Fiery Curse: American Starhopper caught fire again

SpaceX's upcoming Starship seems to be haunted by some kind of “fire curse”. Talks about the tests of 10 days ago, during which there was extensive ignition, did not have time to subside, as the apparatus again failed.




This time, Starhopper had to make a free jump. However, during yesterday’s engine start, another fire occurred in the upper part of the prototype. True, this time, it was not so large-scale, as the automation instantly worked, which stopped the operation of the units. As a result, it was decided to postpone the tests, at least for a day.

Fortunately, Starhopper itself did not receive any damage. In turn, company representatives said that such pads are a common thing when it comes to the early stages of system verification.


Recall that during previous tests, the device had to rise to a height of 20 meters and perform side maneuvers. However, during the second launch, an extensive Ignition, which, as it turned out later, was associated with a methane leak.

In the upcoming tests, the ship also has to make a lift and lateral movements. To implement the latter, maneuverable engines were installed on the prototype, presumably those already used on Falcon 9 accelerators.
  • Photos used: https://www.nasaspaceflight.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Огненное проклятие: американский Starhopper снова загорелся

Похоже, что перспективный космический корабль Starship от компании SpaceX преследует какое-то «огненное проклятие». Не успели еще утихнуть разговоры об испытаниях 10-ти дневной давности, во время которых случилось обширное воспламенение, как аппарат снова постигла неудача.




На этот раз, Starhopper должен был осуществить свободный подскок. Однако во время вчерашнего запуска двигателей в верхней части прототипа произошло очередное возгорание. Правда, на этот раз, оно было не таким масштабным, так как моментально сработала автоматика, остановившая работу агрегатов. В итоге, было решено отложить испытания, как минимум, на сутки.

К счастью, сам Starhopper не получил никаких повреждений. В свою очередь, представители компании заявили, что подобные накладки – это обычное дело, когда речь идет о ранних этапах проверки системы.


Напомним, что во время предыдущих испытаний аппарат должен был подняться на высоту до 20 метров и совершить боковые маневры. Однако во время второго пуска произошло обширное возгорание, которое, как выяснилось позже, было связано с утечкой метана.

В предстоящих тестах кораблю также предстоит совершить подъем и боковые движения. Для осуществления последних, на прототип были установлены маневренные двигатели, предположительно те, которые уже использовались на ускорителях Falcon 9.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.nasaspaceflight.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.