Garlock wakes up: California may be suddenly wiped off the face of the earth

Thanks to Hollywood, the geological fault of San Andreas has become famous throughout the world. Some time ago, in the United States, a disaster film of the same name was shot, describing in the darkest colors the consequences of a super-earthquake caused by the activity of this natural phenomenon. Now, Garlock’s second geological fault will be heard, which unexpectedly woke up in prosperous sunny California after five centuries of sleep.



Razlom San Andreas


Faults or gaps are a phenomenon of violation of the integrity of rocks, which appeared as a result of the movement of tectonic plates. Sometimes their sides can move relative to each other. When energy is released along active faults, strong earthquakes occur. Therefore, it is better when they "sleep".

If we turn to the already mentioned San Andreas Fault, then it has already provoked powerful earthquakes up to 9 points in magnitude. The most famous occurred in California in 1906 and in 1989. The earthquake of 1906 claimed the lives of more than 3 thousand people, more than 80% of all buildings were destroyed in the city of San Francisco. Shocks were felt from Oregon to Nevada. In addition to the earthquake itself, huge damage was caused by subsequent multi-day fires.


The consequences of the Loma Prieta earthquake


Another collision of the Pacific and North American tectonic plates led to the Loma Priet earthquake on October 17, 1989. Killed 62 people, more than three thousand were injured. Dozens of bridges and more than 18 thousand buildings were destroyed. The damage was estimated at almost 6 billion "those" dollars.


Garloc fault surface soil tear


These examples show that with geological faults, jokes are bad. Therefore, the awakening after Garlock’s centuries-old sleep caused serious concern in the United States, given that he crosses San Andreas. The sides of the gap shifted relative to each other by 2 centimeters, which is a lot. American researchers write:

This is surprising since we have never seen Garlock fault activity. But he suddenly changed his behavior. We do not know what this means.


Their concern and caution of statements can be understood. California is one of the richest states with developed agriculture, oil refining and the world famous Silicon Valley, not to mention tourism and cinema. In addition, this region of the United States is very saturated with Pentagon military bases. A large-scale earthquake can cause enormous damage.

Garlock’s awakening was facilitated by the so-called “Ridgecrest Swarm of Earthquakes”, a town near Los Angeles last summer. It turned out that the activity there are two dozen small geological faults, which were previously not known. The situation in California is becoming more and more precarious in every sense of the word.
Photos used: www.esosedi.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 25 October 2019 09: 53
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Yeah, like, it's all gone ....
    Only somehow it’s silent that it is a geologically active area and it was shaking, shaking, and will shake .... and everyone knows about it ...
  2. Elephant Offline
    Elephant 25 October 2019 11: 53
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Now their Democrats will announce another Russian intervention ...
    1. A.Lex Offline
      A.Lex (Secret information) 25 October 2019 19: 04
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Yeah ... and Lavrov smiles so mysteriously!
      1. tol100v Offline
        tol100v (Igor) 25 October 2019 20: 59
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Quote: A.Lex
        Yeah ... and Lavrov smiles so mysteriously!

        Apparently, he knows who will be the Leader of the tribe in the future!
  3. Ehanatone Offline
    Ehanatone 26 October 2019 03: 17
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    I would like, but, but, but ... ... something from the category of Yellowstone and other wet dreams ...

Гарлок пробуждается: Калифорния может быть неожиданно стерта с лица Земли

Благодаря Голливуду, на весь мир прославился геологический разлом Сан-Андреас. Некоторое время назад, в США был снят одноименный фильм-катастрофа, описывающий в самых мрачных красках последствия суперземлетрясения, вызванного активностью данного природного феномена. Теперь на слуху будет второй геологический разлом Гарлок, который неожиданно проснулся в благополучной солнечной Калифорнии спустя пять веков сна.


Разлом Сан-Андреас



Разломы или разрывы представляют собой явление нарушения целостности горных пород, появившиеся как результат движения тектонических плит. Иногда их стороны могут двигаться относительно друг друга. При выбросах энергии вдоль активных разломов происходят сильные землетрясения. Поэтому лучше, когда они «спят».

Если обратиться к уже упомянутому разлому Сан-Андреас, то он уже провоцировал мощные землетрясения силой до 9 баллов. Самые известные произошли в Калифорнии в 1906 и в 1989 году. Землетрясение 1906 года унесло жизни более 3 тысяч человек, в городе Сан-Франциско было уничтожено свыше 80% всех зданий. Толчки ощущались от Орегона до Невады. Помимо самого землетрясения огромный ущерб был причинен последующими многодневными пожарами.


Последствия землетрясения Лома-Приета


Очередное столкновение Тихоокеанской и Североамериканской тектонических плит привело к землетрясению Лома-Приета 17 октября 1989 года. Погибли 62 человека, свыше трех тысяч пострадали. Были разрушены десятки мостов, более 18 тысяч зданий. Ущерб оценивался почти в 6 миллиардов «тех» долларов.


Поверхностный разрыв почвы разлома Гарлока


Эти примеры показывают, что с геологическими разломами шутки плохи. Поэтому пробуждение после многовекового сна Гарлока вызвало серьезнейшее беспокойство в США, учитывая, что он пересекает Сан-Андреас. Стороны разрыва сместились относительно друг друга на 2 сантиметра, что очень много. Американские исследователи пишут:

Это удивительно, поскольку мы никогда не видели активности разлома Гарлок. Но он внезапно изменил поведение. Мы не знаем, что это значит.


Их обеспокоенность и осторожность высказываний можно понять. Калифорния является одним из богатейших штатов с развитым сельским хозяйством, нефтепереработкой и знаменитой на весь мир Кремниевой долиной, не говоря уже о туризме и кинематографе. Кроме того, этот регион США весьма насыщен военными базами Пентагона. Масштабное землетрясение способно нанести огромный ущерб.

Пробуждению Гарлока способствовал так называемый «рой землетрясений Риджкреста», городка неподалеку от Лос-Анджелеса, минувшим летом. Выяснилось, что активность там проявляют два десятка небольших геологических разломов, о которых ранее ничего не было известно. Положение Калифорнии становится все более «шатким» во всех смыслах этого слова.
Использованы фотографии: www.esosedi.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 25 октября 2019 09:53
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ага, типа все пропало....
    Только как-то молчек, что это геологически активный район и там трясло, трясет, и будет трясти.... и все об этом знают...
  2. Слон Офлайн
    Слон 25 октября 2019 11:53
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Сейчас их демократы объявят об очередном вмешательстве русских...
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 25 октября 2019 19:04
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Ага...и Лавров так загадочно улыбается!
      1. тол100в Офлайн
        тол100в (Игорь) 25 октября 2019 20:59
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Цитата: A.Lex
        Ага...и Лавров так загадочно улыбается!

        Видимо, он знает кто будет Вождем племени в будущем!
  3. Ehanatone Офлайн
    Ehanatone 26 октября 2019 03:17
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Хотелось бы, но, но, но… …что-то из разряда Йеллоустоуна и прочих влажных мечт ...