Why "Libyan adventure" can go Turkey sideways


As early as January 2, 2020, it will become clear whether Turkey will officially enter the Libyan war. On this day, the country's Parliament must agree to President Erdogan to send troops to help official Tripoli. Meanwhile, there were reports of the transfer of Ankara to Libya by the Syrian militants. The likelihood of a clash with the Russian Wagnerites, who reportedly support Field Marshal Haftar’s offensive, sharply increased.


Together, this resembles a mirror image of the situation in the SAR, but Ankara and Moscow have exchanged places in it. However, in Libya, the situation is much more serious: it includes many more countries, including NATO, some of which are on opposite sides of the conflict. And behind all this is the gas issue and the dark shadow of the United States.

The other day we are in detail considered current situation in Libya. The once prosperous North African state after the NATO aggression in 2011 is now split into separate tribal territories and policies that are constantly at war with each other. The government of Faiz Saraj, officially recognized by the international community, is located in the capital of Tripoli, but it really controls almost nothing. The Libyan National Army (LNA) of Khalifa Haftar, subordinate to Parliament, has real power, but from the point of view of law its status is “rebellious”.

Tripoli is actively supported by Turkey and Qatar, as well as the former metropolis of Italy. Behind Haftar are Egypt, the UAE and, according to Rome, France. That is, at least two European countries that are members of NATO were on opposite sides of the barricades. The situation of Russia is also very ambivalent. Moscow officially recognizes the Saraj government, but also warmly welcomed Field Marshal Haftar, and, according to available information, on the side of the VLA, Russian military specialists were spotted, which are generally called “Wagnerites”.

Currently, the situation is frozen in precarious balance. Haftar's offensive impulse verse, there are positional battles, about which we are in detail told earlier. Not wanting to go into the embrasure in urban battles, the parties to the conflict very widely use UAVs: Tripoli receives drones from Turkey, and LNA from the UAE. Everything can change the entry into the war of a full-fledged Turkish army, which has heavy weapons and is supported by aviation.

The key question is, why does Ankara need this? Turkey does not have a common border with Libya; there is no existential threat from the Kurds. In fact, there may be several reasons.

At first, let's not forget that Libya was once part of the Ottoman Empire, and now in Turkey neo-Ottoman sentiments are very strong. Ankara is clearly not averse to restoring its own order in the former North African colony.

SecondlyLibya is very rich in hydrocarbons and conveniently located for their export. If the military support of Tripoli is successful and the Turks will be able to take control of the oil fields, Ankara is clearly not bad with this "break off".

Thirdlypreviously we toldthat in the Mediterranean a complex tangle of gas interests of different countries is twisted. Israel, the UAE, Egypt and Greek Cyprus are promoting the EastMed gas pipeline, due to compete with TANAP and the Turkish Stream, which Ankara has placed.

Having sided with Tripoli, Erdogan will threaten an alternative project in the Mediterranean region. Turkish "proxies" have already appeared in Libya, Misurata is turning into a naval base. The experience of the war in Yemen showed how “unknown forces” very effectively delivered a combined strike of UAVs and cruise missiles at Saudi refineries and oil fields. No less a headache for Russia is the constant attacks of some terrorists at the Khmeimim airbase in Syria. In other words, the scope for action against competitors is great.

However, with all the apparent benefits, the “Libyan adventure” may end badly for President Erdogan. It should be borne in mind that there is no common border between these countries. To supply a serious military contingent by air is problematic. By sea it is possible, but it should be remembered that Turkey will cross the road for very serious players, for example, Israel, which is behind Washington, Egypt and France, the third most powerful country in NATO.

The role of the United States is worth mentioning separately. Now active being discussed their pressure on Nord Stream 2. But on the Russian project, everything may not be limited. American corporations have invested heavily in the “shale revolution”, which must be repelled. There are two real markets for LNG - Asia and Europe. The challenge for Washington is to squeeze its maximum share out of them, while not allowing it to seriously drop the price of gas. The United States stopped Nord Stream-2 for an indefinitely long time, now the southern direction is in turn. Not only Turkish Stream is under threat, but also TANAP and EastMed.

We will call a spade a spade: for Americans it is now beneficial to push all the participants in the gas projects of the Mediterranean region in a war, direct or indirect, which would call into question the implementation and effective operation of pipelines, exacerbate the existing problems of the countries participating in the conflict and create new ones for them. "Divide and rule".
Photos used: https://www.usafe.af.mil/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dubog Offline
    Dubog (Demid) 31 December 2019 14: 03
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    It wouldn’t hinder Turkey, the main thing for us is the Turkish flow to work, and the fight for Libya calls into question the Israeli pipeline and there are other preferences, i.e. we, too, can act on the principle of "divide and rule", and the Wagnerites have nothing to do there, to sell weapons to one and the other - this is that principle.
  2. steelmaker Online
    steelmaker 31 December 2019 17: 24
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Erdogan, it seems, has already forgotten to whom he owes EVERYTHING, even LIFE. Therefore, Turkey in Libya needs to be “inserted at the most” so that Erdogan’s brains finally stand in a row. And here it may be necessary to demonstratively show your strength! And let it be Haftar, PMC, even let our special forces practice. The main thing is that Erdogan understands that without Russia he is NOBODY, and he lives because Russia needs it !!! And to climb somewhere, you need to ask permission from Russia!
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. Gafar seidov Offline
    Gafar seidov (Gafar Seidov) 1 January 2020 05: 08
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    First you have to wait for the entry of the Turks into Algeria. Then see with what forces they will go there.
    Russia is constantly present in the Mediterranean Sea, so landing on the coast of Algeria is not the main problem. For street battles, Russian special forces are best prepared for all ..... even if we recall Stalingrad, no one in the class of street battles has surpassed the Russians and will not be able to surpass in the future. The Russians fought with very stubborn German army soldiers who surpass even the Turks in obstinacy. The Turks themselves are not rivals to the Russians, the problems will be with the Arabs, who are the worst soldiers on the planet today. As a last resort, they will agree with the Turks, but not agree, then the Turks will be offended. Russia has already shown them once how it can stop the Turkish oil columns in a couple of weeks, which the Turks thought frivolously that they could transport from Syria to their ports. In general, Algeria must be fought. There is a redivision of the world. In this situation, we cannot remain aloof. In Russia, there are excellent military analysts, strategists and tactics, and it is written that fighting on the line. The only thing - it is necessary to withdraw from there mercenaries, from them more harm than good. It’s necessary to fight in an adult way. Almost recently, these mercenaries in tin cans without air cover, without needles, like drunk rabble with harmonica on carts, went to a kerosene factory to squeeze Kurdish sheep farmers and ridiculed the whole world ... it should not be anymore.
  5. gurjanoffmih Offline
    gurjanoffmih (MIKHAIL GURYANOV) 1 January 2020 18: 56
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    It’s a pity that money bags start wars, and ordinary people die because of them. Why are people divided in Libya? They need their leader to unite all the peoples in this country.
  6. bratchanin3 Offline
    bratchanin3 (Gennady) 3 January 2020 14: 35
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Someone must dispose of these fighters, Erdogan cannot endlessly feed them in prisons, they must be put somewhere.

Почему «ливийская авантюра» может выйти Турции боком


Уже 2 января 2020 года станет ясно, вступит ли Турция в ливийскую войну официально. В этот день Парламент страны должен дать согласие президенту Эрдогану на отправку войск на помощь официальному Триполи. Между тем, появились сообщения о переброске Анкарой в Ливию сирийских боевиков. Резко возросла вероятность их столкновения с российскими «вагнеровцами», которые, по имеющимся сведениям, поддерживают наступление фельдмаршала Хафтара.


В совокупности это напоминает зеркальное отражение ситуации в САР, но Анкара и Москва поменялись в ней местами. Однако в Ливии расклад получается гораздо более серьезным: в него включено гораздо больше стран, в том числе, входящих в НАТО, некоторые из которых оказались по разные стороны конфликта. А за всем этим стоит газовый вопрос и темная тень США.

На днях мы подробно рассматривали сложившееся в Ливии положение. Некогда процветающее североафриканское государство после агрессии НАТО в 2011 году теперь расколото на отдельные племенные территории и полисы, непрерывно воюющие между собой. Официально признанное международным сообществом правительство Фаиза Сараджа находится в столице Триполи, но реально почти ничего не контролирует. Ливийская национальная армия (ЛНА) Халифы Хафтара, подчиняющаяся Парламенту, имеет реальную силу, но с точки зрения закона ее статус - «мятежная».

Триполи активно поддерживают Турция и Катар, а также бывшая метрополия – Италия. За Хафтаром стоят Египет, ОАЭ и, если верить Риму, Франция. То есть, как минимум две европейские страны, входящие в НАТО, оказались по разные стороны баррикад. Весьма двойственно и положение России. Официально Москва признает правительство Сараджа, но также тепло встречала фельдмаршала Хафтара, и, по имеющейся информации, на стороне ЛНА замечены российские военспецы, которых обобщенно принято называть «вагнеровцами».

В настоящее время ситуация застыла в шатком равновесии. Наступательный порыв Хафтара стих, идут позиционные бои, о чем мы подробно рассказывали ранее. Не желая лезть грудью на амбразуру в городских боях, стороны конфликта очень широко применяют БПЛА: Триполи получает беспилотники из Турции, а ЛНА – из ОАЭ. Все может изменить вступление в войну полноценной турецкой армии, имеющей тяжелые вооружения и поддерживаемой авиацией.

Ключевой вопрос, зачем Анкаре это нужно? Общей границы с Ливией у Турции нет, никакой экзистенциальной угрозы со стороны курдов не имеется. На самом деле, причин может быть несколько.

Во-первых, не будем забывать о том, что Ливия в свое время входила в состав Оттоманской империи, а сейчас в Турции очень сильны неоосманские настроения. Анкара явно не прочь навести свой собственный порядок в бывшей североафриканской колонии.

Во-вторых, Ливия весьма богата углеводородами и удобно расположена для их экспорта. Если военная поддержка Триполи окажется удачной и турки сумеют взять под контроль нефтеносные поля, Анкаре явно неплохо с этого «обломится».

В-третьих, ранее мы рассказывали, что в Средиземноморье скручен сложный клубок газовых интересов разных стран. Израиль, ОАЭ, Египет и греческий Кипр продвигают газопровод EastMed, должный составить конкуренцию ТАНАП и «Турецкому потоку», на которые поставила Анкара.

Выступив на стороне Триполи, Эрдоган создаст угрозу альтернативному проекту в Средиземноморском регионе. В Ливии уже появились турецкие «прокси», Мисурата превращается в военно-морскую базу. Опыт войны в Йемене показал, как «неизвестные силы» весьма эффективно нанесли комбинированный удар БПЛА и крылатых ракет по саудовским НПЗ и нефтеносным полям. Не меньшей головной болью для России являются постоянные атаки неких террористов по авиабазе Хмеймим в Сирии. Иначе говоря, простор для действий против конкурентов открывается большой.

Однако при всей кажущейся выгоде, «ливийская авантюра» может дурно закончиться для президента Эрдогана. Необходимо учитывать, что общей границы между этими странами нет. Снабжать по воздуху серьезный воинский контингент проблематично. Морем можно, но следует помнить, что этой операцией Турция перейдет дорогу очень серьезным игрокам, например, Израилю, за которым стоит Вашингтон, Египту и той же Франции, третьей по силе стране в НАТО.

Про роль США стоит сказать отдельно. Сейчас активно обсуждается их давление на «Северный поток-2». Но на российском проекте все может не ограничиться. Американские корпорации вложили огромные средства в «сланцевую революцию», которые необходимо отбивать. Есть два реальных рынка для СПГ – Азия и Европа. Задача перед Вашингтоном стоит - отжать на них свою максимальную долю, при этом не позволив серьезно уронить цену на газ. «Северный поток-2» США остановили на неопределенно долгое время, теперь на очереди южное направление. Под угрозой не только «Турецкий поток», но и ТАНАП, и EastMed.

Будем называть вещи своими именами: для американцев сейчас выгодно столкнуть между собой всех участников газовых проектов Средиземноморского региона в войне, прямой или опосредованной, которая поставит под вопрос реализацию и эффективную работу трубопроводов, усугубит существующие проблемы у стран-участниц конфликта и создаст для них новые. «Разделяй и властвуй».
Использованы фотографии: https://www.usafe.af.mil/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Дабог Офлайн
    Дабог (Демид) 31 декабря 2019 14:03
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Тут бы Турции и не мешать, для нас главное, чтобы работал турецкий поток, а драка за Ливию ставит под вопрос израильский трубопровод и прочие есть преференции, т.е. мы тоже может действовать по принципу "разделяй и властвуй", а вагнеровцам там нечего делать, оружие продавать и одним, и другим - это и есть тот принцип.
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 31 декабря 2019 17:24
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Эрдоган, похоже, уже забыл, кому он обязан ВСЕМ, даже ЖИЗНЬЮ. Поэтому Турции в Ливии надо так "вставить по самое" чтобы у Эрдогана мозги окончательно в ряд встали. И здесь может надо демонстративно показать свою силу! И пусть это будет Хафтар, ЧВК, даже наш спецназ пусть потренируется. Главное, чтобы Эрдоган понял, что без России он НИКТО, и живёт он потому, что России это надо!!! И чтобы куда-то лезть, надо разрешение у России спросить!
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Gafar Seidov Офлайн
    Gafar Seidov (Gafar Seidov) 1 января 2020 05:08
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Сначала надо дождаться входа турков в Алжир. Затем посмотреть, с какими силами они туда войдут.
    Россия постоянно присутствует в Средиземном море, так что высадиться на побережье Алжира это не главная проблема. Для уличных боев русские спецподразделения готовы лучше всех.....даже если вспомнить Сталинград, никто по классу уличных боев не превзошел русских и не сможет превзойти в будущем. Русские бились с очень упертыми солдатами немецкой армии, которые по упертости даже турков превосходят. Сами турки русским не соперники, проблемы будут с арабами, которые на сегодня самые плохие солдаты планеты. С турками в крайнем случае договорятся, а не договорятся, то турки обидятся. Им уже один раз Россия показала, как она может за пару недель остановить турецкие колонны с нефтью, которую турки легкомысленно подумали, что смогут вывезти из Сирии в свои порты. В целом за Алжир надо побороться. Идет передел мира. Мы в такой ситуации не можем оставаться в стороне. В России есть прекрасные военные аналитики, стратеги и тактики, а воевать на роду написано. Единственно - надо вывести оттуда наемников, от них больше вреда, чем пользы. Надо по-взрослому воевать. Почти недавно эти наемники на жестяных банках без прикрытия с воздуха, не имея игл, как напившийся сброд с гармошками на телегах, поехали керосиновую фабрику отжимать у курдских овцеводов и насмешили весь мир....так больше не должно быть.
  5. gurjanoffmih Офлайн
    gurjanoffmih (МИХАИЛ ГУРЬЯНОВ) 1 января 2020 18:56
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Жалко, что мешки с деньгами затевают войны, а простой народ гибнет из-за них. Почему в Ливии народ разделён? Им нужен свой лидер, чтоб объединить все народы в этой стране.
  6. bratchanin3 Офлайн
    bratchanin3 (Геннадий) 3 января 2020 14:35
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Должен же кто-то утилизировать этих боевиков, не может Эрдоган бесконечно кормить их в тюрьмах, их же куда-то надо девать.