Money down the drain: Does Russia need its own nuclear aircraft carriers?

Do modern Russian Federation need their own aircraft carriers? Thousands of copies are broken around this question in verbal battles, but there is still no definite answer. Should our country continue to remain only a land power, or is it time for us to become a great ocean?




The experiments with the transformation of ships into sea airfields began at the beginning of the last century. In World War II, the United States, Japan and the United Kingdom owned aircraft carriers in the Navy. The fact that this is a formidable weapon, Tokyo convincingly proved, at once drowning almost the entire American fleet in Pearl Harbor. During the war, the United States built 28 heavy aircraft carriers and over a hundred light aircraft, becoming, in fact, the new masters of the seas. The real breakthrough was the appearance in the US Navy of atomic aircraft carriers, which allowed Washington to project its military power in almost any corner of the globe.

In the USSR, they closely followed the successes of their main ideological and potential military adversary. Worked out in the late fifties, the project of its own strike aircraft carrier, but he remained on paper. The country's leadership has relied on missiles and nuclear submarines, considering them the most effective means of counteraction. In the sixties, the project 1143 “anti-submarine cruiser with aircraft armaments” was created, on which aircraft with vertical take-off and landing, and helicopters were based.

In total, four such “as if aircraft carriers” were built - “Kiev”, “Minsk”, “Baku” and “Novorossiysk”. The further development of this project is our only "light aircraft carrier", it is the Admiral Kuznetsov Tavkr, originally called "Riga". Another Soviet ship of the same series - “Varyag”, now serves in the Navy of the PRC under the name “Liaoning”. Our last hope - the nuclear carrier “Ulyanovsk”, was not completed due to the collapse of the Soviet Union and the cessation of financing, and promptly, in 1992, was put into scrap by the “reformers”.

What do we have for the soul now?

At the Ninth International Naval Salon, visitors were introduced to two projects of Russian nuclear-powered aircraft carriers - Storm and Manatee. "Manatee", capable of carrying up to 60 aircraft, as well as drones and helicopters, seems to be a fairly successful development. “Storm” is even better: its air group will be able to count from 70 to 90 aircraft. But whether we have our own full-fledged AUG or not, is decided in high offices. What are the doubts?

Opponents of the construction of domestic nuclear aircraft carriers give the following arguments:

Russia is a great land power, for its protection it is enough to have a strong army, but not an expensive fleet.

Russia is a peaceful country, its military doctrine is purely defensive, and aircraft carriers are the "weapons of the aggressor."

Carriers and escort groups for them are long and expensive to build.

An aircraft carrier is a very good target, so it’s easy to drown them. Carriers are not needed, because, in case of war, nuclear missiles will solve everything.

Without claiming to be the ultimate truth, I would still like to object:

At first, the modern Russian Federation is ideologically not the heir to the USSR. Today we have capitalism, and within its framework, the government pursues a rather active expansionist policies. Today, Russian soldiers and military experts are present in Syria, and in Africa, and in Latin America, where big business has its own interests. If we had the opportunity to send a couple of full-fledged AUGs to the shores of the SAR or Venezuela, and the conversation with the Americans would be completely different.

In fact, we are the same “shark of capitalism” as yesterday’s ideological opponent in the person of the United States, only a smaller caliber. Our doctrine is defensive, but capitalism is aggressive and requires continuous expansion, in essence. This means that we must comply, pumping up and military muscles, having the opportunity to project power far abroad.

Secondly, the argument that the aircraft carrier is such a large and convenient target, rather controversial. The fact is that they themselves do not swim, they are accompanied by a whole AUG for protection. As for the uselessness of aircraft carriers in the confrontation with the United States, then everything is not entirely clear. Of course, in the case of the "last war", the US and I will exchange nuclear missile attacks, and the aircraft carrier here will be unprincipled.

But who said that such an exchange of ICBM strikes will happen at all? With the same Americans, we are conducting an indirect struggle on foreign territory: Ukraine, Syria, Venezuela ... To participate in such regional conflicts far beyond the sea, a couple of aircraft carrier strike groups would be very useful.

ThirdlyIt’s rather strange to hear the argument about the excessive cost of building a fleet. There is money in the country, although they advise us to hold on, the only question is how and what they are spent on. The World Cup cost a budget of 13,2 billion dollars. It's a good thing, they looked, they were glad for a few weeks, but everything quickly ended. The Sochi Olympics cost the country $ 51 billion at all.

Sorry, but this is not the cost of one full AUG. The construction of the navy is not just muscle building, it is, first of all, the development of its own high-tech industry. This is the creation of large shipyards for aircraft carriers, the purchase of modern equipment, loading orders of thousands of related enterprises. All this leads to the creation of new jobs, there is a demand for training in technical specialties.

Money down the drain is about entertainment, billions on the navy are investments in one’s own the economy and national security, increasing the country's credibility in the international arena.
Photos used: https://vojnapovijest.vecernji.hr
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sapsan136 Offline
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 7 September 2019 18: 56
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    As long as Russia does not have the new frigates and destroyers in the proper numbers, it’s stupid to build aircraft carriers, because for them there is no escort, and without an escort they are just floating mass graves.
  2. 123 Online
    123 (123) 7 September 2019 22: 07
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Another article "ahead of time" on a hackneyed topic. Five years later, publish it again, then we'll talk. By that time, I hope, “Nakhimov” and “Peter the Great” will finish, there will be a dozen new frigates, perhaps the first destroyer will appear. "Star" will work at full capacity. Disputes will disappear on their own, it turns out that for complete happiness, at least a couple of aircraft carriers are simply necessary.
  3. Marzhecki Offline
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 8 September 2019 07: 46
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Quote: 123
    Money down the drain: Does Russia need its own nuclear aircraft carriers?

    Do not you think that these tasks should be carried out in parallel, in combination?
  4. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 8 September 2019 07: 49
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    I am not an expert in this matter. After all, no one wondered why during the Vietnam war, planes took off from aircraft carriers, but they were not destroyed. Although there were all the possibilities for this. Because they were part of American territory. And what is better to build? So this is possible of this or that state.
  5. Sergey Sergeev_2 (Sergey Sergeev) 10 September 2019 03: 11
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Carriers in the Russian Navy are needed, but AUG service infrastructure is needed.
  6. jury2477 Offline
    jury2477 (Yuri Vladimirovich) 13 September 2019 00: 06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    I am not an expert in this field, but it seems to me that we really do not need a clean aircraft carrier, it is too huge and expensive. It is necessary to build aircraft-carrying cruisers TAVKR so that they themselves could defend themselves and attack, then in the AUG you can keep fewer ships, which is again cheaper. To increase striking power, work in tandem with the TARKR heavy missile cruiser. We have four TARKRs, and build four TAVKRs the size of Kuznetsov to them, so that, in which case, they could quickly move along the Northern Sea Route from one ocean to another.

Деньги на ветер: нужны ли России свои атомные авианосцы?

Нужны ли современной Российской Федерации собственные авианосцы? Вокруг этого вопроса в словесных баталиях сломаны тысячи копий, но однозначного ответа все еще нет. Продолжать ли нашей стране оставаться только сухопутной державой, или нам уже давно пора становиться и великой океанской?



Эксперименты с превращением кораблей в морские аэродромы начались еще в начале прошлого века. Во Второй мировой войне, авианосцами в составе ВМФ обладали США, Япония и Великобритания. То, что это грозное оружие, Токио убедительно доказал, разом утопив почти весь американский флот в Перл-Харборе. За время войны, Соединенные Штаты построили 28 тяжелых авианосцев и свыше сотни легких, став, фактически, новыми хозяевами морей. Настоящим прорывом стало появление в ВМС США атомных авианосцев, позволивших Вашингтону проецировать свою военную мощь практически в любом уголке земного шара.


В СССР внимательно следили за успехами своего главного идеологического и потенциального военного противника. Прорабатывался в конце пятидесятых годов проект собственного ударного авианосца, но он так и остался на бумаге. Руководство страны сделало ставку на ракеты и АПЛ, считая их наиболее эффективным средством противодействия. В шестидесятые годы был создан проект 1143 «противолодочного крейсера с авиационным вооружением», на котором базировались самолеты с вертикальными взлетом и посадкой, и вертолеты.

Всего было построено четыре таких «как бы авианосца» - «Киев», «Минск», «Баку» и «Новороссийск». Дальнейшим развитием этого проекта и является наш единственный «легкий авианосец», он же ТАВКР «Адмирал Кузнецов», изначально названный «Ригой». Другой советский корабль той же серии - «Варяг», теперь служит в ВМС КНР под названием «Ляонин». Последняя наша надежда - атомный авианосец «Ульяновск», был не достроен из-за развала Советского Союза и прекращения финансирования, и оперативно, в 1992 году, пущен на металлолом «реформаторами».

Что у нас есть за душой теперь?

На Девятом Международном военно-морском салоне, посетители были ознакомлены с двумя проектами российских атомных авианосцев – «Шторм» и «Ламантин». «Ламантин», способный нести до 60 самолетов, а также беспилотники и вертолеты, представляется достаточно удачной разработкой. «Шторм» - и того лучше: его авиагруппа сможет насчитывать от 70 до 90 летательных аппаратов. Но быть у нас своим полноценным АУГ или нет, решается в высоких кабинетах. В чем же сомнения?

Противники строительства отечественных атомных авианосцев приводят следующие аргументы:

Россия – великая сухопутная держава, для ее защиты достаточно иметь сильную армию, но не дорогостоящий флот.

Россия – мирная страна, ее военная доктрина чисто оборонительная, а авианосцы – это «оружие агрессора».

Авианосцы и группы сопровождения к ним долго и дорого строить.

Авианосец - очень хорошая цель, поэтому их легко утопить. Авианосцы не нужны, поскольку, в случае войны, все будут решать ядерные ракеты.

Не претендуя на истину в последней инстанции, все же хотелось бы возразить:

Во-первых, современная Российская Федерация идеологически не является наследницей СССР. Сегодня у нас капитализм, и в его рамках власть проводит достаточно активную экспансионистскую политику. Сегодня российские солдаты и военспецы присутствуют и в Сирии, и в Африке, и в Латинской Америке, где крупный бизнес имеет свои интересы. Имей мы возможность отправить пару полновесных АУГ к берегам САР или Венесуэлы, и разговор с американцами был бы совсем иным.

Фактически, мы такая же «акула капитализма», как и вчерашний идеологический противник в лице США, только калибром поменьше. Доктрина у нас оборонительная, но капитализм агрессивен и требует непрерывного расширения, по своей сути. А значит, надо соответствовать, накачивая и военные мускулы, получив возможность проецировать силу далеко за рубежом.

Во-вторых, довод про то, что авианосец – это такая большая и удобная цель, довольно противоречивый. Дело в том, что сами по себе они не плавают, их сопровождает целая АУГ для охранения. Что до бесполезности авианосцев в противостоянии с США, то и тут все не вполне однозначно. Конечно, в случае «последней войны», мы с США обменяемся ракетными ядерными ударами, и авианосец тут будет непринципиальным.

Но кто сказал, что такой размен ударами МБР вообще произойдет? С теми же американцами мы ведем опосредованную борьбу на чужой территории: Украина, Сирия, Венесуэла… Для участия в таких региональных конфликтах далеко за морем, пара авианосных ударных групп очень бы пригодилась.

В-третьих, довольно странно слышать аргумент об излишней дороговизне строительства флота. Деньги в стране есть, хоть нам и советуют держаться, вопрос лишь в том, как и на что они тратятся. Чемпионат мира по футболу обошелся бюджету в 13,2 миллиарда долларов. Дело хорошее, посмотрели, порадовались несколько недель, но все быстро закончилось. Олимпиада в Сочи стоила стране и вовсе 51 миллиард долларов.

Извините, но это стоимость не одной полноценной АУГ. Строительство военного флота – это не просто накачка мускулов, это, прежде всего, развитие собственной высокотехнологичной промышленности. Это создание больших верфей под авианосцы, закупка современного оборудования, загрузка заказами тысяч смежных предприятий. Все это приводит к появлению новых рабочих мест, появляется спрос на обучение техническим специальностям.

Деньги на ветер – это про развлечения, миллиарды на боевой флот – это инвестиции в собственную экономику и национальную безопасность, повышение авторитета страны на международной арене.
Использованы фотографии: https://vojnapovijest.vecernji.hr
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 7 сентября 2019 18:56
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Пока у России нет новых фрегатов и эсминцев в должном количестве, строить авианосцы глупо, так как для них нет эскорта, а без эскорта они - просто плавучие братские могилы.
  2. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 7 сентября 2019 22:07
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Еще одна статья, "опередившая время" на заезженную тему. Лет через пять еще раз ее опубликуйте, тогда и поговорим. К тому времени, надеюсь, "Нахимов" и "Петр Великий" доделают, фрегатов новых будет с дюжину, возможно эсминец первый появится. "Звезда" заработает на полную мощность. Споры отпадут сами собой, окажется, что для полного счастья просто необходима, как минимум, парочка авианосцев.
  3. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 8 сентября 2019 07:46
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Цитата: 123
    Деньги на ветер: нужны ли России свои атомные авианосцы?

    А вам не кажется, что эти задачи надо выполнять параллельно, в комплексе?
  4. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 8 сентября 2019 07:49
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Я не эксперт в этом деле. Ведь никто не задавался вопросом - почему во время вьетнамской войны самолеты взлетали с авианосцев, а их не уничтожали. Хотя все возможности для этого были. Потому что они были частью американской территории. А что лучше строить? Так это по возможности того или иного государства.
  5. Сергей Сергеев_2 (Сергей Сергеев) 10 сентября 2019 03:11
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Авианосцы в российском ВМФ нужны, но нужна инфраструктура обслуживания АУГ.
  6. jury2477 Офлайн
    jury2477 (Юрий Владимирович) 13 сентября 2019 00:06
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Я не эксперт в этой области, но мне кажется, что чистый авианосец нам действительно не нужен, слишком огромен и дорог. Надо строить авианесущие крейсера ТАВКР, чтобы они сами и обороняться, и нападать могли, тогда в АУГ можно поменьше кораблей держать, что опять же дешевле. Для повышения ударной мощи, работать в паре с тяжелым ракетным крейсером ТАРКР. У нас есть четыре ТАРКР, и к ним построить четыре ТАВКР размером с Кузнецова, чтобы, в случае чего, они оперативно могли по Северному морскому пути переходить из одного океана в другой.