51 state: why did Trump suddenly need Greenland?

Before Donald Trump's upcoming official visit to Denmark, the well-known publication The Wall Street Journal, citing its own sources, reported that the American president was considering buying the largest island in the world, Greenland, from the Kingdom. What is this, trolling Trump from his side political opponents, or can the United States really grow into a new state?




The message itself, for all its unusualness, does not look like a “dummy”. The United States of America has grown to its present size not only with wars of conquest, but also with a completely peaceful purchase of territories. It is enough to recall that they did not rob Alaska from Russia, and the Romanovs themselves got it off hand at a reasonable price. They had enough of these "Kemsky volosts".

A logical question arises - why did Washington need ice-covered Arctic wilderness?

In fact, this question is being raised in the United States for the third time. For the first time, the idea of ​​buying Greenland came up in 1867, and again - in 1946, immediately after the end of World War II. According to The Wall Street Journal, Trump is interested in the island's natural resources, however, the military component may even prevail.

Experts estimate the Greenland oil fields at 50 billion barrels, but they are classified as hard to recover largely due to adverse climatic conditions. True, the ice is beginning to melt faster. In addition, Greenland is favorably located at the junction of the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans. Owning an island entitles Copenhagen to claim to be a major player in the upcoming section of the Arctic Pie. If the island changes ownership, then the United States, which has Alaska, is squeezing the Arctic.

At firstSince the Cold War, the Pentagon has retained a large US Air Force base on the island. Currently, the processes of restoration by the Americans of the former military infrastructure in the Arctic region have intensified, as we told earlier.

Secondly, in the late nineties it became known that in Greenland, from 1958 to 1966, a project called “Ice Worm” was being implemented. According to him, under the ice of the island a whole network of tunnels of 4000 kilometers long was dug, along which up to 600 nuclear missiles aimed at our country could continuously move. The project is currently frozen, but the liquidation of the INF Treaty, and in the future START-3, can give it a second life.

Finally, do not forget the role of Denmark in blocking Nord Stream-2. The threat of gaining US sovereignty over Greenland will be a powerful military-political argument against Russian business projects.

But what if Copenhagen abandons such “happiness”?

Indeed, the island was colonized by the Vikings and belongs to their descendants on the basis of autonomy. The population of Greenland does not exceed 60 thousand people. During World War II, the island fell into the sphere of influence of the USA and Great Britain. In 2008, the inhabitants of the island voted for the broadest possible self-government, which was considered by many political scientists as a step towards declaring independence in the future. By the way, while everyone is discussing Brexit, Greenland long ago left the European Union, retaining only a certain associated status.

In general, if Washington really wants to, then it will receive the next staff. It is enough to recall how they performed this trick with Hawaii.
Photos used: https://365dm.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Oleg RB Offline
    Oleg RB (Oleg) 17 August 2019 13: 34
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fig yourself, vacant places are being sorted. belay
  2. Yuri Nemov Offline
    Yuri Nemov (Yuri Nemov) 17 August 2019 15: 04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Well, in fairness, I must say that it was thanks to the efforts of the Romanovs that Russia became so vast in territory. And, for example, the Communists generally squandered Russian lands, completely free of charge. Starting from Ulyanov nicknamed "Lenin", and ending with Yeltsin. Fortunately - Putin again begins to collect land.
  3. Marzhecki Offline
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 18 August 2019 07: 30
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Quote: Yuri Nemov
    Well, in fairness, I must say that it was thanks to the efforts of the Romanovs that Russia became so vast in territory. And, for example, the Communists generally squandered Russian lands, completely free of charge. Starting from Ulyanov nicknamed "Lenin", and ending with Yeltsin. Fortunately - Putin again begins to collect land.

    Are you from Constantinople? smile

51-й штат: зачем Трампу вдруг понадобилась Гренландия?

Перед готовящимся официальным визитом Дональда Трампа в Данию, известное издание The Wall Street Journal со ссылкой на собственные источники сообщило, что американский президент рассматривает возможность покупки у Королевства принадлежащего ему самого большого острова в мире, Гренландии. Что это, троллинг Трампа со стороны его политических противников, или США и в самом деле могут прирасти новым штатом?





Само по себе сообщение, при всей его необычности, не выглядит как «пустышка». Соединенные Штаты Америки выросли до сегодняшних размеров не только захватническими войнами, но и вполне мирной покупкой территорий. Достаточно вспомнить, что Аляску у России они не отнимали, а Романовы сами ее сбыли с рук по сходной цене. У них этих «Кемских волостей» и так хватало.

Возникает закономерный вопрос - зачем Вашингтону понадобилась покрытая льдами арктическая глушь?

На самом деле, этот вопрос поднимается в США уже в третий раз. Впервые идея покупки Гренландии прозвучала в 1867 году, повторно – в 1946 году, сразу после окончания Второй Мировой войны. Согласно данным The Wall Street Journal, Трампа интересуют природные ресурсы острова, однако, военная составляющая может даже преобладать.

Специалисты оценивают гренландские месторождения нефти в 50 миллиардов баррелей, но они относятся к категории трудноизвлекаемых во многом из-за неблагоприятных климатических условий. Правда, льды начинают таять все быстрее. Кроме того, Гренландия выгодно расположена на стыке Атлантического и Северного Ледовитого океанов. Обладание островом дает право Копенгагену претендовать на то, чтобы быть крупным игроком при грядущем разделе «арктического пирога». Если же остров поменяет собственника, то США, обладающие Аляской, зажимают Арктику в тиски.

Во-первых, Пентагон со времен Холодной войны сохранил на острове крупную базу ВВС США. В настоящее время резко активизировались процессы восстановления американцами прежней военной инфраструктуры в арктическом регионе, о чем мы рассказывали ранее.

Во-вторых, в конце девяностых годов стало известно, что в Гренландии, с 1958 по 1966 годы, реализовывался проект под названием «Ледяной червь». Согласно ему, подо льдами острова была прорыта целая сеть туннелей длиной в 4000 километров, по которым непрерывно могли перемещаться до 600 ядерных ракет, нацеленных на нашу страну. В настоящее время проект заморожен, но ликвидация ДРСМД, и в перспективе СНВ-3, может дать ему вторую жизнь.

Наконец, не стоит забывать роль Дании в блокировке «Северного потока-2». Угроза обретения суверенитета США над Гренландией будет весомым военно-политическим аргументом против российских бизнес-проектов.

А что, если Копенгаген откажется от такого «счастья»?

Действительно, остров был колонизирован викингами и принадлежит их потомкам на правах автономии. Население Гренландии не превышает 60 тысяч человек. Во время Второй Мировой войны, остров попал в сферу влияния США и Великобритании. В 2008 году жители острова проголосовали за максимально широкое самоуправление, что многими политологами было сочтено, как шаг к объявлению независимости в будущем. К слову, пока все обсуждают Брекзит, Гренландия давным-давно покинула Европейский союз, сохранив лишь некий ассоциированный статус.

В общем, если Вашингтон реально захочет, то он получит очередной штат. Достаточно вспомнить, как они провернули этот трюк с Гавайами.
Использованы фотографии: https://365dm.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Олег РБ Офлайн
    Олег РБ (Олег) 17 августа 2019 13:34
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Фига себе, вакантные места разбирают. belay
  2. Юрий Немов Офлайн
    Юрий Немов (Юрий Немов) 17 августа 2019 15:04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Ну, справедливости ради, надо сказать, что именно усилиями Романовых Россия стала такой огромной по территории. А, к примеру, коммунисты вообще разбазаривали российские земли, совершенно бесплатно. Начиная от Ульянова по кличке "Ленин", и заканчивая Ельциным. Благо - Путин снова начинает собирать земли.
  3. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 18 августа 2019 07:30
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Цитата: Юрий Немов
    Ну, справедливости ради, надо сказать, что именно усилиями Романовых Россия стала такой огромной по территории. А, к примеру, коммунисты вообще разбазаривали российские земли, совершенно бесплатно. Начиная от Ульянова по кличке "Ленин", и заканчивая Ельциным. Благо - Путин снова начинает собирать земли.

    Вы с Царьграда? smile