American Starhopper caught fire during testing

July 17, during static fire tests of the sixth Raptor engine, built by SpaceX for the promising Starship spaceship, another “anomaly” arose. During the second start of the unit, a fire occurred on the launch pad.




The tests consisted of two stages. The first involved the inclusion of an engine installed on a prototype of the future Starship, called Starhopper, to test its performance. The second test was to raise the ship to a height of 20 meters and perform several side maneuvers.

According to information published by NASASpaceFlight.com, the first part went without any deviations. But during the second launch there was an extensive fire outside the nozzle of the ship. It is likely that the accident occurred due to a malfunction of the fuel system and, as a result, methane leakage. At the same time, the publication suggests that Starhopper did not receive significant damage.


Recall that the Raptor engine, developed by SpaceX Corporation, is today the champion in terms of thrust-weight ratio (T / W 200). The unit is intended for the promising Big Falcon Rocket transport system, where 31 engines will be installed on the reusable first stage (Super Heavy), and 6 engines on the second (Starship). It is assumed that the BFR will be able to put in low Earth orbit up to 150 tons of payload and carry out comfortable transportation of up to 100 people to the moon and Mars. The first Starship and Super Heavy flight is scheduled for 2022.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. v_bueff Offline v_bueff
    v_bueff (Yuri) 18 July 2019 17: 19
    +2
    Mowgli becomes a man.
  2. Oleg RB Offline Oleg RB
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 18 July 2019 18: 07
    -4
    They are lucky that they do not have Putin-Rogozin. Therefore, they will draw conclusions and fix everything.
    It's a shame that we, immigrants from the USSR, all profiled.
    1. pafegosoff Offline pafegosoff
      pafegosoff (Arkhip Pafegosov) 19 July 2019 16: 12
      0
      You - profiled, that's for sure!
      Fukai away ...
    2. shinobi Offline shinobi
      shinobi (Yuri) 16 August 2019 08: 49
      0
      That's when they fly, then you will gloat.
  3. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 18 July 2019 20: 32
    +5
    Yes, even if they all fly to Mars and the Moon, maybe on Earth it will become calmer!
  4. Ygm Offline Ygm
    Ygm (Yuri) 19 July 2019 15: 25
    +1
    It’s too early for Americans to carry people.
  5. pafegosoff Offline pafegosoff
    pafegosoff (Arkhip Pafegosov) 19 July 2019 16: 11
    -1
    Who would have thought? American motor ...
    Or Musk bought parts again in China?
  6. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 16 August 2019 08: 48
    +1
    Well, then they are tests.

Американский Starhopper загорелся во время испытаний

17 июля, в ходе статических огневых испытаний шестого двигателя Raptor, построенного SpaceX для перспективного космического корабля Starship, возникла очередная «аномалия». В процессе второго запуска агрегата произошло возгорание на пусковой площадке.




Испытания состояли из двух этапов. Первый подразумевал включение двигателя, установленного на прототип будущего «Звездолета» под названием Starhopper, для проверки его работоспособности. Второй тест заключался в подъеме корабля на высоту 20 метров и совершении нескольких маневров вбок.

Согласно информации, опубликованной NASASpaceFlight.com, первая часть прошла без каких-либо отклонений. А вот в ходе второго запуска случилось обширное возгорание вне сопла корабля. Вероятно, что авария произошла из-за неисправности топливной системы и, как результат, утечки метана. При этом в издании предполагают, что значительного урона Starhopper не получил.


Напомним, что двигатель Raptor, разработанный корпорацией SpaceX, на сегодняшний день является рекордсменом по тяговооруженности (T/W 200). Агрегат предназначается для перспективной транспортной системы Big Falcon Rocket, где на многоразовую первую ступень (Super Heavy) будет установлен 31 двигатель, а на вторую (Starship) – 6 двигателей. Предполагается, что BFR сможет выводить на околоземную орбиту до 150 тонн полезной нагрузки и осуществлять комфортную транспортировку до 100 человек к Луне и Марсу. Первый полет Starship and Super Heavy запланирован на 2022 год.
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. v_bueff Офлайн v_bueff
    v_bueff (Юрий) 18 июля 2019 17:19
    +2
    Маугли становится мужчиной.
  2. Олег РБ Офлайн Олег РБ
    Олег РБ (Олег) 18 июля 2019 18:07
    -4
    Им повезло, что у них нет Путина - Рогозина. Поэтому сделают выводы и всё исправят.
    Обидно одно, что мы, выходцы из СССР, всё профукали.
    1. pafegosoff Офлайн pafegosoff
      pafegosoff (Архип Пафегосов) 19 июля 2019 16:12
      0
      Ты - профукал, это - точно!
      Фукай подальше...
    2. синоби Онлайн синоби
      синоби (Юрий) 16 августа 2019 08:49
      0
      Вот когда полетят, тогда и злорадствовать будете.
  3. сталевар Онлайн сталевар
    сталевар 18 июля 2019 20:32
    +5
    Да пусть они хоть все на Марс и Луну улетят, может на Земле спокойней станет!
  4. YGM Офлайн YGM
    YGM (Юрий) 19 июля 2019 15:25
    +1
    Рано еще американцам людей возить.
  5. pafegosoff Офлайн pafegosoff
    pafegosoff (Архип Пафегосов) 19 июля 2019 16:11
    -1
    Кто бы мог подумать? Мериканский мотор...
    Или Маск опять в Китае запчасти прикупил?
  6. синоби Онлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 16 августа 2019 08:48
    +1
    Ну на то они и испытания.