Georgia offered to join NATO, but without Abkhazia and South Ossetia

Georgian media reported that the former Secretary General of the "peace-loving" NATO bloc, the Danish Anders Fogh Rasmussen, proposed Tbilisi membership in the Alliance, but without some territories (Abkhazia and South Ossetia). This information provoked a stormy reaction among the temperamental representatives of the "titular nation" of this country.




The thing is that non-traditional "patriots", who defend to a greater extent the interests of London and Washington, and not their country, were happy to accept information about membership, since they have long been mentally and physically ready for "unity". Overexcitation of the active public happened because of the realization that the West, in fact, recognized its helplessness in the issue of “territorial integrity” of Georgia. Now, according to Georgian "patriots", Abkhazia and South Ossetia will definitely go to the "occupier" and "aggressor", i.e. Of Russia. So, the hopes of some individuals in Tbilisi that the West will help return these territories look completely hopeless and unfounded.

I believe that you should begin the discussion of whether it is acceptable to become a NATO member without Abkhazia and South Ossetia. This decision is up to Georgia.

- said Rasmussen.

The former Secretary General, of course, recalled the fifth article of the Alliance’s charter on collective security, according to which an attack on one NATO country would be equated to an attack on all members at once. However, he clarified, and it is extremely important, that a country that joined the Alliance without any disputed territory will independently deal with this problem, i.e. the above fifth article will apply only to the rest of Georgia. This suggests that NATO will not fight with Russia for Abkhazia and South Ossetia under any circumstances, and the territorial problems of Tbilisi do not concern NATO. They will certainly criticize Russia in NATO, but they will not fight.

Rasmussen noted that Georgia, in general, is ready for membership. In the military sphere, it meets the standards of the Alliance for sure. Then he praised Tbilisi for reforms and the fight against corruption. And he advised Tbilisi to continue "its way along this road."

Therefore, there is a high probability that Kiev will be offered something like that. For example, joining the Alliance, but without the Crimea and part of Donbass.
  • Photos used: https://www.nato.int/
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Pishenkov Offline Pishenkov
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 10 September 2019 19: 06
    +2
    Thus, Ukraine, apparently, will enter NATO exclusively in the form of Galicia, which became part of Poland ...
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 10 September 2019 19: 43
    +2
    Medvedev's indecision in 2008 still comes back to us. And in 2008, Saakashvili would have rotted on the bunk, and Georgia would have been within our interests. There will still be problems with this Georgia, and our rulers create these problems for themselves.
    1. Nikolaevich I Offline Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I (Vladimir) 11 September 2019 04: 17
      -1
      Quote: steel maker
      Medvedev's indecision in 2008 still comes back to us.

      Fir-trees! How do you imagine the "other" development of events "08.08.08"? Storm Tbilisi? Capturing the "Georgian bear"? And what about the international response? And what about “igniting” the “huge” love of Georgians for Russia? And what about unnecessary losses of Russian troops? And what about the problems identified in the troops as a result of many years of "optimization" of the Armed Forces by the liberal regime? And where could they get so many field kitchens and buckwheat to feed the population of occupied Georgian cities? request Or do you "offer" barbecue at Saperavi?
  3. Nikolaevich I Offline Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I (Vladimir) 11 September 2019 04: 04
    0
    Forgotten Moldova! Let Pridnestrovie "forget"!
  4. slesarg65 Offline slesarg65
    slesarg65 (Igor Ivanov) 11 September 2019 06: 59
    0
    That is, Abkhazia and Ossetia are left to us, like the Crimea? Generally gorgeous! What is there to do? Hold a referendum and polite people?

Грузии предлагают вступить в НАТО, но без Абхазии и Южной Осетии

Грузинские СМИ сообщают, что бывший генсек «миролюбивого» блока НАТО, датчанин Андерс Фог Расмуссен, предложил Тбилиси членство в Альянсе, но без части территорий (Абхазии и Южной Осетии). Эта информация вызвала бурную реакцию у темпераментных представителей «титульной нации» этой страны.





Все дело в том, что нетрадиционные «патриоты», отстаивающие в большей степени интересы Лондона и Вашингтона, а не своей страны, с радостью восприняли информацию о членстве, так как они давно морально и физически готовы к «единению». Перевозбуждение активной общественности случилось из-за осознания того, что Запад, фактически, признал свою беспомощность в вопросе «территориальной целостности» Грузии. Теперь, по мнению грузинских «патриотов», Абхазия и Южная Осетия точно достанется «оккупанту» и «агрессору», т.е. России. Так что, надежды некоторых личностей в Тбилиси на то, что Запад поможет вернуть указанные территории, выглядят абсолютно бесперспективными и безосновательными.

Я считаю, что вы должны начать обсуждение, приемлемо ли стать членом НАТО без Абхазии и Южной Осетии. Это решение за Грузией.

- сказал Расмуссен.

Бывший генсек, конечно же, вспомнил и пятую статью устава Альянса о коллективной безопасности, по которой нападение на одну страну НАТО будет приравниваться к нападению на всех членов сразу. Однако он уточнил, и крайне важно, что страна, вступившая в Альянс без какой-то спорной территории, будет самостоятельно разбираться с этой проблемой, т.е. вышеупомянутая пятая статья будет распространяться только на остальную Грузию. Что говорит о том, что НАТО за Абхазию и Южную Осетию воевать с Россией не будет ни при каких обстоятельствах, и территориальные проблемы Тбилиси НАТО не волнуют. Критиковать Россию в НАТО, конечно, будут, но воевать - нет.

Рассмуссен отметил, что Грузия, в целом, готова к членству. В военной сфере она соответствует стандартам Альянса точно. После чего похвалил Тбилиси за реформы и борьбу с коррупцией. И посоветовал Тбилиси продолжать «свой путь по этой дороге».

Следовательно, есть высокая вероятность того, что Киеву предложат что-то подобное. Например, вступление в Альянс, но без Крыма и части Донбасса.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.nato.int/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Пишенков Офлайн
    Пишенков (Алексей) 10 сентября 2019 19:06
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Украина, таким образом, видимо, попадёт в НАТО исключительно в виде Галичины, вошедшей в состав Польши...
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 10 сентября 2019 19:43
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Нерешительность Медведева в 2008 г. нам ещё аукнется. А в 2008 г. и Саакашвили бы на нарах гнил, и Грузия бы в пределах наших интересов была. С этой Грузией ещё проблемы будут, и эти проблемы наши правители сами себе создают.
    1. Nikolaevich I Офлайн
      Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 11 сентября 2019 04:17
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Цитата: сталевар
      Нерешительность Медведева в 2008 г. нам ещё аукнется.

      Ёлы-палы! А как вы себе представляете "иное" развитие событий "08.08.08" ? Штурмовать Тбилиси? Брать в плен "грузинского мишку"? А международная "ответка"? А "воспламенение " "огромной" любви грузин к России? А излишние потери российских войск? А выявленные проблемы в войсках, вследствие многих лет "оптимизации" ВС либерастическим режимом? А где было взять столько полевых кухонь и гречки, чтобы кормить население занятых грузинских городов? request Или вы "предлагаете" шашлыки под Саперави?
  3. Nikolaevich I Офлайн
    Nikolaevich I (Владимир) 11 сентября 2019 04:04
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Молдавию забыли! Пусть Приднестровье "забывает"!
  4. slesarg65 Офлайн
    slesarg65 (Игорь Иванов) 11 сентября 2019 06:59
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    То есть, Абхазию и Осетию оставляют нам, как Крым? Вообще шикарно! Чё там надо-то? Провести референдум и вежливых людей?