“Russians are proud of their nationality”: a Scot after 10 years of life in Russia


When a native of Scotland, Vincent moved to Russia ten years ago, friends said that he would either return home in 10 days or become an alcoholic there. Neither one nor the other happened. "New Russian" told the portal about his life in our country Ru_Open.


He had ideas about Russia from the movie "Rocky 4", broadcasts on BBC and Al Jazeera. However, between work in the tropics and snow, the Scot chose Russia. And did not regret it. In our country, he married a woman he loved, children were born.

What can he say about Russia?


This is truly a huge country, the largest in the world. From Vladivostok to Moscow, the flight took him 10 hours. Moreover, he got out of the plane at exactly the same time as he got into it, due to the difference in time zones. Such a miracle. Moscow, a gigantic city, is justifying its status as a metropolis, growing and becoming prettier after the changes that had already begun in preparation for the World Cup. The World Cup allowed tens of thousands of foreigners to show our country, whose personal experience then sharply differed from the stereotypes imposed by Western propaganda.

Russia is very interesting and diverse, a trip along it introduced Vincent to many peoples and their cultures. And here you can always find adventures out of the blue, walking through the forest or just sitting in a taxi.

What did you like in Russia


Vincent likes the fact that the Russians are not shy about their national pride. According to him, in the UK such a patriot can be called a fascist. In Russians, the Scot notes the spirit of collectivism, which allows solving many problems. To make friends with the Russians was not easy for him, but over time, such a friendship becomes deep and selfless.

He likes respect for veterans of the Great Patriotic War, in his homeland the youth does not delve too much into the stories of their veterans, "rolls his eyes and laughs off." The action "Immortal Regiment" made a great impression on him, a native of Great Britain himself and his children took part in them.

Russian habits


The lack of habitual smiles in public transport at first was very surprising. But many Russians gave way to the subway to his pregnant wife and insisted that she sit down with her two children. I like the custom of making toasts at the table in the company. Surprising superstition is not to shake hands over the threshold.

As you know, in the UK they are very specific to the weather. If the sun comes out, then the British can go out in shorts even at sub-zero temperatures. At home, Vincent ran in a T-shirt in any weather, so he is surprised that the Russians are wrapping their children in scarves, overalls, gloves and hats.

What did not like in Russia


The Scot did not like Russian medicine, especially for children. Even after 10 years of living with us, the queues drive him crazy and the need for them to patiently stand idle.
Photos used: https://ru-open.livejournal.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Warrior Offline
    Warrior 12 December 2019 12: 49
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Russia has ALWAYS been a Great World Power, and the Russians have always LOVED their country and have always MUCHED each other, HELPED HELP to each other, and also overcome ALL DIFFICULTIES together.
    Glory to the Great Russia!
    Glory to the Great Russian people!
    1. Jack clubs Offline
      Jack clubs (Eugene) 30 December 2019 12: 32
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Herodotus also said that if the Russians (he called them Scythians) stopped wetting each other, and turned to other nations, they would easily conquer the whole world.
      But we all history most successfully destroyed each other in civil wars.
      And thereby saving the world from us. From Great Russia.
    2. The comment was deleted.
  2. bear040 Offline
    bear040 13 December 2019 01: 38
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    A strange guy ... Aren't the Scots proud of their nationality ?!
    1. g1washntwn Offline
      g1washntwn (George Washington) 13 December 2019 06: 45
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      We exchanged all pride and identity for British buns and other "Euro values." 300 years of assimilation have done their job, modern multiculturalism and other propaganda polish the remnants of national characteristics.
      1. bear040 Offline
        bear040 16 December 2019 19: 38
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Everything is relative ... There are still a lot of those who will correct you if you call him an Englishman and say that he is a Scot ... A lot of those who want independence.
        1. g1washntwn Offline
          g1washntwn (George Washington) 18 December 2019 14: 48
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          50/50. The Highlanders are now not the same, blown away.
  3. gore Offline
    gore (Alexander) 13 December 2019 08: 18
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Though it’s like in pants ...
  4. Screw Offline
    Screw (Gennady) 13 December 2019 14: 25
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Consequently, the channel for the production of Lermontov still works.
  5. Observer2014 Offline
    Observer2014 14 December 2019 11: 08
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Incidentally, with this Scotsman we look like siblings. laughing Literally.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  6. The comment was deleted.

«Русские гордятся своей национальностью»: шотландец спустя 10 лет жизни в РФ


Когда уроженец Шотландии Винсент переезжал в Россию десять лет назад, друзья сказали, что он или вернется домой через 10 дней, или станет там алкоголиком. Не случилось ни того, ни другого. О своей жизни в нашей стране «новый русский» рассказал порталу Ru_Open.

Представления о России у него были по фильму «Рокки 4», передачам на каналах BBC и Al Jazeera. Однако, между работой в тропиках и снегами шотландец выбрал Россию. И не пожалел. В нашей стране он женился на любимой женщине, родились дети.



Что же он может сказать о России?


Это поистине огромная страна, самая большая в мире. Из Владивостока до Москвы полет занял для него 10 часов. Причем вышел из самолета он ровно в то же время, что и сел в него, из-за разницы в часовых поясах. Такое вот чудо. Москва, гигантский город, оправдывает свой статус метрополии, растет и хорошеет после изменений, начатых еще при подготовке к Чемпионату мира по футболу. Кубок мира позволил показать нашу страну десяткам тысяч иностранцев, личный опыт которых резко отличался потом от стереотипов, навязанных западной пропагандой.

Россия очень интересная и разнообразная, путешествие по ней познакомило Винсента с многими народами и их культурами. И здесь всегда можно найти приключения на ровном месте, гуляя по лесу или просто сев в такси.

Что понравилось в России


Винсенту нравится то, что русские не стесняются своей национальной гордости. По его словам, в Великобритании такого патриота могут назвать фашистом. В россиянах шотландец отмечает дух коллективизма, который позволяет решать многие проблемы. Подружиться с русскими ему было непросто, но со временем такая дружба становится глубокой и бескорыстной.

Ему нравится уважение к ветеранам Великой Отечественной войны, на его родине молодежь не слишком вникает в рассказы своих ветеранов, «закатывает глаза и отшучивается». Акция «Бессмертный полк» вызвала у него большое впечатление, уроженец Великобритании сам со своими детьми принимал в них участие.

Русские привычки


Отсутствие привычных улыбок в общественном транспорте поначалу сильно удивляло. Зато многие россияне уступали место в метро его беременной жене и сами настаивали, чтобы она села со своими двумя детьми. Нравится обычай произносить тосты за столом в компании. Удивляет суеверие не здороваться за руку через порог.

Как известно, в Великобритании весьма специфически относятся к погоде. Если выглянуло солнце, то англичане могут выйти на улицу в шортах даже при минусовой температуре. У себя на родине Винсент бегал в футболке в любую погоду, поэтому его удивляет, что русские заматывают своих детей в шарфы, комбинезоны, перчатки и шапки.

Что не понравилось в России


Не пришлась по душе шотландцу российская медицина, особенно детская. Даже спустя 10 лет жизни у нас, его сводят с ума очереди и необходимость в них терпеливо простаивать.
Использованы фотографии: https://ru-open.livejournal.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Воин Офлайн
    Воин 12 декабря 2019 12:49
    +4
    • 5
    • 1
    Россия ВСЕГДА была Великой мировой державой, а русские - всегда ЛЮБИЛИ свою страну и всегда друг друга ВЗАИМОВЫРУЧАЛИ, друг другу бескорыстно ПОМОГАЛИ, а также ВСЕ ТРУДНОСТИ вместе преодолевали.
    Слава Великой России!
    Слава Великому Русскому народу!
    1. Jack clubs Офлайн
      Jack clubs (Евгений) 30 декабря 2019 12:32
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Ещё Геродот говорил, что если бы русские (он их называл скифами) перестали мочить друг друга, а обратились бы на другие народы, они легко завоевали весь мир.
      Но мы всю историю успешнее всего уничтожали друг дружку в гражданских войнах.
      И тем самым спасаем мир от нас. От Великой России.
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  2. медведь040 Офлайн
    медведь040 13 декабря 2019 01:38
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Странный парень... А разве шотландцы не гордятся своей национальностью?!
    1. g1washntwn Офлайн
      g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 13 декабря 2019 06:45
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Обменяли всю гордость и нацидентичность на британские плюшки и прочие "евроценности". 300 лет ассимиляции свое дело сделали, современный мультикультурализм и прочая пропаганда шлифуют остатки национальных особенностей.
      1. медведь040 Офлайн
        медведь040 16 декабря 2019 19:38
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Все относительно...Там по-прежнему немало тех, кто поправит вас, если вы назовете его англичанином и скажет, что он шотландец... Немало тех, кто хочет независимости.
        1. g1washntwn Офлайн
          g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 18 декабря 2019 14:48
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          50/50. Горцы нынче не те, сдулись.
  3. gore Офлайн
    gore (Александр) 13 декабря 2019 08:18
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Хоть здесь в штанах походит...
  4. Винтик Офлайн
    Винтик (Геннадий) 13 декабря 2019 14:25
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Стало быть, канал по производству лермонтовых ещё работает.
  5. Наблюдатель2014 (Сергей) 14 декабря 2019 11:08
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Мы, кстати говоря, с этим шотландцем, как родные братья выглядим. laughing Буквально.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  6. Комментарий был удален.