Russia makes a mistake by increasing debt in RMB

Despite a surplus budget, the Russian Ministry of Finance is considering starting to borrow money again on the foreign market. However, this is now supposed to be done not in dollars, but in yuan. How expedient are such experiments now, when the “little egg” is jammed to the brim, and the Chinese currency is constantly devaluing?




The government is looking for options for external borrowing outside the dollar zone not from a good life. Recent US sanctions “for the Skripals” have banned US residents from acquiring sovereign government bonds of the Russian Federation on the primary market. The dollar is no longer “our all,” and you have to pay attention to other currencies. The Ministry of Finance explains:

Naturally, we will first focus on reserve currencies outside the dollar zone. There is something to develop there - the Euro curve and the RMB “point”.


But how justified is it today to get into these “points” and “curves”, gaining 3 billion debts in dollar terms per year? The position of our country is in many ways unique.

At first, last year, the CBR radically reduced its investment in the US the economy. The volume of assets denominated in treasuries declined from $ 96 billion to $ 10,848 billion as of last month. Instead, the Central Bank shifted its international reserves of gold, euro and yuan.

Secondly, Russia today has one of the most modest external debts in the world, which stands out among developed and developing countries. Moreover, thanks to the “budget rule”, the excess returns from oil sales and other reserves of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation are already in excess today enough to pay off all government debts at once.

ThirdlyBased on their current oil prices, the federal budget will be surplus for the next few years.

Finally, instead of external ones, the government can turn to internal sources of borrowing, as there are enough people who want to earn extra money on Russian bonds. All over the world, rates today are either minimal or completely negative.

So why should we go to the "RMB point"? Financier Mikhail Nikolaev explains this as follows:

This will expand the funding opportunities for Russian companies when trading with Chinese partners in national currencies. Secondly, it will help develop the national financial market.


Financial expert Maria Chizhevskaya supplements what has been said with the thesis about the need to diversify debt obligations in case of serious exchange rate fluctuations of currencies. However, it should be noted that today the yuan is not the most reliable currency, since Beijing constantly devalues ​​it. Also, the coupon rate on such bonds will be higher, in addition, it will be necessary to reverse convert from Chinese to American currency for settlements with foreign partners.

In this context, it would be more reasonable to appeal not to the renminbi, but to the euro.
Photos used: https: //.novayagazeta.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 22 September 2019 09: 18
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    -Well, since Russia has a pathological "phanticophilia" ... oh, that is ...- "yanephilia" ...- And this is treated only by the general ruin and impoverishment of the state suffering from this ailment ... Alas ...
  2. Savigne Offline
    Savigne 23 September 2019 17: 04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Russia makes a mistake by increasing debt in RMB

    Build debt in RMB is profitable. The yuan will fall, so you will have to give less than you took.
  3. Nick Offline
    Nick (Nikolai) 28 September 2019 07: 50
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    If trade with China is growing at a tremendous pace (last year it grew by 27% and reached $ 107 billion, and in the coming years it is planned to increase this figure to $ 200 billion), then it makes sense to transfer trade to nat. currencies. You should not risk using transactions in dollars and euros, given the sanctions policy of the West.

Россия совершает ошибку, наращивая долг в юанях

Несмотря на профицитный бюджет, российский Минфин подумывает начать вновь занимать деньги на внешнем рынке. Однако делать это теперь предполагается не в долларах, а в юанях. Насколько целесообразны такие эксперименты сейчас, когда «кубышка» забита до краев, а китайская валюта непрерывно девальвируется?




Правительство ищет варианты внешних заимствований вне долларовой зоны не от хорошей жизни. Последние санкции США «за Скрипалей» запретили американским резидентам приобретать на первичном рынке суверенные гособлигации Российской Федерации. Доллар перестал быть «нашим всем», и приходится обратить внимание на иные валюты. В Минфине поясняют:

Мы, естественно, вначале будем ориентироваться на резервные валюты, вне долларовой зоны. Там есть что развивать – евровая кривая и юаневая «точка».


Но насколько оправданно сегодня влезать в эти «точки» и «кривые», набирая по 3 миллиарда долгов в долларовом эквиваленте в год? Положение нашей страны во многом является уникальным.

Во-первых, в прошлом году ЦБ РФ радикально сократил свои вложения в американскую экономику. Объем активов, выраженных в «трежерис», снизился с 96 миллиардов долларов до 10,848 миллиарда по состоянию на прошлый месяц. Вместо этого Центробанк переложил свои международные резервы золото, евро и юани.

Во-вторых, Россия сегодня имеет один из самых скромных внешних долгов в мире, чем резко выделяется среди развитых и развивающихся стран. Более того, благодаря «бюджетному правилу», сверхдоходов от продажи нефти и прочих резервов ЦБ РФ уже сегодня с избытком хватает для того, чтобы разом погасить все государственные долги.

В-третьих, исходя их текущих нефтяных котировок, федеральный бюджет будет профицитным еще несколько ближайших лет.

Наконец, вместо внешних, правительство может обратиться и к внутренним источникам заимствований, поскольку желающих подзаработать на российских облигациях хватает. Во всем мире ставки сегодня или минимальные, или вовсе отрицательные.

Так зачем же нам идти к «юаневой точке»? Финансист Михаил Николаев объясняет это следующим образом:

Это расширит возможности фондирования российских компаний при их торговле с китайскими партнерами в национальных валютах. Во-вторых, это поможет развитию национального финансового рынка.


Финансовый эксперт Мария Чижевская дополняет сказанное тезисом о необходимости диверсификации долговых обязательств на случай серьезных курсовых колебаний валют. Однако необходимо отметить, что именно юань сегодня является не самой надежной валютой, поскольку Пекин постоянно его девальвирует. Также купонная ставка по таким облигациям будет выше, к тому же придется производить обратную конвертацию из китайской валюты в американскую для расчетов с иностранными партнерами.

В этом контексте более разумным было бы обращение не к юаню, а к евро.
Использованы фотографии: https://.novayagazeta.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Онлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 22 сентября 2019 09:18
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    -Ну , раз у России патологическая "фантикофилия" ... -ой , т.е..-"юанефилия" ...-А это лечится только всеобщим разорением и обнищанием страдающего этим недугом государства... -Увы...
  2. СавИгн Офлайн
    СавИгн 23 сентября 2019 17:04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Россия совершает ошибку, наращивая долг в юанях

    Наращивать долг в юанях выгодно. Юань будет падать, поэтому отдавать придется меньше, чем взял.
  3. Nick Офлайн
    Nick (Николай) 28 сентября 2019 07:50
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Если торговый оборот с Китаем растет гигантскими темпами (в прошлом году он вырос на 27% и достиг 107 млрд. $, а в ближайшие годы планируется увеличение этого показателя до 200 млрд.$), то есть смысл перевести торговлю в нац. валюты. Не стоит рисковать, используя транзакции в долларах и евро, учитывая санкционную политику Запада.