American MegaBot: Big, Expensive, and Unnecessary

The story of the “fighting” humanoid robot has come to an end: but will it stop other engineers? Perhaps the result obtained during the battle of robots will form the basis of other, more successful developments.




Sunk into oblivion


September 24 this year, TechCrunch shared a sad news for fans of robots and science fiction: the project of the giant humanoid robot MegaBot is closed, and will not be returned to it. Its developer, MegaBots, announced bankruptcy and the need to pay off accumulated debts as quickly as possible. “This is the end of MegaBots in its current form,” the company said. 15-ton robot Eagle Prime put up by eBay: bets started from one dollar, but soon the price rose to 50 thousand, and soon this mark was left far behind.

For a tidy sum, everyone can get not just a pile of scrap metal, but a fully functioning, albeit generally unnecessary device. “The robot is functional, it is simply being auctioned off because the company went bankrupt,” MegaBots says. As the developers themselves admit, the crawler robot can normally move only on a hard surface and can hardly cope with soft soil. He has difficulties with maneuvering, which is caused, inter alia, by large dimensions. And yet, from one wrong movement, a large structure can fail - we will talk about this later.

According to TechCrunch, about $ 2,5 million was spent on creating the robot: most of the funds were raised using crowdfunding.

So what happened to the once bright team of talented engineers? To begin with, the inventors were able to attract the attention of the public with bold statements and vivid concepts: recall that the appearance of the robot has undergone changes. And more than once. In the end, a twelve-tone version appeared - MegaBot Mk.III Eagle Prime: they tried to make it as formidable as possible.

This, of course, is just a shell. We must not forget that this is not a combat vehicle at all, but simply expensive entertainment, and the robot never thought of as a fighting vehicle.

“Megabot” would have been forgotten much earlier if it had not been for the original “knight move” by the developers. Earlier, Japanese engineers from Suidobashi Heavy Industry created the Kuratas robot. Without thinking twice, the Americans challenged him to a duel. It is noteworthy that some media presented Kuratas as a “combat complex”: it’s true that the wheeled Japanese was more like a real combat vehicle, but it was also just a tricky (or not very tricky) trick. For both teams, the weapon was a simple sham.


The first Kuratas weighed about four tons, and the diesel engine allowed it to reach a speed of about ten kilometers per hour. Both MegaBot and Kuratas are controlled by the inside person.

The fight, which was not


The Japanese agreed to the proposal. The fight took place in Japan and consisted of several parts. The victory was awarded to the team that would disable the enemy robot. The first round was left to the team of the Land of the Rising Sun: Kuratas simply “rode” into MegaBot with his huge hand, knocking over the American miracle of engineering. In the next round, fortune was on the side of the United States. After a long and positional shootout with balls, the new MegaBot Mk.III (in the first round there was an old version of the robot) “knocked out” the Japanese car with punches. Finally, in the third round, the Americans armed their robot with a saw, and he pretty much chopped up the unfortunate Kuratas under the not very convincing experiences of the presenter.


The result is a US victory. However, both Western and Russian-speaking observers wrote that the word "victory" is hardly appropriate here. The Japanese robot was much smaller, and the sympathy of a multimillion-dollar Western audience was understandable on the side of whom (and the organizers of the show, of course, knew about it).


However, frankly, it is unlikely that any of these people will ever see the battle of MegaBot and Kuratas. She was very long and boring: robots moved extremely slowly and were very slow. The fact that there is a living person inside everyone forced the teams to think about every step so as not to harm the pilot’s health: both someone else’s and his own.

In general, such a show has no prospects - it became clear in the first round. The fights of small remotely controlled robots that have their own audience, in particular in the UK and the USA, where they had previously begun to hold such fights, look much more attractive. Perhaps in the future, the format of the competition will be affected by artificial intelligence, in particular, neural networks. But this will give rise to uncomfortable questions of a moral and ethical nature: for example, is it possible to trust AI weapons, albeit conditionally sports ones. And whether it will turn back then against the people.

Real fur


In real life, a fighting humanoid robot never appeared, and it is not a fact that it will one day appear. Despite the military’s interest in exoskeletons, a large walker (such devices are also called “bellows”) is simply not needed. It is too expensive, technically sophisticated and vulnerable due to its high silhouette. Almost all of the tasks that must be performed by the BChR can be performed by the main battle tank, infantry fighting vehicle, or armored personnel carrier.

Relatively small (the size of a dog) walkers from Boston Dynamics have some chances for active use. They were offered to be used as a means of delivery of goods and ammunition, but, as tests have shown, the device is too loud, complex and expensive. So, the American Marines refused him. Perhaps the robot will be able to realize itself in the civilian field, but so far, despite all the progress made by Boston Dynamics, their robots are still not too practical.


Interestingly, Russia came closest to creating a real large ground combat robot. Previously, the crawler robotic complex "Uranus-9" was even able to fight a little in Syria. Having shown, however, an insufficiently satisfactory result and forced to go for revision. Prospects for its future use are unknown.


The only place where fighting humanoid robots can prove themselves is science fiction. Both in the West and in the East, the viewer loves spectacular scenes when one metal whopper hits the other with all its might. Well, or some strange creature, as it was in the "Pacific Frontier" of the original director Guillermo del Toro.
Author:
Photos used: https://presizely.finansavisen.no
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Nick Offline
    Nick (Nikolai) 5 October 2019 10: 17
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    First toys, then more serious cars. This is how progress moves. Gunpowder, too, was first used for fireworks in the Middle Kingdom.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 7 October 2019 10: 08
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ha. That these are all advertising moves, it was clear from the very beginning.
    Kalashnikov out there also put his own, even more collective-farm type ... and nothing - a little blah blah and silence ....
  3. Syoma_67 Offline
    Syoma_67 (Semyon) 8 October 2019 20: 42
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    For smart people, I advise you to see:

    https://24gadget.ru/1161069449-roboty-boston-dynamics-osvoili-slozhnye-dvizhenija-a-spot-postupil-v-prodazhu-2-video.html

Американский MegaBot: большой, дорогой и ненужный

История «боевого» человекоподобного робота подошла к концу: но остановит ли это других инженеров? Возможно, полученный в ходе битвы роботов результат, ляжет в основу других, более успешных разработок.




Канули в Лету


24 сентября текущего года, издание TechCrunch поделилось печальным для любителей роботов и научной фантастики известием: проект гигантского человекоподобного робота MegaBot закрыт, и больше к нему возвращаться не будут. Его разработчик - компания MegaBots - заявила о возможном банкротстве и необходимости как можно быстрее погасить накопившиеся долги. «Это конец MegaBots в его нынешнем виде», — заявили в компании. 15-тонный робот Eagle Prime выставлен eBay: ставки начинались с одного доллара, однако уже вскоре цена поднялась до 50 тысяч, а вскоре и эта отметка осталась далеко позади.

За кругленькую сумму желающие могут получить не просто груду металлолома, а вполне действующее, хотя и, в целом, ненужное устройство. «Робот функционален, его просто продают с аукциона, поскольку компания обанкротилась», - говорит MegaBots. Как признаются сами разработчики, гусеничный робот может нормально двигаться только по твердой поверхности и с трудом справляется с мягким грунтом. У него есть трудности с маневрированием, что вызвано, в том числе, большими габаритами. А еще, от одного неверного движения большая конструкция может завалиться - об этом мы поговорим далее.

Как пишет TechCrunch, около 2,5 миллионов долларов ушло на создание робота: большую часть средств собрали с помощью краудфандинга.

Так что же произошло с некогда ярким коллективом талантливых инженеров? Начнем с того, что изобретатели смогли привлечь внимание публики смелыми заявлениями и яркими концептами: напомним, что облик робота претерпевал изменения. И не один раз. В конце концов, появилась двенадцатитоновая версия - MegaBot Mk.III Eagle Prime: ее постарались сделать максимально грозной.

Это, конечно, лишь оболочка. Не нужно забывать, что перед нами вовсе не боевая машина, а просто дорогое развлечение, и робот никогда не задумывался в качестве боевой машины.

О «Мегаботе» забыли бы намного раньше, если бы не оригинальный «ход конем» со стороны разработчиков. Ранее японские инженеры из компании Suidobashi Heavy Industry создали робота Kuratas. Недолго думая, американцы вызвали его на дуэль. Примечательно, что некоторые СМИ представили Kuratas в качестве «боевого комплекса»: и правда, колесный «японец» был больше похож на реальную боевую машину, но это тоже был просто хитрый (или не очень хитрый) трюк. У обеих команд оружие было простой бутафорией.


Первый Kuratas весил около четырех тонн, а дизельный двигатель позволял ему развивать скорость около десяти километров в час. Как MegaBot, так и Kuratas, управляются находящимся внутри человеком.

Бой, которого не было


Японцы согласились на предложение. Поединок прошел в Японии и состоял из нескольких частей. Победа присуждалась команде, которая выведет из строя робота противника. Первый раунд остался за командой Страны Восходящего Солнца: Kuratas просто «въехал» в MegaBot своей огромной рукой, опрокинув американское чудо инженерной мысли. В следующем раунде фортуна была на стороне США. После долгой и позиционной перестрелки шариками, новый MegaBot Mk.III (в первом раунде была старая версия робота) «вырубил» японскую машину ударами руки. Наконец, в третьем раунде американцы вооружили своего робота пилой, и он изрядно порубил несчастного Kuratas-а под не очень убедительные переживания ведущей.


Итог - победа США. Впрочем, и западные, и русскоязычные обозреватели писали, что слово «победа» здесь едва ли уместна. Японский робот был намного меньше, а симпатии многомиллионной западной аудитории были понятно на стороне кого (и организаторы шоу, конечно, знали об этом).


Однако, если говорить начистоту, вряд ли кто-то из этих людей когда-нибудь еще посмотрит битву MegaBot и Kuratas. Она была очень затянутой и скучной: роботы двигались крайне медленно и были весьма неповоротливы. То, что внутри каждого находится живой человек, вынуждало команды обдумывать каждый шаг, чтобы не причинить вреда здоровью пилота: как чужого, так и своего собственного.

В целом, перспектив у такого шоу нет - это стало понятно еще на первом раунде. Куда более заманчиво выглядят бои небольших дистанционно-управляемых роботов, которые имеют свою аудиторию, в частности, в Великобритании и США, где ранее начали проводить такие поединки. Может быть, в будущем на формат состязаний повлияет искусственный интеллект, в частности, нейронные сети. Но это породит неудобные вопросы морально-этического характера: например, можно ли доверить ИИ оружие, пусть и условно спортивное. И не обернется ли оно потом против людей.

Реальный мех


В реальной жизни боевой человекоподобный робот так и не появился, и не факт, что когда-то появится. Несмотря на определенный интерес военных к экзоскелетам, большой шагоход (такие устройства еще называют «мехами») просто не нужен. Он чересчур дорог, технически сложен и уязвим в силу высокого силуэта. Почти все задачи, которые должен выполнять БЧР, может выполнить основной боевой танк, боевая машина пехоты или БТР.

Некие шансы на активное применение имеют относительно небольшие (размером с собаку) шагоходы от компании Boston Dynamics. Их предлагали использовать в качестве средства доставки грузов и боеприпасов, но, как показали испытания, устройство слишком громкое, сложное и дорогое. Так что, американские морпехи от него отказались. Возможно, робот сможет себя реализовать на гражданском поприще, но пока что, несмотря на весь достигнутый Boston Dynamics прогресс, их роботы все еще не слишком практичны.


Интересно, что ближе всех к созданию настоящего крупного наземного боевого робота подошла Россия. Ранее гусеничный робототехнический комплекс «Уран-9» даже смог немного повоевать в Сирии. Показав, впрочем, недостаточно удовлетворительный результат и вынужденный отправиться на доработку. Перспективы его дальнейшего использования неизвестны.


Единственное место, где боевые человекоподобные роботы могут себя проявить - научная фантастика. И на Западе, и на Востоке, зритель любит эффектные сцены, когда одна металлическая громадина со всей силы лупит другую. Ну, или некое непонятное существо, как это было в «Тихоокеанском рубеже» оригинального режиссера Гильермо дель Торо.
Использованы фотографии: https://presizely.finansavisen.no
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Nick Офлайн
    Nick (Николай) 5 октября 2019 10:17
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сначала игрушки, потом машины посерьёзнее. Так и движется прогресс. Порох тоже сначала для фейерверков в Поднебесной использовали.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 7 октября 2019 10:08
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ха. Что это все рекламные ходы, было понятно с самого начала.
    Калашников вон тоже своего выставил, еще более колхозного вида... и ничего - немного бла-бла и тишина....
  3. Сёма_67 Офлайн
    Сёма_67 (Семён) 8 октября 2019 20:42
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Для умников советую посмотреть:

    https://24gadget.ru/1161069449-roboty-boston-dynamics-osvoili-slozhnye-dvizhenija-a-spot-postupil-v-prodazhu-2-video.html