US puts pressure on China over Iranian oil


US Treasury chief Stephen Mnuchin told Fox News on air that Washington is in consultations with Beijing to stop the Chinese "comrades" buying oil from Tehran. According to the minister, anti-Iranian sanctions have already reduced Iran’s oil revenues "probably by more than 95%." At the same time, a significant part of the remaining Iranian oil exports falls to China.


I met with Chinese officials. They sent a delegation to meet and discuss this with us and with representatives of the State Department

- clarified Mnuchin.

The head of the US financial department added that now Chinese state-owned companies are no longer buying oil from Iran. The minister emphasized that Washington “is in close cooperation” with Beijing and is seeking a complete cessation of Iranian oil supplies to China. The official recalled that the United States imposed sanctions against Chinese companies that transported Iranian oil.

In turn, an expert of the National Energy Security Fund Igor Yushkov told the newspaper "Sight"that the reduction of Iran’s income from oil sales “by more than 95%” mentioned by the American minister is a great exaggeration. After which he commented on the situation.

Now almost the only buyer of Iranian oil is China. Assuming that export revenues decreased by more than 95%, this can be explained by the fact that the PRC could issue loans for future oil supplies, because Iran really needs money. He is having problems in the economy. Now China is taking oil essentially free of charge. Thus, Iran’s current income could be reduced by 95% because they received money in advance

- explained Yushkov.

According to Yushkov, Iran is not a critical supplier of raw materials for China. In this regard, Beijing may go for a bargain with Washington and bargain for itself something more significant.

China can do this, another question is what China will ask for in return. Here he will be a tough negotiator and will negotiate for himself the most favorable conditions for a trade agreement with the United States. China may exchange Iran for some concessions under the agreement, but they should be fixed in the agreement. In the event that the Americans violate the terms of the agreement, China will return for oil to Iran

- suggested Yushkov.

And, of course, Iran reduced oil export revenues, but hardly by 95%. Most likely, this is bravado on the part of the US Treasury Secretary - that we have almost strangled Iran, and we will finish them. It's like Obama once said that the Russian economy was torn to shreds, and everything is fine. This statement is more likely for the domestic consumer - the American voter, to show that policy Trump against Iran successful

- added Yushkov.

The expert emphasized that Beijing is almost the only major buyer of oil for Tehran. All other trade in Iranian oil has gone into gray schemes, but there the volume of trade and income are small.
  • Photos Used: US Navy photo by Photographer's Mate 2nd Class Andrew M. Meyers / wikimedia.org
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Rusa Offline Rusa
    Rusa 14 January 2020 22: 02
    +1
    Yushkov correctly says, I support. Ponty Washington and nothing more.
    China is not a whipping boy. Moreover, the US sanctions against Iran are illegal.

США давят на Китай из-за иранской нефти


Глава Минфина США Стивен Мнучин заявил в эфире телеканала Fox News, что Вашингтон ведет консультации с Пекином по поводу того, чтобы китайские «товарищи» прекратили покупать нефть у Тегерана. По словам министра, антииранские санкции уже позволили снизить доходы Ирана от продажи нефти «вероятно, более чем на 95%». При этом значительная часть оставшегося иранского нефтяного экспорта приходится на Китай.

Я встречался с китайскими официальными лицами. Они направляли делегацию, чтобы встретиться и обсудить это с нами и с представителями Госдепартамента

- уточнил Мнучин.



Глава американского финансового ведомства добавил, что сейчас китайские государственные компании уже не покупают нефть у Ирана. Министр подчеркнул, что Вашингтон «находятся в тесном взаимодействии» с Пекином и добивается полного прекращения поставок иранской нефти в Китай. Чиновник напомнил, что США ввели санкции против китайских компаний, которые занимались транспортировкой иранской нефти.

В свою очередь, эксперт Фонда национальной энергетической безопасности Игорь Юшков заявил газете «Взгляд», что упомянутое американским министром сокращение доходов Ирана от продажи нефти «более чем на 95%», является большим преувеличением. После чего прокомментировал ситуацию.

Сейчас чуть ли не единственным покупателем иранской нефти является Китай. Если предположить, что сокращение экспортных доходов произошло более чем на 95%, то это можно объяснить тем, что КНР могла выдавать кредиты за будущие поставки нефти, потому что Ирану реально нужны деньги. Он испытывает проблемы в экономике. Сейчас Китай забирает нефть по сути бесплатно. Таким образом, текущие доходы Ирана могли сократиться на 95%, потому что они заранее получили деньги

- пояснил Юшков.

По мнению Юшкова, Иран не является критическим поставщиком сырья для Китая. В связи с этим, Пекин может пойти на размен с Вашингтоном и выторговать для себя что-то более весомое.

Китай может это сделать, другой вопрос, что Китай попросит взамен. Здесь он будет жестким переговорщиком и будет выторговывать для себя максимально выгодные условия по торговому соглашению с США. Китай может разменять Иран на какие-то уступки по соглашению, но они должны быть зафиксированы в договоре. В случае, если американцы будут нарушать условия договора, Китай вернется за нефтью к Ирану

- предположил Юшков.

И, конечно, Иран сократил доходы от экспорта нефти, но вряд ли на 95%. Скорее всего, это бравада со стороны министра финансов США - что мы почти задушили Иран, и мы их добьем. Это как в свое время Обама говорил, что российская экономика разорвана в клочья, и все нормально. Это заявление скорее для внутреннего потребителя - американского избирателя, чтобы показать, что политика Трампа в отношении Ирана успешная

- добавил Юшков.

Эксперт подчеркнул, что для Тегерана Пекин является чуть ли не единственным крупным покупателем нефти. Вся остальная торговля иранской нефтью ушла в серые схемы, но там объемы торговли и доходы небольшие.
Использованы фотографии: U.S. Navy photo by Photographer's Mate 2nd Class Andrew M. Meyers/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Руса Офлайн
    Руса 14 января 2020 22:02
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Юшков правильно говорит, поддерживаю. Понты Вашингтона и ничего более.
    Китай - не мальчик для битья. Тем более, что санкции США против Ирана незаконные.