NASA Tests Innovative Survey System for Concorde's Future Successor

The front-view system for the promising supersonic passenger liner X-59 has successfully passed its first flight tests. This was reported the day before by the American Space Agency. Tests were conducted at the flying laboratory Beechcraft King Air UC-12B.




Essence of the above Technologydubbed XVS (external visibility system), it means that an external front-view camera with a resolution of 4K, as well as a retractable camera installed at the bottom of the aircraft, will transmit the image to a monitor located in the cockpit, which will replace familiar viewing window. In addition, the picture will be supplemented with data from all on-board sensors, providing pilots with all the necessary information.

The need to develop such a system arose in connection with the design features of the aircraft. The fact is that an excessively elongated nose prevents the implementation of a full front view by pilots. However, it is worth noting that in the demonstrator of a promising airliner, this part of the fuselage will be transparent, in case the XVS fails during the tests.

Recall that the X-59, which is being developed by Lockheed Martin by order of NASA, should become a supersonic passenger aircraft. He must fly over the inhabited part of the land (now prohibited). To this end, engineers plan to reduce the intensity and number of shock waves, thanks to the special geometry of the wing, an elongated nose and a jet engine with noise-absorbing filters.

Testing of the XVS front-view system should be completed next year. At the same time, the first flight of the demonstrator of the X-59 supersonic airliner is already planned for 2021.
Photos used: https://www.gannett.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 30 August 2019 20: 06
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    The USA can afford it. But why do we need civilian supersonic? Now an ordinary plane is not affordable for everyone. If only design bureaus provide work?

NASA испытало инновационную систему обзора для будущего «преемника Конкорда»

Система переднего обзора для перспективного сверхзвукового пассажирского лайнера Х-59 успешно прошла свои первые летные испытания. Об этом накануне сообщило американское космическое агентство. Тесты проводились на летающей лаборатории Beechcraft King Air UC-12B.



Суть вышеупомянутой технологии, получившей название XVS (external visibility system), заключается в том, что внешняя камера переднего обзора с разрешением 4К, а также выдвижная камера, установленная в нижней части самолета, будут передавать изображение на монитор, расположенный в кабине, который будет заменять привычное обзорное окно. Кроме того, картинка будет дополняться данными со всех бортовых датчиков, обеспечивая пилотов всей необходимой информацией.


Потребность в разработке подобной системы возникла в связи с конструктивными особенностями самолета. Дело в том, что чрезмерно удлиненная носовая часть препятствует осуществлению полноценного переднего обзора летчиками. Однако, стоит отметить, что в демонстраторе перспективного лайнера, эта часть фюзеляжа будет прозрачной, на тот случай, если во время испытаний XVS даст сбой.

Напомним, что Х-59, разработкой которого занимается Lockheed Martin по заказу NASA, должен стать сверхзвуковым пассажирским самолетом. Он должен осуществлять полеты над населенной частью суши (сейчас запрещены). С этой целью, инженеры планируют снизить интенсивность и количество ударных волн, благодаря особой геометрии крыла, удлиненной носовой части и реактивному двигателю с шумопоглощающими фильтрами.

Испытания системы переднего обзора XVS должны завершиться в следующем году. При этом первый полет демонстратора сверхзвукового лайнера Х-59, запланирован уже на 2021 год.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.gannett.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 30 августа 2019 20:06
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    США могут себе это позволить. А вот нам зачем нужен гражданский сверхзвук? Сейчас обычный самолёт не всем по карману. Если только конструкторские бюро работой обеспечить?