How Poland takes Ukrainian gas


Poland intends to help Ukraine in ensuring energy independence from Russia. This is a joint search and development of gas fields in Nezalezhnaya, in which the Polish concern PGNiG will actively participate. Most of all, Warsaw is interested in the west of Ukraine, located in the same geological formation as the Polish gas field Przemysl.


Are there any chances to realize a commercially successful project, and who will benefit more from such cooperation?

With regard to Poland, everything is clear. This Eastern European state purposefully pursues a course towards reducing energy dependence on the Russian Federation. Polish annually economy needs about 15 billion cubic meters of gas. A third of the needs for "blue fuel" the country provides through domestic production. It receives Russian gas under an old contract with Gazprom, which expires in 2022. Polish authorities have repeatedly stated their readiness to terminate it.

In return, Warsaw is promoting the Baltic Pipeline project, a gas pipeline that will pump up to 10 billion cubic meters of gas from Norway. Recently, this pipeline has received approval for construction from moody Denmark. An LNG terminal has already been built, capable of receiving up to 5 billion cubic meters of gas annually. The plans for its expansion and, possibly, the construction of the second. The Poles have signed a number of long-term LNG supply contracts with companies from the USA and Great Britain and intend to bring its purchase volumes to 9,7 billion cubic meters in total in three years.

In other words, Warsaw takes its energy independence very seriously and tries to diversify the sources of producing “blue fuel” as much as possible. The Ukrainian direction is a logical continuation of this policy.

Another question is how much this cooperation will be beneficial. There is gas in Ukraine. Its production is at the level of about 20 billion cubic meters per year. The deficit is approximately 10 billion cubic meters, which have to be compensated for by Russian transit. If Kiev were able to increase domestic production, it would achieve complete independence from Moscow on the gas issue. However, this is not easy.

Three quarters of existing fields are depleted by more than 80%. Domestic gas production is gradually declining. Exploration requires serious investments, which Ukraine cannot afford. The “shale revolution”, which had high hopes, did not happen. Shell withdrew from the East, and Chevron from the West of Nezalezhnaya, not having to develop fields that seemed previously promising.

From the real one there is the Przemysl gas field located in the Ukrainian border area. It is old, it has been developed for more than half a century, but recent studies have shown that it has 20 billion more cubic meters of gas than previously thought. The Poles intend to conduct development in the territory of a neighboring country. Production volumes are planned at the level from 100 million cubic meters to 1,75 billion cubic meters per year. The numbers are not very impressive, but Warsaw will also take this gas.

Yes, an important clarification, Ukrainian gas will not be used for domestic needs of the country, but for export. The head of the Polish company, Peter Wozniak, explicitly states:

We are looking for all possible sources of gas around Poland.


To transport fuel to Poland, the Ukrainian gas transportation system may be involved, which runs the risk of becoming empty from January 1, 2020 under the worst-case scenario of a gas war. In return, Warsaw is ready to resell Kiev the LNG it purchases. Clear business, with an extra charge.
It turns out that Poland looks more benefited from such cooperation.
Photos used: https://biznesalert.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 14 December 2019 11: 03
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    How Poland takes Ukrainian gas

    It excites me personally as much as there are stars in the sky. laughing

Как Польша забирает себе украинский газ


Польша намерена помочь Украине в обеспечении энергонезависимости от России. Речь идет о совместных поиске и разработке месторождений газа в Незалежной, в которых будет активно участвовать польский концерн PGNiG. Больше всего Варшаву интересует запад Украины, находящийся в той же геологической формации, что и польское газовое месторождение «Пшемысль».


Есть ли шансы реализовать коммерчески успешный проект, и кто больше выиграет от такого сотрудничества?

В отношении Польши все понятно. Это восточноевропейское государство целенаправленно держит курс на снижение энергетической зависимости от Российской Федерации. Ежегодно польская экономика нуждается примерно в 15 миллиардах кубометров газа. Треть потребностей в «голубом топливе» страна обеспечивает за счет внутренней добычи. Российский газ она получает по старому договору с «Газпромом», который истекает в 2022 году. Польские власти неоднократно заявляли о готовности его расторгнуть.

Взамен Варшава продвигает проект «Балтийской трубы», газопровода, который будет прокачивать до 10 миллиардов кубометров газа из Норвегии. Недавно этот трубопровод получил согласование на строительство от капризной Дании. Уже выстроен СПГ-терминал, способный принимать до 5 миллиардов кубометров газа ежегодно. В планах его расширение и, возможно, строительство второго. Поляки заключили ряд долгосрочных контрактов на поставку СПГ с компаниями из США и Великобритании и намерены через три года довести объемы его закупки до 9,7 миллиарда кубометров в совокупности.

Иначе говоря, Варшава крайне серьезно относится к своей энергонезависимости и старается максимально диверсифицировать источники получения «голубого топлива». Украинское направление является логическим продолжением этой политики.

Другой вопрос, насколько данное сотрудничество будет выгодным Незалежной. На Украине газ есть. Его добыча находится на уровне порядка 20 миллиардов кубометров в год. Дефицит при этом составляет примерно 10 миллиардов кубометров, которые приходится компенсировать за счет российского транзита. Сумей Киев нарастить объемы внутренней добычи, он добился бы полной независимости от Москвы в вопросе газа. Однако с этим все непросто.

Три четверти уже имеющихся разрабатываемых месторождений истощены более, чем на 80%. Добыча газа внутри страны постепенно снижается. Геологоразведка требует серьезных инвестиций, которые Украина себе позволить не может. Не случилось и «сланцевой революции», на которую возлагали большие надежды. Компания Shell ушла с Востока, а Chevron – с запада Незалежной, не став разрабатывать месторождения, казавшиеся ранее перспективными.

Из реального имеется газовое месторождение «Пшемысль», находящееся в украинском приграничье. Оно старое, разрабатывается более полувека, но последние исследования показали, что газа в нем на 20 миллиардов кубометров больше, чем считали ранее. Поляки намерены вести разработку и на территории соседней страны. Объемы добычи планируются на уровне от 100 миллионов кубометров до 1,75 миллиарда кубов в год. Цифры не слишком впечатляющие, но Варшава заберет и этот газ.

Да, важное уточнение, украинский газ пойдет не на внутренние нужды страны, а на экспорт. Глава польской компании Петр Возняк прямо заявляет:

Мы ищем все возможные источники газа вокруг Польши.


Для транспортировки топлива в Польшу может быть задействована украинская ГТС, которая рискует опустеть с 1 января 2020 года при наихудшем сценарии развития «газовой войны». Взамен Варшава готова перепродавать Киеву закупаемый ею СПГ. Понятное дело, с наценкой.
Получается, более выигравшей от такого сотрудничества выглядит Польша.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Наблюдатель2014 14 декабря 2019 11:03
    0
    Как Польша забирает себе украинский газ

    Это волнует меня лично на столько, сколько звёзд на небе. laughing