Virgin Orbit Reveals Launch Vehicle Reset Test

The American company Virgin Orbit successfully conducted the first flight tests of its Cosmic Girl aircraft, including the launch of the LauncherOne launcher. Prior to this, the device took to the air at the end of 2018 with a mass-scale model of the aforementioned missile on board.




It is worth noting that Cosmic Girl is not a specialized aircraft. The device is based on the passenger airliner Boeing 747-400. Under the left wing of the aircraft, next to the engine, they placed a pylon for mounting a rocket, which, after reaching a height of about 10 km, is separated from its “winged carrier” and continues to rise through its own engine.

It is worth noting that the launch of missiles from an airplane has several advantages over launches from ground-based spaceports and water platforms. So, due to the fact that the rocket does not have to independently overcome the lower layers of the atmosphere, the aerodynamic load is reduced, which in turn saves fuel. In addition, when starting from a great height, there are no sharp fluctuations in pressure, on which the efficiency of rocket engines directly depends.



In recent tests, Virgin Orbit used a full-fledged LauncherOne rocket, to simulate fuel filled with water and antifreeze. After being disconnected from the aircraft, the carrier crashed at the Edwards Air Force Base. In turn, the crew of the aircraft reported that the separation of the apparatus was normal.

Now the developers have to conduct a thorough analysis of the data received from sensors installed on LauncherOne. A full-fledged launch of a rocket through Cosmic Girl, followed by orbit, may take place at the end of this year.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Virgin Orbit показала испытания сброса ракеты-носителя с самолета

Американская компания Virgin Orbit успешно провела первые летные испытания своего самолета Cosmic Girl, включающие сброс ракеты-носителя LauncherOne. До этого аппарат поднимался в воздух в конце 2018 года с массогабаритным макетом вышеупомянутой ракеты на борту.





Стоит отметить, что Cosmic Girl не является специализированным самолетом. Аппарат создан на основе пассажирского лайнера Boeing 747-400. Под левым крылом летательного средства, рядом с двигателем, разместили пилон для крепления ракеты, которая после выхода на высоту около 10 км отделяется от своего «крылатого носителя» и продолжает подъем посредством собственного двигателя.

Стоит отметить, что запуск ракет с самолета имеет ряд преимуществ перед стартами с наземных космодромов и водных платформ. Так, благодаря тому, что ракете не приходится самостоятельно преодолевать нижние слои атмосферы, снижается аэродинамическая нагрузка, что в свою очередь позволяет сэкономить топливо. Кроме того, при старте с большой высоты отсутствуют резкие колебания давления, от которых напрямую зависит эффективность работы ракетных двигателей.



В ходе недавних испытаний, Virgin Orbit использовала полноценную ракету LauncherOne, с целью имитации топлива заправленную водой и антифризом. После отсоединения от самолета носитель упал на территории авиабазы ВВС США «Эдвардс». В свою очередь, экипаж летательного средства доложил о том, что отделение аппарата прошло в штатном режиме.

Теперь разработчикам предстоит провести тщательный анализ данных, полученных с датчиков, установленных на LauncherOne. Полноценный запуск ракеты посредством Cosmic Girl с последующим выходом на орбиту может состояться уже в конце текущего года.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти