Caspian gambit: how Turkmen gas will squeeze Russia in Europe


Gazprom is preparing to stop deliveries to Europe. Most likely, on January 1 of next year, transit will be stopped by Kiev. In order not to fall into the next fines, the Russian company will have to work at a loss this winter, but its management expects that everything will work out after that. However, this winter may mark the beginning of the end of Gazprom’s dominance in the European energy market. A dangerous competitor is already knocking on the door.


In Turkey, the Trans-Anatolian Gas Pipeline (TANAP) and the Trans-Adriatic Pipeline (TAP) are nearing completion at the end of the month. Azerbaijani gas is already supplied to Turkish consumers, and after completion of commissioning work at the beginning of next year, it will flow to southern Europe. How realistically can these projects squeeze Gazprom?

Local story?


Some Russian experts are reassuring by stating that the Trans-Anatolian pipeline is a "local story." But is it?

The throughput capacity of TANAP is 16 billion cubic meters of gas per year. Of these, 6 billion will be taken away immediately by the Turks, and only 10 billion cubic meters will go to the Europeans. Such a volume does not seem very serious as a competitor to Gazprom, but everything is somewhat more complicated. The following factors must be considered.

At firstThe gas pipeline’s capacity can be seriously increased: by 2023, to 23 billion cubic meters, and by 2026, to 31 billion. This will already be comparable with the Russian Turkish Stream. What is even more alarming, the project provides an opportunity to increase the throughput of TANAP to 60 billion cubic meters of gas, which exceeds the capacity of even Nord Stream-2.

SecondlyThere are serious questions about the resource base of the Trans-Anatolian gas pipeline. Azerbaijan alone will not pull such volumes. Baku is tightly contracted for supplies to Europe. The resources of its fields are not enough at the same time for export and to satisfy their own needs, so the former Soviet republic was forced to buy gas from the Russian Federation. The situation itself is strange, but such are the laws of the market. Azerbaijan does not want to get fines. It is this argument about the lack of a resource base that some domestic experts cite as reassurance. Unfortunately, they are silent about something.

Thirdlybesides Azerbaijan, theoretically Turkmenistan, Iraq, Iran and Kazakhstan will be able to use the pipeline that goes to Europe bypassing Russia. Turkmenistan is the most dangerous competitor to Gazprom. Ashgabat is able to export up to 40 billion cubic meters of gas to the European market. For this, the country's large fields were connected by the East-West gas pipeline with the Caspian coast. Previously, all problems rested on the unregulated status of the Caspian, the need for large investments in construction and the interest of Europe itself. However, now everything has changed for the worse for Russia.

Big problems?


A year ago, the Kremlin is very short-sighted, as it turns out, put an end to a long-standing dispute over the division of the Caspian Sea. Thus, he opened the way for the construction of the Trans-Caspian gas pipeline. Its capacity can reach up to 30 billion cubic meters annually. It is believed that the Russian side has protected itself from this project with reservations on the need to coordinate construction with all parties to the Caspian Convention, which says:

The route for laying submarine cables and pipelines is determined by agreement with the party through which the submarine cable or pipeline should be laid through the bottom sector.


This was motivated by the need to comply with environmental requirements. And all would be fine, but Gazprom in some way fell into this trap with the Nord Stream-2. Recall, Denmark pulled for two years with the issuance of a permit for its construction under the pretext of strict environmental requirements. The monopolist even intended to sue Copenhagen, but he recently issued a decision.

It turns out that taking care of the environment can be covered for quite some time, but not indefinitely. Moreover, the Kremlin will be under serious pressure from its “partners”. Interest in Turkmen gas is directly stated by major European officials. Ankara will also be drowned for the Trans-Caspian gas pipeline, judging by the words of President Erdogan:

We are making great efforts to ensure that Turkmen gas also becomes part of this project.


Will our “partners”, on whom the launch of the Turkish Stream and Nord Stream 2 directly depend, succeed in persuading the Kremlin to issue a pipe permit along the bottom of the Caspian? The question is rhetorical.
Photos used: https://report.az/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. krasstar Offline
    krasstar (Igor) 19 November 2019 18: 55
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Any inflow of gas outside Gazprom to Europe should be accompanied by a reduction in gas supplies from Russia. The volume of reduction in supplies should be exactly the amount that Europe intends to receive from "independent" sources by the deadlines designated by Europe itself. If they want 40 billion cubic meters of gas from Ashgabat in 2026, you will receive a reduction in deliveries from Russia by the same volume already in 2020. Tired of listening to how Russia will be strangled by such-and-such a deadline ....
  2. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 19 November 2019 22: 23
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Firstly, while 16 billion cubic meters is not today.
    Secondly, Azerbaijan built a pipe at its own expense, taking loans. That is, in the coming years, Azerbaijan will give gas for free - for loans. Therefore, the second thread is not soon.
    Thirdly, the connection of Turkmenistan is a big question. Turkmens do not want to pay for construction abroad, or even pay for transit abroad. Buy gas at the border - and do what you want!
    In general, until they lift the sanctions from Iran and return the money stolen from Iran 40 years ago, more than 10-15 billion cubic meters can not be seen in Europe.
    1. Marzhecki Offline
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 20 November 2019 07: 48
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      This is called complacency.
      1. A.Lex Offline
        A.Lex (Secret information) 20 November 2019 12: 04
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        How critical is gas supply to the EU for the Russian economy?
      2. Anatoly Unknown Offline
        Anatoly Unknown (Anatoly Unknown) 20 November 2019 21: 55
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        No, this is called a blow under the breath for your lack of professionalism.
      3. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
        Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 26 November 2019 21: 05
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        In the next 20 years, neither Qatar, nor Iran, nor Turkmenistan will compete with Russia. Algeria and Libya - pull close, there is already one thread. As they make peace, they can dramatically increase supplies. Once in 5. But even then - Europeans do not want to invest in intra-European logistics. Each country is for itself.
  3. EXPrompt Offline
    EXPrompt (EXPrompt) 20 November 2019 10: 46
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    The rate of gas supplies to Europe.
    2018 year. Gazprom 194 billion cubic meters, 2,5 US LNG.
    2019 Gazprom 200,8 US - 3,7.
    YOU than decided to scare Gazprom?
    TAP-TANAP with their 10 billion cubic meters? They can increase to 60 - it’s very funny, but will Shah Deniz 2 pull them out?
    With the same success, you can scare Gazprom with the great construction of the century Baltic Pipe, exactly the same pipeline for 10 billion cubic meters. Norwegian gas.
    All this is not serious, like the US LNG, a lot of talk, little use.
    1. A.Lex Offline
      A.Lex (Secret information) 20 November 2019 12: 07
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      As far as I heard, the Norwegians are running out of stocks and reducing sales in the rest of the EU (otherwise why would they be so excited about the Russian territory of the Arctic and about the creeps to the allies because of the measures to divide the Russian Arctic?) ...
  4. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 20 November 2019 17: 25
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Firstly, the gas pipeline’s capacity can be seriously increased: up to 2023 billion cubic meters by 23, and up to 2026 billion by 31. This will already be comparable with the Russian Turkish Stream. Even more alarming, the project provides for the possibility to increase the TANAP throughput to 60 billion cubic meters of gas, which exceeds the capacity of even Nord Stream-2. "

    "Thirdly, in addition to Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Iraq, Iran and Kazakhstan will theoretically be able to use the pipeline that goes to Europe bypassing Russia. Turkmenistan seems to be the most dangerous competitor to Gazprom. Ashgabat is able to export up to 40 billion cubic meters of gas to the European market. For this, the country's large fields were connected by the East-West gas pipeline with the Caspian coast. "

    - Fine, just fine ... if this happens ... -If it wouldn’t break loose ... - But maybe it will break ... - these states simply can backtrack and abandon their "ideas". ..
    - The fact that Gazprom crawled into an impassable gas deadlock ... is already obvious ... Ahead are sheer losses and complete collapse ...
    - It’s not even possible to recoup the costs of creating all this gigantic, many-thousand-kilometer pile-up of a ridiculous network of gas pipelines that piled stupid Gazprom ... - Russian taxpayers will have to puff off everything (as always) ...
    - And then unprecedented luck ... - Gazprom has "followers" of its absurd acts ... - And at least some of the severity and destructiveness (and quite significant) of these utopian aspirations, these "followers" are ready to shift to themselves ... - And this can somehow alleviate the fate of Gazprom ...
    - Who is there ... - Turkmenistan is numbing, everything wants to get rich ... -Hahah ... - There is not enough China for her, who uses it as she wants ... - But Turkmenistan has remained only with what it started all its "commercial" gas affairs with China ... - And with deliveries to Europe, Turkmenistan will be much more tragic ... -And for Kazakhstan, if he gets into this gas pipeline adventure ... - everything will also be unprofitable ...
    - Azerbaijan will not burn out anything ... - He has already finally finally begun to "understand" what this whole gas pipeline scam is ...
    - And it’s time for everyone to understand that ... what ... what ... what ... that all these gas pipelines ... this is the real "gas pyramid" (about the same as the financial pyramid). .. - only gas recipients win and share all the benefits according to their "ranks" ...
    - And all gas exporters remain "at the bottom" of the pyramid ... -That may be added to the "bottom-up participants" ... - But they can just change their minds and Gazprom will remain in "proud isolation" ...
  5. oracul Offline
    oracul (leonid) 21 November 2019 08: 31
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    There is nothing eternal in life, everything flows - everything changes. Especially in a market economy. The uneven development of capitalism was noted by Lenin. And the fact that we will supply gas to China is good for us. Gazprom will reduce supplies to Europe? Well, okay. Himself will remain more. The resource is not eternal.

Каспийский гамбит: как туркменский газ потеснит Россию в Европе


«Газпром» готовится к прекращению поставок в Европу. Вероятнее всего, 1 января следующего года транзит будет Киевом остановлен. Российской компании, чтобы не попасть на очередные штрафы, придется эту зиму работать себе в убыток, но ее руководство рассчитывает, что после все наладится. Однако эта зима может стать началом конца доминирования «Газпрома» на европейском энергетическом рынке. В дверь уже стучится опасный конкурент.

В Турции в конце месяца завершается строительство Трансанатолийского газопровода (TANAP) и Трансадриатического газопровода (TAP). По ним азербайджанский газ уже поступает турецким потребителям, а после окончания пуско-наладочных работ в начале следующего года он потечет в Южную Европу. Насколько же реально эти проекты способны потеснить «Газпром»?


Локальная история?


Некоторые российские эксперты успокаивают, заявляя, что Трансанатолийский трубопровод – это «локальная история». Но так ли это?

Пропускная мощность TANAP составляет 16 миллиардов кубометров газа в год. Из них 6 миллиардов сразу заберут себе турки, и только 10 миллиардов кубов пойдет европейцам. Такой объем кажется не очень серьезным в качестве конкурента «Газпрому», но все несколько сложнее. Необходимо учитывать следующие факторы.

Во-первых, мощность газопровода может быть серьезно увеличена: к 2023 году до 23 миллиардов кубометров, к 2026 году – до 31 миллиарда. Это уже будет сопоставимо с российским «Турецким потоком». Что еще более настораживает, в проекте предусмотрена возможность довести пропускную способность TANAP до 60 миллиардов кубометров газа, что превышает мощность даже «Северного потока-2».

Во-вторых, есть серьезные вопросы по ресурсной базе Трансанатолийского газопровода. Один Азербайджан подобные объемы не потянет. Баку жестко законтрактован по поставкам в Европу. Ресурсов его месторождений не хватает одновременно для экспорта и удовлетворения собственных потребностей, поэтому бывшая советская республика была вынуждена покупать газ у Российской Федерации. Ситуация сама по себе странная, но таковы законы рынка. Попадать на штрафы в Азербайджане не хотят. Именно этот аргумент о недостатке ресурсной базы приводят в качестве успокоения некоторые отечественные эксперты. К сожалению, они кое о чем умалчивают.

В-третьих, помимо Азербайджана, трубопроводом, идущим в Европу в обход России, теоретически смогут воспользоваться Туркмения, Ирак, Иран и Казахстан. Наиболее опасным конкурентом «Газпрому» выглядит Туркменистан. Ашхабад в состоянии экспортировать на европейский рынок до 40 миллиардов кубометров газа. Для этого крупные месторождения страны были соединены газопроводом «Восток–Запад» с каспийским побережьем. Ранее все проблемы упирались в неурегулированный статус Каспия, необходимость крупных инвестиций в строительство и интерес самой Европы. Однако теперь все изменилось не в лучшую для России сторону.

Большие проблемы?


Год назад Кремль весьма недальновидно, как выясняется, поставил точку в многолетнем споре вокруг раздела Каспийского моря. Тем самым он открыл дорогу для строительства Транскаспийского газопровода. Его мощность может составить до 30 миллиардов кубометров ежегодно. Считается, что российская сторона обезопасила себя от данного проекта оговорками о необходимости согласования строительства со всеми сторонами Конвенции по Каспию, где сказано:

Определение трассы для прокладки подводных кабелей и трубопроводов осуществляется по согласованию со стороной, через сектор дна которой должен быть проведен подводный кабель или трубопровод.


Мотивировалось это необходимостью соблюдения требований экологии. И все бы ничего, но «Газпром» в некотором роде попал сам в эту ловушку с «Северным потоком-2». Напомним, Дания два года тянула с выдачей разрешения на его строительство под предлогом жестких экологических требований. Монополист даже намеревался подать на Копенгаген в суд, но тот недавно решение все же выдал.

Получается, что заботой об экологии можно прикрываться довольно долго, но не бесконечно. Тем более, что на Кремль будет оказываться серьезное давление со стороны его «партнеров». О заинтересованности в туркменском газе прямо заявляют крупные европейские чиновники. За Транскаспийский газопровод будет топить и Анкара, судя по словам президента Эрдогана:

Мы прилагаем большие усилия, чтобы туркменский газ также стал частью этого проекта.


Удастся ли нашим «партнерам», от которых напрямую зависит запуск «Турецкого потока» и «Северного потока-2», склонить Кремль к выдаче разрешения на трубу по дну Каспия? Вопрос риторический.
Использованы фотографии: https://report.az/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. krasstar Офлайн
    krasstar (Игорь) 19 ноября 2019 18:55
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Всякое поступление газа вне Газпрома в Европу должно сопровождаться сокращением поставок газа из России. Объем сокращения поставок должен составлять именно ту величину, которую Европа намерена получить из "независимых" источников к обозначенным самой Европой срокам. Хотят 40 млрд кубов газа из Ашхабада в 2026 г. - получите сокращение поставок из России на тот же объем уже в 2020-м. Надоело слушать, как Россию удавят к "такому-то"сроку....
  2. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 19 ноября 2019 22:23
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Во-первых, пока 16 миллиардов кубов - это не сегодня.
    Во-вторых, Азербайджан строил трубу за свой счёт, взяв кредиты. То есть, в ближайшие годы Азербайджан будет отдавать газ бесплатно - за кредиты. Поэтому вторая нитка - нескоро.
    В третьих - подключение Туркмении - большой вопрос. Туркмены не желают ни оплачивать строительство за границей, ни даже оплачивать транзит за границей. Покупайте газ на границе - и делайте, что хотите!
    В общем, пока не снимут санкции с Ирана, и не вернут украденные у Ирана 40 лет назад деньги - больше 10-15 млрд кубов Европе не видать.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 20 ноября 2019 07:48
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Это называется самоуспокоение.
      1. A.Lex Офлайн
        A.Lex (Секретная информация) 20 ноября 2019 12:04
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Насколько критична поставка газа в ЕС для экономики РФ?
      2. Анатолий Неизвестный (Анатолий Неизвестный) 20 ноября 2019 21:55
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        Нет, это называется удар под дых за ваш непрофессионализм.
      3. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
        Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 26 ноября 2019 21:05
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        В ближайшие 20 лет ни Катар, ни Иран, ни Туркмения конкуренцию России не составят. Алжир и Ливия - тянуть близко, по одной нитке уже есть. Как замирятся - так могут резко увеличить поставки. Раз в 5. Но и тогда - европейцы не желают вкладываться во внутриевропейскую логистику. Каждая страна - за себя.
  3. EXPrompt Офлайн
    EXPrompt (EXPrompt) 20 ноября 2019 10:46
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Ставка поставок газа в Европу.
    2018 год. Газпром 194 млрд куб, 2,5 СПГ США.
    2019 год Газпром 200,8 США - 3,7.
    ВЫ чем Газпром испугать решили?
    ТАП-ТАнап с их 10-тью млрд куб? Могут нарастить до 60 - очень смешно, а у них Шах-Дениз 2 вытянет?
    С тамким же успехом можете пугать Газпром великой стройкой века Балтик Пайп, ровно такой же трубопровод на 10 млрд куб. норвежского газа.
    Все это несерьёзно, как и СПГ США, много разговоров, мало толку.
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 20 ноября 2019 12:07
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Насколько я слышал - у норвегов идёт истощение запасов и сокращение продаж в остальной ЕС (иначе чего бы они так возбудились о российской территории Арктике и о поползновениях к союзничкам из-за aмepoв делить русскую Арктику?)...
  4. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 20 ноября 2019 17:25
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Во-первых, мощность газопровода может быть серьезно увеличена: к 2023 году до 23 миллиардов кубометров, к 2026 году - до 31 миллиарда. Это уже будет сопоставимо с российским «Турецким потоком». Что еще более настораживает, в проекте предусмотрена возможность довести пропускную способность TANAP до 60 миллиардов кубометров газа, что превышает мощность даже «Северного потока-2»."

    "В-третьих, помимо Азербайджана, трубопроводом, идущим в Европу в обход России, теоретически смогут воспользоваться Туркмения, Ирак, Иран и Казахстан. Наиболее опасным конкурентом «Газпрому» выглядит Туркменистан. Ашхабад в состоянии экспортировать на европейский рынок до 40 миллиардов кубометров газа. Для этого крупные месторождения страны были соединены газопроводом «Восток-Запад» с каспийским побережьем."

    - Прекрасно, просто прекрасно... если подобное состоится... -Только бы всё это не сорвалось... - Но может ведь и сорваться... - просто эти государства могут пойти на попятную и отказаться от этих своих "затей"...
    - То, что Газпром залез в непроходимый газовый тупик... - это уже очевидно... Впереди сплошные убытки и полный крах...
    - Даже не удастся окупить затраты на создание всего этого гигантского много тысячекилометрового нагромождения целой нелепой сети газопроводов, что нагромоздил тупой Газпром... - За всё придётся отдуваться российским налогоплательщикам (как всегда)...
    - А тут небывалая удача... - у Газпрома есть "последователи" его нелепых деяний... - И хоть какую-то часть тяжести и пагубности (и довольно весомую) этих утопических устремлений эти "последователи" готовы переложить на себя... - И это хоть как-то может облегчить участь Газпрома...
    - Кому там... - Туркмении всё неймётся, всё хочет разбогатеть... -Хахах... - Мало ей Китая, который пользуется ею как хочет... - А Туркмения так и осталась только с тем, с чем начала все свои "коммерческие" газовые дела с Китаем... - А с поставками в Европу у Туркмении всё будет гораздо трагичнее... -И для Казахстана, если и он влезет в эту газопроводную авантюру... - тоже всё закончится убыточно...
    - Не выгорит ничего и у Азербайджана... - он уже сегодня наконец-то начал "понимать", что такое вся эта газопроводная афёра...
    - И всем уже давно пора понять, что...что...что...что...что все эти газотрубопроводы... это самая настоящая "газовая пирамида" (примерно то же самое, что и финансовая пирамида)... - выигрывают только получатели газа и делят все блага, соответственно своим "рангам"...
    - А все экспортёры газа остаются "внизу" пирамиды... -Вот могут добавиться ещё "низовые участники"... - Но они могут просто одуматься и Газпром останется в "гордом одиночестве"...
  5. oracul Офлайн
    oracul (леонид) 21 ноября 2019 08:31
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Нет ничего вечного в жизни, всё течёт - всё меняется. Тем более в рыночной экономике. Неравномерность развития капитализма отмечал ещё Ленин. И то, что мы будем поставлять газ в Китай, это хорошо для нас. Газпром уменьшит поставки в Европу? Ну и ладно. Себе больше останется. Ресурс-то не вечный.