Forgotten project: hydrogen "Carcass" can find a second life

The unfulfilled hope of the Soviet aviation industry - the Tu-155 hydrogen aircraft, was shown to the guests of MAKS-2019 as part of the historical exposition. The latter was organized by the Legends of Aviation Foundation with the support of the OUR SKY foundation.




Tu-155 became the first passenger airliner with a cryogenic engine. Having made its debut flight in 1988, the aircraft was operated for 4 years, having carried out 150 successful flights. At the same time, instead of toxic kerosene, hydrogen and liquefied gas were used as fuel. However, despite the apparent success, the collapse of the USSR, followed by him economic difficulties, put a “cross” on the legendary plane.

It is worth noting that, contrary to concerns about the explosiveness of hydrogen, and skepticism about the project as a whole, the Tu-155 completed 5 successful flights on hydrogen fuel. To ensure maximum safety, a special fuel supply and cooling system was designed.

Despite the fact that this project could be a real breakthrough in the domestic aviation industry, it remained unrealized.

The then level of development of technologies not allowed to take it fully,

- summed up Valery Vladimirovich Arkhipov - flight engineer who completed almost all flights on the Tu-155.

However, not everything is lost. As part of the MAKS-2019 event, Nikolai Sergeyevich Prokhorov, an engineer from FSUE RRC “Applied Chemistry”, who at that time was developing hydrogen fuel for a promising liner, expressed cautious optimism about the resumption of the project. He believes that the technologies implemented in the Tu-155 can be used, for example, to create a passenger supersonic airliner and an air-orbit aircraft. A similar point of view is shared by the head of the OUR SKY foundation, Alexei Nikolaev.

It is worth emphasizing that the opinion expressed by the functionaries is not unfounded. According to Prokhorov, St. Petersburg GIPH is now just engaged in a project on the use of hydrogen and methane as an aviation fuel.
Photos used: Alan Wilson / wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Pishenkov Offline
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 5 September 2019 18: 37
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Apparently, the USSR, like the German Third Reich at one time, left so many advanced technical developments that you can “ride” them for a long time after his death ... And how such technical breakthroughs arose in terrible totalitarian systems, what did not dream of free democracies? ... That is the question ...
  2. tracer Offline
    tracer (Parma) 5 September 2019 19: 04
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    You can fly a plane, but if it is filled with hydrogen to the eyeballs ...? A leak and such a "keshkelbe" (author Ravshan and Jamshud). The explosiveness of liquid hydrogen cannot be overestimated.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 6 September 2019 21: 57
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Another URA - maybe - can not zhurnalyug.
    There’s a series of breakthrough victories, not one of which has gone into the mass production. And even approximate figures are usually not about theoretical orders.
    1. Bitter Offline
      Bitter (Gleb) 13 September 2019 09: 05
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Well, not quite right.
      If at one time there was absolutely nothing except the desire to sell and fill pockets, it would be left to its own devices. am Over the past 30 years, this segment could be brought to mind. But it wasn’t interesting request it is surprising that they didn’t pass this prototype to the colormet or didn’t get it off somewhere in “America” for a couple of tugriks.
      I think export orders to measure the quality and technological advancement of products is the wrong way.
      And the rest, in this particular case, you can write a "carcass" even without quotes. what
      1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
        Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 13 September 2019 09: 08
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        But URA-boasting - right.
        1. Bitter Offline
          Bitter (Gleb) 13 September 2019 09: 13
          0
          • 0
          • 0
          It’s like in that tale: bully

          People’s healer Praying Mantis with dry, like grass, hands began to touch Pinocchio.

          “One of two things,” he whispered, “either the patient is alive, or he died.” If he is alive, he will remain alive, or he will not remain alive. If he is dead, he can be revived or cannot be revived.

          “Shhsharlatanism,” said the Owl, flapped its soft wings and flew away into the dark attic.
  4. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 7 September 2019 05: 29
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Hydrogen, in comparison with natural gas, loses in price competition, while it is highly explosive. Any leak is very dangerous. Natural gas in this regard is safer and easier to handle. Tu-155 is a technology demonstrator, its operation is still somewhat more complicated than usual, and as long as there is oil, it will remain a demonstrator. Like, in fact, methane rocket engines, although their efficiency is higher.

Забытый проект: водородная «Тушка» может обрести вторую жизнь

Несбывшаяся надежда советского авиапрома – водородный самолет Ту-155, был показан гостям МАКС-2019 в рамках исторической экспозиции. Последняя была организована фондом «Легенды авиации» при поддержке фонда «НАШЕ НЕБО».



Ту-155 стал первым пассажирским лайнером с криогенным двигателем. Совершив дебютный вылет в 1988 году, самолет эксплуатировался на протяжении 4-х лет, осуществив 150 успешных полетов. При этом, вместо токсичного керосина, в качестве горючего использовались водород и сжиженный газ. Однако, несмотря на очевидный успех, развал СССР, с последовавшими за ним экономическими трудностями, поставили «крест» на легендарном самолете.


Стоит отметить, что вопреки опасениям, связанным с взрывоопасностью водорода, и скептическому отношению к проекту в целом, Ту-155 выполнил 5 успешных полетов на водородном топливе. Для обеспечения максимальной безопасности, была спроектирована специальная система подачи топлива и его охлаждения.

Несмотря на то, что данный проект мог стать настоящим прорывом в отечественном авиапроме, он так и остался нереализованным.

Тогдашний уровень развития технологий не позволил воспринять его полноценно,

– подытожил Валерий Владимирович Архипов – бортинженер, выполнивший на Ту-155 почти все рейсы.

Однако еще не все потеряно. В рамках мероприятия МАКС-2019, инженер из ФГУП «РНЦ «Прикладная химия», Николай Сергеевич Прохоров, который в то время занимался разработкой водородного топлива для перспективного лайнера, выразил сдержанный оптимизм по поводу возобновления проекта. Он считает, что технологии, реализованные в Ту-155, могут быть использованы, например, при создании пассажирского сверхзвукового лайнера и воздушно-орбитального самолета. Аналогичной точки зрения придерживается и руководитель фонда «НАШЕ НЕБО», Алексей Николаев.

Стоит подчеркнуть, что высказанное функционерами мнение небезосновательно. Как заявил Прохоров, петербургский ГИПХ сейчас как раз занимается проектом по применению водорода и метана в качестве авиационного топлива.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.pokazuha.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Пишенков Офлайн
    Пишенков (Алексей) 5 сентября 2019 18:37
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Судя по всему, СССР, как в своё время и германский Третий рейх, оставил такое количество передовых технических наработок, что "ездить" на них можно ещё долгое время после его кончины... И как это в страшных тоталитарных системах возникали такие технические прорывы, что свободным демократиям и не снились?... Вот вопрос...
  2. трассер Офлайн
    трассер (Парма) 5 сентября 2019 19:04
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Летать на самолёте можно, но если он под завязку заполнен водородом...? Утечка и такое " кешкельбе" (автор Равшан и Джамшуд). Взрывооасность жидкого водорода переоценить невозможно.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 6 сентября 2019 21:57
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Очередное УРА - может - не может у журналюг.
    Прям череда прорывных побед, ни одна из которых так в массовую серию и не пошла. И даже примерных цифр обычно нет о теоретических заказах.
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 13 сентября 2019 09:05
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Ну, не совсем верно.
      Если бы в своё время не было абсолютно всё, кроме стремления продать и набить карманы, брошено на произвол. am За прошедшие 30 лет можно было бы этот сегмент довести до ума. Но это было никомушеньки не интересно, request удивительно, что этот прототип на цветмет не сдали или куда-нибудь в "Америки" за пару тугриков не сбагрили.
      Я думаю, экспортными заказами измерять качество и технологическую продвинутость изделий, это неверный путь.
      А в остальном, можно в этом отдельном случае "тушка" даже без кавычек писать. what
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 13 сентября 2019 09:08
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Зато УРА-ХВАСТОВСТВО - верно.
        1. Bitter Офлайн
          Bitter (Глеб) 13 сентября 2019 09:13
          0
          • 0
          • 0
          Это как в той сказке: bully

          Народный лекарь Богомол сухими, как травинки, руками начал дотрагиваться до Буратино.

          - Одно из двух, - прошелестел он, - или пациент жив, или он умер. Если он жив - он останется жив, или он не останется жив. Если он мертв - его можно оживить или нельзя оживить.

          - Шшшарлатанство, - сказала Сова, взмахнула мягкими крыльями и улетела на темный чердак.
  4. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 7 сентября 2019 05:29
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Водород, в сравнении с природным газом, проигрывает в ценовой конкуренции, при этом весьма взрывоопасен. Любая утечка весьма опасна. Природный газ в этом плане более безопасен и проще в обращении. Ту-155 - демонстратор технологии, его эксплуатация всё-таки несколько сложней обычных, и пока будет нефть, так демонстратором и останется. Как, собственно, и метановые ракетные двигатели, хоть КПД у них и выше.