In the US, invented the "artificial atmosphere" for Mars

The colonization of Mars continues to excite the minds of scientists from around the world. Leading space agencies are working on transport systems and base projects. However, the main stumbling block is the insufficient atmosphere density of our red neighbor, which is not able to protect people from destructive cosmic radiation.




And now, it seems that the joint efforts of researchers from Harvard, the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the University of Edinburgh, will partially solve the aforementioned problem. In their concept, scientists propose using a special silica-based airgel, which will achieve an atmospheric greenhouse effect and at the same time significantly reduce ultraviolet radiation.

This is a synthetic material, most of which is porous silica used for glass production. Researchers propose building a kind of "greenhouse" on Mars, covered with tiles from a new substance. Thus, on the surface of the red planet it will be possible to create islands with optimal conditions for the existence of living organisms.

In the course of the experiments, the scientists used an experimental setup that maximally simulates natural Martian illumination and a 2 cm thick airgel layer. Light penetrating the material created by the researchers increased the surface temperature by more than 50 ° C, while the level of UV radiation decreased by 60%, and short-wave ultraviolet C (the most harmful for living organisms) - by 99,5%.

Now, after successful laboratory tests, scientists will have to test the created substance under conditions that are most similar to Martian ones. For example, in the Arctic or Atacama Desert (Chile). In addition, specialists have yet to resolve the issue of airgel delivery to the surface of our red neighbor.
  • Photos used: https://chandler.on.ge
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 17 July 2019 16: 54
    +2
    We have a problem - this is Ukraine, and in the USA - Mars has a head clogged. We would first have to solve all the problems on Earth.

    The bottom of the ocean, like the island of Monte Cristo,
    like a star in space.
    There are wealth for the people
    three hundred years is enough
    maybe forever.
  2. Oleg RB Offline Oleg RB
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 17 July 2019 17: 59
    0
    Well done. What else can I say.
  3. Panting Offline Panting
    Panting (Vyacheslav) 19 July 2019 07: 17
    0
    Why return to a burnt house?

В США изобрели «искусственную атмосферу» для Марса

Колонизация Марса продолжает будоражить умы ученых со всего мира. Ведущие космические агентства работают над транспортными системами и проектами баз. Однако главной точкой преткновения является недостаточная плотность атмосферы нашего красного соседа, которая не способна защитить человека от губительного космического излучения.





И вот, похоже, что совместные усилия исследователей из Гарварда, Лаборатории реактивного движения НАСА и Эдинбургского университета, позволят частично решить вышеупомянутую проблему. В своей концепции ученые предлагают использовать специальный аэрогель на основе кремнезема, который позволит добиться атмосферного парникового эффекта и при этом значительно снизить ультрафиолетовое излучение.

Речь идет о синтетическом материале, большую часть которого составляет пористый кремнезем, используемый для производства стекла. Исследователи предлагают построить на Марсе своего рода «теплицы», покрытые черепицей из нового вещества. Таким образом, на поверхности красной планеты удастся создать островки с оптимальными условиями для существования живых организмов.

В ходе проведенных опытов, ученые использовали экспериментальную установку, максимально имитирующую естественное марсианское освещение, и слой аэрогеля толщиной в 2 см. Свет, проникая через созданный исследователями материал, повышал температуру поверхности более чем на 50°C, при этом уровень УФ-излучения снижался на 60%, а коротковолновый ультрафиолет С (наиболее вредный для живых организмов) – на 99,5%.

Теперь, после успешных лабораторных тестов, ученым предстоит провести испытания созданного вещества в условиях, максимально похожих на марсианские. Например, в Арктике или пустыне Атакама (Чили). К тому же, специалистам еще предстоит решить вопрос с доставкой аэрогеля на поверхность нашего красного соседа.
Использованы фотографии: https://chandler.on.ge
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 17 июля 2019 16:54
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    У нас проблема - это Украина, а у США - Марсом голова забита. Нам бы на Земле сперва все проблемы решить.

    Дно океана, как остров Монте-Кристо,
    как в космосе звезда.
    Там богатства для народа,
    хватит лет на триста,
    а может навсегда.
  2. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 17 июля 2019 17:59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Молодцы. Что тут еще сказать.
  3. Пыхота Офлайн
    Пыхота (Вячеслав) 19 июля 2019 07:17
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Зачем возвращаться в сгоревший дом?