Why is the ruble growing despite 5 years of sanctions?

Despite five years of Western sanctions and the threat of "tearing to shreds" our the economy, we still hold on, and the Russian ruble even shows some growth against the dollar, which was noted even in distant Germany. What explains such an unexpected behavior of our national currency?




German journalist Gerhard Scharinger in an article for Focus writes the following:

The ruble was able to even appreciably strengthen against the euro and the dollar during the year and remains one of the strongest currencies among developing countries in 2019.


The author, as the reasons for such a rejoicing phenomenon for Russia, points to an unusual budget surplus for most Western countries and a noticeable decrease in the pressure of the foreign policy component on the ruble exchange rate. As the third reason for the growth of our national currency against the American and European, Gerhard Scharinger sees the decrease in interest rates in the United States and the European Union, which makes Russian government bonds extremely attractive in the eyes of international investors. Investments by non-residents in federal loan bonds naturally strengthen the ruble.

In general, Russian financial experts agree with the German journalist. For example, Vladimir Rozhankovsky confirms that the ruble grew by 5% against the dollar, while other currencies grew by only 2,5%. But as the most important reason for reducing pressure on the ruble, he sees a change political agendas within the US. Due to the beginning of the presidential campaign and the threat of impeachment to Donald Trump, the US senators and congressmen are now less concerned with Russia.

Financial expert Anton Bykov believes that the ruble is no longer "staggering" during storms in the oil market due to the so-called "budget rule". All revenues in excess of the price of a barrel of oil of $ 40 go to the NWF “bottle”, making the budget surplus and the economy more stable. Financier Vitaly Manzhos notes the fact that significant negative foreign policy news currently come less often.

The representative of the banking sector, Elena Chizhevskaya, points to the positive effects of the de-dollarization carried out in Russia, which reduce the risks of currency crises due to a possible aggravation of the Western sanctions policy. She also sees as factors contributing to the strengthening of the ruble, the positive news on the Nord Stream-2 project, the strengthening of economic ties within the BRICS and the Asia-Pacific countries, a successful deal with OPEC, which are still unusually attractive to foreigners due to the high OFZ rate .

However, the experts themselves recommend not to deceive themselves too much. Still, the ruble is highly dependent on the global financial system. For example, Christmas sales will soon begin in the United States. Western online retailers will offer big discounts, and buyers from around the world, including from Russia, will be interested in buying American currency.

Despite today's growth against the dollar, the ruble as a whole is declining against the dollar-euro pair, explains Vitaliy Manzhos:

In the long run, the Russian currency inevitably and greatly weakens against the dollar and the euro. This is not very noticeable only because of the denomination of the ruble in 1998.


If the “Russian theme” again becomes relevant against the backdrop of the US presidential election and the sanctions policy is activated again, the ruble will inevitably begin to lose ground.
Photos used: https://www.if24.ru/r
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

9 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 2 November 2019 15: 54
    +3
    • 6
    • 3
    Why is the ruble growing despite 5 years of sanctions?

    - Some strange argument ... about the “stability of the ruble” ... - But why didn’t the speaker say that dozens of Russian banks went bankrupt (their licenses were revoked) ... and ...- what is the position of the Russian Pension Fund ... and what is this -

    positive news on the Nord Stream-2 project, the strengthening of economic ties within the BRICS and the Asia-Pacific countries, a successful deal with OPEC

    - ?????????????????
    - It would be better to talk about the ukropovskaya hryvnia ... - why is it that it has been “holding on to the dollar” for so long and does not fall ... whereas according to the forecasts of many ... mmmm ... “political economists” ... -that should fall apart "... it would be interesting to listen ...
    1. Victor N Offline
      Victor N (Victor n) 2 November 2019 17: 37
      -2
      • 2
      • 4
      This is because the Olivier is seasoned with mayonnaise, not honey. Do not scold the author: he writes as he sees fit. And it is not obliged to please us.
    2. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 5 November 2019 18: 27
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      - It would be better to talk about the ukropovskaya hryvnia ... - why is it that it has been “holding on to the dollar” for so long and does not fall ... whereas according to the forecasts of many ... mmmm ... “political economists” ... -that should fall apart "... it would be interesting to listen ...

      I will tell you without political economists. Ukraine is kept afloat artificially. On the one hand, they are hooked, how they will behave incorrectly, they will immediately be explained to them that the kirdyk economy will come instantly. On the other hand, doing this is not profitable, reputational losses are huge. They are building a bright future under the leadership of the "wise and free Western world." The default should have occurred immediately after the non-repayment of the loan debt by Russia, but the IMF stupidly rewritten the rules for them. For how then to explain that "the whole world is with them," fellow and after five years of "successful economic reforms" - lol and suddenly defaulted. belay Our economy is torn "by the whole world", and the default is in Ukraine. belay Somehow after that they will not look very good. repeat
  2. Monster_Fat Offline
    Monster_Fat (What's the difference) 2 November 2019 17: 12
    +2
    • 6
    • 4
    Why is the ruble “growing”? Well, probably because the Central Bank itself periodically buys it out and sells it to itself ... There is chronically no money in the country - all the "extra" money is withdrawn abroad according to the budget rule, weapons are sold for currency that is on the Russian market it doesn’t end up, but is spent immediately abroad or withdrawn to external accounts, or weapons are bought on an inter-credit loan, where again there is no “living” money. In addition, Western companies and banks began to generally avoid having to deal with sanctions Russia in order to avoid troubles when doing business with other countries .... Inside the country, no one has money - the overwhelming majority of the population have beggarly salaries, companies are selling out of due to low demand due to the poor. All loans and mortgages for the most I can not. Any penny is instantly withdrawn to pay off the loan ..... the population therefore has no economic activity, there is no way to either earn money or spend it - everything goes to repay the loans. Given the scanty purchasing power in such an environment, we can state the fact that the demand for money will be scanty, hence the “stability” of the ruble.
  3. Sapsan136 Offline
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 November 2019 18: 52
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    The ruble is turning into a trash currency ... Only recently in our region there has been a sharp increase in the cost of travel by public transport, and at once by 30% ... Prices are rising, far ahead of salaries ...
    1. Tatyana Offline
      Tatyana 4 November 2019 13: 20
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      The first decade of December will soon come when foreign "labor" migrants will massively travel to their homeland on New Year's holidays, receive money earned in Russia in rubles, transfer them to American dollars and send them to their home. In this case, always at this time there is a jump in the exchange rate of the dollar against the ruble (the fall of the ruble).
      Recall the end of 2014, when in a short time - within about 10 days until December 10, 2014 - the $ rate in the Russian Federation jumped from 30 rubles to 65 rubles. and, in fact, remained at that level.
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 November 2019 09: 05
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    The ruble is growing, and inflation is growing ... so what's the difference?
  5. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 5 November 2019 17: 57
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    The ruble is growing, firstly, we need to figure out whether this is good or bad, and for whom. In 2014, Mr. Obamka began tearing to shreds the economy of our hated Mordor, the ruble rate collapsed from about 32 to 62 for one bourgeois denyuzhka. They intensified the pressure and waited for the Central Bank to start throwing the currency into the bottomless barrel of maintaining the ruble. But something went wrong. Nabiullina said that there will be no strict regulation, the price of the ruble is determined by the market. As a result, the purchasing power of the ruble fell, and prices for imported goods rose. For the population, this was a minus. The government only benefited from this and solved several problems at the same time.
    1. Saved foreign exchange reserves.
    2. It has become easier to fulfill our obligations, since the currency for oil and gas was supplied in the same volume, and due to the difference in the rate of payment to the population, they became almost 2 times cheaper.
    3. The depreciation of the ruble made production on the territory of Russia more profitable, which led to an increase in production and, as a result, the ruble strengthened after 5 years, that is, today. The strengthening of the ruble clearly occurs without the efforts of the Central Bank, because it is not beneficial for the government, as it reduces the competitiveness of Russian products.
    And for us? Theoretically, a plus, since you can buy more imported goods with the same money. But their share is decreasing, they began to produce more domestically and we don’t notice much difference, with the exception of certain types of goods, such as computers. On the other hand, an excessive strengthening of the ruble will slow down production growth, resulting in lower wages. So, it is not clear whether this is good for us or bad. The main thing is that there should be no sudden jumps, and they are not expected on the horizon. There are simply no prerequisites. Indicated in the article without a smile can not be considered.

    For example, Christmas sales will soon begin in the United States. Western online retailers will offer big discounts, and buyers from around the world, including from Russia, will be interested in buying American currency.

    Dear Russians, closer to the new year rush to buy dollars on an industrial scale, so much so that this will affect the ruble? belay I don’t know how you do in Moscow, but it is not accepted in Russia. Everything that can be sold in America is easier to buy directly from the manufacturer, in China. Maybe someone can provide data on how last year's sale in the US affected the ruble exchange rate? I don’t remember that. request

    Despite today's growth against the dollar, the ruble as a whole is declining against the dollar-euro pair. In the long run, the Russian currency inevitably and greatly weakens against the dollar and the euro.

    What is this written for? Show that everything is bad with us? So it’s not a fact that ruble appreciation is a positive factor in the end.

    This is not very noticeable only because of the denomination of the ruble in 1998.

    How not noticeable? In 2014, didn’t anyone notice any changes? I don’t know who how, I’m used to the fact that the long-term period is 10 years. And then 1998. request What does it matter? And why then not compared to the 1913th year?

    If the “Russian theme” again becomes relevant against the backdrop of the US presidential election and the sanctions policy is activated again, the ruble will inevitably begin to lose ground.

    It will certainly become relevant, only the influence of external factors on our economy is gradually declining.
    In general, the course will float, most importantly, so that there are no sharp jumps.
  6. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 5 November 2019 21: 54
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    If the dollar starts to fall systematically. And from all the media the gaps will begin to sing odes to the ruble. So, after a year and a half or two, wait for the collapse of the next ruble. laughing Proven for decades. yes

Почему рубль растет, несмотря на 5 лет санкций?

Несмотря на пять лет западных санкций и угрозы «порвать в клочья» нашу экономику, мы пока держимся, а российский рубль даже показывает некоторый рост к доллару, что отметили даже в далекой Германии. Чем же объясняется столь неожиданное поведение нашей национальной валюты?



Немецкий журналист Герхард Шарингер в статье для издания Focus пишет следующее:


Рубль смог в течение года даже заметно укрепиться по отношению к евро и доллару и остается одной из сильнейших валют среди развивающихся стран в 2019 году.


Автор в качестве причин столь отрадного для России явления, указывает на непривычный для большинства западных стран профицит бюджета и заметное снижение давления внешнеполитической составляющей на курс рубля. В качестве третьей причины роста нашей национальной валюты по отношению к американской и европейской, Герхард Шарингер видит снижение процентных ставок в США и Евросоюзе, что делает российские гособлигации необычайно привлекательными в глазах международных инвесторов. Вложения нерезидентов в ОФЗ закономерно укрепляют и рубль.

В целом, согласны с немецким журналистом и российские финансовые эксперты. Например, Владимир Рожанковский подтверждает, что рубль вырос к доллару на 5%, когда иные валюты – всего на 2,5%. Но в качестве важнейшей причины снижения давления на рубль он видит изменение политической повестки дня внутри США. Из-за начавшейся президентской кампании и угрозы импичмента Дональду Трампу американским сенаторам и конгрессменам сейчас стало меньше дела до России.

Финансовый эксперт Антон Быков считает, что рубль уже не «шатает» при штормах на нефтяном рынке из-за так называемого «бюджетного правила». Все доходы свыше цены барреля нефти в 40 долларов идут в «кубышку» ФНБ, делая бюджет профицитным, а экономику более стабильной. Финансист Виталий Манжос отмечает тот факт, что значимые негативные внешнеполитические новости в настоящее время приходят реже.

Представитель банковского сектора Елена Чижевская указывает на положительные эффекты от проводимой в России дедолларизации, которые снижают риски валютных кризисов из-за возможного обострения санкционной политики Запада. Также она видит в качестве факторов, способствующих укреплению рубля, положительные новости по проекту «Северный поток-2», укрепление экономических связей внутри БРИКС и со странами АТР, успешную сделку с ОПЕК, все так же необычайно привлекательные для иностранцев из-за высокой ставки ОФЗ.

Однако сами же эксперты рекомендуют не слишком уж обольщаться. Все-таки рубль сильно зависит от мировой финансовой системы. Например, вскоре в США начнутся предрождественские распродажи. Западные онлайн-ритейлеры будут предлагать большие скидки, и покупатели со всего мира, в том числе, из России, будут заинтересованы скупать американскую валюту.

Несмотря на сегодняшний рост по отношению к доллару, рубль в целом снижается по отношению к паре доллар-евро, поясняет Виталий Манжос:

В долгосрочном периоде российская валюта неизбежно и сильно слабеет по отношению к доллару и к евро. Это не очень заметно лишь по причине деноминации рубля в 1998 году.


Если же «русская тема» вновь станет актуальной на фоне президентских выборов в США, и вновь активизируется санкционная политика, рубль неизбежно начнет сдавать отвоеванные позиции.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.if24.ru/r
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Онлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 2 ноября 2019 15:54
    +3
    • 6
    • 3
    Почему рубль растет, несмотря на 5 лет санкций?

    - Какое-то странное рассуждение...про "стабильность рубля"... - А чего же автор не озвучил то, что обанкротились десятки российских банков (у них отозваны лицензии) ...и...-каково положение Российского Пенсионного Фонда... И что это за -

    положительные новости по проекту «Северный поток-2», укрепление экономических связей внутри БРИКС и со странами АТР, успешная сделка с ОПЕК

    -????????????????
    - Лучше рассказали бы про укроповскую гривну... - чего это она так долго "держится по отношению к доллару" и не падает... тогда как по прогнозам многих...мммм... "политэкономистов"...Укропия "вот-вот должна развалиться"... было бы интересно послушать...
    1. виктор н Офлайн
      виктор н (Виктор н) 2 ноября 2019 17:37
      -2
      • 2
      • 4
      Это потому, что "оливье" заправляют майонезом, а не мёдом. Не ругайте автора: он пишет, как считает нужным. И не обязан нам угождать.
    2. 123 Офлайн
      123 (123) 5 ноября 2019 18:27
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      - Лучше рассказали бы про укроповскую гривну... - чего это она так долго "держится по отношению к доллару" и не падает... тогда как по прогнозам многих...мммм... "политэкономистов"...Укропия "вот-вот должна развалиться"... было бы интересно послушать...

      Я Вам и без политэкономистов расскажу. Украину держат на плаву искусственно. С одной стороны, они на крючке, как станут вести себя неправильно, им сразу объяснят, что экономике кирдык наступит моментально. С другой стороны, делать это не выгодно, репутационные потери огромные. Они же строят светлое будущее под руководством "мудрого и свободного западного мира". Дефолт должен был наступить сразу после невозврата России долга по кредиту, но МВФ тупо переписал под них правила. Ибо как потом объяснять, что "весь мир с ними", fellow и после пяти лет "успешных экономических реформ" - lol и вдруг дефолт. belay Экономику рвут у нас "всем миром", а дефолт на Украине. belay Как-то они после этого не очень хорошо будут выглядеть. feel
  2. Monster_Fat Офлайн
    Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 2 ноября 2019 17:12
    +2
    • 6
    • 4
    Почему "растет" рубль? Ну, наверное, потому, что сам ЦБ у себя его периодически и выкупает и себе же и продает... В стране хронически нет денег - все "лишние" деньги выводятся за границу согласно бюджетного правила, оружие продается за валюту, которая на рынок России не попадает, а тратится сразу за рубежом или выводится на внешние счета, или оружие покупается на кредитный взаимобартер, где опять же нет "живых" денег. Кроме того, западные компании и банки стали вообще избегать иметь дела с санкционной Россией, чтобы избежать неприятностей при ведении дел с другими странами....Внутри же страны нет денег ни у кого - у подавляющего числа населения нищенские зарплаты, компании стоят без сбыта из-за низкого спроса, обусловленного нищим населением. Все закредитованы и заипотечены по самое не могу. Любая копейка мгновенно изымается в счет погашения кредита..... у населения потому нет никакой экономической активности, нет возможности ни зарабатывать деньги, ни тратить их - все уходит на погашение кредитов. Учитывая мизерную покупательную способность в такой среде, можно констатировать факт - спрос на деньги будет мизерным, отсюда и "стабильность" рубля.
  3. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 ноября 2019 18:52
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Рубль превращается в мусорную валюту... Лишь недавно в нашем регионе прошло резкое подорожание проезда на общественном транспорте, причем сразу на 30%... Цены растут, значительно опережая зарплаты...
    1. Татьяна Офлайн
      Татьяна 4 ноября 2019 13:20
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Скоро наступит первая декада декабря, когда иностранные "трудовые" мигранты будут массово выезжать на новогодние праздники к себе на родину, получив деньги, заработанные в России в рублях, переводить их в американские доллары и высылать их к себе домой. При этом всегда в это время происходит скачок курса $ к рублю (падение рубля).
      Вспомним конец 2014 года, когда за короткое время - в течение порядка 10 дней до 10 декабря 2014 года - курс $ в РФ подскочил с 30 руб до 65 руб. и, по сути, так на этом уровне и остался.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 ноября 2019 09:05
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Рубль растет, и инфляция растет... так какая разница?
  5. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 5 ноября 2019 17:57
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Рубль растет, во-первых, надо разобраться, хорошо это или плохо, и для кого. В 2014 году мистер Обамка начал рвать к клочья экономику нашего ненавистного Мордора, курс рубля рухнул примерно с 32 до 62 за одну буржуйскую денюжку. Давление усиливали и ждали, когда Центробанк начнет вкидывать валюту в бездонную бочку поддержания рубля. Но что-то пошло не так. Набиуллина сказала, что жесткого регулирования не будет, цена на рубль определяется рынком. В результате покупательская способность рубля упала, цены на импортные товары выросли. Для населения это было минусом. Правительство же от этого только выиграло и решило одновременно несколько задач.
    1. Сэкономило валютные резервы.
    2. Стало проще выполнять свои обязательства, так как валюта за нефть и газ поступала в прежнем объеме, а за счет разницы курса выплаты населению стали практически в 2 раза дешевле.
    3. Падение курса рубля сделало более выгодным производство на территории России, что привело к росту производства и в итоге укреплению рубля через 5 лет, то есть сегодня. Укрепление рубля явно происходит без усилий Центробанка, ибо оно правительству не выгодно, так как снижает конкурентоспособность российской продукции.
    А для нас? Теоретически плюс, так как на те же деньги можно купить больше импортных товаров. Но их доля снижается, больше стали производить внутри страны и особой разницы не заметим, за исключением отдельных видов товаров, например, компьютеров. С другой стороны, чрезмерное укрепление рубля приведет к замедлению роста производства, в итоге снижение заработной платы. Так что, не совсем ясно, хорошо это для нас или плохо. Главное, чтобы не было резких скачков, а их на горизонте не предвидится. Предпосылок просто нет. Указанные в статье без улыбки рассматривать невозможно.

    Например, вскоре в США начнутся предрождественские распродажи. Западные онлайн-ритейлеры будут предлагать большие скидки, и покупатели со всего мира, в том числе, из России, будут заинтересованы скупать американскую валюту.

    Дорогие россияне, ближе к новому году кинутся скупать доллары в промышленных масштабах, да так, что это повлияет на курс рубля? belay Не знаю, как у вас в Москве, а у нас в России это не принято. Все, что могут продать в Америке, проще купить напрямую у производителя, в Китае. Может, кто-нибудь сможет привести данные, как прошлогодняя распродажа в США повлияла на курс рубля? Я такого не припомню. request

    Несмотря на сегодняшний рост по отношению к доллару, рубль в целом снижается по отношению к паре доллар-евро. В долгосрочном периоде российская валюта неизбежно и сильно слабеет по отношению к доллару и к евро.

    К чему это написано? Показать, что у нас все плохо? Так не факт, что укрепление рубля в итоге положительный фактор.

    Это не очень заметно лишь по причине деноминации рубля в 1998 году.

    Как же не заметно? В 2014-ом что, никто изменений не заметил? Не знаю, кто как, я привык, что долгосрочный период - это 10 лет. А тут 1998 год. request Какое это имеет значение? А почему тогда с 1913-ым годом не сравнили?

    Если же «русская тема» вновь станет актуальной на фоне президентских выборов в США, и вновь активизируется санкционная политика, рубль неизбежно начнет сдавать отвоеванные позиции.

    Она обязательно станет актуальной, только влияние внешних факторов на нашу экономику постепенно снижается.
    В общем, курс будет плавать, главное, чтобы не было резких скачков.
  6. Наблюдатель2014 (Сергей) 5 ноября 2019 21:54
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Если доллар начнёт систематически падать. И со всех СМИ щелей начнут петь оды рублю. Значит, через полтора-два года жди обвала очередного рубля. laughing Проверено десятилетиями. yes