How Perm made an American a “Russian man”

Perm, famous throughout Russia for the famous comedy series, really changes people. A US citizen, Andy Frake, who came to this wonderful city in 1995 as part of a volunteer project, after that decided to stay in our country forever. What influenced his decision, he told the portal Ru_Open.




Arrival


The American got to Perm by train, having been in Moscow for only a few days. The Russian train of the mid-nineties sample and the Ikarus accordion bus made an indelible impression on him. And then there were the famous Russian frosts at minus 40.

Russian lessons


Andy began to learn our language already in a hostel with truckers. Then he went to Russian courses, but after two classes he was put out from there, saying that he had nothing to do there. Further training was based on the principle of "deep immersion." As a result, he quickly mastered spoken language, but due to the lack of a base, grammar and endings are still lame. Interestingly, the American even began to forget some English words and speak his native language with stumbling blocks.

Russian "jokes"


Drinking tea in the hostel, Andy was surprised to learn the custom of dividing one bar of chocolate into several people. In the USA, this is not accepted, the principle “one person - one chocolate bar” operates there. He was also puzzled by the Russian compote of dried fruits floating on the bottom, which he saw in the student cafeteria:

How is it: juice, and the bottom is dead fruit? Why, why? It was strange for me. Why are fruits left that need to be discarded already?


He also completely did not understand the "joke" with turning off the hot water. In the USA there is no central heating; everyone has their own boilers. Once, in the late nineties, the whole district was left without hot water for four months only because one plant located in the same territory had big debts.

What do not like in Russia


Firstly, the unreliability of people. The United States has its own business etiquette, when an American promises to arrive somewhere at a certain time in two weeks, this will happen. With us, anything can happen. Therefore, constantly in business negotiations with the Russians to make control and reminding calls.

Secondly, in Russia they are not able to particularly separate working time and personal time. For example, in the USA, after working on working moments, it is not customary to name. It’s different with us, Andy called home at a later time, which at first was very annoying. Now he refers to this stoically.

What do you like in Russia


In our country, Andy, in his words, primarily likes the people themselves. With a Russian, you can just sit down and talk heart to heart, in the United States this is generally impossible. The Russians directly say in the forehead what they think, in the States they get by with hints. The American’s job is precisely in helping with the negotiations, where he helps to establish mutual understanding between Russian and foreign entrepreneurs. And this could not but affect Andy himself:

When I am here, I am American, and when I am there, I am Russian. People notice this, because I behave differently, I can be more direct than most Americans.


Of the traditional Russian entertainments, the American likes the bathhouse, of the atypical - kefir. According to him, he is not in the States.
Photos used: https://gorodvo.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. SERGEY SERGEEVICS 2 October 2019 13: 25
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Firstly, the unreliability of people. The United States has its own business etiquette, when an American promises to arrive somewhere at a certain time in two weeks, this will happen.

    Who would talk about insecurity, but not them. He probably wanted to say this about his minke whales, they always go sleeping.
    Anyway, what a nonsense to say that we are always late, it all depends on the condition of traffic jams, and they, in this regard, are not doing everything as smoothly as they say.

    Secondly, in Russia they are not able to particularly separate working time and personal time.

    And as he wanted, another country - different customs and mores.

    ... atypical - kefir. According to him, he is not in the States.

    Perhaps this, they drink one chemistry, there is no natural product.
    1. chemyurij Offline
      chemyurij (chemyurij) 3 October 2019 01: 12
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Quote: SERGEY SERGEEVICS
      Who would talk about insecurity, but not them.

      I think that “insecurity”, in this case, is not a completely adequate translation, or if it was an interview in Russian and the American put it that way, he definitely meant “optionality”, these words are completely different in meaning, and therefore, the interviewer should clarify the meaning of what was said, if the conversation was in English, then they hit the ears for such a translation, because one was in a very awkward position, without suspecting that, the second was in an even more awkward position because he showed his incompetence in the matter for which he wondered (damn it, if you hammer a nail with a hammer, it’s not at all necessary to hit yourself on the fingers), which is even worse he may not even suspect.
  2. Sapsan136 Offline
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 2 October 2019 20: 20
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    I represent the flag of the Russian Federation over Alaska ... And Russian long-range vodka and mount can quickly make any Russian ...
  3. Joe Cook Offline
    Joe Cook (Joe Cook) 25 October 2019 15: 53
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    And there’s a chifir: a half cup of tea leaves several people take turns. And also beer in the winter and vodka in the summer. And sometimes from the throat, with a bruised sleeve. Well, this is from the extremes, of course.
    About dead berries in compote, funny. laughing

Как Пермь сделала американца «русским человеком»

Пермь, прославившаяся на всю Россию по известному комедийному сериалу, действительно меняет людей. Гражданин США, Энди Фраке, приехавший в этот замечательный город в 1995 году в рамках волонтерского проекта, после этого решил остаться в нашей стране навсегда. Что повлияло на его решение, он рассказал порталу Ru_Open.



Прибытие



В Пермь американец попал поездом, побывав в Москве всего несколько дней. Российский поезд образца середины девяностых годов и автобус «Икарус»-гармошка произвели на него неизгладимое впечатление. А потом были знаменитые русские морозы под минус 40.

Уроки русского


Учиться нашему языку Энди начал уже в общежитии с дальнобойщиками. Потом он пошел на курсы русского, но через два занятия его оттуда выставили, заявив, что ему там делать нечего. Дальнейшее обучение шло по принципу «глубокого погружения». В результате он довольно быстро освоил разговорную речь, но из-за отсутствия базы до сих пор хромают грамматика и окончания. Интересно, что американец даже начал подзабывать некоторые английские слова и говорить на своем родном с запинками.

Русские «приколы»


Распивая чай в общежитии, Энди с удивлением познакомился с обычаем делить одну плитку шоколада на нескольких человек. В США такое не принято, там действует принцип «один человек – одна шоколадка». Еще у него вызвал недоумение русский компот из сухофруктов, плавающих на дне, что он увидел в студенческой столовой:

Как это так: сок, а снизу – дохлые фрукты? Зачем, почему? Для меня это было странно. Почему оставлены фрукты, которые нужно выкинуть уже?


Еще он совершенно не понял «прикола» с отключением горячей воды. В США нет центрального отопления, у всех стоят свои бойлеры. Однажды, в конце девяностых, целый район оставался без горячей воды на четыре месяца только из-за того, что у одного завода, расположенного на той же территории, были большие долги.

Что не нравится в России


Во-первых, ненадежность людей. В Штатах есть свой деловой этикет, когда американец обещает прибыть куда-то в определенное время через две недели, то так и произойдет. У нас же всякое может случиться. Поэтому постоянно приходится в деловых переговорах с россиянами делать контрольные и напоминающие звонки.

Во-вторых, в России не умеют особо разделять рабочее и личное время. Например, в США после работы по рабочим моментам названивать не принято. У нас иначе, Энди звонили домой и в позднее время, что поначалу очень раздражало. Теперь он относится к этому стоически.

Что нравится в России


В нашей стране Энди, по его словам, в первую очередь, нравятся сами люди. С русским можно просто сесть и поговорить по душам, в США такое вообще невозможно. Русские прямо говорят в лоб, что думают, в Штатах обходятся намеками. Работа американца состоит как раз в помощи с переговорами, где он помогает установить взаимопонимание российских и иностранных предпринимателей. И это не могло не сказаться на самом Энди:

Когда я здесь, я американец, а когда я там – я русский. Люди это замечают, потому что я веду себя по-другому, могу быть более прямолинейным, чем большинство американцев.


Из традиционных русских развлечений американцу нравится баня, из нетипичного – кефир. С его слов, в Штатах его нет.
Использованы фотографии: https://gorodvo.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. SERGEY SERGEEVICS Офлайн
    SERGEY SERGEEVICS 2 октября 2019 13:25
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Во-первых, ненадежность людей. В Штатах есть свой деловой этикет, когда американец обещает прибыть куда-то в определенное время через две недели, то так и произойдет.

    Кто бы говорил про ненадежность, но только не они. Это он, наверное, хотел сказать про своих полосатиков, вечно ходят они спящие.
    Да и вообще, что за глупость говорить, что мы опаздываем всегда, все зависит от состояния пробок на дороге, да и у них, в этом плане, не все так гладко, как принято говорить.

    Во-вторых, в России не умеют особо разделять рабочее и личное время.

    А как он хотел, другая страна - другие обычае и нравы.

    ...нетипичного - кефир. С его слов, в Штатах его нет.

    Возможно и такое, пьют они одну химию, натурального продукта нету.
    1. chemyurij Офлайн
      chemyurij (chemyurij) 3 октября 2019 01:12
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Цитата: SERGEY SERGEEVICS
      Кто бы говорил про ненадежность, но только не они.

      Я так думаю, что "ненадежность", в данном случае - это не совсем адекватный перевод, или же если это было интервью на русском языке и американец так выразился, то имел он ввиду однозначно "необязательность", эти слова абсолютно разные по смыслу, и поэтому интервьюер должен был уточнить смысл сказанного, если разговор шёл на английском, то за такой перевод бьют по ушам, потому как один оказался в очень неловком положении, сам не подозревая того, второй в ещё более неловком положении из-за того, что показал свою некомпетентность в деле, за которое взялся (блин, если забиваешь гвоздь молотком, совсем необязательно бить себя по пальцам), что ещё хуже он об этом может тоже не подозревать.
  2. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 2 октября 2019 20:20
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Представляю флаг РФ над Аляской... А русские дальнобои водкой и монтировкой быстро могут сделать русским любого...
  3. Джо Кук Офлайн
    Джо Кук (Джо Кук) 25 октября 2019 15:53
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    А ещё есть чифир: полстакана заварки хлебают несколько человек по очереди. А ещё пиво зимой и водка летом. И порой с горла, с занюхом рукавом. Ну, это уже из крайностей, конечно.
    Про дохлые ягоды в компоте, смешно. laughing