Bolivian Front: Russia joins the race for the “metal of the future”

Whether someone likes it or not, Russia is returning to Latin and South America, gradually strengthening its position there. The Kremlin does not defiantly abandon Venezuela, with its richest oil reserves in the world, despite pressure from Washington, which is quite rude in its view of the entire region as "its backyard." Now on the agenda is such a distant but equally important Bolivia. Here Moscow will have to face the interests of its former metropolis, Spain.




Economic the importance of the South American continent is difficult to overestimate. Its subsoil is rich in iron and copper-porphyry ores, tin and antimony, chromium and manganese, zinc and nickel, other ores of ferrous and non-ferrous metals, platinum, silver and gold, oil and natural gas, precious stones, as well as rare-earth metals and other minerals . Of greatest interest to the Russian Federation are oil and gas deposits in Venezuela, as well as “present and future metal” - lithium.

Rosneft’s multi-billion-dollar Venezuelan projects are well known. And the total amount of investments made by Moscow in Caracas is estimated at about $ 17 billion. The United States, worried about the flights of White Swans near its borders, seriously intends to squeeze out any Russian presence from Venezuela. However, the Kremlin is clearly not ready to backtrack.

No less important for Russia and Bolivia. This state is included in the so-called "Latin American Triangle" along with Argentina and Chile. It is famous for its deposits of lithium salts, the metal necessary for the manufacture of batteries, which are used everywhere - from smartphones to electric vehicles. The “triangle” accounts for 58% of all proven lithium reserves in the world, about 14 million tons.

Chile, and now Argentina, is under the hood of the United States, with its developed high-tech industry. All that remains is Bolivia, where Spain competes with Russia, which is very jealous of its former colonies. But Bolivia itself shows great interest in cooperation with the Russian Federation. Recently, its president, Evo Morales, a representative of the country's indigenous population, flew to Moscow to negotiate with Vladimir Putin.

Gazprom is already participating in the development of Bolivian gas fields. The parties at the highest level agreed on the supply of Russian weapons. More importantly, new joint projects that bring cooperation to a higher level. President Morales allowed only two states to develop lithium, Russia and China, although among those wishing to participate were companies from the USA, Germany, Canada and other countries. A lithium plant should be built in Bolivia, with an estimated investment of $ 900 million.

Even more interesting is the project for the construction in Latin America of the highest altitude nuclear power plant near the city of El Alto. Rosatom was chosen as a partner. In addition to nuclear power plants, the Russian corporation is organizing a joint center for nuclear research in Bolivia of technologies, which rapidly increases the authority and significance of the state in the region, and also strengthens the position of Russia. It is noteworthy that the Spanish publication El Confidencial described the initiative as "atomic delirium." Well, let it remain on Madrid’s conscience.

In the near future, Bolivia will host the next presidential election. The current head of state, Evo Morales, leads the ranks, ahead of his closest rival Carlos Mesu with 37% versus 26%. For Morales, ordinary people in the countryside advocate, for Mesa - "angry townspeople." The implementation of ambitious economic projects can help Morales “add pluses to karma” and become president again.
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Panting Offline Panting
    Panting (Vyacheslav) 26 July 2019 20: 14
    +1
    Stunned by the education zhurnalyug! It turns out there are THREE America: North, South and Latin !!!
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 26 July 2019 21: 51
    +1
    A holy place is never empty.

    If not us, then someone else. Russia has enormous potential, we can crush half the world under ourselves on our own terms. Only we have a lot of parasites in power, it is unlikely to succeed. The Chinese will be quicker.
  3. Port Offline Port
    Port 27 July 2019 09: 44
    0
    Quote: steel maker
    Only we have in the power of parasites a lot.

    Not parasites, but pests of workaholics.
  4. Rusa Offline Rusa
    Rusa 27 July 2019 12: 07
    +1
    Good news.
    In addition, Russia can create a naval base in Venezuela, and China - in Nicaragua.
  5. Anchonsha Offline Anchonsha
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 27 July 2019 16: 28
    +1
    Well, it’s very remarkable that we are strengthening economic relations with Bolivia. The United States and Spain will stand on the sidelines. Only now we need to feel the limits beyond which we do not need to invest there.
  6. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 27 July 2019 21: 38
    +4
    And more specifically?
    There is a suspicion that not Russia is returning to Bolivia, but offshore money is being transferred to Bolivia.
    Whose property, taxes and goods are they?

Боливийский фронт: Россия включается в гонку за «металлом будущего»

Нравится это кому-то или нет, но Россия возвращается в Латинскую и Южную Америку, постепенно укрепляя там свои позиции. Венесуэлу, с ее богатейшими запасами нефти в мире, Кремль демонстративно не бросает, несмотря на давление со стороны Вашингтона, довольно хамски считающего весь регион «своим задним двором». Теперь на повестке дня такая далекая, но столь же важная Боливия. Здесь Москве придется столкнуться с интересами ее бывшей метрополии, Испании.





Экономическое значение южноамериканского континента трудно переоценить. Его недра богаты железными и медно порфировыми рудами, оловом и сурьмой, хромом и марганцем, цинком и никелем, прочими рудами черных и цветных металлов, платиной, серебром и золотом, нефтью и природным газом, драгоценными камнями, а также редкоземельными металлами и другими полезными ископаемыми. Наибольший интерес для Российской Федерации представляют месторождения нефти и газа в Венесуэле, а также «металла настоящего и будущего» - лития.

Про многомиллиардные венесуэльские проекты «Роснефти» хорошо известно. А общий размер инвестиций, сделанных Москвой в Каракас, оценивается в порядка 17 миллиардов долларов. Соединенные Штаты, обеспокоенные полетами «Белых лебедей» возле своих границ, всерьез намерены выдавить любое российское присутствие из Венесуэлы. Однако, Кремль явно не готов идти на попятную.

Не менее важна для России и Боливия. Это государство входит в так называемый «латиноамериканский треугольник» вместе с Аргентиной и Чили. Он знаменит своими месторождениями солей лития, металла, необходимого для изготовления аккумуляторных батарей, которые используются везде – от смартфонов до электромобилей. На «треугольник» приходится 58% всех разведанных запасов лития в мире, порядка 14 миллионов тонн.

Чили, и теперь Аргентина, находятся под колпаком США, с их развитой высокотехнологичной промышленностью. Остается только Боливия, где конкурентом России выступает Испания, которая очень ревностно относится к своим бывшим колониям. Но Боливия сама проявляет большой интерес к сотрудничеству с Российской Федерацией. Недавно ее президент Эво Моралес, представитель коренного населения страны, прилетал в Москву на переговоры с Владимиром Путиным.

«Газпром» уже участвует в разработке боливийских газовых месторождений. Стороны на высшем уровне договорились о поставках российских вооружений. Еще важнее новые совместные проекты, переводящие сотрудничество на более высокий уровень. Президент Моралес допустил к разработке лития только два государства, Россию и Китай, хотя среди желающих поучаствовать были компании из США, Германии, Канады и других стран. В Боливии должен быть возведен комбинат по производству лития, объем инвестиций оценивается в 900 миллионов долларов.

Еще более интересным представляется проект по возведению в Латинской Америке самой высокогорной атомной станции поблизости от города Эль-Альто. Партнером выбран «Росатом». Кроме АЭС, российская корпорация организует в Боливии совместный центр разработок в области ядерных технологий, что стремительно повышает авторитет и значимость государства в регионе, а также укрепляет позиции России. Примечательно, что испанское издание El Confidencial охарактеризовало начинание, как «атомный бред». Что ж, пусть это останется на совести Мадрида.

В ближайшее время в Боливии пройдут очередные президентские выборы. Действующий глава государства Эво Моралес лидирует по рейтингам, опережая ближайшего соперника Карлоса Месу с показателями 37% против 26%. За Моралеса выступают простые жители сельской местности, за Месу – «рассерженные горожане». Реализация амбициозных экономических проектов может помочь Моралесу «добавить плюсиков к карме» и стать президентом в очередной раз.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.asiatimes.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Пыхота Офлайн
    Пыхота (Вячеслав) 26 июля 2019 20:14
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Обалдеть от образованности журналюг! Оказывается, есть ТРИ Америки: Северная, Южная и Латинская!!!
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 26 июля 2019 21:51
    +1
    • 3
    • 2

    Свято место пусто не бывает.

    Если не мы, так кто-то другой. У России огромный потенциал, подмять под себя пол-мира сможем и на своих условиях. Только у нас во власти тунеядцев много, вряд ли получится. Китайцы проворней будут.
  3. Портвейн Офлайн
    Портвейн 27 июля 2019 09:44
    0
    • 1
    • 1

    Цитата: сталевар
    Только у нас во власти тунеядцев много.

    Не тунеядцев, а вредителей трудоголиков.
  4. Руса Офлайн
    Руса 27 июля 2019 12:07
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Хорошая новость.
    Кроме этого, России можно создать военно-морскую базу в Венесуэле, а Китаю - в Никарагуа.
  5. Anchonsha Офлайн
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 27 июля 2019 16:28
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ну и оченно замечательно, что мы и с Боливией укрепляем экономические отношения. Путь США и Испания постоят в сторонке. Только вот нужно чувствовать пределы, за которые нам не нужно вкладываться там.
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 27 июля 2019 21:38
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    А поконкретнее?
    Есть подозрение, что не Россия возвращается в Боливию, а офшорные деньги перебираются в Боливию.
    Собственность, налоги и товар чьи?