What will the termination of the WTO work for Russia


President Donald Trump dealt another blow to the globalist world order system. Due to Washington’s actions, the World Trade Organization (WTO) Court of Appeal has virtually paralyzed. What are the USA striving for, and what does this mean for Russia?


The most interesting thing is that the United States itself stood at the origins of the creation of this international organization, largely positioning it as a counterweight to the UN, where our country has strong positions. Recall that Russia has a veto in the UN Security Council, and Russian is one of the five official languages ​​of this structure. Washington lobbied for the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, which later became the WTO.

The United States received another instrument of economic pressure on competitors. WTO rules are maximally oriented to Western countries and transnational corporations that could widely use protectionist measures. Countries entering the organization are forced to open their economics for transnational corporations, which naturally leads to the ruin of national producers. In addition, openly discriminatory approaches are applied to newcomers. Recall that in 2009, President Putin said that Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan would enter the WTO as a single economic space, but we were denied this. As a result, I had to enter separately, on even more unfavorable conditions.

So why is the United States breaking its own instrument of influence?

There are two reasons. Firstly, Donald Trump is an ardent opponent of the globalist project, and the WTO is one of its brightest manifestations. Secondly, economic and политическая China's power has reached such a level that Beijing has begun to represent real opposition to Washington, even within the framework of this pro-Western trade organization. Therefore, President Trump began to destroy the WTO from within.

The court of appeal of this structure is considered the highest in international trade. Its judges should be appointed for a fixed term by consensus, but the US is blocking this process. Because of this, there is only one appeal judge left today for the entire WTO who is not able to fulfill the tasks assigned to him alone. In fact, the United States halted the operation of an international merchant court. Moreover, President Trump is threatening to block the adoption of the WTO budget for next year.

If you call a spade a spade, the United States shows who is the boss in the house. Among Trump's requirements are a reduction in the financing of the organization, a decrease in the salaries of judges, and the acceleration of litigation. Obviously, President Trump will eventually get his way. It remains to be asked whether our country needs to participate in a structure where our geopolitical adversary openly dominates?

The question is not entirely clear. On the one hand, joining the WTO seems to have opened up access to foreign markets for Russia, which made it possible to apply to the international commercial court. Proponents of this step argued that this would contribute to the "modernization" of the domestic economy. On the other hand, raw materials, as was the basis of our exports, remained so. Oil, gas, timber can be sold outside the WTO. But participation in this organization required the opening of the domestic TNC market, which clearly did not help create competitive production, rather, on the contrary. As for the Court of Appeal, the current situation shows what it costs.

Recall that many economists and experts spoke out against joining the WTO. However, the country was pushed sharply into this international structure after 18 years of negotiations. A referendum on this issue was denied, and the courts sided with the CEC.

Is it time to reconsider the appropriateness of Russia's participation in the WTO?
Used photos: www.morace.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

11 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 16 December 2019 13: 49
    +1
    • 5
    • 4
    - The WTO for Russia ...- it’s the same as the same WADA in world sports ... -So what is there ... here ... here ... here ... is there anything else to discuss ???
    1. The comment was deleted.
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 16 December 2019 14: 18
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Multiplicity is the sister of talent.

    Not in the eyebrow, but in the eye!

    Well done, IRINA!
  3. Mihail55 Offline
    Mihail55 (Michael) 16 December 2019 15: 16
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    One of the nails in the coffin of our economy was the very fact of joining the WTO! Does anyone really have doubts? I doubt that our scientific forces (destroyed in recent years) could not at least get closer to modern world analogues of technology. Missiles and other military-industrial complex special talk, but we are talking about the rest of the population !!! Or the lack of work for OUR our overbearing up to the bulb ??? Everything is easy to buy ... why break your head. Not even enough strength to master 1 trillion rubles !!!
  4. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 16 December 2019 16: 08
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    Is it time to reconsider the appropriateness of Russia's participation in the WTO?

    What for? If the organization does not suit the United States, then this is just an occasion to think, apparently, there is something useful in this. After all, this has ceased to suit them, let them go, why us?

    So why is the United States breaking its own instrument of influence?

    It's simple, gentlemen no longer like the rules, they no longer give them advantages. And the statement that

    If you call a spade a spade, the United States shows who is the boss in the house.

    extremely doubtful.
    The very idea of ​​the WTO is sound, it is another matter how and under what conditions they entered there, but since they have entered, it is not worth rushing to exit. The WTO now does not interfere, everyone is quietly introducing "sanctions" and "counter sanctions." We’ll wait, maybe the “hegemon” will slam the door and start life anew, we will agree on new rules, especially since the negotiating position is now much stronger.

    On the other hand, raw materials, as was the basis of our exports, remained so. Oil, gas, timber can be sold outside the WTO.

    And how does this affect the export structure? Someone, besides the author, believes that they expected changes in the structure of exports from joining the WTO? Show me at least one wonderful country that traded in raw materials, and after joining the WTO, switched exclusively to the export of high-tech products? And why immediately oil, gas, forest? Is timber also the basis of our exports? Then turn on hemp, tar and furs. Everything, as in the case of the tsar's father. As if weapons or nuclear fuel cannot be traded without the WTO. Wood and wood products make up 2% of our exports.

    https://ru-stat.com/analytics/6356

    and is mentioned solely from a desire to "put pressure on a sore spot."
    1. Nikolay Malyugin (Nikolai Malyugin) 20 December 2019 09: 23
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      (123). If the US WTO is not profitable, then we can benefit from it. Which one? Perhaps the WTO has created some kind of rules. But it is precisely the USA that ignores them.
      1. 123 Offline
        123 (123) 20 December 2019 09: 32
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        If the US WTO is not profitable, then we can benefit from it. Which one? Perhaps the WTO has created some sort of rules. But it is precisely the USA that ignores them.

        Nikolay, the organization is still global, and we have almost no trade with the USA, and the existing minimum to the WTO is mediocre. If necessary, they cancel their prohibitions and suspend them. Do not flog a fever, you need to consider everything, where it is profitable, where not. If the United States does not suit the rules, this does not mean that we should also refuse them.
        Who are their biggest trading partners there? EU? China? Here they have a headache.
  5. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) 16 December 2019 17: 52
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Is it time to reconsider the appropriateness of Russia's participation in the WTO?

    The question is purely rhetorical. It was not necessary to go there either.
  6. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 17 December 2019 14: 09
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    As Putin and K will say, so be it.
  7. Marzhecki Online
    Marzhecki (Sergei) 17 December 2019 14: 36
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Quote: 123
    Someone, besides the author, believes that they expected changes in the structure of exports from joining the WTO?

    At the same time, the prospect of competition with global brands should stimulate our enterprises to modernize, optimize the management system, introduce energy-saving technologies, respect for resources, and create efficient production facilities.

    https://rg.ru/2011/12/20/doroga.html

    The Russian newspaper is the official media.
    1. 123 Offline
      123 (123) 20 December 2019 10: 43
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      At the same time, the prospect of competition with global brands should stimulate our enterprises to modernize, optimize the management system, introduce energy-saving technologies, respect for resources, and create efficient production facilities.

      I re-read it twice, excuse me, where is it about the export structure? In addition, you should not pass this off as the position of the Rossiyskaya Gazeta, the pros and cons were considered, the quote can be expanded slightly:

      The influx of cheap imports could lead to the closure of a number of weak industries or to their absorption by foreign companies. At the same time, the prospect of competition with global brands should stimulate our enterprises to modernize, optimize the management system, introduce energy-saving technologies, respect for resources, and create efficient production facilities.

      They added only one sentence (highlighted in bold) and it becomes clear that we are not talking about the prospects of export, but about the problems of the survival of their own producers when lifting restrictions and increasing imports. An article from 2011, it was unlikely that at that time they seriously thought about the cessation of raw material exports. In addition, the structure of exports is slowly but changing. Non-commodity exports are growing faster than raw materials. In other words, for a sharp change in the structure of exports in favor of non-raw materials, it is necessary either to stop or slow down the export of raw materials, or to increase very sharply the export of non-raw materials sector. In general, it seems to me that many have snickered a little. More money comes from export, but it doesn’t suit you anymore. They begin to sort out “grub”, don’t like this money anymore, file other “right” ones from non-raw material exports right away. Soon we will get to the requirements of “ecological” export, probably our own Gretta will appear.

  8. Mihail55 Offline
    Mihail55 (Michael) 18 December 2019 12: 15
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Quote: Marzhetsky
    At the same time, the prospect of competition with global brands should stimulate our enterprises to modernize, optimize the management system, and introduce energy-saving technologies.

    Only the state can do all this! But it has withdrawn from economic development. 1 trillion unused money ... this is already OUT !!!

Чем обернется для России прекращение работы ВТО


Президент Дональд Трамп нанес очередной удар по глобалистской системе мироустройства. Из-за действий Вашингтона фактически парализована деятельность Апелляционного суда Всемирной торговой организации (ВТО). Чего добиваются США, и что это означает для России?


Самое интересное, что Соединенные Штаты сами стояли у истоков создания этой международной организации, во многом позиционируя ее как противовес ООН, где сильны позиции нашей страны. Напомним, Россия имеет право вето в Совбезе ООН, и русский один из пяти официальных языков этой структуры. Вашингтон пролоббировал Генеральное соглашение о тарифах и торговле, которое в дальнейшем преобразовалось в ВТО.

США получили очередной инструмент экономического давления на конкурентов. Правила ВТО максимально ориентированы на западные страны и ТНК, которые могли широко использовать протекционистские меры. Вступающие в организацию страны вынуждены открывать свои экономики для транснациональных корпораций, что закономерно приводит к разорению национальных производителей. Кроме того, в отношении «новичков» применяются откровенно дискриминационные подходы. Напомним, в 2009 году президент Путин заявил, что Россия, Белоруссия и Казахстан войдут в ВТО единым экономическим пространством, но нам в этом было отказано. В итоге пришлось вступать сепаратно, на еще более невыгодных условиях.

Так почему же США сами ломают собственный инструмент влияния?

Причины две. Во-первых, Дональд Трамп является ярым противником глобалистского проекта, а ВТО – одно из его ярчайших проявлений. Во-вторых, экономическая и политическая мощь Китая достигла такого уровня, что Пекин начал представлять реальную оппозицию Вашингтону даже в рамках этой прозападной торговой организации. Поэтому президент Трамп начал разрушать ВТО изнутри.

Апелляционный суд данной структуры считается высшим в международной торговле. Его судьи должны назначаться на определенный срок на основе консенсуса, но США блокируют этот процесс. Из-за этого на сегодняшний день на всю ВТО остался только один апелляционный судья, который не в состоянии в одиночку выполнять поставленные перед ним задачи. Фактически, Соединенные Штаты остановили деятельность международного торгового суда. Более того, президент Трамп грозит заблокировать и принятие бюджета ВТО на следующий год.

Если называть вещи своими именами, США показывают, кто в доме хозяин. Среди требований Трампа - сокращение финансирования организации, уменьшение заработных плат судей и ускорение судебных процессов. Очевидно, что своего президент Трамп в итоге добьется. Остается задаться вопросом, а нужно ли нашей стране участвовать в такой структуре, где откровенно доминирует наш геополитический противник?

Вопрос не вполне однозначный. С одной стороны, вступление в ВТО вроде как открыло России доступ на зарубежные рынки, дало возможность обращаться в международный торговый суд. Сторонники данного шага утверждали, что это поспособствует «модернизации» отечественной экономики. С другой стороны, сырье как было основой нашего экспорта, так им и осталось. Нефть, газ, лес можно продавать и вне ВТО. Зато участие в этой организации потребовало открытия внутреннего рынка ТНК, что явно не помогло созданию конкурентного производства, скорее, наоборот. Что до Апелляционного суда, то нынешняя ситуация показывает, чего он стоит.

Напомним, против присоединения к ВТО высказывались многие экономисты и эксперты. Однако страну резко впихнули в эту международную структуру после 18 лет переговоров. В референдуме по этому вопросу было отказано, а суды встали на сторону ЦИК.

Не пора ли пересмотреть целесообразность участия России в ВТО?
Использованы фотографии: www.morace.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Онлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 16 декабря 2019 13:49
    +1
    • 5
    • 4
    - ВТО для России...-это всё равно, что та же ВАДА в мировом спорте... -Так что же тут...тут...тут...тут ещё обсуждать???
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 16 декабря 2019 14:18
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Кратность- сестра таланта.

    Не в бровь, а в глаз!

    Молодец, ИРИНА!
  3. Михаил55 Офлайн
    Михаил55 (Михаил) 16 декабря 2019 15:16
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Одним из гвоздей в гроб нашей экономики был сам факт вступления в ВТО! Неужели у кого либо есть сомнения? Сомневаюсь, что наши научные силы (разрушенные за последние годы) не смогли бы хотя бы приблизиться к современным мировым аналогам техники. Ракеты и пр. ВПК особый разговор, но речь же о всем остальном населении!!! Или отсутствие работы для СВОИХ нашим властным до лампочки??? Все легко покупается...зачем же голову ломать. Не хватило даже силенок освоить 1 трлн руб!!!
  4. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 16 декабря 2019 16:08
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    Не пора ли пересмотреть целесообразность участия России в ВТО?

    А зачем? Если организация не устраивает США, то это как раз повод задуматься, видимо, в этом есть что-то полезное. Ведь это их перестало устраивать, пусть они уходят, почему мы?

    Так почему же США сами ломают собственный инструмент влияния?

    Все просто, джентльменам больше не нравятся правила, они больше не дают им преимуществ. И утверждение, что

    Если называть вещи своими именами, США показывают, кто в доме хозяин.

    крайне сомнительно.
    Сама идея ВТО здравая, другое дело, как и на каких условиях туда вступали, но раз уж вступили, торопиться на выход не стоит. ВТО теперь и не мешает, все спокойно вводят "санкции" и "контр санкции". Подождем, может "гегемон" хлопнет дверью и начнем жизнь сначала, согласуем новые правила, тем более, что переговорная позиция теперь гораздо сильнее.

    С другой стороны, сырье как было основой нашего экспорта, так им и осталось. Нефть, газ, лес можно продавать и вне ВТО.

    А как это влияет на структуру экспорта? Кто-то, кроме автора, считает, что от вступления в ВТО ожидали изменения структуры экспорта? Покажите мне хоть одну чудесную страну, торговавшую сырьем, и после вступления в ВТО перешедшую исключительно на экспорт высокотехнологичной продукции? И почему сразу нефть, газ, лес? Лес - тоже основа нашего экспорта? Тогда уж пеньку, деготь и пушнину включайте. Все, как при царе батюшке. Как-будто оружием или ядерным топливом без ВТО торговать нельзя. Древесина и изделия из нее составляют 2% нашего экспорта.

    https://ru-stat.com/analytics/6356

    и упомянута исключительно из желания "надавить на больную мозоль".
    1. Николай Малюгин (Николай Малюгин) 20 декабря 2019 09:23
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      (123). Если США ВТО невыгодна, значит, мы можем извлечь свою пользу. Какую? Возможно, ВТО и создала какие-то правила. Но ведь именно США их игнорируют.
      1. 123 Онлайн
        123 (123) 20 декабря 2019 09:32
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Если США ВТО невыгодна, значит, мы можем извлечь свою пользу. Какую? Возможно, ВТО и создала какие то правила. Но ведь именно США их игнорируют.

        Николай, организация все-таки всемирная, а с США у нас торговли почти нет, а имеющийся минимум к ВТО имеет посредственное отношение. Если надо, они и свои запреты отменяют, и приостанавливают. Не стоит пороть горячку, надо все считать, где выгодно, где нет. Если правила не устраивают США, это не означает, что мы тоже должны от них отказываться.
        Кто там у них крупнейшие торговые партнеры? ЕС? Китай? Вот у них пусть голова и болит.
  5. boriz Онлайн
    boriz (boriz) 16 декабря 2019 17:52
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Не пора ли пересмотреть целесообразность участия России в ВТО?

    Вопрос чисто риторический. Туда и заходить-то не надо было.
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 17 декабря 2019 14:09
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Как скажет Путин и К, так и будет.
  7. Маржецкий Офлайн
    Маржецкий (Сергей) 17 декабря 2019 14:36
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Цитата: 123
    Кто-то, кроме автора, считает, что от вступления в ВТО ожидали изменения структуры экспорта?

    В то же время перспектива конкуренции с мировыми брендами должна стимулировать наши предприятия к модернизации, оптимизации системы управления, внедрению энергосберегающих технологий, бережному отношению к ресурсам, созданию эффективных производств.

    https://rg.ru/2011/12/20/doroga.html

    Российская газета - официальное СМИ.
    1. 123 Онлайн
      123 (123) 20 декабря 2019 10:43
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      В то же время перспектива конкуренции с мировыми брендами должна стимулировать наши предприятия к модернизации, оптимизации системы управления, внедрению энергосберегающих технологий, бережному отношению к ресурсам, созданию эффективных производств.

      Перечитал два раза, простите где тут про структуру экспорта? К тому же не стоит выдавать это за позицию "Российской газеты" , рассматривались доводы "За и против", цитату можно немного расширить:

      Приток дешевого импорта может привести к закрытию ряда слабых производств или к их поглощению зарубежными компаниями. В то же время перспектива конкуренции с мировыми брендами должна стимулировать наши предприятия к модернизации, оптимизации системы управления, внедрению энергосберегающих технологий, бережному отношению к ресурсам, созданию эффективных производств.

      Добавили всего одно предложение (выделил жирным текстом) и становится понятно, что речь идет не об перспективах экспорта, а о проблемах выживания собственных производителей при снятии ограничений и увеличением импорта. Статья от 2011 года, вряд ли тогда всерьез размышляли о прекращении сырьевого экспорта. К тому же структура экспорта медленно но меняется.Не сырьевой экспорт растет быстрее сырьевого. Другими словами для резкого изменения структуры экспорта в пользу не сырьевого надо, либо остановить или замедлить экспорт сырья, либо очень резко увеличить экспорт не сырьевого сектора. И вообще мне кажется многие немного зажрались. Денег от экспорта поступает больше, но это уже не устраивает, Начинают "харчями перебирать", эти деньги уже не нравятся, подавай другие "правильные" от не сырьевого экспорта и сразу. Скоро докатимся до требований "экологического" экспорта, наверное своя Гретта появится.

  8. Михаил55 Офлайн
    Михаил55 (Михаил) 18 декабря 2019 12:15
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Цитата: Маржецкий
    В то же время перспектива конкуренции с мировыми брендами должна стимулировать наши предприятия к модернизации, оптимизации системы управления, внедрению энергосберегающих технологий

    Все это под силу только государству! Но оно самоустранилось от экономического развития. 1 трлн. неиспользованных денег...это уже АУТ!!!