Russia has grown land: in the Arctic, discovered 5 new islands

The Russian Northern Fleet’s military hydrographs confirmed the discovery of five new islands in the Russian Arctic. This was reported by the press service of the Federation Council, specifying that earlier these islands were discovered from space.




The area of ​​objects varies from 900 to 54,5 thousand square meters. meters. Topographic surveys were conducted on the new islands; they are described in detail and photographed.

- said in a statement.

It should be noted that the new islands are located in Vise Bay west of Severny Island (Novaya Zemlya archipelago) from the Kara Sea, in the area of ​​the Vylki glacier (Nansen). These islands were first noticed in 2016 when satellite imagery was analyzed. Prior to this, the islands were hidden by a glacier, but now the ice has receded.

Russia has grown land: in the Arctic, discovered 5 new islands


By the way, this is not the first time that islands are found in the Russian Arctic after retreating ice. For example, over the past 7 years in the Russian Arctic, expeditions by specialists from the Russian Ministry of Defense have discovered, described and explored about 40 new islands, straits and capes in the area of ​​the Franz Josef Land and Novaya Zemlya archipelagos.

It must be recalled that the glaciers are gradually melting, new outlines of the shores are opening up. So hydrographs, topographers and scientists still have a lot of interesting work that will last for many years. Ahead of them are still waiting for discoveries in the Barents, Kara, East Siberian and Chukchi Seas, in the Laptev Sea, as well as in the Arctic Ocean. In turn, we will follow their successes with undisguised interest.
Photos used: http://blogs.earth.ox.ac.uk/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. beeper Offline
    beeper 27 August 2019 19: 59
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    And those “mysterious islands (literally beaten by the famous scientist-geographer Obruchev Vladimir Afanasevich“ Sannikov Land, for example) ”that the polar explorers saw at the end of the nineteenth and the pilots at the beginning of the twentieth century did not show up, and remained a legend ?!
  2. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 28 August 2019 06: 09
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    I think that the North should be treated more respectfully. But this question is not only for us. Turning the Arctic Ocean into an ordinary sea with modern technology is a simple matter. It is necessary to make sure that the descendants do not clutch their heads. Because some errors will be impossible to fix.

Россия приросла землей: в Арктике открыли 5 новых островов

Военные гидрографы Северного флота (СФ) ВМФ России подтвердили открытие пяти новых островов в российской Арктике. Об этом сообщила пресс-служба СФ, уточнив, что ранее эти острова были обнаружены из космоса.



Площадь объектов варьируется от 900 до 54,5 тыс. кв. метров. На новых островах проведена топографическая съемка, они подробно описаны и сфотографированы.


- говорится в сообщении.

Нужно отметить, что новые острова расположены в бухте Визе к западу от острова Северный (архипелаг Новая Земля) со стороны Карского моря, в районе ледника Вылки (Нансена). Впервые эти острова заметили в 2016 году, когда проводился анализ спутниковых снимков. До этого острова были скрыты ледником, но теперь лед отступил.

Россия приросла землей: в Арктике открыли 5 новых островов


К слову, это уже не первый случай, когда вслед за отступающим льдом обнаруживаются острова в российской Арктике. Например, за последние 7 лет в российской Арктике, экспедициями специалистов Минобороны России, было открыто, описано и исследовано уже около 40 новых островов, проливов и мысов в районе архипелагов Земля Франца-Иосифа и Новая Земля.

Нужно напомнить, что ледники постепенно тают, открываются новые очертания берегов. Так что гидрографам, топографам и ученым предстоит еще много интересной работы, которой хватит на много лет. Впереди их еще ждут открытия в Баренцевом, Карском, Восточно-Сибирском и Чукотском морях, в море Лаптевых, а также в Северном Ледовитом океане. В свою очередь, мы с нескрываемым интересом будем следить за их успехами.
Использованы фотографии: http://blogs.earth.ox.ac.uk/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. пищак Офлайн
    пищак 27 августа 2019 19:59
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    А те "загадочные острова (литературно обыгранная известным учёным-географом Обручевым Владимиром Афанасьевичем "Земля Санникова", например)", которые видели полярные исследователи в конце ХIХ и лётчики в начале ХХ века, так и не обнаружились, так и остались легендой?!
  2. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 28 августа 2019 06:09
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Я думаю, что к Северу почтительней надо относиться. Но этот вопрос не только к нам. Превратить Северный Ледовитый Океан в обычное море при современной технике, дело нехитрое. Надо сделать так, чтобы потомки не хватались за голову. Потому, что некоторые ошибки будет уже невозможно исправить.