The reasons for US failures in foreign policy are named

The columnist for the American periodical Foreign Policy (Foreign Policy), which annually publishes a list of one hundred world thinkers, has identified four interesting (psychological) reasons why Washington often fails to negotiate. After which an unexpected conclusion was made that the United States simply needed to make the conclusion of peace treaties as its main foreign policy priority.




The material notes that American diplomatic workers have very high competence. However, they often cannot achieve the desired result, or at least progress on frozen conflicts. At the same time, American diplomats are often criticized that they offer too much, ask too little, are too kind to US enemies, too hostile to friends.

The recent withdrawal of US President Donald Trump from the peace talks on Afghanistan was cited as an example. After that, many started talking that Washington legitimized the Taliban (an organization banned in Russia), completely not understanding that it was simply impossible to win the war in this country. And a similar situation is also characteristic of other treaties and negotiations from which the current US administration has emerged.

A study of the work of American diplomats made it possible to establish the four psychological obstacles (hindrances) mentioned above that impede work and draw certain conclusions. The first was called the “mirage of perfect agreement.” It is used when Washington softens certain requirements for opponents, after which it is criticized within the United States and by allies. According to the publication, in this case, you should adhere to the saying "the best is the enemy of the good."

The second obstacle was called "charm of brute force." The thing is that US citizens are really tired of military campaigns, but they are not against sanctions, sudden air strikes and special forces raids. And the US administration takes advantage of this. However, according to the publication, such half measures only exacerbate the undesirable consequences.

The third problem was called "disrespect for the enemy." That is, the owner of the White House just does not want to sit at the same negotiating table with the heads of some states, rogue states, rebel leaders or unrecognized (self-proclaimed) entities.

The fourth problem was called the pressure of the old regional partners of the United States. Examples are South Korea and Israel.

The conclusion was unequivocal. The United States currently simply needs peace treaties. And stronger than ever. After all, frozen conflicts are excellent soil for extremism.
  • Photos used: https://twitter.com/RusDialogRU
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 October 2019 17: 58
    0
    The reasons for US failures in foreign policy are named

    и

    Turkey agreed with the United States on the division of Syria

    - somewhat controversial titles of two adjacent articles.
    1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
      Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 20 October 2019 20: 22
      +2
      The main thing is to bark ... but how much is the case? For cheers-zhurnalyug everything will work.

Названы причины провалов США во внешней политике

Обозреватель американского периодического журнала Foreign Policy («Форин полиси»), ежегодно публикующего список ста мировых мыслителей, выявил четыре интересные (психологические) причины, почему Вашингтон часто терпит неудачи на переговорах. После чего был сделан неожиданный вывод, что США просто необходимо сделать заключение мирных договоров своим основным внешнеполитическим приоритетом.



В материале отмечается, что у американских дипломатических работников весьма высокая компетенция. Однако, они зачастую не могут достичь желаемого результата или хотя бы прогресса по замороженным конфликтам. При этом американских дипломатов часто критикуют, что они слишком много предлагают, слишком мало просят, слишком добры к врагам США, слишком враждебны к друзьям.


В качестве примера был приведен недавний выход президента США Дональда Трампа из мирных переговоров по Афганистану. После этого многие заговорили, что Вашингтон узаконил движение «Талибан» (организация, запрещенная в России), абсолютно не понимая, что войну в этой стране просто невозможно выиграть. И подобная ситуация характерна и для других договоров и переговоров, из которых вышла действующая администрация США.

Изучение работы американских дипломатов позволило установить упомянутые четыре психологических препятствия (помехи), которые мешают работе, и сделать определенные выводы. Первый был назван «миражем идеального соглашения». Его применяют тогда, когда Вашингтон смягчает те или иные требования к оппонентам, после чего подвергается критике внутри США и со стороны союзников. По мнению издания, в данном случае следует придерживаться поговорки «лучшее - враг хорошего».

Второе препятствие было названо «обаяние грубой силы». Все дело в том, что граждане США реально устали от военных кампаний, но они не против санкций, внезапных воздушных ударов и рейдов спецназа. И этим пользуется администрация США. Однако, по мнению издания, такие полумеры лишь усугубляют нежелательные последствия.

Третьей проблемой было названо «неуважение к врагу». То есть хозяину Белого дома просто не хочется сидеть за одним столом переговоров с главами каких-то государств, стран-изгоев, лидеров повстанцев или непризнанных (самопровозглашенных) образований.

Четвертой проблемой было названо давление старых региональных партнеров США. Как пример приведены Южная Корея и Израиль.

При этом вывод был сделан однозначный. США в настоящее время просто нуждаются в мирных договорах. Причем сильнее, чем когда-либо. Ведь замороженные конфликты являются прекрасной почвой для экстремизма.
Использованы фотографии: https://twitter.com/RusDialogRU
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Архаров Онлайн
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 октября 2019 17:58
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Названы причины провалов США во внешней политике

    и

    Турция договорилась с США о разделе Сирии

    - несколько противоречивые названия двух соседних статей.
    1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 20 октября 2019 20:22
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Главное - обхаять... а насколько по делу? Для ура-журналюг все сойдет.