Russian LNG opens a “new front” against the USA

Japan, the main US ally in the Asia-Pacific region, has shown increased interest in Russian gas. Despite possible sanctions risks, Tokyo is investing billions in LNG projects in our country. Practical Japanese show that policy politics, but the energy security of the island state for them above all.




Poor in resources, but industrialized Japan is forced to be an importer of energy. A huge blow to the country's energy sector was caused by an accident at the Fukushima-1 nuclear power plant. Tokyo had to actively increase the consumption of environmentally harmful coal and liquefied natural gas. The island nation is the leading LNG consumer in the world, although recently huge China has been catching it.

The largest suppliers of LNG to the Japanese market are Australia (almost 40%), Malaysia (13%) and Qatar (12%). Russia comes close to the top three with its 8,3%. Japan's gas market is very conservative, diversified and established. It is possible to increase its share only by reducing the presence of other competitors. And for this, Russia and the United States are ready to compete with each other.

The most interesting thing is that Russian LNG has good chances, despite the allied relations of Tokyo and Washington. Our gas is delivered to Japan by tankers under long-term contracts with Sakhalin Energy. But the island nation has shown an unequivocal interest in expanding cooperation with leading Russian energy companies.

So earlier we toldthat Rosneft signed an agreement with Japanese partners on the construction of a new LNG plant in the Khabarovsk settlement of De-Kastri, whose capacity will be 6,2 million tons per year. Another “our all”, Gazprom, intends to expand the capacity of Sakhalin-2, as well as breathe new life into the Vladivostok-LNG project.

Now Tokyo has become a co-investor of Novatek Leonid Michelson. The Russian company is implementing large-scale energy projects Yamal LNG and Arctic LNG-2, in which the Japanese side is already taking part. Initially, it was assumed that gas from Yamal would go to Asia, but de facto most of it goes to the European market. The reason is the difficult conditions of the Northern Sea Route and the lack of a residual number of ice class vessels. A well-known expert in the field of energy, Igor Yushkov, comments on the situation as follows:

This is a long and expensive way that makes deliveries of LNG from Yamal to Asia unprofitable. Therefore, Novatek is forced to supply all of its Yamal gas to the European market.


However, soon everything should change.

At first, the Zvezda shipyard is being built in Russia, where ice-class vessels will be created, as well as the Leader class icebreakers, which will be able to provide transportation along the Northern Sea Route year-round, even in winter.

Secondly, to reduce the cost of logistics, Japanese investors are ready to invest in the construction of LNG transshipment terminals in Murmansk and Kamchatka. Thanks to this, ice tankers can only be used on the most difficult stretches of the track, after loading gas into conventional LNG tankers. This will provide significant savings in delivery, which will make Russian raw materials more competitive in the Asian market.

In this matter, Tokyo demonstrates that its own energy security is more important to it than the sanction solidarity with Washington.
Photos used: https://gasandmoney.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 3 October 2019 10: 58
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Firstly, the Zvezda shipyard is being built in Russia, where ice-class vessels will be created, as well as Leader class super icebreakers, which will be able to provide transportation along the Northern Sea Route year-round, even in winter.

    “Eh” and “ooh” .... with this “Star” ... - I personally wrote a lot about it ...
    And personally, I have very, very, very ... - big fears that ... what ... what ... what will "acquire" (buy) this "Star" China with all its "giblets" and "rights use "for an" indefinite period ", but at the same time will" acquire "the lion's share of the Russian Northern Way ... - that’s all and goes to that ... - Alas ...
    - And Russia will remain ... "on the beans" ... - like Belarus ... - and it will also "flutter" ... - not knowing where to "go" ...
    - How I wish I could be wrong at least this time ...

    Secondly, to reduce the cost of logistics, Japanese investors are ready to invest in the construction of LNG transshipment terminals in Murmansk and Kamchatka. Thanks to this, ice tankers can only be used on the most difficult stretches of the track, after loading gas into conventional LNG tankers.

    Strange ... - and what is the relationship between Murmansk and Kamchatka ... - between them, in general, almost 5,5 thousand km .. ???
    - С Камчаткой всё понятно... - погрузили СПГ в обычные СПГ-танкеры и доставили в Японию ...
    - А зачем везти СПГ из Мурманска в Японию сначала на ледовых танкерах, а потом ещё и перегружать СПГ в обычные СПГ-танкеры..??? Такой СПГ России просто влетит в копеечку...

Российский СПГ открывает против США «новый фронт»

Япония, основной союзник США в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе, проявляет повышенный интерес к российскому газу. Несмотря на возможные санкционные риски, Токио вкладывает миллиарды в СПГ-проекты в нашей стране. Практичные японцы показывают, что политика политикой, но энергобезопасность островного государства для них превыше всего.




Бедная ресурсами, но промышленно-развитая Япония вынужденно является импортером энергоносителей. Огромный удар по энергетике страны был нанесен аварией на АЭС «Фукусима-1». Токио пришлось активно наращивать потребление экологически вредного угля и сжиженного природного газа. Островное государство является ведущим потребителем СПГ в мире, хотя в последнее время его догоняет огромный Китай.

Крупнейшими поставщиками СПГ на японский рынок считаются Австралия (почти 40%), Малайзия (13%) и Катар (12%). Вплотную к призовой тройке подходит Россия с ее 8,3%. Газовый рынок Японии является очень консервативным, диверсифицированным и устоявшимся. Увеличить долю на нем можно только за счет уменьшения присутствия других конкурентов. И за это готовы между собой побороться Россия и США.

Самой интересное, что у российского СПГ есть неплохие шансы, несмотря на союзнические отношения Токио и Вашингтона. В Японию наш газ попадает танкерами по долгосрочным контрактам с Sakhalin Energy. Но островное государство проявляет недвусмысленный интерес к расширению сотрудничества с ведущими российскими энергетическими компаниями.

Так, ранее мы рассказывали, что «Роснефть» подписала договор с японскими партнерами о строительстве в хабаровском поселке Де-Кастри нового СПГ-завода, чья мощность составит 6,2 миллиона тонн в год. Другое «наше все», «Газпром», намерен расширить мощности «Сахалин-2», а также вдохнуть новую жизнь в проект «Владивосток-СПГ».

Теперь Токио стал соинвестором «Новатэк» Леонида Михельсона. Российская компания реализует масштабные энергетические проекты «Ямал СПГ» и «Арктик СПГ–2», в которых уже принимает участие японская сторона. Изначально предполагалось, что газ с Ямала пойдет в Азию, но де-факто большая его часть попадает на европейский рынок. Причина заключается в непростых условиях Северного морского пути и отсутствии остаточного количества судов ледового класса. Известный эксперт в области энергетики, Игорь Юшков, комментирует ситуацию следующим образом:

Это долгий и дорогой путь, который делает поставки СПГ с Ямала в Азию невыгодными. Поэтому «Новатэк» вынужден поставлять весь свой ямальский газ на европейский рынок.


Однако вскоре все должно измениться.

Во-первых, в России строится верфь «Звезда», где будут создаваться суда ледового класса, а также суперледоколы класса «Лидер», который смогут обеспечить проводку по Севморпути круглогодично, даже в зимнее время.

Во-вторых, для удешевления логистики японские инвесторы готовы вложиться в строительство перевалочных СПГ-терминалов в Мурманске и на Камчатке. Благодаря этому, ледовые танкеры можно будет использовать только на самых сложных отрезках пути, после перегружая газ в обычные СПГ-танкеры. Это обеспечит серьезную экономию на доставке, что сделает российское сырье более конкурентоспособным на азиатском рынке.

В данном вопросе Токио демонстрирует, что собственная энергобезопасность для него важнее, чем санкционная солидарность с Вашингтоном.
Использованы фотографии: https://gasandmoney.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 3 октября 2019 10:58
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Во-первых, в России строится верфь «Звезда», где будут создаваться суда ледового класса, а также суперледоколы класса «Лидер», который смогут обеспечить проводку по Севморпути круглогодично, даже в зимнее время.

    "Эх" и "ох".... с этой "Звездой"... - Про неё Я лично уже много писала...
    И лично у меня есть очень, очень, очень... - большие опасения, что...что...что...что "приобретёт" (купит) эту "Звезду" Китай со всеми "её потрохами" и "правами пользования" на "неопределённый срок", а заодно "приобретёт" и львиную долю Российского Северного Пути... - к этому всё и идёт... - Увы...
    - И останется Россия... "на бобах"... - навроде Белоруссии... - и будет так же "трепыхаться"... - не зная куда "податься"...
    - Как бы Я хотела ошибиться хоть на этот раз...

    Во-вторых, для удешевления логистики японские инвесторы готовы вложиться в строительство перевалочных СПГ-терминалов в Мурманске и на Камчатке. Благодаря этому, ледовые танкеры можно будет использовать только на самых сложных отрезках пути, после перегружая газ в обычные СПГ-танкеры.

    Странно... - а какая связь между Мурманском и Камчаткой... - между ними вообще почти 5,5 тыс км..???
    - С Камчаткой всё понятно... - погрузили СПГ в обычные СПГ-танкеры и доставили в Японию ...
    - А зачем везти СПГ из Мурманска в Японию сначала на ледовых танкерах, а потом ещё и перегружать СПГ в обычные СПГ-танкеры..??? Такой СПГ России просто влетит в копеечку...