The best Estonian counterintelligence turned out to be a Russian spy

In September 2019, the Harju County Court of Estonia issued a guilty verdict to a former employee of the Security Police (Kaitsepolitsei, KaPo or in Russian KaPo), Vladimir Kulikov. He was sentenced to five years in prison for espionage in favor of Russia. The State Prosecutor's Office confirmed that on October 4, 2019, the verdict of the court entered into legal force.




It should be noted that KaPo is subordinate to the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Estonia. He is engaged in counterintelligence, protecting the constitutional order and state secrets, as well as the fight against terrorism and corruption.

Kulikov quit KaPo for health reasons (after receiving an injury) in 2012. According to the Estonian authorities, he was advised not to visit Russia, due to the possible manifestation of interest in his person from the special services of this country. However, Kulikov “violated” the recommendations and visited Russia, after which the suspicion arose that the Russian special services had come into contact with him. At the same time, the Estonian authorities fundamentally do not pay attention to one significant detail. A recommendation is not a ban, but a wish.

Moreover, when Kulikov was detained on March 26, 2019, the authorities did not tell the public. This became known only on April 12, 2019, when KaPo presented its traditional yearbook. The most interesting thing was that the details of the charge were not disclosed at all, and the head of the KaPo claimed that no signs of treason were found in the former employee.

It should be recalled that Kulikov, while working in KaPo, was awarded the Order of the Eagle Cross and was repeatedly recognized as an employee of the year. After leaving KaPo, he worked as a judo trainer.
Photos used: https://top.st/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Лучший эстонский контрразведчик оказался российским шпионом

Харьюский уездный суд Эстонии еще в сентябре 2019 года вынес обвинительный приговор бывшему сотруднику Полиции безопасности (Kaitsepolitsei, KaPo или по-русски КаПо), Владимиру Куликову. Его приговорили к пяти годам лишения свободы за шпионаж в пользу России. В Госпрокуратуре подтвердили, что 4 октября 2019 года, приговор суда вступил в законную силу.



Нужно отметить, что КаПо находится в подчинении МВД Эстонии. Занимается контрразведкой, защитой конституционного порядка и государственных секретов, а также борьбой с терроризмом и коррупцией.


Куликов уволился из КаПо по состоянию здоровья (после получения травмы) в 2012 году. Как утверждают эстонские власти, ему было рекомендовано не посещать Россию, в связи с возможным проявлением интереса к его персоне со стороны спецслужб этой страны. Однако Куликов «нарушил» рекомендации и побывал в России, после этого и зародилось подозрение, что спецслужбы России вступили с ним в контакт. При этом эстонские власти принципиально не обращают внимания на одну существенную деталь. Рекомендация - это не запрет, а пожелание.

Более того, когда 26 марта 2019 года, Куликов был задержан, власти не рассказали ничего общественности. Об этом стало известно лишь 12 апреля 2019 года, когда КаПо представила свой традиционный ежегодник. Самое интересное заключалось в том, что детали обвинения вообще не разглашались, а руководитель КаПо утверждал, что признаков государственной измены у бывшего работника не обнаружено.

Нужно напомнить, что Куликов в процессе работы в КаПо был награжден орденом Орлиного креста и неоднократно признавался сотрудником года. После ухода из КаПо, он работал тренером по дзюдо.
Использованы фотографии: https://top.st/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти