To be or not to be the “Sphere”: will Russia draw 600 satellites?

Roscosmos launched a project to create the Sphere satellite constellation. It is estimated that over 600 dual-use vehicles will be launched into orbit. The idea has already been approved by the Military-Industrial Commission. However, a number of independent experts express serious doubts that such a large-scale project will be within our power. Who is right, optimists or pessimists, try to figure it out.




The "sphere" in a sense is positioned as an alternative to the American Starlink and the British OneWeb. Recall that companies from the UK have recently been denied the provision of communication frequencies for work in Russia under the pretext of the imminent launch of the Sphere, which we are talking about told earlier. Will the domestic system fully replace foreign analogues?

First of all, you need to understand that the American and British satellite constellations are precisely commercial projects. OneWeb with the help of our Roskosmos, by the way, will launch the same 600 devices into orbit, while Starlink is threatening altogether - 10 thousand. There is no doubt about the ability of Western corporations to sell their services. Their projects are aimed at capturing the entire international satellite Internet market. Will the domestic system be able to successfully compete with them?

The expert in the field of space, Andrei Ionin, expresses the following considerations on this subject:

“Sphere” claims to be budget financing and this is a problem, since there are doubts about the competitiveness of the project and the possibility of its entry into foreign markets, even if we are talking about the markets of the BRICS and SCO countries. That is, we will just burn the money of our budget in the stove.


The main technical Problems, according to Ionin, are the high cost of each satellite and the dependence on imported components in their production. When there are 600 devices, the budget grows to astronomical sizes.

Indeed, the key issue will be the final cost of the satellites - putting them into orbit, subsequent maintenance and regular updates. Thanks to the development of technology, the weight of communication spacecraft has sharply decreased from a ton to several hundred kilograms. For example, Gonets-M weighs 280 kg, Starlink - 227 kg, OneWeb - 148 kg. This allows you to put them into orbit on a single launch vehicle in batches, which greatly reduces the cost of the project.

But more importantly, what time each satellite will be released. Today, the production of one device in our country costs 7,5 - 15 million dollars. All this must be multiplied by 600. For comparison, OneWeb threatens to bring the cost of the satellite to $ 1 million. Probably, Starlink, with its many thousands of groups, will seek to further reduce their cost.

As they say, feel the difference. The reason is that Western corporations are able to manufacture devices in the conveyor way, reducing costs. This is still a piece of work for us, and even depending on the West in terms of components. In this sense, experts are right in their doubts.

However, this does not mean that the “Sphere” must be put an end to. This is not only and not so much business. The project has its second, military wing, which will provide a global positioning and incident warning system. Satellites guarantee communications even in the event of "a complete disconnection of the earth's infrastructure." In conditions when the United States withdraws from the fundamental treaties ensuring international security, having such a double will be, to put it mildly, not superfluous.

“Sphere” is a large-scale project that highlights real problems in the domestic high-tech industry. But this is not a reason to be covered with a copper basin, but to solve them.
Photos used: https://spacenews.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Nick Offline
    Nick (Nikolai) 28 August 2019 14: 25
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    A series of as many as 600 units should seriously reduce the cost of the project and create the opportunity to create the same conveyor as competitors.
    In any case, this is a chance for our high-tech sector of the economy.
    Need to build!
  2. Marzhecki Online
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 30 August 2019 08: 06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Quote: Nick
    A series of as many as 600 units should seriously reduce the cost of the project and create the opportunity to create the same conveyor as competitors.
    In any case, this is a chance for our high-tech sector of the economy.
    Need to build!

    I also believe that it is necessary rather than not necessary. There will be a lot of jambs, but in the end, they will something useful.

Быть или не быть «Сфере»: потянет ли Россия 600 спутников?

«Роскосмос» приступил к реализации проекта по созданию спутниковой группировки «Сфера». Предполагается, что на орбиту будет выведено свыше 600 аппаратов двойного назначения. Идея уже получила одобрение Военно-промышленной комиссии. Однако целый ряд независимых экспертов высказывает серьезные сомнения в том, что столь масштабный проект будет нам по силам. Кто прав, оптимисты или пессимисты, попробуем разобраться.





«Сфера» в определенном смысле позиционируется как альтернатива американскому Starlink и британскому OneWeb. Напомним, компании из Великобритании было недавно отказано в предоставлении частот связи для работы в России под предлогом скорого запуска «Сферы», о чем мы рассказывали ранее. Сможет ли отечественная система полноценно заместить иностранные аналоги?

Прежде всего, необходимо понимать, что американская и британская спутниковая группировки – это именно коммерческие проекты. OneWeb при помощи нашего «Роскосмоса», между прочим, выведет на орбиту те же 600 аппаратов, а Starlink грозит и вовсе - 10 тысяч. В умении западных корпораций продавать свои услуги, сомнений нет. Их проекты нацелены на захват всего международного рынка спутникового интернета. Сможет ли отечественная система успешно конкурировать с ними?

Эксперт в области космонавтики, Андрей Ионин, высказывает следующие соображения по этому поводу:

«Сфера» претендует на бюджетное финансирование и это - проблема, так как есть сомнения в конкурентоспособности проекта и возможности его выхода на внешние рынки, даже если речь идет о рынках стран БРИКС и ШОС. То есть, мы будем просто жечь деньги нашего бюджета в печке.


Главными техническими проблемами, по мнению Ионина, являются высокая стоимость каждого спутника и зависимость от импортных комплектующих при их производстве. Когда аппаратов 600 – бюджет вырастает до астрономических размеров.

Действительно, ключевым вопросом будет конечная стоимость спутников - их выведения на орбиту, последующего обслуживания и регулярного обновления. Благодаря развитию технологий, вес космических аппаратов связи резко уменьшился с тонны до нескольких сотен килограммов. Например, «Гонец-М» весит 280 кг, аппарат Starlink – 227 кг, у OneWeb – 148 кг. Это позволяет выводить их на орбиту на одной ракете-носителе пачками, что серьезно удешевляет стоимость проекта.

Но еще важнее, во сколько выйдет каждый спутник. Сегодня производство одного аппарата в нашей стране обходится в 7,5 – 15 миллионов долларов. Все это надо умножить на 600. Для сравнения, OneWeb грозится довести стоимость спутника до 1 миллиона долларов. Вероятно, Starlink, с его многотысячной группировкой, будет стремиться еще более их удешевить.

Как говорится, почувствуйте разницу. Причина заключается в том, что западные корпорации в состоянии производить аппараты конвейерным способом, снижая издержки. У нас это пока что штучная работа, да еще и зависящая от Запада по комплектующим. В этом смысле, эксперты в своих сомнениях правы.

Однако это не означает, что на «Сфере» надо ставить крест. Это ведь не только и не столько бизнес. Проект имеет свое второе, военное крыло, которое будет обеспечивать работу системы глобального позиционирования и оповещения о происшествиях. Спутники гарантируют связь даже в случае «полного отключения земной инфраструктуры». В условиях, когда США выходят из основополагающих договоров, обеспечивающих международную безопасность, иметь такой дубль будет, мягко говоря, не лишним.

«Сфера» - это масштабнейший проект, который высвечивает реальные проблемы в отечественной высокотехнологичной промышленности. Но это не повод накрываться медным тазом, а решать их.
Использованы фотографии: https://spacenews.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Nick Офлайн
    Nick (Николай) 28 августа 2019 14:25
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Серия в аж 600 аппаратов должна серьёзно удешевить проект и создаёт возможность для создания того же конвейера, что и у конкурентов.
    В любом случае, это шанс для нашей высокотехнологичной сферы экономики.
    Надо строить!
  2. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 30 августа 2019 08:06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Цитата: Nick
    Серия в аж 600 аппаратов должна серьёзно удешевить проект и создаёт возможность для создания того же конвейера, что и у конкурентов.
    В любом случае, это шанс для нашей высокотехнологичной сферы экономики.
    Надо строить!

    Я тоже полагаю, что скорее надо, чем не надо. Косяков будет много, но в итоге что-то да вымучат дельное.