Trump's possible departure: why China is delaying with a trade agreement

The trade war with China, launched by Donald Trump, has been going on for several years. The price of the issue for the United States is increasing, but the goals set by the American president have not been achieved. In Beijing, they are holding on and awaiting the results of the next presidential election next year.




Even as a candidate for the post of head of state, Donald Trump sharply criticized the PRC, claiming that the Celestial Empire "rapes his country." A similar complaint from the United States sounds rather ironic, but economics The two countries are indeed very closely related. Two years ago, trade between them amounted to 710,4 billion dollars. Trump's main complaint was a huge trade deficit of 335,4 billion. It was irrational to translate the dialogue into the “who whom” plane, but the American president did it.

Beijing and Washington exchanged several sensitive blows during the ongoing trade war. Its peak fell in 2018, there is currently a relative lull. But during that time a lot has been done to separate the two largest world economies. If before Trump took office, the average rate of import tariffs on Chinese goods was 3,1%, now it is 21,2%. China, the country’s main trading partner for the United States, dropped to third place, losing to countries like Mexico and Canada.

American corporations also suffered severely from the introduction of reciprocal duties. Due to tariff increases, some companies (such as Hasbro, Express and Abercrombie & Fitch) are moving their production to Vietnam and India. Harvey Kanter, president of the Destination XL Group, a clothing company, explains this:

Although we still remain in this part of the world, we have been completely expelled from China.


The main culprit, President Trump, explains American business emigration from China differently:

Many companies run by inept managers try to blame tariffs on everything ... It's not about tariffs. This is called mismanagement.


The paradox is that he started a trade war, in particular, in order to protect the interests of corporations operating in China. And playing back will be very problematic, said American Kennedy expert Scott Kennedy. In his opinion, there is no return to the previous state of things.

Meanwhile, Beijing is in no hurry to conclude a new deal with Washington. Everyone is waiting for the inexorably approaching US elections. The absence of a result of a protracted trade war clearly recorded in the transaction is not a plus for Trump. Perhaps the parties can find a compromise just in time for October 2020, so that Donald Trump could show voters a signed trade agreement with China on the eve of the election. If not, then there is a good chance that the Democrats will be able to take revenge, and Beijing will further negotiate with them.
Photos used: https://ekd.me
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Savigne Offline
    Savigne 20 September 2019 18: 26
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    The trade war with China, launched by Donald Trump, has been going on for several years. The price of the issue for the United States is increasing, but the goals set by the American president have not been achieved. Held in Beijing

    I repeat.
    In 2018, the trade war with China (and not only it, all together) led to:
    - The United States in 2018 increased its economic potential from 31,1 to 33,9% of the global level.
    - The average American in 2018 got rich by 9,35%.
    - The economic potential of China in 2018 decreased from 10,9 to 8,4% of the global level.
    - The average Chinese man in 2018 was impoverished by 23,2%. Almost a quarter !!!
    And I will add.
    The economic potential of Japan (the third world economy) in 2018 increased from 6,66 to 6,88% of the global level. A bit, of course. But taking into account the rate of decline in the share of China (23,1% per year), quite by the results of 2019, you can expect to see Japan instead of China at the second step of the rating. And this is serious damage for China.
    Further China could fall long and tedious. The fourth world economy (OK) loses to Japan more than twice.
  2. Marzhecki Offline
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 21 September 2019 08: 00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Quote: Savigne
    The average American in 2018 got rich by 9,35%.

    The average American is the arithmetic average between the richest and the poorest, you have to understand?

Возможный уход Трампа: почему Китай медлит с торговым соглашением

Торговая война с Китаем, начатая Дональдом Трампом, идет уже не первый год. Цена вопроса для США все более возрастает, но цели, поставленные американским президентом, так и не достигнуты. В Пекине держатся и ждут результатов очередных президентских выборов в следующей году.




Еще в качестве кандидата на пост главы государства Дональд Трамп резко критиковал КНР, заявляя, что Поднебесная «насилует его страну». Подобная жалоба со стороны США звучит довольно иронично, но экономики двух этих стран действительно очень тесно связаны. Два года назад товарооборот между ними составлял 710,4 миллиардов долларов. Главной претензией со стороны Трампа был огромный торговый дефицит, составлявший 335,4 миллиарда. Переводить диалог в плоскость «кто кого» было нерационально, но американский президент это сделал.

Пекин и Вашингтон обменялись несколькими чувствительными ударами в ходе начавшейся торговой войны. Ее пик пришелся на 2018 год, в настоящее время наблюдается относительное затишье. Но за то время для разъединения двух крупнейших мировых экономик сделано очень многое. Если до вступления Трампа в должность средний показатель импортных тарифов на китайские товары составлял 3,1%, то теперь – 21,2%. КНР, бывшая главным торговым партнером США страна, опустилась на третье место, уступив таким странам, как Мексика и Канада.

Серьезно пострадали от введения обоюдных пошлин и американские корпорации. Из-за повышения тарифов некоторые компании (например, Hasbro, Express и Abercrombie & Fitch) переводят свое производство во Вьетнам и Индию. Президент Destination XL Group, производящей одежду, Харви Кантер поясняет это так:

Хотя мы все еще остаемся в этой части мира, нас совершенно недвусмысленно вытеснили из Китая.


Главный виновник происходящего, президент Трамп объясняет американскую бизнес-эмиграцию из Китая иначе:

Множество компаний, которыми управляют неумелые руководители, пытаются во всем винить тарифы… Дело не в тарифах. Это называется неумелым управлением.


Парадокс заключается в том, что торговую войну он затеял, в том числе, для того, чтобы защитить интересы корпораций, работающих в Китае. И отыграть назад будет весьма проблематично, считает американский эксперт по Китаю Скотт Кеннеди. По его мнению, к прежнему положению вещей возврата уже нет.

Между тем, Пекин не спешит заключать новую сделку с Вашингтоном. Все ждут неумолимо приближающихся выборов в США. Отсутствие четко зафиксированного в сделке результата затяжной торговой войны идет не в плюс кандидату Трампу. Быть может, стороны смогут найти некий компромисс как раз к октябрю 2020 года, чтобы Дональд Трамп смог явить избирателям подписанное торговое соглашения с Китаем накануне выборов. Если нет, то имеется немалая вероятность, что демократы смогут взять реванш, и Пекин дальше будет договариваться с ними.
Использованы фотографии: https://ekd.me
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. СавИгн Офлайн
    СавИгн 20 сентября 2019 18:26
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Торговая война с Китаем, начатая Дональдом Трампом, идет уже не первый год. Цена вопроса для США все более возрастает, но цели, поставленные американским президентом, так и не достигнуты. В Пекине держатся

    Повторюсь.
    В 2018 г. торговая война с Китаем (и не только она, все вместе) привела к:
    - США за 2018 г. нарастили свой экономический потенциал с 31,1 до 33,9 % от общемирового уровня.
    - Средний американец за 2018 г. разбогател на 9,35 %.
    - Экономический потенциал Китая за 2018 г. снизился с 10,9 до 8,4 % от общемирового уровня.
    - Средний китаец за 2018 г. обеднел на 23,2 %. Почти на четверть!!!
    И добавлю.
    Экономический потенциал Японии (третья экономика мира) за 2018 г. повысился с 6,66 до 6,88 % от общемирового уровня. Немного, конечно. Но с учетом темпов падения доли Китая (23,1 % в год), вполне по результатам 2019 г. можно на второй ступеньке рейтинга ожидать увидеть Японию, вместо Китая. А это уже для Китая серьезный урон.
    Дальше Китай мог бы падать долго и нудно. Четвертая экономика мира (ОК) проигрывает Японии более, чем вдвое.
  2. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 21 сентября 2019 08:00
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Цитата: СавИгн
    Средний американец за 2018 г. разбогател на 9,35 %.

    Средний американец - это средняя арифметическая между богатейшими и беднейшими, надо понимать?