5 times the Hubble: Russia and China are developing a unique telescope


Specialists from the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Astronomy of the Russian Academy of Sciences have proposed the concept of a large-sized orbital telescope. About this agency RIA News the day before, the director of the aforementioned Russian university, Mikhail Sachkov, said.


The project is called On-orbit Assembling Space Telescope (OAST). The concept proposed by scientists involves the construction of a telescope with a 10-meter mirror, consisting of 36 segments. For comparison, the truly gigantic Hubble Observatory, launched by NASA and ESA in 1990, was equipped with a 2,4-meter diameter mirror.

They plan to collect the giant directly in orbit. In the process, special robotic manipulators will be involved, and control will be carried out by the crew located near the ISS.

According to Sachkov, Chinese colleagues suggested that specialists from the Institute of Astronomy become a scientific organization of the telescope. In addition, scientists from the Middle Kingdom are counting on our "participation in instruments." In particular, the Russian side will have to create a spectrograph for OAST, and the Chinese will build the telescope itself.

It is assumed that a larger Hubble follower will be able to make observations in the range from near UV to mid IR. This will allow the telescope to collect and transmit information to the Earth about practically the most diverse objects of our Universe.

It is worth noting that at the moment, this is only a concept that has not yet been included in either the Chinese or Russian space program. In addition, even with adequate funding, scientists will need at least a decade to bring the ambitious project to practical implementation.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 15 January 2020 14: 16
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    The United States will now introduce such sanctions, or have already imposed - there will be no space. Dreamers are dreamers!
    1. cmonman Offline
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 15 January 2020 14: 36
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      The United States will now impose such sanctions, or have already imposed ...

      Here sanctions will not be a problem, and sanctions, most likely, will not be.
      Recently flashed info that NASA has made mirrors for something Russian. Those. problem with mirrors. In addition, the article says that the assembly will be carried out next to the ISS, but it is not written whether the ISS will be by that time?
      1. 123 Online
        123 (123) 17 January 2020 09: 13
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Garik Mokin
        We really had problems with polishing mirrors, whether they decided or not, I do not know. Judging by the article, the production of mirror segments in the Chinese. Will the ISS or not - it doesn’t matter if it is closed, it will have its own station, albeit a smaller one. In any case, these are just plans for the future. Over 10 years, a lot of things can change.
  2. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 16 January 2020 09: 10
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    - Personally, I do not understand the interpretation itself and the whole concept of the following:

    Russia and China are developing a unique telescope

    - What is Russia ... -is necessary, necessary, so relevant ???
    - And most importantly ... - why is it all to Russia ??? - For what???
    - So that the Chinese create their own unique orbital telescope ... and ... and take control of the entire "nearby" Universe and our entire Earth, including ???
    - And this is all done by Russian experts from the Institute of Astronomy (the Chinese then only mount and assemble everything) !!! -And how has it still not been announced "oh ... from ... that" on these our specialists or have not announced global "sanctions" against these our experts ???
  3. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 17 January 2020 08: 29
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Unique collaborative projects are better than nothing. Moaning about "give money to pensioners" and others who do not understand the meaning of the phrase "development of scientific potential" can go into the woods and weave bast shoes.

В 5 раз больше «Хаббла»: Россия и Китай разрабатывают уникальный телескоп


Специалисты из Китайской академии наук и Института астрономии РАН предложили концепцию орбитального телескопа крупных размеров. Об этом агентству РИА Новости накануне рассказал директор вышеупомянутого российского ВУЗа Михаил Сачков.

Проект носит название On-orbit Assembling Space Telescope (OAST). Предложенная учеными концепция предполагает строительство телескопа с 10-метровым зеркалом, состоящим из 36 сегментов. Для сравнения, поистине исполинская обсерватория «Хаббл», запущенная НАСА и ЕКА в 1990 году, была оснащена зеркалом диаметром в 2,4 метра.



Собирать гиганта планируют непосредственно на орбите. В процессе будут задействованы специальные роботизированные манипуляторы, а контроль будет осуществлять экипаж, находящийся поблизости от МКС.

Со слов Сачкова, китайские коллеги предложили специалистам из Института астрономии стать научной организацией телескопа. Кроме того, ученые из Поднебесной рассчитывают на наше «участие приборами». В частности, российская сторона должна будет создать спектрограф для OAST, а китайская построит сам телескоп.

Предполагается, что более крупногабаритный последователь «Хаббла» сможет осуществлять наблюдения в диапазонах от ближнего УФ до среднего ИК. Это позволит телескопу собирать и передавать на Землю информацию практически о самых разных объектах нашей Вселенной.

Стоит отметить, что на данный момент, это лишь концепция, которая еще не включена ни в китайскую, ни в российскую космическую программу. Кроме того, даже при получении должного финансирования, ученым потребуется не менее десятилетия, чтобы довести амбициозный проект до практической реализации.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 15 января 2020 14:16
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    США сейчас такие санкции введут, или уже ввели - не до космоса будет. Мечтатели - фантазёры!
    1. cmonman Онлайн
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 15 января 2020 14:36
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      США сейчас такие санкции введут, или уже ввели...

      Здесь не санкции будут проблема, да и санкций, скорее всего, и не будет.
      Недавно мелькнула инфо, что НАСА сделала зеркала для чего-то российского. Т.е. проблема с зеркалами. Кроме того, в статье написано, что сборка будет вестись рядом с МКС, но не написано, будет ли МКС к тому времени?
      1. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 17 января 2020 09:13
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Гарик Мокин
        С полировкой зеркал у нас действительно были проблемы, решили или нет, я не в курсе. Судя по статье, производство сегментов зеркала на китайцах. Будет МКС или нет - не важно, если ее закроют, будет своя станция, хоть и поменьше. В любом случае, это просто планы на будущее. За 10 лет много чего может поменяться.
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 16 января 2020 09:10
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    - Лично мне непонятна сама трактовка и вся концепция следующего:

    Россия и Китай разрабатывают уникальный телескоп

    - России что... -это нужно, необходимо, настолько актуально???
    - И главное... -зачем это всё России??? - Для чего???
    - Чтобы китайцы создали свой личный орбитальный уникальный телескоп ...и ...и взяли под свой личный контроль всю "близлежащую" Вселенную и всю нашу Землю в том числе???
    - И это всё руками российских специалистов из Института астрономии (китайцы потом только всё смонтируют и соберут)!!! -И как это ещё до сих пор не объявлена "ох...от...та" на этих наших специалистов или не объявлены всемирные "санкции" против этих наших специалистов???
  3. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 17 января 2020 08:29
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Совместные уникальные проекты - это лучше, чем ничего. Стонущие про "отдайте деньги пенсионерам" и прочие, не понимающие значения словосочетания "развитие научного потенциала", могут идти в лес и плести лапти.