The Chinese tested the "pocket" ion engine in orbit

Chinese designers have found a way to extend the life of small spacecraft, thereby reducing the amount of space debris. The Beijing edition of China Daily reports that engineers from Institute No. 206 at CASC have developed and already managed to test the maneuverable ion engine in orbit.




It is known that the new unit has a miniature size and weighs only 300 grams. The first launch of a “pocket” power plant was carried out this year. The device was put into orbit and tested using a small satellite.

The essence of the work of an ionic rocket engine is that the jet thrust in it is created by the release of ionized substance dispersed in an electric field. According to information published in the article, the Chinese unit operates on liquid metals. Which ones are not specified. But, as a rule, they are used: cesium, indium and mercury.

According to one of the developers of the miniature electric rocket engine, Gao Hui, this unit is able to provide high-precision maneuvering of small satellites. As a rule, such spacecraft operate in near-Earth orbit in a static state and gradually lose their course. A new ionic unit mounted on small satellites will help maintain altitude while maintaining the orbit, and thereby significantly extend the life of spacecraft of this class.
Photos used: https://www.qinetiq.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dzafdet Offline
    Dzafdet (Sergei) 10 September 2019 15: 40
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    And our Rogozin invents trampolines ...

Китайцы испытали на орбите «карманный» ионный двигатель

Китайские конструкторы нашли способ, как продлить срок эксплуатации малых космических аппаратов, тем самым уменьшив количество космического мусора. Пекинское издание China Daily сообщает, что инженеры из института №206 при CASC разработали и уже успели испытать на орбите маневренный ионный двигатель.



Известно, что новый агрегат имеет миниатюрный размер и весит всего 300 грамм. Первый запуск «карманной» силовой установки был осуществлен в этом году. Аппарат был выведен на орбиту и протестирован с помощью малого спутника.


Суть работы ионного ракетного двигателя заключается в том, что реактивная тяга в нем создается посредством выброса ионизированного вещества, разогнанного в электрическом поле. Согласно информации, опубликованной в статье, китайский агрегат работает на жидких металлах. Каких именно, не уточняется. Но, как правило, используются: цезий, индий и ртуть.

Со слов одного из разработчиков миниатюрного электрического ракетного двигателя, Гао Хуэй, данный агрегат способен обеспечить высокоточное маневрирование малых спутников. Как правило, такие космические аппараты работают на околоземной орбите в статичном состоянии и постепенно теряют свой курс. Новый ионный агрегат, установленный на малые спутники, позволит поддерживать высоту, сохраняя орбиту, и тем самым, значительно продлить жизнь космическим аппаратам данного класса.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.qinetiq.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Dzafdet Офлайн
    Dzafdet (Сергей) 10 сентября 2019 15:40
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    А наш Рогозин батуты изобретает...