Second Yellowstone: two supervolcanoes threaten to destroy the planet

And again about Yellowstone. The American supervolcano is not a topic that is easy and simple to brush aside. The problem is that he increasingly gives occasion to talk about himself. But, as you know, the trouble does not come alone. The recent discovery of scientists in Antarctica presented a much more unpleasant surprise.




The Yellowstone Super Volcano, or rather, the caldera, is located in Wyoming in the national park, occupying a third of it. From the point of view of geology, this is in every sense of the word "hot spot": a huge bubble of molten magma, a covered plateau.
Three eruptions of Yellowstone are known: 2,1 million years ago, 1,3 million and 640 thousand years ago. It is not difficult to see a certain pattern in these geological phenomena that occur with a frequency of 600-800 thousand years. Judging by the dates, then right now we are in that historical interval when "it is time".

The volcanic specialist, Brian Walsh, describes the inevitable eruption. First, a strong earthquake will occur, which will indicate the movement of magma to the surface. Then an explosion of the caldera will follow, and the lava will flood within a few days, all within a radius of 65 kilometers from the volcano. Clouds of hot ash will destroy vegetation at great distances, damage infrastructure, power lines, and disrupt water supply.

Even for a superpower like the USA, this will be a real disaster. But not only Americans will get it. The release of ash into the atmosphere will cause an ongoing long-term winter, which will lead to enormous damage in agriculture on the whole planet, starvation and the extinction of many species of animals and plants. Mankind as such will survive, but will face the grave problem of hunger and the inevitable in this case armed conflict over resources. Civilizations in the form as we know it will be dealt a crushing blow. After Yellowstone, everything will be different.

The facts are such that it is simply impossible not to notice the gradual awakening of the volcano. Earthquakes are becoming more frequent. Around Yellowstone, more and more thermal zones are discovered, places where magma comes very close to the surface. So, a week ago a thermal zone appeared, the temperature in which is so high that the trees turned into coals, and the earth was simply burnt out.

By the way, American researchers have calculated and established that a blow to the planet of a large celestial body (meteorite) will inevitably cause an eruption of already boiling Yellowstone. The idea of ​​a hypothetical nuclear strike on a supervolcano in the event of a war with the United States was even discussed in domestic media and social networks. However, the following must be considered.

According to PlanetToday, recently under the ice of Antarctica, scientists have found a whole group of volcanoes. It turned out that one of them is even bigger and potentially more dangerous than his American counterpart. The eruption of such a "monster", and even in the thickness of millennial ice, will cause a catastrophic destabilization of the Antarctic ice sheet. Billions of tons of fresh water will pour into the oceans, which will lead not only to a rise in the level of the latter, but also to a disruption of the main ocean currents, in particular the Gulf Stream. Melting of only 2% of the Antarctic ice sheet is fraught with flooding of cities such as New York, Amsterdam, Shanghai and many other coastal megacities. The vast majority of islands in the Indian and Atlantic oceans will forever go under water.

However, we do not specifically touch on the issue of ash discharge by the Antarctic supervolcano. The consequences of such an event are felt by all the inhabitants of the planet, wherever they are. In addition, huge emissions of water vapor generated due to the contact of hot lava and frozen ice will have a detrimental effect on the Earth’s climate. Long rains in conjunction with the ashes will turn entire regions of the planet into uninhabitable space.
Photos used: https://www.viajejet.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bakht Offline
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 5 September 2019 12: 44
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    600-800 THOUSAND years. In 1999, there was a joke about the millennium:

    As you meet the millennium - so spend it.

    Without denying the hypothetical eruption of the supervolcano, one must still think that this will not happen in the next thousand years. I’m unlikely to live so much.
    1. Digital error Offline
      Digital error (Eugene) 5 September 2019 18: 34
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Quote: Bakht
      I’m unlikely to live so much.

      I thought about the same thing. 600 thousand plus or minus 40 thousand years ... Despite the fact that Jesus, if there was one, then 1/20 years of this error in time back ...
    2. CTEPX24 Offline
      CTEPX24 (CTEPX24) 5 September 2019 22: 16
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Quote: Bakht
      One must think that this will not happen in the next thousand years.

      I would not have hoped for this)) Along the way, the whole trouble is in hypotheses))

      https://aftershock.news/?q=node/379579
      1. Bakht Offline
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 5 September 2019 23: 21
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Smiled .....
  2. boriz Online
    boriz (boriz) 5 September 2019 15: 47
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Okay, we’ll assume that they scared us.
  3. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergѣi) 5 September 2019 19: 27
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    It could even be. No wonder Trump is so stubbornly eager to buy Greenland, in order to have time to evacuate all the main things.
    1. zenion Offline
      zenion (zinovy) 6 September 2019 21: 26
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      The teacher says: "After 5 billion years, the sun will go out.
      Vasya: "After how much?"
      Teacher: "In 5 billion years."
      Vasya: "I was scared, I heard that after 5 million years."
  4. DPN Offline
    DPN (DPN) 5 September 2019 21: 06
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Scarecrows all this, we live in peace and put on these fears ....
  5. Screw Offline
    Screw (Gennady) 6 September 2019 00: 38
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Around Antarctica there is a circumpolar current that blocks the spread of volcanic products.
    And there is a volcano on the surface with very slow lava. Much more dangerous is the underwater volcano in the Drake Strait, which threatens the circumpolar current.
  6. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 6 September 2019 22: 22
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    And in Antarctica, what they just didn’t find, according to ufologists ... now they found a supervolcano, supposedly ....
  7. The comment was deleted.

Второй Йеллоустоун: два супервулкана грозят уничтожить планету

И снова про Йеллоустоун. Американский супервулкан – это не та тема, от которой легко и просто отмахнуться. Проблема в том, что он все чаще дает поводы о себе говорить. Но, как известно, беда не приходит одна. Недавняя находка ученых в Антарктиде преподнесла гораздо более неприятный сюрприз.



Йеллоустонский супервулкан, или, вернее, кальдера, расположен в штате Вайоминг на территории национального парка, занимая третью его часть. С точки зрения геологии, это во всех смыслах слова «горячая точка»: огромный пузырь расплавленной магмы, прикрытый плато.

Известны три извержения Йеллоустоуна: 2,1 миллиона лет назад, 1,3 миллиона и 640 тысяч лет назад. Нетрудно увидеть некую закономерность в этих геологических явлениях, которые происходят с периодичностью в 600-800 тысяч лет. Если судить по датам, то как раз сейчас мы находимся в том историческом промежутке, когда «уже пора».

Специалист по вулканам, Брайан Уолш, так описывает неизбежное извержение. Сперва произойдет сильное землетрясение, которое будет свидетельствовать о движении магмы к поверхности. Потом последует взрыв кальдеры, и лава зальет в течение нескольких дней все в радиусе 65 километров от вулкана. Облака горячего пепла уничтожат растительность на огромных расстояниях, повредят инфраструктуру, линии электропередач, нарушат водоснабжение.

Даже для такой сверхдержавы, как США, это станет настоящей катастрофой. Но достанется не только американцам. Выброс пепла в атмосферу вызовет непрекращающуюся многолетнюю зиму, которая приведет к колоссальному ущербу в сельском хозяйстве на всей планете, голоду и вымиранию множества видов животных и растений. Человечество как таковое выживет, но столкнется с серьезнейшей проблемой голода и неизбежных в таком случае вооруженных конфликтов из-за ресурсов. Цивилизации в таком виде, как мы ее знаем, будет нанесен сокрушительный удар. После Йеллоустоуна все будет иным.

Факты таковы, что не замечать постепенное пробуждение вулкана просто нельзя. Землетрясения учащаются. Вокруг Йеллоустоуна обнаруживаются все новые термальные зоны, места, где магма очень близко подходит к поверхности. Так, неделю назад появилась термальная зона, температура в которой столь высока, что деревья превратились в угли, а земля оказалась просто выжжена.

Кстати, американские исследователи подсчитали и установили, что удар по планете крупного небесного тела (метеорита) неизбежно вызовет извержение уже закипающего Йеллоустоуна. В отечественных СМИ и социальных сетях даже обсуждалась идея гипотетического ядерного удара по супервулкану в случае начала войны с США. Однако необходимо учитывать следующее.

Как сообщает PlanetToday, недавно подо льдами Антарктиды ученые нашли целую группу вулканов. Выяснилось, что один из них даже больше и потенциально опаснее своего американского собрата. Извержение такого «чудовища», да еще и в толще тысячелетних льдов, вызовет катастрофическую дестабилизацию Антарктического ледяного щита. Миллиарды тонн пресной воды хлынут в Мировой океан, что приведет не только к подъему уровня последнего, но и к нарушению основных океанский течений, в частности Гольфстрима. Таяние лишь 2% Антарктического ледяного щита чревато затоплением таких городов как Нью-Йорк, Амстердам, Шанхай и многих других прибрежных мегаполисов. Подавляющее большинство островов в Индийском и Атлантическом океанах навсегда уйдут под воду.

При этом мы специально не затрагиваем тему выброса пепла антарктическим супервулканом. Последствия такого события прочувствуют на себе все жители планеты, где бы они ни находились. Кроме того, огромные выбросы водяного пара, образующегося вследствие контакта раскалённой лавы и промерзшего льда, окажут пагубное воздействие на климат Земли. Затяжные дожди в совокупности с пеплом, превратят целые регионы планеты в непригодное для жизни пространство.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.viajejet.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Bakht Офлайн
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 5 сентября 2019 12:44
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    600-800 ТЫСЯЧ лет. В 1999 году ходила шутка про миллениум:

    Как встретишь тысячелетие - так его и проведешь.

    Не отрицая гипотетического извержения супервулкана, все же надо думать, что в ближайшую тысячу лет этого не произойдет. Я столько вряд ли проживу.
    1. DigitalError Офлайн
      DigitalError (Евгений) 5 сентября 2019 18:34
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Цитата: Bakht
      Я столько вряд ли проживу.

      Об этом же подумал. 600 тысяч плюс-минус 40 тысяч лет... При том, что Иисус, если и существовал, то 1/20 лет этой погрешности во времени назад...
    2. CTEPX24 Офлайн
      CTEPX24 (CTEPX24) 5 сентября 2019 22:16
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Цитата: Bakht
      Надо думать, что в ближайшую тысячу лет этого не произойдет.

      Я бы на это не надеялся)) По ходу, вся беда в гипотезах))

      https://aftershock.news/?q=node/379579
      1. Bakht Офлайн
        Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 5 сентября 2019 23:21
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Улыбнуло.....
  2. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 5 сентября 2019 15:47
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Ладно, будем считать, что напугали.
  3. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергей Г) 5 сентября 2019 19:27
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Очень даже может быть. Недаром Трамп так упорно рвётся купить Гренландию, дабы успеть эвакуировать всё основное.
    1. zenion Офлайн
      zenion (zinovy) 6 сентября 2019 21:26
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Учитель говорит: "Через 5 миллиардов лет Солнце потухнет.
      Вася: "Через сколько?"
      Учитель: "Через 5 миллиардов лет."
      Вася: "Я испугался, мне послышалось, что через 5 миллионов лет."
  4. DPN Офлайн
    DPN (ДПН) 5 сентября 2019 21:06
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Пугалки всё это, живём спокойно и на эти страхи кладём....
  5. Винтик Офлайн
    Винтик (Геннадий) 6 сентября 2019 00:38
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Вокруг Антарктиды циркумполярное течение, которое заблокирует разнос вулканических продуктов.
    И там есть вулкан на поверхности с очень медленной лавой. Гораздо опаснее подводный вулкан в проливе Дрейка, угрожающий циркумполярному течению.
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 6 сентября 2019 22:22
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    А в Антарктиде чего только не находили, по уфологам... теперь и супервулкан нашли, якобы....
  7. Комментарий был удален.