Dead City hails from the USSR: how dangerous today is in Chernobyl


It is difficult to meet someone who has never heard the word “Chernobyl”. For most, this is a symbol of the tragedy from the half-forgotten Soviet past. For those who were involved in the aftermath of the Chernobyl accident or whose family lived in areas contaminated with radiation, this word symbolizes personal tragedy. And modern adolescents and young people have heard this word, since there are some “Chernobyl victims” who have some kind of benefits. Fans of the “cool” computer game Stalker, whose action takes place in the Exclusion Zone, are also aware of Chernobyl.


But there are those who consider the Exclusion Zone an interesting tourist attraction that is difficult to compare with anything else, it is so unique.

Chernobyl tragedy


Of course, everyone knows about the accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant on April 26, 1986. But let me remind you in a nutshell what happened then without going into technical details.

An explosion occurred at the fourth power unit, after which a fire started with the release of a large amount of radiation. Since there were only a few days left before the May Day parade, we decided not to pay special attention to such an “insignificant” event so as not to overshadow the holiday. The first accident report was made by specialists from the Swedish nuclear plant Forsmark, where they recorded a sharp increase in radiation background. The Chernobyl Cloud got there too.

Meanwhile, in Kiev, they were preparing for the May Day demonstration. Moms bought flags and balloons for their children, stroking them with white shirts and blouses. May 1, 1986 on Khreshchatyk - the main street of the three millionth city - the radiation background ranged from 500 to 1200 microroentgen per hour. And this despite the fact that it should not exceed 30 microroentgen. It is terrible to even think what would happen if the wind would blow towards the capital of Soviet Ukraine. But from the city center to the border of the Exclusion Zone, you can slowly drive for an hour and a half.

But the people of Kiev were lucky, because the deadly cloud did not suffer on their huge and crowded city, but on Belarusian Polesie. Therefore, although the Chernobyl disaster occurred in Ukraine, causing great problems for this republic, Belarus itself was the most affected. Got and Russia. The consequences of the accident were felt even in Europe.

When the country's leadership realized the depth of the problem, firefighters, scientists, workers, soldiers from all over the country were sent to liquidate the consequences of the accident. Many of them soon died of radiation immediately or some time after the trip to Chernobyl. But those who survived received a fair amount of radiation, which caused serious damage to their health.

Is it dangerous today in the Chernobyl zone


At first glance, the idea of ​​choosing Chernobyl as a tourist attraction should seem crazy. Indeed, there, in theory, there is such radiation that it is possible to burn alive in its rays. And if you survive, you will fall prey to the ferocious and terrible mutants that roam everywhere and attack anyone who dares to be here.

Of course, one might think so, knowing how many troubles the Chernobyl disaster caused and how far from the nuclear power plant its consequences were felt. But in reality, everything is not so gloomy.

Today, the background radiation in most of the Zone is slightly higher than in most of our cities. For example, on the streets of the abandoned city of Pripyat, where station workers used to live, it is 60-120 micro-roentgen per hour. Although this is above the norm, radiation is not so dangerous here. For example, in passenger liners at an altitude of 11 thousand meters, the radiation level is 250-270 microroentgen per hour. Thus, a visit to Pripyat in terms of radiation hazard is comparable to air travel.

The streets of Pripyat were washed a lot and thoroughly, but this is not the main thing. It is important that the area around the nuclear power plant was contaminated mainly with radioactive strontium and cesium. The half-life of these elements is 28-30 years, and more have passed since the accident.

But this does not mean that the Zone is completely safe. There are small areas where the radiation level is thousands of micro-roentgen per hour. The most dangerous place in Pripyat is the basement of the local hospital, or rather, the room where the clothes of firefighters who put out the fire at the fourth power unit of the station are located.

And so, wild animals calmly roam the Zone, entering the city. This, by the way, is also a dangerous factor for visitors. After all, they may well be attacked by a wolf, feral dogs or even an elk during its mating season.

As for the fourth power unit, it will be dangerous for a long time. If the fuel-containing mass remains inside, it will be radioactive for a very long time, hundreds of thousands of years. Now the power unit is a kind of "nesting doll". Its destroyed remains are covered with a sarcophagus, over which a so-called arch, or confinement, was installed. This is the largest mobile structure on Earth. Its height is approximately 110 meters, and its mass is 36 thousand tons. Although it was created to protect the environment during the dismantling of the power unit, modern Technology do not yet allow you to perform these works.

The talented Ukrainian video blogger Anton Ptushkin tells about the Chernobyl accident and the current situation in the Chernobyl zone.



USSR ghost town


You might think that in the Chernobyl exclusion zone tourists are attracted by a desire to tickle their nerves, to feel the breath of danger. But all this is not here, but it feels completely different. After the evacuation of residents in Pripyat, time stopped. And not only literally, although all the clocks are in the city.

It’s just that the 80s of the last century are still preserved here. Soviet posters hang on the streets, glorifying the party and calling for the building of communism. Architecture, interiors in homes and much more - almost nothing has changed since 1986. This is what attracts people.

As they once said:

Nice on the street, clean in the apartment - thanks to reactor number four.


True, the marauders immediately after the evacuation of residents tried to pick up everything more or less valuable, even the heating batteries were cut off. Therefore, only large furniture remained in the apartments.

At the same time, everything here resembles the Amazonian jungle. The streets of the city became like forest trails. It becomes especially creepy when the guide shows old photos of the places where you are now. You feel a special feeling while watching rusty frozen cars in an amusement park and imagining how the children laughed while riding on them.

Of course, if you do not roam the Chernobyl zone alone, then there is nothing dangerous here. True, fear can be felt here. More precisely, not fear, but the realization that the creation of human hands can make the Earth lifeless. So far, this can only be observed in the small town of Pripyat near Kiev, and even in Japanese Fukushima. But if you do not observe caution in handling nuclear energy or nuclear weapons, then our entire planet will become deserted.
Photos used: Arne Müseler / arne-mueseler.com / CC-BY-SA-3.0
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sapsan136 Offline
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 26 December 2019 10: 59
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    It’s better not to go to such places ... You can accidentally go to an area with an abnormally high radiation, it can be only a few meters, but enough to ruin your health irreparably ... Enough to forget about Bandera, bandits and wild (feral) animals should ... The police do not patrol the streets of Pripyat, and if you are there ... then it will be unrealistic to find help (raped, robbed, killed)
  2. The comment was deleted.
  3. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 29 December 2019 23: 16
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    I watched recently an American film - "Chernobyl". The film is GOOD. I recommend, though hard, I definitely won’t watch the second time. I learned this. In the film, the meaning is made on the defective reactor, but in fact - the rams seized power! How could you disable everything, everything, all protection !!!! And specifically bring the reactor to an explosion CONSCIOUSLY! Once my boss told me: "You must not think, you must follow my instructions!" I sent him and almost filled his face for his wrecking. Under Stalin, he would have been shot as a pest, and under Putin, I work in a different profession.

«Мертвый город» родом из СССР: насколько опасно сегодня в Чернобыле


Трудно встретить того, кто никогда не слышал слово «Чернобыль». Для большинства это символ трагедии из полузабытого советского прошлого. Для тех, кто имел отношение к ликвидации последствий аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС или чья семья проживала в зараженных радиацией районах, это слово символизирует личную трагедию. А современные подростки и молодежь слышали это слово, так как существуют какие-то «чернобыльцы», которым положены какие-то льготы. Еще знают о Чернобыле фанаты «прикольной» компьютерной игры Stalker, действие которой происходит в Зоне отчуждения.


Но есть и такие, кто считает Зону отчуждения интересным туристическим объектом, который трудно сравнить с чем-то еще, настолько он уникален.

Чернобыльская трагедия


Конечно, все примерно знают об аварии на Чернобыльской атомной станции 26 апреля 1986 года. Но напомню в двух словах, что тогда происходило, не погружаясь в технические детали.

На четвертом энергоблоке произошел взрыв, после него начался пожар с выбросом большого количества радиации. Так как оставались считанные дни до Первомайского парада, на столь «незначительное» событие решили не обращать особого внимания, чтобы не омрачать праздник. Первое сообщение об аварии было сделано специалистами шведской атомной станции Forsmark, где зафиксировали резкое увеличение радиационного фона. «Чернобыльское облачко» добралось и туда.

А в это время в Киеве готовились к Первомайской демонстрации. Мамы покупали флажки и шарики для своих детишек, гладили им белые рубашки и блузки. 1 мая 1986 года на Крещатике – главной улице трехмиллионного города – радиационный фон составлял от 500 до 1200 микрорентген в час. И это при том, что он не должен превышать 30 микрорентген. Страшно даже подумать, что произошло бы, если бы ветер дул бы в сторону столицы Советской Украины. А ведь от центра города до границы Зоны отчуждения можно не спеша доехать за полтора часа.

Но киевлянам повезло, так как смертоносное облако понесло не на их огромный и многолюдный город, а на белорусское Полесье. Поэтому, хотя Чернобыльская катастрофа и произошла на Украине, причинив этой республике большие проблемы, самой пострадавшей оказалась Белоруссия. Досталось и России. Последствия аварии ощущались даже в странах Европы.

Когда руководство страны осознало всю глубину проблемы, на ликвидацию последствий аварии отправили пожарных, ученых, рабочих, солдат со всей страны. Многие из них вскоре умерли от радиации сразу или через некоторое время после командировки в Чернобыль. Но и те, кто выжил, получили изрядную долю радиации, что причинило серьезный ущерб их здоровью.

Опасно ли сегодня в Чернобыльской зоне


На первый взгляд, идея выбрать Чернобыль в качестве туристического объекта должна показаться бредовой. Ведь там, по идее, такая радиация, что можно сгореть заживо в ее лучах. А если и выживешь, то станешь жертвой свирепых и ужасных мутантов, которые бродят повсюду и нападают на всякого, кто рискнет здесь оказаться.

Конечно, так можно подумать, зная, сколько бед принесла Чернобыльская катастрофа и как далеко от атомной станции ощущались ее последствия. Но в действительности все не так мрачно.

Сегодня радиационный фон на большей части территории Зоны ненамного выше, чем в большинстве наших городов. Например, на улицах заброшенного города Припять, где раньше жили работники станции, он составляет 60-120 микрорентген в час. Хотя это и выше нормы, радиация здесь не так уж и опасна. Например, в пассажирских лайнерах на высоте 11 тысяч метров, уровень радиации составляет 250-270 микрорентген в час. Таким образом, посещение Припяти с точки зрения радиационной опасности сравнимо с авиаперелетом.

Улицы Припяти мыли много и тщательно, но это не главное. Важно, что местность вокруг атомной станции была загрязнена в основном радиоактивным стронцием и цезием. Период полураспада этих элементов составляет 28-30 лет, а с момента аварии прошло уже больше.

Но это не означает, что Зона полностью безопасна. Есть небольшие участки, где уровень радиации составляет тысячи микрорентген в час. Самым опасным местом в Припяти считается подвал местной больницы, а точнее, помещение, где находится одежда пожарных, тушивших пожар на четвертом энергоблоке станции.

А так, по Зоне спокойно бродят дикие животные, заходя и в город. Это, кстати, тоже является опасным фактором для посетителей. Ведь они вполне могут подвергнуться нападению волка, одичавших собак или даже лося в его брачный период.

А что касается самого четвертого энергоблока, то он будет опасен еще долго. Если топливосодержащая масса останется внутри, она будет радиоактивной еще очень долго, сотни тысяч лет. Сейчас энергоблок является своеобразной «матрешкой». Его разрушенные остатки накрыты саркофагом, над которой установили так называемую арку, или конфайнмент. Это самое крупное подвижное сооружение на Земле. Его высота составляет примерно 110 метров, а масса – 36 тысяч тонн. Хотя его создали для защиты окружающей среды при проведении демонтажа на энергоблоке, современные технологии пока не позволяют выполнить эти работы.

Об аварии на ЧАЭС и сегодняшней ситуации в Чернобыльской зоне в своем материале рассказывает талантливый украинский видеоблогер Антон Птушкин.



Город-призрак СССР


Можно подумать, что в Чернобыльскую зону отчуждения туристов влечет желание пощекотать нервы, почувствовать дыхание опасности. Но всего этого здесь нет, зато ощущается совсем другое. После эвакуации жителей в Припяти остановилось время. И не только буквально, хотя в городе все часы стоят.

Просто здесь до сих пор сохранились 80-е годы прошлого столетия. На улицах висят советские плакаты, славящие партию и призывающие строить коммунизм. Архитектура, интерьеры в домах и многое другое – почти ничего не изменилось с 1986 года. Именно это и привлекает людей.

Как говорили когда-то:

Красиво на улице, чисто в квартире – спасибо реактору номер четыре.


Правда, мародеры сразу после эвакуации жителей старались забрать все более или менее ценное, даже батареи отопления срезали. Поэтому в квартирах осталась лишь крупногабаритная мебель.

В то же время все здесь напоминает амазонские джунгли. Улицы города стали похожи на лесные тропы. Особенно жутко становится, когда гид показывает старые фото тех мест, где вы находитесь сейчас. Особенное чувство испытываешь, наблюдая за ржавыми замершими машинками в парке развлечений и представляя себе, как смеялись дети, катаясь на них.

Конечно, если не бродить по Чернобыльской зоне в одиночку, то ничего опасного здесь нет. Правда, страх здесь ощутить можно. Точнее, не страх, а осознание того, что творение человеческих рук способно сделать Землю безжизненной. Пока что это можно наблюдать только в небольшом городке Припять под Киевом, да еще в японской Фукусиме. Но если не соблюдать осторожность в обращении с атомной энергетикой или ядерным оружием, то и вся наша планета станет безлюдной.
Использованы фотографии: Arne Müseler/arne-mueseler.com/CC-BY-SA-3.0
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 26 декабря 2019 10:59
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    В такие места лучше не ездить... Можно случайно зайти на местность с аномально высокой радиацией, она может составлять всего несколько метров, но чтобы непоправимо угробить здоровье, вам хватит... О бандеровцах, бандитах и диких ( одичавших ) животных тоже забывать не следует... По улицам Припяти не патрулирует полиция и если вас там ...то найти помощь будет нереально (изнасилуют, ограбят, убьют)
  2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 29 декабря 2019 23:16
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Посмотрел недавно американский фильм - "ЧЕРНОБЫЛЬ". Фильм ХОРОШИЙ. Рекомендую, правда тяжёлый, второй раз смотреть точно не буду. Я учился этому. В фильме смысл делается на бракованный реактор, а на самом деле - бараны дорвались до власти! Как можно было отключить все, все, все защиты!!!! И специально довести реактор до взрыва СОЗНАТЕЛЬНО! Мне один раз мой начальник сказал: "Ты не должен думать, ты должен выполнять мои распоряжения!" Я его послал и морду почти набил за его вредительство. При СТАЛИНЕ его бы расстреляли, как вредителя, а при Путине - я работаю по другой профессии.