Bolivian lithium mountains: where can Russia get a strategic resource

Bolivia, one of the poorest countries, ranks second in the world in mineral reserves needed for electric vehicles. Manufacturers of electronics and car batteries need the lithium “mountains” located here. Its largest reserves are concentrated on the territory of the dried salt lake Uyuni, located in the south of the country.



Soil loading with lithium, Uyuni, Bolivia


From above, this vast area appears so white that it is mistaken for a gigantic snow plain. Salt crystallizes in the dry season, forming millions of tile hexagons that occupy an area larger than Connecticut.

The Bolivian government seeks to exploit global hunger for lithium. Its ultimate goal is to turn the country into one of the main manufacturers of batteries, without which the rapidly growing fleet of electric vehicles will not do.

Bolivia will become an important player in the global lithium market within four or five years. And we do not plan to dwell on this

- said Juan Carlos Motenegro, head of the state-owned company YLB.


"Mountains" of lithium, Uyuni, Bolivia


Initially, the authorities sought to establish production on their own. However, as a result, only 250 tons of lithium carbonate were released this year. At the same time, according to the adopted plans, it is planned to increase production to 150 thousand tons within five years, which, according to forecasts, will amount to about 20% of the global volume.

Currently, lithium is mined mainly in Australia, Chile and Argentina. Bolivia has about 9 million tons of reserves that have never been mined on a commercial scale. Western investors are frightened by the position of authorities who intend to see a "lithium Toyota made in Bolivia."


Evaporative Pools in San Pedro de Atacama, Chile


President Evo Morales nationalized hydrocarbons, the main source of income, as well as electricity and telecommunications. He promised "to carry out industrialization with dignity and sovereignty." According to him, “raw” lithium will not be used by foreign corporations; instead, it will be recycled by state-controlled enterprises in Bolivia and here converted into batteries.

Bolivia openly poses a risk compared to other parts of the world for investment in lithium

- believes Chris Berry, an analyst and founder of the research firm House Mountain Partners LLC.


Uyuni, Bolivia


Perhaps this explains the active contacts with the Russian leadership. Investments from the Russian Federation amid demanding Western investors are stable, with soft lending conditions, and taking into account national interests. In June, Morales met in Moscow with his colleague Vladimir Putin. Then a negotiation process was launched regarding Russia's participation in the development of lithium deposits.

Gazprom is not the only company that shows interest in working in your country. There is interest in the field of electric power, engineering, and in some high-tech sectors.

- Putin said following a meeting held on November 23.

If the parties manage to agree, then Russia can get a reliable supplier of both lithium and its products. Moreover, the innovative industry, the development of which the Russian authorities are actively involved, cannot do without it.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 December 2018 08: 48
    +1
    No matter how it happened, as always, as with Rusnano ...

Горы боливийского лития: где России взять стратегический ресурс

Боливия, одна из беднейших стран, занимает второе место в мире по запасам минералов, необходимых для электромобилей. В расположенных здесь «горах» лития нуждаются производители электроники и автомобильных аккумуляторов. Его наибольшие запасы сконцентрированы на территории высохшего соляного озера Уюни, расположенного на юге страны.


Погрузка грунта с литием, Уюни, Боливия




Сверху эта обширная область кажется такой белой, что она ошибочно принимается за гигантскую снежную равнину. Соль кристаллизуется в сухое время года, образуя миллионы плитчатых шестиугольников, которые занимают площадь, большую, чем Коннектикут.

Боливийское правительство стремится использовать глобальный голод на литий. Его конечная цель – превратить страну в одного из основных производителей батарей, без которых не обойдется стремительно растущий парк электромобилей.

Боливия станет важным действующим лицом на мировом рынке лития в течение четырех или пяти лет. И мы не планируем останавливаться на этом

- заявил Хуан Карлос Мотенегро, глава госкомпании YLB.


"Горы" лития, Уюни, Боливия


Первоначально власти стремились наладить производство собственными силами. Однако в итоге в текущем году удалось выпустить лишь 250 тонн карбоната лития. При этом, согласно принятым планам, в течение пяти лет предполагается увеличить производство до 150 тыс. т, что составит, согласно прогнозам, примерно 20% мирового объема.

В настоящее время литий добывается, главным образом, в Австралии, Чили и Аргентине. В Боливии имеется около 9 млн. т запасов, которые никогда не добывались в коммерческом масштабе. Западных инвесторов отпугивает позиция властей, которые намерены увидеть «литиевую Toyota, изготовленную в Боливии».


Испарительные бассейны в Сан-Педро-де-Атакама, Чили


Президент Эво Моралес национализировал углеводороды, основной источник дохода, а также электроэнергетику и телекоммуникации. Он пообещал «проводить индустриализацию с достоинством и суверенитетом». С его слов, «сырой» литий не будет использоваться иностранными корпорациями; вместо этого он будет перерабатываться контролируемыми государством предприятия в Боливии и здесь же превращаться в аккумуляторы.

Боливия откровенно представляет риск в сравнении с другими частями мира для инвестиций в литий

- полагает Крис Берри, аналитик и основатель исследовательской фирмы House Mountain Partners LLC.


Уюни, Боливия


Возможно, что этим объясняются активные контакты с российским руководством. Вложения из РФ на фоне требовательных западных инвесторов отличаются стабильностью, мягкими условиями кредитования, учетом национальных интересов. В июне Моралес встречался в Москве со своим коллегой Владимиром Путиным. Тогда был запущен переговорный процесс касательно участия России в разработке месторождений лития.

«Газпром» не единственная компания, которая проявляет интерес к работе в вашей стране. Здесь есть интерес и в области электроэнергетики, машиностроения, в некоторых высокотехнологичных секторах

- заявил Путин по итогам встречи, состоявшейся уже 23 ноября.

Если сторонам удастся договориться, то Россия может получить надежного поставщика как лития, так и изделий из него. Тем более, что без него не сможет обойтись инновационная индустрия, развитием которой активно занимаются российские власти.
Автор: Евгений Люшилин
Использованы фотографии: https://www.bloomberg.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 5 декабря 2018 08:48
    +1
    Как бы не получилось как всегда, как с Роснано...