Dismantle C-400 into parts: what does Erdogan trade in for abandoning Russian air defense systems?


President Trump offered a hand of friendship to his colleague Recep Erdogan. To establish relations between Ankara and Washington, you just need to get rid of the Russian S-400 air defense systems. In exchange, the United States is ready to conclude a multibillion-dollar bargain and resolve the issue of alternative American weapons. In whose favor will this “Turkish bazaar" end?


At first glance, the situation looks straightforward. US and Turkey are NATO allies; American economy first in the world. A bargain is needed more by Turkey itself, which is experiencing serious economic difficulties. The choice seems obvious.

However, it must be remembered that these problems are largely the work of Washington. Recall, last spring, the United States began to introduce increased duties on imported steel and aluminum. But in August 2018, specifically for Turkey, they were doubled: up to 50% for steel and up to 25% for aluminum. In the spring of 2019, Washington graciously lowered the barriers to Turkish metal to 25%. But in October, President Trump again raised duties to 50% due to Ankara’s military operation in Syria.

Needless to say, such a dependence on the "hegemon", despite formal alliance in NATO, cannot cause enthusiasm in Ankara, where neo-Ottoman "imperial" sentiments intensified? The desire of President Erdogan to transfer Turkey to the “major league” is evidenced by his country's participation in the development of the fifth generation fighter jointly with the United States, in parallel with attempts to implement such a project on its own.

The Turkish authorities, very delicately, but sensitively, pricked the United States with the purchase of S-400 air defense systems. Four divisions of weather alone won’t make it, but the Americans, who invested gigantic funds in the development of the F-35 Lightning II, really did not like the fact that the Russian systems will be able to track the work of their “wunderwaffe”. Therefore, President Trump categorically demanded that Ankara not activate the acquired S-400s.

It turns out that for the 2,5 billion dollars of the Russian loan, the Turkish leader acquired an instrument of pressure on the hegemon, which could allow him to close a deal for 100 billion dollars. It was about the trade agreement for such an amount that Donald Trump spoke, linking this with Ankara’s refusal from the S-400 complexes. In addition, he proposed as an alternative the American Patriot SAM and even the renewed participation of Turkey in the F-35 development program.

Recep Erdogan turned everything beautifully, you can’t say anything. Does this mean that Ankara is once again rushing into the arms of the United States?

It will probably be true to say that Turkey will begin to conduct a more multi-vector policiesthan before. It is possible that for the sake of a trade transaction, Erdogan will disassemble the S-400 and send it to the warehouse for storage. In addition to economic preferences, he will be able to get discounts from the USA on American air defense systems and fifth-generation fighters with the necessary ones from the USA technology for your own airplane project.

But, understanding the dependence on trade with the States, he is likely to go through a greater diversification of risks. He has already received “Turkish Stream” from Russia, which will turn his country into a gas hub, next in turn is the nuclear power plant that Rosatom will build for him. In other words, Ankara will equally flirt with both the West and the East, knocking out for itself the maximum preferences. And we can’t avoid participating in this “Turkish bazaar”.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 14 November 2019 13: 18
    0
    I also think that $ 100 billion is an exorbitant amount, which it will be difficult for Erdogan to refuse. But so far these are only suggestions. And the US has "7 Fridays a week." If Turkey "stabs in the back" again, then Putin would be better off voluntarily resigning for his policy, rather than waiting for 2024. These are all predictions and it's too early to "sprinkle ashes on my head." Will wait. Erdogan's move.
    1. Sergey39 Offline Sergey39
      Sergey39 (Sergei) 14 November 2019 14: 17
      0
      Well, this is another question to whom Erdogan will stab in the back. His goal is to become a regional leader, not a slave.
  2. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 14 November 2019 14: 34
    +2
    Apparently, the United States is in no hurry to share information on stealth in the 5th generation with a partner, and Turkey, buying the S-400, decided to conduct a full-scale experiment. In the case of the disclosure of the real "invisible" characteristics of the F-35, the US military-industrial complex materializes losses for much moreОa lower amount than the bribe offered to Erdogan. Therefore, what is such corruption in the USA? No! For in the shining city there are only pink unicorns farting with rainbow bubbles.
    1. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
      A.Lex (Secret information) 14 November 2019 18: 37
      0
      ... and butterflies pooping with flowers ...
  3. A.Lex Offline A.Lex
    A.Lex (Secret information) 14 November 2019 18: 36
    0
    In relation to the Turks we are not East ... we are NORTH.
  4. Pishenkov Offline Pishenkov
    Pishenkov (Alexey) 14 November 2019 18: 43
    0
    What can I say - Erdogan is simply handsome! And this is not a blow to anyone in the back, but aerobatics in trade, taking into account the interests of their own state and no one else. If anyone really hit, it’s Trump and NATO, in any case, Turkey doesn’t have any allied treaties and obligations with the Russian Federation, they just bought good weapons, and even with a loan from the seller. What is a bad deal? And the fact that the weapon is good is clearly visible from the amount offered to the Turks only so that they do not use it.
    For the Russian Federation, too, no problems are visible - the goods have been sold, and even how spectacularly, Turkey will pay off the loan, there is no reason to doubt this either, and they also made a split in NATO ... both by the purchase of the S-400 by Turkey, and by this mess about ... So, I don’t know that some people here again smear “Putin's resignation”, “sprinkle ashes on his head,” etc.
    And what Trump will give to someone there or not will give is also a big question, and Erdogan knows this no worse than the others ... and maybe better. At a press conference after a meeting with the US president, he behaved more than restrained ...
  5. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 15 November 2019 06: 46
    0
    Quote: A.Lex
    In relation to the Turks we are not East ... we are NORTH.

    Well, that's figurative. I also mean the PRC.
  6. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 15 November 2019 10: 21
    +2
    Naturally, he will cooperate with everyone.
    Especially where there is more money.
    Trades, threatens, blackmails. Like all. Like beloved GDP.
    Only he, unlike any Kyrgyzstan, is the 1st European country in the Armed Forces.

Разобрать С-400 на части: что Эрдоган выменяет на отказ от российских ЗРК?


Президент Трамп предложил руку дружбы своему коллеге Реджепу Эрдогану. Для налаживания отношений Анкары и Вашингтона надо всего-то избавиться от российских комплексов ПВО С-400. Взамен США готовы заключить многомиллиардную торговую сделку и порешать вопрос с альтернативными американскими образцами вооружений. В чью же пользу закончится этот «турецкий базар»?

На первый взгляд, ситуация выглядит однозначной. США и Турция являются союзниками по НАТО, американская экономика первая в мире. Торговая сделка больше нужна самой Турции, испытывающей серьезные экономические трудности. Выбор кажется очевидным.


Однако необходимо помнить, что эти проблемы во многом дело рук именно Вашингтона. Напомним, весной прошлого года США начали вводить повышенные пошлины на импортные сталь и алюминий. Но в августе 2018-го конкретно для Турции они были повышены вдвое: до 50% на сталь и до 25% на алюминий. Весной 2019 года Вашингтон милостиво снизил заградительные барьеры на турецкий металл до 25%. Но в октябре президент Трамп вновь повысил пошлины до 50% из-за проводимой Анкарой военной операции в Сирии.

Стоит ли говорить, что подобная зависимость от «гегемона», несмотря на формальное союзничество в НАТО, не может вызывать восторга в Анкаре, где активизировались неоосманские «имперские» настроения? О желании президента Эрдогана перевести Турцию в «высшую лигу», свидетельствует участие его страны в разработке истребителя пятого поколения совместно с США, параллельно с попытками реализовать подобный проект самостоятельно.

Турецкие власти весьма тонко, но при том чувствительно, укололи США покупкой систем ПВО С-400. Сами по себе четыре дивизиона погоды не сделают, но американцам, вложившим гигантские средства в разработку F-35 Lightning II, очень не понравилось, что российские комплексы смогут отслеживать работу их «вундерваффе». Поэтому президент Трамп в категорической форме потребовал от Анкары не активировать приобретенные С-400.

Получается, что за 2,5 миллиарда долларов российского кредита турецкий лидер приобрел инструмент давления на «гегемона», который может позволить ему заключить сделку уже на 100 миллиардов долларов. Именно о торговом соглашении на такую сумму заговорил Дональд Трамп, увязав это с отказом Анкары от комплексов С-400. Вдобавок к тому, он предложил в качестве альтернативы американские ЗРК «Пэтриот» и даже возобновление участия Турции в программе разработки F-35.

Красиво все провернул Реджеп Эрдоган, ничего не скажешь. Означает ли это, что Анкара вновь бросается в объятия США?

Вероятно, будет верным сказать, что Турция начнет проводить более многовекторную политику, чем раньше. Вполне возможно, что ради торговой сделки Эрдоган разберет С-400 и отправит на хранение на склад. Помимо экономических преференций, он сможет выбить уже из США скидки на американские ЗРК и истребители пятого поколения с необходимыми ему технологиями для собственного проекта самолета.

Но, понимая зависимость от торговли со Штатами, он, скорее всего, пойдет путем большей диверсификации рисков. От России он уже получил «Турецкий поток», что превратит его страну в газовый хаб, на очереди – АЭС, которую ему построит «Росатом». Иначе говоря, Анкара будет в равной мере заигрывать и с Западом, и с Востоком, выбивая для себя максимальные преференции. И от участия в этом «турецком базаре» нам не уклониться.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.almaz-antey.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 14 ноября 2019 13:18
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    Я тоже думаю, что 100 млрд $ эта заоблачная сумма, от которой Эрдогану трудно будет отказаться. Но пока это только предложения. А у США "7 пятниц на неделе". Если Турция опять "ударит в спину", то Путину лучше добровольно уйти в отставку за свою такую политику, а не дожидаться 2024 года. Это всё прогнозы и рано "посыпать голову пеплом". Будем ждать. Ход за Эрдоганом.
    1. Сергей39 Офлайн
      Сергей39 (сергей) 14 ноября 2019 14:17
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Ну это ещё вопрос, кому Эрдоган ударит в спину. У него цель - стать региональным лидером, а не ведомым.
  2. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 14 ноября 2019 14:34
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Судя по всему, США не спешат делиться с партнером информацией по стелсу в 5-м поколении и Турция, покупая С-400, решила провести натурный эксперимент. В случае раскрытия реальных "невидимых" характеристик F-35, у ВПК США материализуются убытки на гораздо бОльшую сумму, нежели предложенная Эрдогану взятка. Поэтому, какая такая коррупция в США? Никакой! Ибо в сияющем граде только розовые единороги, пукающие радужными пузырьками.
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 14 ноября 2019 18:37
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      ...и бабочки, какающие нектаром от цветов...
  3. A.Lex Офлайн
    A.Lex (Секретная информация) 14 ноября 2019 18:36
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    По отношению к туркам мы не Восток,...мы СЕВЕР.
  4. Пишенков Офлайн
    Пишенков (Алексей) 14 ноября 2019 18:43
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    Ну что сказать - Эрдоган просто красавец! И это никакой не удар никому в спину, а высший пилотаж в торговле, с учётом интересов именно собственного государства и никого более. Если кого реально и ударили, так это Трампа и НАТО в любом случае, с РФ у Турции никаких союзнических договоров и обязательств нет, просто купили хорошее оружие, да ещё и на кредит от продавца. Чем плохая сделка? А то, что оружие хорошее, явно видно из суммы, предложенной туркам только за то, чтобы они его не использовали.
    Для РФ тоже никаких проблем не видно - товар продан, да ещё как эффектно, кредит Турция выплатит, в этом тоже особо сомневаться нет поводов, и в НАТО раскол всё-таки тоже внесли... и самой покупкой Турцией С-400, и всей этой кутерьмой около... Так что, не знаю, что тут некоторые опять размазывают "Путина в отставку", "посыпать голову пеплом" и т.п.
    А что там кому там Трамп даст или не даст - это тоже большой вопрос, и Эрдоган это знает не хуже остальных... а может и лучше. На пресс конференции после встречи с президентом США он себя вёл более чем сдержанно...
  5. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 15 ноября 2019 06:46
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Цитата: A.Lex
    По отношению к туркам мы не Восток,...мы СЕВЕР.

    Ну, это образно. Еще имеется в виду и КНР.
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 15 ноября 2019 10:21
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Естественно, будет сотрудничать со всеми.
    Особенно, где денег больше.
    Торгуется, грозит, шантажирует. Как и все. Как и любимый ВВП.
    Только он, в отличие от какой-нибудь Киргизии - 1-я страна Европы по ВС.