вертолетов показали там же). Это проект реактивного вертолета, который согласно расчетам, должен развивать совершенно запредельную как для винтокрылых машин скорость в 800 км/ч. Концепция выглядит так: при взлете вертолет поднимается с земли с помощью жестких и укороченных винтов. Потом он набирает скорость 400 км/ч, после чего летчик включает турбореактивный двухконтурный двигатель, разгоняющий аппарат до 700—800 км/ч. Винт, в свою очередь, складываются в футляре на «спине» вертолета.

Если вы сейчас испытали дежавю, не удивляйтесь. Похожий аппарат присутствовал в американском фантастическом фильме «6-й день». Возможно, именно оттуда черпали вдохновение те, кто предложил построить модель Ка-90. Если же говорить серьезно, то при текущем положении дел в экономике рассчитывать на быстрое создание в России скоростного вертолета (особенно, такого как Ка-90) наивно. В этой связи весьма показателен пример долгого и мучительного доведения до ума уже упомянутого Ми-38, совершившего первый полет теперь уже в далеком 2003 году. Напомним, что машина до сих пор существует лишь в виде нескольких опытных образцов. Это при том, что перед нами один из самых приоритетных проектов современного российского вертолетостроения.


Ка-90

Если же посмотреть шире, нужно заметить, что концепции скоростного вертолета, как таковой, только предстоит доказать свой потенциал на примере американских или европейских новинок. Чтобы бросить вызов классическим винтокрылым машинам, они должны быть не просто быстрым, но также еще и надежным и экономичным. А добиться все этого одновременно будет очень тяжело.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: www.depositphotos.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 3 сентября 2018 18:30
    +1
    Главное чтобы работы не прекращались и финансирование постоянным было. Тогда и результат будет.