NASA introduced a spacesuit for the flight of Americans to the moon

The American moon exploration program Artemis is gaining momentum. On the eve of NASA presented equipment in which astronauts from the United States will make a second landing on our natural satellite in 2024. It is worth noting that the outwardly new suit called xEMU differs little from those in which Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin flew. But, nevertheless, the suit received a number of improvements regarding safety, communication capabilities and convenience in general.




As it became known from the engineers' statement, in the new suit the main systems responsible for oxygen supply, thermoregulation, elimination of odors and carbon dioxide absorption were finalized. Moreover, many of them duplicated in case of any malfunctions. And also, the modern version of the equipment is more resistant to radiation and can withstand temperatures from -157 to 93 degrees Celsius.

In addition, the new xEMU suits have become more “maneuverable” and more comfortable. So, thanks to the use of new materials, the astronaut will be able to move more comfortably, make tilts and even raise stones from the surface of the moon. In addition, modern equipment will not rub, since each spacesuit will be made individually, in accordance with a three-dimensional model of the body of an astronaut.

The communication system has undergone changes. At the top of the new equipment 2 microphones are built in instead of one. Now the astronaut will be clearly audible, regardless of where he turned his head.


But the main feature of the xEMU suit, according to the developers, was its modular design. So, in the future the costume can be upgraded in accordance with the upcoming mission. For example, for flights to Mars.

However, despite the “innovativeness” of the xEMU suit, some Technology it has not changed at all. For example, in the case of hours-long “sorties”, astronauts, as before, will have to wear diapers.
Photos used: https://nbcnews.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 17 October 2019 11: 16
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    I wonder how it fits

    each spacesuit will be made individually, in accordance with the three-dimensional model of the astronaut’s body.

    и

    in the future, the costume can be upgraded in accordance with the upcoming mission. For example, for flights to Mars.

    Do they also upgrade the astronaut so that he works 300 years before retirement? Or are they going to Mars next year? Another breakthrough winked microphone added (Chinese?) and new diapers. lol
  2. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 18 October 2019 09: 50
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Wah! And Roscosmos once promised to be on the moon by the 18th year .....
    Glory to Rogozin, the Kernel and cheers-zhurnalyugam.
  3. kgv51 Offline
    kgv51 (Gennady) 21 October 2019 22: 32
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    It is worth noting that the outwardly new suit called xEMU differs little from those in which Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin flew.

    Well yes. Two hands, two legs, a helmet ... Well, maybe the backpack has become more voluminous. And so, as if 50 years had not passed.
    And do not use laryngophones? Well, so that you can twist your head.

NASA представило скафандр для полета американцев на Луну

Американская программа по освоению Луны «Артемида» набирает обороты. Накануне NASA представило экипировку, в которой астронавтам из США предстоит совершить повторную высадку на наш естественный спутник в 2024 году. Стоит отметить, что внешне новый скафандр под названием xEMU мало отличается от тех, в которых летали Нил Армстронг и Базз Олдрин. Но, все же костюм получил ряд улучшений, касающихся безопасности, коммуникационных возможностей и удобства в целом.



Как стало известно из заявления инженеров, в новом скафандре были доработаны главные системы, отвечающие за подачу кислорода, терморегуляцию, устранение запахов и поглощение углекислого газа. Более того, многие из них продублировали, на случай возникновения каких-либо неполадок. А еще, современная версия экипировки более устойчива к радиации и выдерживает температуру от -157 до 93 градусов Цельсия.


Кроме того, новые костюмы xEMU стали более «маневренными» и удобными. Так, благодаря использованию новых материалов, астронавт сможет более комфортно передвигаться, совершать наклоны и даже поднимать камни с поверхности Луны. К тому же, современная экипировка не будет натирать, так как каждый скафандр будет изготавливаться индивидуально, в соответствии трехмерной моделью тела астронавта.

Изменений претерпела и система коммуникации. В верхней части новой экипировки встроены 2 микрофона вместо одного. Теперь астронавта будет отчетливо слышно, независимо от того, куда он повернул голову.


Но главной особенностью скафандра xEMU, со слов разработчиков, стала его модульная конструкция. Так, в дальнейшем костюм можно будет модернизировать в соответствии с предстоящей миссией. Например, для полетов на Марс.

Впрочем, несмотря на «инновационность» скафандра xEMU, некоторые технологии в нем совсем не изменились. Например, в случае многочасовых «вылазок» астронавтам, как и раньше, придется надевать памперс.
Использованы фотографии: https://nbcnews.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 17 октября 2019 11:16
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Интересно, как сочетается

    каждый скафандр будет изготавливаться индивидуально, в соответствии трехмерной моделью тела астронавта.

    и

    в дальнейшем костюм можно будет модернизировать в соответствии с предстоящей миссией. Например, для полетов на Марс.

    А астронавта они тоже модернизируют, чтобы он 300 лет до пенсии проработал? Или они на Марс в следующем году собрались? Очередной прорыв winked микрофон добавили (китайский?) и новые памперсы. lol
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 18 октября 2019 09:50
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Вах! А Роскосмос обещал когда-то быть на Луне к 18-му году.....
    Слава Рогозину, Ядру и ура-журналюгам.
  3. kgv51 Офлайн
    kgv51 (Gennady) 21 октября 2019 22:32
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Стоит отметить, что внешне новый скафандр под названием xEMU мало отличается от тех, в которых летали Нил Армстронг и Базз Олдрин.

    Ну да. Две руки, две ноги, шлем...Ну разве что рюкзачок стал повместительней. А так, как-будто и не прошло 50 лет.
    А ларингофоны уже не используют? Ну, чтоб головой крутить можно было.