US refused to launch an analogue of the Soviet ship BOR-4 using RD-180

It seems that the American company Sierra Nevada has decided on the carrier through which the Dream Chaser cargo spacecraft will be put into orbit. Initially, two options were considered: the Atlas 5 rocket, equipped with the Russian RD-180 engine, and the Vulcan, which operates on two American BE-4s.




And now, on the eve it became known that company representatives chose Vulcan for the first six flights of their spacecraft. A corresponding agreement has already been signed with the ULA consortium producing both of the above missiles.

Recall that the reusable device Dream Chaser, created by SpaceDev (a structural unit of Sierra Nevada Corporation), is designed to deliver goods to low Earth orbit, in particular to the ISS. The aforementioned corporation will become the third US company (after SpaceX and Northrop Grumman) to develop a cargo spacecraft under a contract with NASA.

Dream Chaser is a reusable vehicle, made in the likeness of the Soviet orbital unmanned rocket plane BOR-4. It has a horizontal landing, and can not only plan, but also make an airplane flight, followed by landing on runways at least 2,5 km long. The first launch of the ship is scheduled for September 2021.
Photos used: http://spaceflight101.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Conn Offline
    Conn (Conn) 17 August 2019 14: 50
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do not fly ... the engines will die.

США отказались запускать аналог советского корабля БОР-4 с помощью РД-180

Похоже, что американская компания Sierra Nevada определилась с носителем, посредством которого будет выведен на орбиту грузовой космический корабль Dream Chaser. Изначально рассматривались два варианта: ракета Atlas 5, оснащенная российским двигателем РД-180, и Vulcan, функционирующая на двух американских BE-4.





И вот, накануне стало известно, что представители компании выбрали Vulcan для осуществления первых шести полетов своего космического корабля. Соответствующее соглашение уже подписано с консорциумом ULA, производящим обе вышеупомянутые ракеты.

Напомним, что многоразовый аппарат Dream Chaser, созданный компанией SpaceDev (структурное подразделение корпорации Sierra Nevada), предназначен для доставки грузов на низкую околоземную орбиту, в частности - на МКС. Вышеупомянутая корпорация станет третьей американской компанией (после SpaceX и Northrop Grumman), разработавшей грузовой космический корабль по контракту с NASA.

Dream Chaser – многоразовый аппарат, созданный по подобию советского орбитального беспилотного ракетоплана БОР-4. Он имеет горизонтальную посадку, и может не только планировать, но и совершать самолетный полет с последующим приземлением на взлетные полосы длиной не менее 2,5 км. Первый запуск корабля намечен на сентябрь 2021 года.
Использованы фотографии: http://spaceflight101.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Conn Офлайн
    Conn (Сonn) 17 августа 2019 14:50
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Не долетит... движки сдохнут.