Rapprochement with Serbia: Russia's breakthrough or its mistake?

The events that took place in the Balkans this October made some in the West strain: “The Russians are up to something in the center of Europe again!” This, of course, is about two things: the joint Russian-Serbian air defense exercises with the participation of our latest Triumph systems and the signing by Belgrade of a free trade agreement with the EAEU.




However, there is no doubt that in our country there will also be those who will relate to the next clearly identified geopolitical project of Moscow with a fair amount of skepticism: “Here again, we just lacked Serbs as friends! Why do you need all this ?! ” Really, why? And what can happen as a result of Russia's sharply increased activity in the Balkans?

"We would be in the 99th such!"


Everyone understands that it is for Serbia, which in 1999 survived the nightmare of the 75-day bombing of NATO, the issue of protecting their own airspace is extremely important. And even, one might say painful. Especially after the statements of American leaders, such as Kyle Scott, who reached in his cynicism to the proposal addressed to the inhabitants of this country to “look wider” at those bombings. Like, nothing, everyday life ... Such "revelations" from the US ambassador will make anyone think about strengthening their own air defense. Not without reason, the most widespread comment of the Serbs in the media and social networks on reports of the arrival of Russian S-400 air defense systems was: “Oh, we would be like that in the 99th! We would have shown them! ” Alas, Belgrade does not have money for the purchase of the Triumphs even today, which the president of the country, Alexander Vuchich, did not hesitate to admit, who almost licked at the Russian complexes at the training ground:

This we can not afford! Now, if the Russians gave them to us ...


Stop, stop, stop! Apparently, Moscow no longer intends to give anything to anyone. Have you ordered and paid for “Shell-C1”? Well, if you please get in the best possible way. After the maneuvers, this complex will remain to keep the Serbian sky.

However, the main difference from 1999 is not technical the level of Russian air defense systems, and the role and place of our country in a very, very changed world from that moment. For a full-fledged confrontation with the West during the tragedy of Yugoslavia twenty years ago, Moscow had neither political no will, no real military capabilities. Recent events in Syria and the Middle East in general have more than convincingly shown who the power is today. And the point here, I repeat, is not only in the “Favorites”, “Triumphs” and the “Prometheus” which is already replacing them. Although, of course, in them too ... And yet, the main thing is that Russia again showed the whole world its readiness to defend its own allies anywhere in the world. Including, if necessary, and by force of arms. That is why not a single American bomb has ever fallen on either Venezuela or Iran. In light of all this, Serbia’s desire to take shelter under an invincible Russian shield is more than natural and understandable. The process is underway - for the sixth year already, Belgrade has been represented in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, albeit so far in observer status. Arms deliveries from our country continue, as far as the far from luxurious possibilities of the Serbian budget allow. Military cooperation is growing stronger and this is a definite plus.

Rather, politics than economics


The conclusion of the agreement on a free trade zone between Serbia and the Eurasian Economic Community, many analysts tend to consider a step more from the field of politics than economics. It is difficult to argue with them - after all, Belgrade could trade duty free and so could not only with Russia, but also with Belarus and Kazakhstan. What is "in the black"? At first glance, only Kyrgyzstan and Armenia. Do not forget that 63% of the turnover of the Balkan country still falls on the states of the European Union. In 2018, trade with our country amounted to $ 3 billion, and with the rest of the EAEU countries it did not reach half a billion. And, nevertheless, in Belgrade they are quite optimistic. They already cherish plans for a market of more than 180 million people, opening, first of all, to local enterprises in the agricultural and processing sectors. Wine is going to be exported by tens of thousands of liters, cigarettes - by thousands of tons. The plans, of course, are other deliveries. There is, however, one “but” ... We should not forget that since 2015 Serbia has been negotiating accession to the European Union. And, according to the requirements of this entity, if it comes to the country’s joining the “big European family”, it will be obliged to terminate all existing bilateral agreements on free trade by switching to EU rules. However...

The fact of the matter is that “European integration” for Belgrade, as, indeed, for the vast majority of Balkan capitals, has recently turned more and more from an object, albeit a long but definite expectation, into an object of completely unrealizable dreams. Well, if Brussels famously “swept” Macedonia with this issue, for the sake of joining the European Union, renounced its own name in the company, by the way, with Albania, then Serbia with its heap of unresolved problems regarding Kosovo is hardly worth counting on Any coherent membership perspective. In any case, in the foreseeable future. And here, before the Serbs knocking long and unsuccessfully on their Western neighbors, the doors in the East hospitably open. A gesture that has a very deep political subtext and is undoubtedly a signal and a reason to think for many. And not only in the Balkans. By and large, this is a very vivid manifestation of the very multipolarity, about which there has been so much talk lately, the main sign of a new world order, which before our eyes is being created, first of all, by the efforts of Russia. No one today is trying to present the EAEU as a full-fledged “alternative” to the European Union. Well, after all, on the one hand, there is no discussion of full-fledged competition. And on the other ... Moscow, as you know, was also not immediately built!

New multi-path?


There is another extremely intriguing point here. Having drawn countries into the orbit of the Eurasian Economic Community that, in one way or another, aspire to subsequent accession to the European Union, Moscow is not at all engaged in an empty and sighted affair, as it might seem to someone at first glance. Attempts to conclude a free trade agreement between the EAEU and the European Union have been as long as unsuccessful. Brussels takes a stubborn and implacable position on this issue. But what if, as part of a “united Europe”, more and more countries appear that are associated with the Eurasian community and want to do business with it? Perhaps this view will change? It is possible that this is what long-term calculation is made of. One way or another, but some Western media, which react very nervously to the current Balkan successes of Russia and are in a hurry to declare Belgrade almost the future “Moscow Trojan horse in Europe,” cannot be blamed for such an empty panic. Yes, our country seeks to acquire a maximum of allied, friendly countries in the region (and not only that, in addition). We will call a spade a spade - get there “junior partners”, future “agents of influence” to defend our own geopolitical interests. And what, should we be ashamed of this? To pretend that nothing like this happens - while the United States has been doing such things for almost its entire existence? And nothing blush ...

Yes, Russia seeks to bring Serbia as close as possible to it, “include” it in its own foreign policy orbit, and tie it with the ties of cooperation in both the economic and defense spheres. So what's wrong with that? Any state that claims to have any significant role on the world stage is simply obliged to conduct its affairs in this way. And the more successful - the better. Another thing is that it is not worthwhile to turn such a policy, following the not very successful example of the late USSR, into an “attraction of unprecedented generosity”, putting ideology ahead of the economy and ultimately getting rid of friends and colleagues. Relapses in the form of lamentations about the “gift” of air defense systems worth hundreds of millions of dollars for one division, as we see, are available. Nothing, we will heal ... It is gratifying that Moscow today is clearly trying to “squeeze” the maximum out of the situation that has developed on the international scene, from the shaky image of the United States, from the confusion and uncertainty prevailing now among those who are used to orienting themselves solely and exclusively to Washington as a "world hegemon." Creating new alliances, “pulling” hesitating and insecure ones to their side, the Kremlin plays the game “in the long run”, which, undoubtedly, should bear fruit.

The integration of as many countries as possible into defense and economic structures, the dominance of which belongs to Russia, is clearly the right course. With regard to Serbia and other Balkan states, this is especially true. If the European Union completely blocks its own expansion (and that’s all), they will face the question: “Where to go next?” Then we’ll talk about whose multi-paths turned out to be more successful ...
Photos used: http://www.mod.gov.rs/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 November 2019 12: 05
    -3
    • 3
    • 6
    Yes, sir ... then a breakthrough, then betrayed ...
  2. Valentine Offline
    Valentine (Valentin) 1 November 2019 14: 23
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    With whom we just did not get close, and now they have become vicious dogs towards us. As soon as Gorbachev withdrew our GSVG and ZGV from Europe, our American "partners" immediately poured there, placed their puppets at the head of these countries, and now we have what we have, but simpler - everyone has us, and it is time for us to stop this vicious it’s practice to look for “friends” among our enemies - there, we are all chewing snot, and Washington is already spoiling up our slutty sister Belarus, and the day is not far off when American bases appear in it, and special services from Langley will “lead” the country. .. And Serbia is a Slavic enclave surrounded by an Islamic olicheskimi formations disintegrated Yugoslavia, and this is just another "neither fish nor fowl," and we will go there again vbuhivat his billions. The Yankees are good fellows, they don’t whip, or tomahawks, so cheap gingerbreads, seduce such collective farmers as Lukashenko or all former presidents of Ukraine, and make them furious haters of Russia, and now we have climbed into Africa, looking for the “friends” there. and "brothers."
  3. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 2 November 2019 19: 44
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    I think it’s better to do Serbia than Africa!
  4. camo ridges Offline
    camo ridges (Michael) 5 November 2019 23: 26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    It is necessary to agree with Serbia on the deployment of our military bases, then the whole European preoccupied brethren will sing with exquisite falsetto, and we will get the opportunity to shove them alongside and condemn the dangers of sanctions and the need for sincere conversations about Europe from Lisbon to the Urals. Well, so that our little brothers do not throw us away, tempted by promises to be accepted into the EU, we must draw up a cooperation agreement so that this idea is destructive for Serbia and categorically unacceptable. And if you just lick and from time to time feed for free, then there are very good chances to be at a trough ...

Сближение с Сербией: прорыв России или ее ошибка?

События, происходившие в нынешнем октябре на Балканах, заставили кое-кого на Западе изрядно напрячься: «Русские опять что-то затевают в центре Европы!» Речь, конечно, о двух вещах: совместных российско-сербских учениях сил ПВО с участием наших новейших систем «Триумф» и о подписании Белградом соглашения о свободной торговле с ЕАЭС.



Впрочем, можно не сомневаться, в нашей стране тоже найдутся те, кто отнесется к очередному явственно обозначившемуся геополитическому проекту Москвы с изрядной долей скепсиса: «Вот еще только сербов нам опять в друзьях не хватало! Зачем вообще это все нужно?!» А, и вправду, зачем? И что может получиться в результате резко усилившейся активности России на Балканах?


«Нам бы в 99-м такие!»


Каждому понятно, что именно для Сербии, в 1999 году пережившей кошмар 75-дневных бомбардировок НАТО, вопрос защиты собственного воздушного пространства является крайне важным. И даже, можно сказать болезненным. В особенности после высказываний американских деятелей, вроде Кайла Скотта, дошедшего в своем цинизме до адресованного жителям этой страны предложения «шире смотреть» на те бомбежки. Мол, пустяки, дело житейское... Подобные «откровения» от посла США кого угодно заставят задуматься об укреплении собственной ПВО. Недаром же самым распространенным комментарием сербов в СМИ и соцсетях на сообщения о прибытии российских ЗРК С-400 было: «Эх, нам бы такие в 99-м! Мы б им показали!» Увы, денег на покупку «Триумфов» у Белграда нет и сегодня, в чем простодушно не преминул признаться президент страны Александр Вучич, чуть ли не облизывавшийся на полигоне на российские комплексы:

Такого мы себе позволить не можем! Вот если бы русские нам их подарили...


Стоп, стоп, стоп! Никому и ничего дарить Москва, судя по всему, более не намерена. Заказали и оплатили «Панцирь-С1»? Ну вот, извольте получить в самом лучшем виде. После окончания маневров этот комплекс останется хранить сербское небо.

Впрочем, главным отличием от 1999 года является никак не технический уровень российских средств ПВО, а роль и место нашей страны в весьма и весьма изменившемся с того момента мире. Для полномасштабного противостояния Западу во время трагедии Югославии двадцатилетней давности у Москвы не было ни политической воли, ни реальных военных возможностей. Последние события в Сирии и вообще на Ближнем Востоке более чем убедительно показали, за кем сила сегодня. И дело тут, повторюсь, не только в «Фаворитах», «Триумфах» и уже идущих им на смену «Прометеях». Хотя и в них, безусловно, тоже... И все-таки, главное в том, что Россия снова показала всему миру свою готовность защищать собственных союзников в любой точке земного шара. В том числе, если понадобится, и силой оружия. Именно поэтому ни одна американская бомба так и не упала ни на Венесуэлу, ни на Иран. В свете всего этого, желание Сербии укрыться под несокрушимым русским щитом более чем закономерно и понятно. Процесс идет – вот уже шестой год Белград представлен в Парламентской Ассамблее Организации Договора о коллективной безопасности, пусть пока и в статусе наблюдателя. Поставки вооружений из нашей страны продолжаются, насколько это позволяют далеко не роскошные возможности сербского бюджета. Военное сотрудничество крепнет и это однозначный плюс.

Скорее политика, чем экономика


Заключение договора о зоне свободной торговли между Сербией и Евразийским экономическим сообществом многие аналитики склонны считать шагом скорее из области политики, нежели экономики. Спорить с ними сложно – ведь торговать беспошлинно Белград и так мог не только с Россией, но также с Белоруссией и Казахстаном. Что «в плюсе»? На первый взгляд, только Кыргызстан и Армения. Не стоит забывать, что 63% товарооборота балканской страны приходится все-таки на государства Европейского Союза. В 2018 году товарооборот с нашей страной составил 3 миллиарда долларов, а с остальными странами ЕАЭС не дотянул и до полмиллиарда. И, тем не менее, в Белграде настроены довольно оптимистично. Там уже лелеют планы относительно рынка в 180 с лишним миллионов человек, открывающегося, прежде всего, перед местными предприятиями сельскохозяйственного и перерабатывающего сектора. Вино собираются экспортировать десятками тысяч литров, сигареты – тысячами тонн. В планах, конечно же, и другие поставки. Есть тут, впрочем, одно «но»... Не следует забывать, что еще с 2015 года Сербия ведет переговоры о вступлении в Европейский Союз. И, согласно требованиям этого образования, если дело дойдет до принятия страны в «большую европейскую семью», все существовавшие до этого двусторонние договоренности о свободной торговле она обязана будет расторгнуть, перейдя на правила ЕС. Однако...

В том-то и штука, что «евроинтеграция» для Белграда, как, впрочем, и для абсолютного большинства балканских столиц, в последнее время все больше превращается из предмета пусть и долгого, но определенного ожидания, в объект совершенно несбыточных мечтаний. Уж если Брюссель с подачи Парижа лихо «прокатил» с этим вопросом Македонию, ради вступления в Евросоюз отрекшуюся от собственного имени, в компании, кстати, с Албанией, то уж Сербии с ее ворохом нерешенных проблем относительно Косово и вовсе вряд ли стоит рассчитывать на какие-либо внятные перспективы членства. Во всяком случае, в сколько-нибудь обозримом будущем. И тут перед долго и безуспешно стучавшимися к своим западным соседям сербами гостеприимно распахиваются двери на Востоке. Жест, имеющий весьма глубокий политический подтекст и, несомненно, являющийся сигналом и поводом призадуматься для многих. Причем не только на Балканах. По большому счету, это весьма яркое проявление той самой многополярности, о которой ведется столь много разговоров в последнее время, главной приметы нового мироустройства, на наших глазах создающегося, в первую очередь, стараниями России. Никто сегодня не пытается представить ЕАЭС полноценной «альтернативой» Евросоюзу. Ну, так ведь, с одной стороны, о полноценной конкуренции речь и не ведется. А с другой... Москва, как известно, тоже не сразу строилась!

Новая многоходовочка?


Есть тут и еще один, крайне интригующий момент. Вовлекая в орбиту Евразийского экономического сообщества страны, так или иначе претендующие на последующее вступление в Европейский Союз, Москва вовсе не занимается пустым и зряшным делом, как это кому-то на первый взгляд может показаться. Попытки заключения соглашения о свободной торговле между ЕАЭС и Евросоюзом ведутся столь же давно, сколь безуспешно. Брюссель занимает по данному вопросу позицию упрямую и непримиримую. Но что, если в составе «объединенной Европы» будет появляться все больше стран, связанных с Евразийским сообществом и желающим вести с ним дела? Возможно, эта точка зрения изменится? Вполне возможно, что именно на это и делается долгосрочный расчет. Так или иначе, но некоторые западные СМИ, весьма нервно реагирующие на нынешние балканские успехи России и торопящиеся объявить Белград уже чуть ли не будущим «троянским конем Москвы в Европе», нельзя обвинить в таком уж пустом паникерстве. Да, наша страна стремится обзавестись максимумом союзных, дружественных стран в регионе (и не только в этом, вдобавок). Будем называть вещи своими именами – получить там «младших партнеров», будущих «агентов влияния» для отстаивания собственных геополитических интересов. И что, мы должны стыдиться этого? Делать вид, что ничего такого не происходит – в то время, как США занимаются подобными вещами на протяжении едва ли не всего своего существования? И ничего, не краснеют...

Да, Россия стремится максимально приблизить к себе Сербию, «включить» ее в собственную внешнеполитическую орбиту, привязать узами сотрудничества как в экономической, так и в оборонной сфере. Так и что в этом плохого? Любое государство, претендующее на сколько-нибудь значимую роль на мировой арене, просто обязано вести свои дела именно таким образом. И чем успешнее – тем лучше. Другое дело, что не стоит подобную политику, по не слишком удачному примеру позднего СССР, превращать в «аттракцион невиданной щедрости», ставя идеологию впереди экономики и получая в конечном итоге вместо друзей и соратников захребетников. Рецидивы в виде воздыханий о «подарке» ЗРК стоимостью в сотни миллионов долларов за один дивизион, как видим, имеются. Ничего, будем лечить... Отрадно то, что Москва сегодня явно старается «выжать» максимум из сложившейся на международной арене ситуации, из крепко пошатнувшегося имиджа Соединенных Штатов, из растерянности и неопределенности, царящих нынче в рядах тех, кто привык ориентироваться только и исключительно на Вашингтон в качестве «мирового гегемона». Создавая новые альянсы, «перетягивая» на свою сторону колеблющихся и неуверенных, Кремль ведет игру «вдолгую», которая, несомненно, должна принести свои плоды.

Интеграция как можно большего количества стран в оборонные и экономические структуры, главенство в которых принадлежит России, однозначно является правильным курсом. В отношении Сербии и прочих балканских государств это особенно актуально. В случае, если Евросоюз полностью заблокирует собственное расширение (а к этому все и идет), перед ними встанет вопрос: «Куда идти дальше?» Вот тогда и поговорим о том, чьи многоходовки оказались удачнее...
Использованы фотографии: http://www.mod.gov.rs/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 ноября 2019 12:05
    -3
    • 3
    • 6
    Да-с... то прорыв, то предали...
  2. Валентин Офлайн
    Валентин (Валентин) 1 ноября 2019 14:23
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    С кем мы только не сближались, а теперь они стали злобными псами по отношению к нам. Как только Горбачёв вывел наши ГСВГ и ЗГВ из Европы, туда сразу же хлынули наши американские "партнёры", поставили своих марионеток во главе этих стран, и теперь имеем то, что имеем, а попроще - все имеют нас, и нам пора прекратить эту порочную практику - искать себе "друзей" среди наших врагов - вон, мы всё сопли жуём, а Вашингтон уже вовсю окучивает нашу распутную сестрицу Беларусь, и недалёк тот день, когда в ней появятся американские базы, а "руководить" страной будут спецслужбы из Лэнгли... А Сербия - это славянский анклав, окружённый исламско-католическими образованиями распавшейся Югославии, и это очередное "ни рыба, ни мясо", а мы снова будем вбухивать туда свои миллиарды. Янки молодцы, они не кнутом, или томагавками, так дешёвыми пряниками, соблазняют вот таких колхозников, как Лукашенко или все бывшие президенты Украины, и делают из них яростных ненавистников России, а теперь мы уже полезли и в Африку, в поисках тамошних "друзей" и "братьев".
  3. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 2 ноября 2019 19:44
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Я думаю, лучше заниматься Сербией, чем Африкой!
  4. камо грядеши (Михаил) 5 ноября 2019 23:26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    С Сербией надо договариваться о размещении наших военных баз, тогда вся европейская озабоченная братия запоёт изысканным фальцетом, а мы получим возможность пихать им под бок и приговаривать о вреде санкций и необходимости вести душевные разговоры про Европу от Лиссабона до Урала. Ну, а чтобы братушки нас не кинули, соблазнившись посулами быть принятыми в ЕС, надо так составить договор о сотрудничестве, чтобы сия затея была разрушительна для Сербии и категорически неприемлема. А если просто сюсюкать и время от времени безвозмездно подкармливать, то очень большие шансы оказаться у разбитого корыта...