It is necessary, Fedya, it is necessary !: the Russian robot opens the way to the moon and Mars

Russia will send to the ISS its first anthropomorphic robot named Fedor, which will be in orbit for two weeks. Despite its rather limited functionality, and so far it can only shoot, drill and write on Twitter, this experiment can open up new perspectives in space exploration.




Fedor (FEDOR) is a humanoid robot developed by order of the Ministry of Emergency Situations. The rescuers' interest is obvious: to have a robot remotely controlled via satellite, with a height of 180 cm and a weight of 160 kilograms, with a total capacity of 20 horsepower, would be of great help in eliminating dangerous emergencies.


The project started in 2014 under the name “Rescuer”, and the robot itself received the fashionable name “Avatar”. The very next year, the prototype was presented to Vladimir Putin. In 2016, Dmitry Rogozin instructed to develop a version for space, which can be used on the promising spacecraft Federation. The name "Fedor" was given to the robotic complex by Rogozin himself, and subsequently the corresponding science-like name (Final Experimental Demonstration Object Research (FEDOR) was coined under it.


However, later, the developers decided to abandon the "Russian" name, giving the robot an "American" - Skybot F-850. In fact, the rescuer-cosmonaut from the inside is only half Russian, the rest of the parts are produced abroad - in the USA, Germany, Japan and other countries. They collect it in St. Petersburg, the mechanism is controlled on the basis of the "bourgeois" Linux operating system.

What can FEDOR / Skybot F-850 do?


Let's face it, the set of its features looks very specific. Our robot can drive a car and an ATV, open and close certain doors, shoot pistols with two hands and drill a wall with a drill. It’s more like not a rescuer, but a “liquidator”. This is a joke, of course.

And if without jokes, then Fyodor (FEDOR) / Skybot F-850 can open us the way to deep space. Its original name "Avatar" most faithfully reflects the essence - it is not so much a self-acting robot as a remotely controlled human manipulator. In fact, in the future he may become the equivalent of an astronaut.


It is known that flights to the moon, the asteroid belt, Mars and beyond, are associated with a huge variety of problems. This is the danger of cosmic radiation, and the risk of depressurization of the ship, and the need to carry a large amount of oxygen for breathing, water and food for the crew. It turns out very expensive, and there are no special guarantees of returning home for astronauts.

But a robot avatar is capable of doing exactly the same job as an astronaut. Rather, the astronaut will do it remotely, being safe on Earth. Immediately reduced requirements for interplanetary spacecraft and the cost of sending them. The moon, asteroids, Mars in the future will be studied and mastered by robots. Avatar management will be carried out by a kind of hybrid of artificial intelligence and manual operator control.

It is clear that this is not a matter of today or tomorrow, but a step has been taken in the right direction.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Надо, Федя, надо!: российский робот открывает путь на Луну и Марс

Россия отправит на МКС своего первого антропоморфного робота по имени Федор (FEDOR), который пробудет на орбите две недели. Несмотря на довольно ограниченную его функциональность, а пока он умеет только стрелять, дрелить и писать в Твиттер, этот эксперимент может открыть новые перспективы в освоении космоса.





Федор (FEDOR) – это человекоподобный робот, разработанный по заказу МЧС. Интерес спасателей очевиден: иметь дистанционно управляемого через спутниковую связь робота, ростом 180 см и весом 160 килограммов, общей мощностью в 20 лошадиных сил, было бы большим подспорьем при ликвидации опасных ЧС.


Проект стартовал в 2014 году под названием «Спасатель», а сам робот получил модное имя «Аватар». Уже в следующем году прототип был презентован Владимиру Путину. В 2016 году Дмитрий Рогозин поручил разработать версию для космоса, которая может быть использована на перспективном корабле «Федерация». Имя «Федор» дал робототехническому комплексу сам Рогозин, а впоследствии под него было придумано соответствующее наукоподобное название (Final Experimental Demonstration Object Research (FEDOR).


Однако позже, разработчики решили отказаться от «русского» имени, дав роботу «американское» - Skybot F-850. На самом деле, спасатель-космонавт изнутри только наполовину российский, остальные детали производятся за рубежом - в США, ФРГ, Японии и других странах. Собирают его в Санкт-Петербурге, управляется механизм на базе «буржуйской» операционки Linux.

Что умеет Федор (FEDOR)/Skybot F-850?


Скажем прямо, набор его возможностей выглядит весьма специфически. Наш робот может ездить на автомобиле и квадроцикле, открывать и закрывать некие двери, стрелять из пистолетов с двух рук и сверлить дрелью стены. Больше похож не на спасателя, а на «ликвидатора». Это шутка, конечно.

А если без шуток, то Федор (FEDOR)/Skybot F-850 может открыть нам путь в дальний космос. Его первоначальное название «Аватар» наиболее верно отражает сущность – это не столько самостоятельно действующий робот, сколько дистанционно управляемый человеком манипулятор. По сути, в будущем он может стать эквивалентом космонавта.


Известно, что полеты на Луну, пояс астероидов, Марс и дальше, связаны с огромным множеством проблем. Это и опасность космической радиации, и риск разгерметизации корабля, и необходимость везти с собой большое количество кислорода для дыхания, воды и продуктов питания для экипажа. Получается очень дорого, и нет особых гарантий возвращения домой для космонавтов.

Но робот-аватар способен выполнять ровно ту же самую работу, что и космонавт. Вернее, ее дистанционно будет делать космонавт, находясь в безопасности на Земле. Сразу снижаются требования к межпланетным кораблям и стоимость их отправки. Луна, астероиды, Марс в будущем будут изучаться и осваиваться роботами. Управление аватарами станет осуществляться неким гибридом искусственного интеллекта и ручного управления оператором.

Понятно, что это вопрос не сегодняшнего или завтрашнего дня, но шаг сделан в верном направлении.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.thesun.co.uk/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти