Micro-rocket revolution: what will Russia answer?

Soon, the term "booster" may not mean exactly what we are used to.




Million Dollar Baby


And although countries are no longer eager to overtake each other in the space race, as before, changes in the rocket launch industry are ongoing. It seemed that quite recently Russia took first place in the world in the number of space launches: in 2015, the country completed 26 launches, no one else completed it. Then the recession began. As of 2018, the Russian Federation made only 17 starts, which allowed China and the United States to gain a foothold in the first two lines. However, these are just dry numbers. Another aspect is much more interesting, namely, the causes of all these processes.

In the 18th year, the most popular rocket was the heavy Falcon 9 from SpaceX: it performed 20 launches. The thesis is partially true, according to which Russia, with its counterpart in the face of Proton-M, would still give way, even if there were no sanctions. The new rocket is more tech than the old. And even cheaper.

However, the hour is not even when the Falcon 9 will have to make room. And this is not about a new superheavy rocket from SpaceX. Everything is exactly the opposite: heavier media will have to give way to lighter ones. This is a completely natural process for the reason of: a) lower launch cost of a light carrier, b) miniaturization of commercial satellites - the main load of missiles in the launch market.

Electronics is becoming more compact, and now CubeSat (ultra-small) format satellites can do what only large spacecraft could previously.

This affects the launch market. On January 21, 2018, the Electron ultralight rocket completed its first successful launch: it launched 3 nanosatellites. This was followed by other successful launches, confirming the correctness of the concept of the American private aerospace company Rocket Lab - the developer.


The cost of launching the launch vehicle is estimated to be from 4,9 to 6,6 million US dollars. Due to the different classes of missiles, such a comparison may seem out of place, and yet: the launch price of the Falcon 9 exceeds $ 60 million. The difference is huge. Recently, it also became known that the Rocket Lab wants to make the first stage of Electron reusable and catch it after starting from a helicopter. If successful, this can lead to more starts and lower costs: in theory it is very profitable.

Russian means easy


Opportunities for showing themselves on the international launch market among Russian rocket scientists are becoming less and less. It is already known that the relatively cheap Proton-M will be replaced by the expensive (hence, uncompetitive) Angara-A5. And “Soyuz”, in the foreseeable future, will replace the more modern, but probably more expensive - “Irtysh”. “In our light class, the unit is Angara, the middle class is Soyuz-5, the heavy class is Angara-A5, and the heavy class is Angara-A5B - this is what the fleet of Russian missiles of the future looks like Dmitry Rogozin. None of the missiles are encouraging.

One, recall - this is "Angara-1.2." In theory, a light and cheap rocket, but it is in theory. In May 2019, Interfax reported that the Angara-1.2 light rocket was more expensive in the construction of medium carriers Soyuz-2.1a and Soyuz-2.1b by almost 700 million rubles. Full-fledged mass production can reduce the cost of manufacturing media, but before that, the project still needs to survive.

It is important to note another aspect, even more important. The carrying capacity of the light Angara-1.2 created by the Khrunichev Center, when the payload is brought into low Earth orbit, (NOO) is 3,5 tons. Therefore, a direct comparison with Electron is not entirely correct: after all, the brainchild of the Rocket Lab is an ultralight rocket with a mass of 250 kilograms brought to the LOU. Consequently, at a much lower price for one start.



Planned planning


What can the RF offer as a direct alternative to the overseas product and other similar missiles? Earlier it became known that the Russian company Lin Industrial is developing the Taimyr rocket with a range of payloads from 10 kilograms to 180 with a low Earth orbit. Back in 2016, Lin Industrial carried out fire tests of the Atar rocket engine RDL-100C, designed for the carrier, and also tested the subsonic “flying stand”, with the aim of developing one of the control system variants. Alas, the project ended in nothing (such a conclusion can be made on the basis of the available data). He was stopped because Roscosmos did not show much interest, and the money of private investors was not enough.


That is far from all. In 2018, it became known that the engineers of Roscosmos and the United Aircraft Corporation completed an advance project of the returned missile unit with a new ultralight (light?) Reusable rocket that could be used to launch cargoes weighing up to 600 kilograms into a sun-synchronous orbit. During development, backlogs from the reusable Baikal accelerator were used: the concept is based on an “airplane” scheme for returning the first stage.

There are several points to which you should pay attention. They all come down to price. First, the carrier is seen not so much as a rival to Electron, but as fantasies about the unrealized Baikal with an incomparably higher payload mass and, accordingly, a higher launch cost. Secondly, in the implementation of the aircraft scheme, the rocket will have to "drag" the equipment necessary for landing on the airfield. And this, according to experts, leads only to an increase in the mass of the carrier and an increase in its price. In a word, pluses are not visible.


Perhaps the most realistic version of the new economical medium for Russia is the project of the private company NSTR Rocket Technology”, Which in 2019 announced a reusable weather forecast. Now the companies are finishing work on the test sample, and when it passes the tests, they want to create a disposable rocket that can lift up to a height of 130 km, up to 10-15 kilograms of equipment. This, frankly, is much less than that of Electron, but at least something. Perhaps, on the basis of the rocket, the NSTR Rocket Technologies engineers will be able to create a reusable version.

In general, Roscosmos should have contributed to such private owners in creating ultra-light missiles. There is no faith in the fact that quasi-state monopolists will be able to “give birth” to at least something competitive in the world market.
Author:
Photos used: https://ytimg.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Anchonsha Offline
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 15 August 2019 18: 57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    We need to attract private owners, we even need, perhaps, cooperation with private owners in the development of launch vehicles. And Roskosmos itself should welcome this. The West has a lot of money, and they cooperate, which is much easier to finance.
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 15 August 2019 22: 18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    The first thing to do is fire Rogozin and put in charge a person who understands something in rockets and space. Then new ideas will appear. And let private traders invest money on private traders, there is nothing to "milk" the budget.
  3. Glenni Offline
    Glenni (Andrei) 16 August 2019 07: 09
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    How to attract them, perhaps by smell? The West has a lot of money, but it is their money. Russia also has a lot of money, only whose money, if stored in the West?
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 16 August 2019 08: 59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    ... to assist such privateers in the creation of ultralight missiles.

    Here is the S7. The result - I don’t hear much about the starts, the sea launch was closed, the owner - the curator of the direction, crashed on an airplane.
  5. hourly Offline
    hourly (Oleg Duvanayev) 16 August 2019 09: 32
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Another weedy. Besides, as a commercial application and PR in front of the whole world, Russia seems to have no other goals.

    Russia is not Hollywood. She makes a technique that flies and works.
  6. Tektor Offline
    Tektor (Tektor) 16 August 2019 11: 13
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    And Russia can respond by introducing a modification of the Kontakt rocket, which passed the entire range of tests in the early 90s. Now, if the first two steps are left solid fuel, and the third is made on the basis of the Ifrit detonation engine, then we will get an extremely universal complex that can solve tasks of defense and space research. One Tu-160M2 can take up to 8 Contacts at a time, and apply them to an unlimited range of earth targets. Or it can put satellites into orbits, or bring down satellites in orbits ...

«Микроракетная революция»: чем ответит Россия?

Уже вскоре термин «ракета-носитель», возможно, будет означать не совсем то, к чему мы привыкли.



Малышки на миллион



И хотя страны уже не рвутся обогнать друг друга в космической гонке, как раньше, изменения в индустрии ракетных запусков происходят постоянно. Казалось, еще совсем недавно Россия занимала первое место в мире по числу космических запусков: в 2015-м страна выполнила 26 стартов, больше не выполнил никто. Потом начался спад. По состоянию на 2018-й РФ произвела всего 17 стартов, что позволило Китаю и США укрепиться на первых двух строчках. Впрочем, это лишь сухие цифры. Куда интересней другой аспект, а именно - причины всех этих процессов.

В 18-м году самой востребованной ракетой оказалась тяжелая Falcon 9 от SpaceX: она выполнила 20 запусков. Отчасти справедлив тезис, согласно которому Россия со своим аналогом в лице «Протон-М» все равно уступила бы место, даже если бы санкций не было. Новая ракета более технологична, чем старая. А еще более дешевая.

Однако не ровен час, когда и Falcon 9 придется потесниться. И речь идет вовсе не о новой сверхтяжелой ракете от SpaceX. Все с точностью наоборот: более тяжелые носители должны будут уступить место более легким. Это совершенно естественный процесс по причине: а) меньшей цены запуска легкого носителя, б) миниатюризации коммерческих спутников - основной нагрузки ракет на рынке запусков.

Электроника становится компактней, и теперь спутники формата CubeSat (сверхмалые) могут то, что раньше могли лишь крупные космические аппараты.

Это сказывается на рынке запусков. 21 января 2018 года, сверхлегкая ракета Electron выполнила первый успешный старт: она вывела 3 наноспутника. После этого последовали другие удачные запуски, подтверждавшие правильность концепции американской частной аэрокосмической компании Rocket Lab - разработчика.


Стоимость запуска ракеты-носителя по оценкам - от 4,9 до 6,6 миллионов долларов США. В силу разных классов ракет, такое сравнение может показаться неуместным, и все же: цена запуска Falcon 9 превышает 60 миллионов долларов. Разница колоссальная. Недавно также стало известно, что Rocket Lab хочет сделать первую ступень Electron-а многоразовой и ловить ее после запуска с вертолета. В случае успеха, это может привести к большему числу запусков и меньшим затратам: в теории очень выгодно.

Русский - значит легкий


Возможностей показать себя на международном рынке запусков у российских ракетостроителей становится все меньше. Уже известно, что относительно дешевый «Протон-М» заменит дорогая (следовательно, неконкурентоспособная) «Ангара-А5». А «Союз», в обозримом будущем, сменит более современный, но, вероятно, и более дорогой - «Иртыш». «У нас в легком классе единичка - «Ангара», средний класс - «Союз-5», в тяжелом - «Ангара-А5», в супертяжелом классе - «Ангара-А5В», - именно так выглядит парк российских ракет будущего в понимании Дмитрия Рогозина. Ни одна из ракет не внушает оптимизма.

Единичка, напомним - это «Ангара-1.2». В теории - легкая и дешевая ракета, но это - в теории. В мае 2019 года, Интерфакс сообщил, что легкая ракета «Ангара-1.2» дороже в строительстве средних носителей «Союз-2.1а» и «Союз-2.1б» почти на 700 миллионов рублей. Полноценное серийное производство может снизить стоимость изготовления носителей, но до этого проект еще должен, что называется, дожить.

Важно отметить и другой аспект, даже более важный. Грузоподъемность легкой «Ангара-1.2», создаваемой «Центром Хруничева», при выведении полезной нагрузки на низкую околоземную орбиту, (НОО) составляет 3,5 тонны. Поэтому, прямое сравнение с Electron не совсем корректно: все-таки детище Rocket Lab - сверхлегкая ракета с массой, выводимой на НОО нагрузки, 250 килограмм. Следовательно, куда меньшей ценой одного старта.



Плановое планирование


Что же может предложить РФ в качестве прямой альтернативы заокеанскому изделию и другим похожим ракетам? Ранее стало известно, что российская компания «Лин Индастриал» разрабатывает ракету «Таймыр» с диапазоном полезных нагрузок от 10 килограмм до 180-ти при выводе на низкую околоземную орбиту. Еще в 2016 году, «Лин Индастриал» провела огневые испытания жидкостного ракетного двигателя РДЛ-100С «Атар», предназначенного для носителя, а также испытала дозвуковой «летающий стенд», с целью отработки одного из вариантов системы управления. Увы, проект закончился ничем (такой вывод можно сделать на основе имеющихся данных). Его остановили, так как «Роскосмос» не проявил большого интереса, а денег частных инвесторов оказалось недостаточно.


Это далеко не все. В 2018 году стало известно, что инженеры «Роскосмоса» и Объединенной авиастроительной корпорации, завершили аванпроект возвращаемого ракетного блока новой сверхлегкой (легкой?) многоразовой ракеты, которую можно будет использовать для вывода на солнечно-синхронную орбиту грузов массой до 600 килограммов. При разработке использовались заделы от многоразового ускорителя «Байкал»: в основе концепции - «самолетная» схема возврата первой ступени.

Здесь есть несколько моментов, на которые стоит обратить внимание. Все они сводятся к цене. Во-первых, носитель видится не столько конкурентом Electron, сколько фантазиями на тему нереализованного «Байкала» с несравнимо более высокой массой полезной нагрузки и, соответственно, более высокой стоимостью запуска. Во-вторых, при реализации самолетной схемы, ракете придется «тащить» за собой необходимое для посадки на аэродром оборудование. А это, как считают эксперты, ведет только к увеличению массы носителя и увеличению его цены. Словом, плюсов не видно.


Пожалуй, самым реалистичным вариантом нового экономичного носителя для России, видится проект частной компании «НСТР Ракетные технологии», которая в 2019 году анонсировала многоразовую метеоракету. Сейчас компании заканчивают работу над тестовым образцом, и когда он пройдет испытания, хотят создать одноразовую ракету, которая сможет поднять на высоту до 130 км, до 10-15 килограмм оборудования. Это, скажем прямо, намного меньше, чем у Electron, но хоть что-то. Возможно, на базе ракеты инженерам «НСТР Ракетные технологии» удастся создать многоразовый вариант.

Вообще, «Роскосмосу» стоило бы посодействовать таким частникам в деле создания сверхлегких ракет. Веры в то, что квазигосударственные монополисты смогут «родить» хоть что-то конкурентоспособное на мировом рынке, давно нет.
Использованы фотографии: https://ytimg.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Anchonsha Офлайн
    Anchonsha (Anchonsha) 15 августа 2019 18:57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Нужно привлекать частников, нужна даже, возможно, кооперация с частниками в разработке ракет-носителей. И Роскосмос сам должен это приветствовать. У Запада много денег, да и они кооперируются, что значительно получается легче для финансирования.
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 15 августа 2019 22:18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Первое, что надо сделать, это уволить Рогозина и поставить руководить человека, который понимает что-то в ракетах и космосе. Тогда и идеи новые появится. А деньги на частников пусть частники вкладывают, нечего бюджет "доить".
  3. Glenni Офлайн
    Glenni (Андрей) 16 августа 2019 07:09
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Чем же их привлекать, разве что запахом? У Запада много денег, но это их деньги. У России тоже много денег, только чьи они, если хранятся на Западе?
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 16 августа 2019 08:59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    ...посодействовать таким частникам в деле создания сверхлегких ракет.

    Вот есть S7. Итог - о стартах особо не слышно, морской старт закрыли, владелица - куратор направления, разбилась на самолете.
  5. часовой Офлайн
    часовой (Oleg Duvanayev) 16 августа 2019 09:32
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Очередной всёпропальщик. Кроме, как коммерческого применения и пиара перед всем миром, других целей у России как-будто бы нет.

    Россия - не Голливуд. Она делает технику, которая летает и работает.
  6. Tektor Офлайн
    Tektor (Tektor) 16 августа 2019 11:13
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    А Россия может ответить, введя модификацию ракеты Контакт, которая прошла весь комплекс испытаний в начале 90-ых. Сейчас, если первые две ступени оставить твердотопливными, а третью сделать на базе детонационного двигателя Ифрит, то мы получим крайне универсальный комплекс, который может решать задачи и обороны, и космических исследований. Один Ту-160М2 может за раз брать до 8 Контактов, и применять их на неограниченную дальность по земным целям. А может вывести спутники на орбиты, или сбить спутники на орбитах...