To spite Russia: why does Europe want to connect the Baltic with the Black Sea

The new Ukrainian authorities announced their readiness to participate in a mega-project, due to connect the Baltic and the Black Sea. Nezalezhnaya itself, Belarus and Poland will participate in the project. Ukrainian Prime Minister Goncharuk said that it was “absolutely real.” Yes, but is it worth it?




This idea has existed for a long time and is called E40 by the number of waterways that will have to be connected into a single transport artery. The “way from the Varangians to the Greeks-2” should begin in Polish Gdansk, and end in Ukrainian Kherson. Its total length will exceed 2000 kilometers; the Vistula, Western Bug, Pripyat and Dnieper rivers will merge.

Interest in the project is shown by the European Union, which is ready to allocate 12 billion euros for the construction of the necessary infrastructure. Most of it will fall on Poland. It is stated that the program after its implementation should create an effective transport system for the transport of people and goods without harming the environment. But how true is this?

Economic expediency


So that criticism could not be attributed to “Russian propaganda”, we turn to the Belarusian portal “Belrynok”, where a detailed analysis of this project. According to the estimates of this publication, 626 kilometers of the waterway will pass through the territory of the Republic of Belarus. The cost of work as of 2017 was estimated at a spread of 96,2-171,2 million euros. It seems to be not so much, but the publication doubts the appropriateness of even such costs. And that's why.

At first, river transport is very seriously inferior to rail and road. It affects its seasonality (rivers in the winter can freeze), the need for transshipment of goods, as well as the speed of its delivery. For comparison, the length of the road by road between Gdansk and Kherson is 1600 kilometers, rivers - more than 2000 kilometers. The non-stop barge will pass the water channel between its extreme points in 14 days, the railroad in 66 hours, the automobile in 31 hours.

Secondly, on the rivers it will be possible to transport a very limited range of goods. International carriers delivering goods from China to Europe will not be able to use the E40 due to the banal restriction on the size of ships. In particular, for the delivery of 10 thousand TEU containers it is required to charter 1 large container ship. To transport the same number of containers by river, you will need to charter already 100 barges. No one will deal with such nonsense, especially since shipping without overload will not only be cheaper, but also faster.

It turns out that with economic from the point of view, the waterway is interesting only to a very narrow circle of people who transport liquid and bulk cargoes (oil, potash fertilizers, crushed stone, etc.). In general, the project is unprofitable. Add to this the problems with the shallowing of rivers, which occurs not only in Russia but also in Ukraine, as well as the environmental risks of the Pripyat River.

So why should Europeans promote it by investing 12 billion dollars?

Political expediency


The Ukrainian political scientist Volodymyr Skachko commented rather capaciously on the situation:

After the collapse of the USSR, they talked about the Baltic-Black Sea arc, which should be an economic unifying factor, and on the other - a safety line against the "aggressive plans of Russia."


The project does not bring economic benefits, but has a pronounced anti-Russian orientation. A similar waterway already exists along the territory of our country with access to the Sea of ​​Azov. But Brussels spares no money to put together a coalition in the post-Soviet space to oppose Russia. So, "in spite of us," E40 can be implemented.
Photos used: https://www.lemoniteur.fr
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. nnz226 Offline
    nnz226 (Nikolai) 15 September 2019 11: 36
    +5
    • 5
    • 0
    Yes, let them build! After all, “ancient dill” dug the Black Sea, let their descendants dig at least a couple of canals between the rivers, in order to then ride on the shore with joy, which confirmed the work of their ancestors to create the whole sea!
    1. General Black Offline
      General Black (Gennady) 15 September 2019 13: 46
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      They will yell with delight:

      And hands remember! Remember hands!
  2. jury2477 Offline
    jury2477 (Yuri Vladimirovich) 15 September 2019 15: 03
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Well, what is the matter for Russia? Have money, let them build. Let the hands hold shovels than weapons.
    1. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 15 September 2019 17: 10
      +4
      • 4
      • 0
      Yes, it’s about the same thing as they have for the Nord Stream, for the South Stream, for Opal. A railway is being built through Iran and Azerbaijan (from India to Iran, goods will go by sea, then by rail). Negotiations are underway to build a canal through Iran. The length of about 700 km. These paths do not intersect, but go in approximately the same direction. Cargo transit is profitable. Why do we need, although weak, but a competitor? In addition, after the Poles have tricked the Poles into the Opal court, I consider it reasonable to make some efforts so that life does not seem wonderful and amazing to them.
  3. zenitovets Offline
    zenitovets (Ivan) 15 September 2019 20: 57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Yes, let Europe push money, it’s all the same money! Moreover, in Ukraine everything is stolen, as it was hundreds of times already ...
  4. pafegosoff Offline
    pafegosoff (Arkhip Pafegosov) 16 September 2019 05: 57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    I don’t even want to argue. Definitely - FOR!
    Build tubules, buy gas, electricity for a higher price than possible.
  5. Bulanov Offline
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 September 2019 09: 52
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    First, a protective water moat, then a great fortress wall, and every kilometer - a watch tower to fight the people of the North. THE WINTER IS COMING!
  6. Pishenkov Offline
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 16 September 2019 10: 12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    river transport is very seriously inferior to rail and road

    - but with all its drawbacks, water transport for a certain range of goods (part of which the author correctly mentioned) is still MUCH cheaper and more profitable. So it makes sense.
    There is a waterway through the Russian Federation, but it is much longer, longer and more difficult. And, of course, the political component is on the face.
    And as for the payback - the real payback of such infrastructural mega-projects is very difficult to calculate, but in any case, all such initiatives bring development to the adjacent regions, give work. And if it will finance the EU, then why not build? Especially for Belarusians and Ukrainians, the sheer benefit ...
    1. Bulanov Offline
      Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 September 2019 13: 57
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      And if the Russian Federation nevertheless throws the Desna waters to the Crimea and the Dnieper will become shallow?
      1. Pishenkov Offline
        Pishenkov (Alexey) 16 September 2019 20: 09
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        ... I personally more believe that the Dnieper in its entire course will end up in ... or, let’s say, on a territory that is friendly or controlled by the Russian Federation ... wink
  7. ustal51 Offline
    ustal51 (Alexander) 16 September 2019 14: 41
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    If anything, then the Dnieper is redirected ....
  8. Joe Cook Offline
    Joe Cook (Joe Cook) 16 September 2019 16: 07
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Well, you, maybe it will become easier for them from this channel. And they will become good right away.
  9. Vkd dvk Offline
    Vkd dvk (Victor) 17 September 2019 00: 35
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Put the father in a position that does not allow to bend and start digging the channel. The provisions of the CSTO treaty clauses do not provide for the adoption of unions and treaties directed against the interests of members of this organization.

Назло России: зачем Европа хочет соединить Балтику с Черным морем

Новые украинские власти объявили о готовности поучаствовать в мега-проекте, должном соединить Балтику и Черноморье. В проекте будут участвовать сама Незалежная, Белоруссия и Польша. Украинский премьер-министр Гончарук заявил, что это «абсолютно реально». Да, но вот стоит ли?




Эта идея существует уже давно и носит название Е40 по количеству водных путей, которые придется соединить в единую транспортную артерию. Начинаться «путь из варяг в греки-2» должен в польском Гданьске, а заканчиваться в украинском Херсоне. Общая его длина превысит 2000 километров, сольются реки Висла, Западный Буг, Припять и Днепр.

Заинтересованность в проекте проявляет Европейский союз, который готов выделить 12 миллиардов евро на строительство необходимой инфраструктуры. Большая ее часть придется на Польшу. Заявлено, что программа после ее реализации должна создать эффективную транспортную систему для перевозки людей и грузов без причинения вреда окружающей среде. Но насколько это соответствует действительности?

Экономическая целесообразность


Чтобы нельзя было критику списать на «российскую пропаганду», обратимся к белорусскому порталу «Белрынок», где вышел подробный разбор этого проекта. По оценкам данной публикации, 626 километров водного пути пройдет по территории Республики Беларуси. Стоимость работ по состоянию на 2017 год оценивалась в разбросе 96,2-171,2 миллиона евро. Вроде бы, не так много, но издание высказывает сомнение в целесообразности даже таких затрат. И вот почему.

Во-первых, речной транспорт очень серьезно уступает железнодорожному и автомобильному. Тут сказывается его сезонность (реки зимой могут замерзать), необходимость перегрузки товара, а также скорость его доставки. Для сравнения, длина пути сухопутным транспортом между Гданьском и Херсоном составляет 1600 километров, реками – свыше 2000 километров. Баржа в безостановочном режиме пройдет водный канал между крайними его точками за 14 суток, железной дорогой – за 66 часов, автомобильной – за 31 час.

Во-вторых, по рекам можно будет перевозить весьма ограниченную номенклатуру грузов. Международные перевозчики, доставляющие товары из Китая в Европу, не смогут использовать Е40 из-за банального ограничения размеров судов. В частности, для доставки 10 тысяч контейнеров TEU требуется зафрахтовать 1 большой контейнеровоз. Чтобы довезти то же количество контейнеров рекой, понадобится зафрахтовать уже 100 барж. Никто такой ерундой заниматься не станет, тем более, что морем без перегрузки доставка будет не только дешевле, но и быстрее.

Получается, что с экономической точки зрения водный путь интересен только очень узкому кругу лиц, которые перевозят наливные и насыпные грузы (нефть, калийные удобрения, щебень и т.п.). В целом же, проект неокупаемый. Добавим к этому проблемы с обмелением рек, имеющем место не только в России, но и на Украине, а также экологические риски реки Припяти.

Так зачем же европейцам его продвигать, вкладывая 12 миллиардов долларов?

Политическая целесообразность


Довольно емко ситуацию прокомментировал украинский политолог, Владимир Скачко:

После распада СССР говорили о Балто-Черноморской дуге, которая должна быть экономическим объединяющим фактором, а с другой – предохранительной линией против «агрессивных планов России».


Проект не несет экономической выгоды, но имеет ярко выраженную антироссийскую направленность. Аналогичный по смыслу водный путь уже имеется по территории нашей страны с выходом в Азовское море. Но Брюссель не жалеет денег для сколачивания коалиции на постсоветском пространстве для противопоставления России. Так что, «назло нам», Е40 может быть реализован.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.lemoniteur.fr
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

13 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. nnz226 Офлайн
    nnz226 (Николай) 15 сентября 2019 11:36
    +5
    • 5
    • 0
    Да пусть строят! Ведь "древние укропы" вырыли Чёрное море, пусть их потомки хоть пару каналов отроют между реками, дабы потом скакать на берегу от радости, что подтвердили работу своих предков по созданию целого моря!
    1. Женераль Чернота (Геннадий) 15 сентября 2019 13:46
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Будут орать от восторга:

      А руки-то помнят! Помнят руки-то!
  2. jury2477 Офлайн
    jury2477 (Юрий Владимирович) 15 сентября 2019 15:03
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Ну, а России какое дело? Есть деньги, пусть строят. Пусть руки будут держать лопаты, чем оружие.
    1. 123 Онлайн
      123 (123) 15 сентября 2019 17:10
      +4
      • 4
      • 0
      Да примерно такое же дело, как и у них к "Северному потоку", к "Южному потоку", к "Опалу". Достраивается железная дорога через Иран и Азербайджан (от Индии до Ирана товары пойдут по морю, далее по ж/д). Ведутся переговоры по строительству канала через Иран. Протяженность около 700 км. Эти пути не пересекаются, но идут примерно в одном направлении. Транзит грузов приносит прибыль. Зачем нам, хоть и слабый, но конкурент? Кроме того, после кляузы поляков в суд по "Опалу", считаю разумным приложить некоторые усилия для того, чтобы жизнь не казалась им прекрасной и удивительной.
  3. zenitovets Офлайн
    zenitovets (Иван) 15 сентября 2019 20:57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Да пусть Европа вбухивает деньги, все равно это деньги на ветер! Тем более, на Украине все разворуют, как уже было сотни раз...
  4. pafegosoff Офлайн
    pafegosoff (Архип Пафегосов) 16 сентября 2019 05:57
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Даже спорить не хочется. Однозначно - ЗА!
    Строить канальцы, покупать газ, электроэнергию за бОльшую цену, чем возможно.
  5. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 16 сентября 2019 09:52
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сначала защитный водный ров, потом великую крепостную стену, и через каждый километр - дозорную башню для борьбы с народом Севера. ЗИМА БЛИЗКО!
  6. Пишенков Офлайн
    Пишенков (Алексей) 16 сентября 2019 10:12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    речной транспорт очень серьезно уступает железнодорожному и автомобильному

    - но и при всех своих недостатках, водный транспорт для определённой номенклатуры грузов (часть которой автор правильно упомянул), всё-таки в РАЗЫ дешевле и выгоднее. Так что и смысл в нём есть.
    Водный путь через РФ есть, но он сильно дольше, длиннее и сложнее. И, конечно, политическая составляющая на лицо.
    А что до окупаемости - реальная окупаемость таких инфраструктурных мега-проектов весьма сложно просчитывается, но в любом случае все подобные начинания приносят развитие в прилегающие регионы, дают работу. И если это будет финансировать ЕС, так что ж не построить? Особенно белорусам и украинцам с того сплошная выгода...
    1. Буланов Офлайн
      Буланов (Владимир) 16 сентября 2019 13:57
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      А если РФ всё-таки перекинет воды Десны на Крым и Днепр обмелеет?
      1. Пишенков Офлайн
        Пишенков (Алексей) 16 сентября 2019 20:09
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        ... я лично больше верю в то, что Днепр во всём своём течении окажется в... или, скажем так, на дружественной или подконтрольной РФ территории... wink
  7. ustal51 Офлайн
    ustal51 (Александр) 16 сентября 2019 14:41
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Если что, то Днепр перенаправим....
  8. Джо Кук Офлайн
    Джо Кук (Джо Кук) 16 сентября 2019 16:07
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ну что вы, может им от этого канала легче станет. И они станут добрыми сразу.
  9. Вкд Двк Офлайн
    Вкд Двк (Виктор) 17 сентября 2019 00:35
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Поставить бацьку в положение, не допускающее разогнуться и начать копать канал. Положение пунктов договора ОДКБ не предусматривает принятие союзов и договоров, направленных против интересов членов этой организации.