In Canada, came up with an "eternal" quantum battery

The possibility of creating a quantum battery that does not discharge during long-term storage, said researchers from Canada. A detailed description of the ideas of specialists from the universities of Toronto and Alberta was published in the scientific journal Journal of Physical Chemistry C.




The difference between a quantum battery and the lithium-ion one that is already familiar to us is that in the first embodiment, the principles of quantum mechanics are used, and in the second, electric. In addition, the size of such a battery is very tiny. Therefore, it will be possible to use it in nanoscale devices.

The essence of the discovery is to use a dark state in which a quantum system does not emit and does not absorb photons. Thus, the energy in such a battery can be stored forever.

This principle is already used to create qubits, but is not suitable for batteries, since it has an insignificant energy reserve. In turn, scientists from Canada suggested creating a battery consisting of a whole network of qubits with a special geometric structure.

The authors of the discovery have already figured out how to get such a battery out of a dark state and make it give back the stored energy. Computer modeling has also confirmed the “viability” of the concept.

However, it is worth noting that in practice, manipulating a network of qubits is an extremely difficult task. Therefore, it is difficult to say when at least a laboratory sample of an “eternal” battery will appear.
  • Photos used: https://phys.org
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 6 November 2019 09: 32
    +1
    There were hundreds of such ideas ....
    And on the shelves are ordinary batteries from China ....
  2. mivmim Offline mivmim
    mivmim 6 November 2019 10: 52
    0
    And where have you already made it?

В Канаде придумали «вечный» квантовый аккумулятор

О возможности создания квантового аккумулятора, который не разряжается при длительном хранении, заявили исследователи из Канады. Подробное описание идеи специалистов из университетов Торонто и Альберты были опубликованы в научном издании Journal of Physical Chemistry C.



Отличие квантовой батареи от уже привычной нам литий-ионной заключается в том, что в первом варианте используются принципы квантовой механики, а во втором электрические. К тому же, размер такого аккумулятора совсем крошечный. Следовательно, применять его можно будет в наноразмерных устройствах.


Суть открытия заключается в использовании темного состояния, в котором квантовая система не излучает и не поглощает фотоны. Таким образом, энергия в подобной батарее может сохраняться вечно.

Данный принцип уже используется для создания кубитов, но не подходит для аккумуляторов, так как имеет ничтожный запас энергии. В свою очередь, ученые из Канады предложили создать батарею, состоящую из целой сети кубитов, с особой геометрической структурой.

Авторы открытия уже рассчитали, как вывести подобный аккумулятор из темного состояния и заставить отдавать накопленную энергию. Компьютерное моделирование также подтвердило «жизнеспособность» концепции.

Однако, стоит отметить, что на практике производить манипуляцию с сетью кубитов является чрезвычайно сложной задачей. Поэтому, трудно сказать, когда появится хотя бы лабораторный образец «вечного» аккумулятора.
Использованы фотографии: https://phys.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 6 ноября 2019 09:32
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Таких идей выдвигались сотни....
    А на полках обычные аккумуляторы из Китая....
  2. mivmim Офлайн
    mivmim 6 ноября 2019 10:52
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    И где, уже изготовили?