US threatens Baghdad with sanctions in case of purchase of S-400 and withdrawal of its military


After Iran inflicted missile attack on US military facilities in Iraq, in Baghdad, they started talking about resuming negotiations with Moscow over the acquisition of Russian S-300 air defense systems and showed interest in S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems. At the same time, Washington was already informed that the United States could impose sanctions against Iraq if this country buys S-400 from Russia.


This was announced by Deputy Assistant Head of the US State Department for Middle East Joey Hood, answering a question TASS at the Institute of the Middle East in Washington.

As for the S-400, yes: the purchase is likely to lead to sanctions. So we advise our partners not to make such purchases

- said Hood.

In addition, Hood mentioned that the withdrawal of American troops from Iraq could lead to the departure of the entire international coalition from the country and it would be defenseless against ISIS (a terrorist organization banned in Russia).

That is, Washington actually threatens Baghdad not only with sanctions for the S-400, but promises that ISIS will begin active activity in this country. By the way, before the Americans came to Iraq, there was no ISIS at all.

Moreover, it became known that the United States could reduce military aid to Iraq by $ 250 million if Baghdad really requires the withdrawal of American troops from the country. This was reported by the American newspaper The Wall Street Journal (WSJ), referring to electronic correspondence of officials from the US State Department and the Pentagon. As it is specified, the US Congress has already approved (approved) the allocation of this assistance, but Washington is ready to seriously review military issues and economic cooperation in the event of a negative development.

At the same time, former US President Donald Trump said, which will require more compensation from Iraq for the infrastructure created if the US military points to the door to this country.
  • Used photos: http://mil.ru/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 15 January 2020 14: 07
    +1
    The USSR also created a huge infrastructure in the Warsaw Pact countries, but didn’t particularly require anything when it left.
  2. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
    Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 15 January 2020 15: 05
    -2
    Of course, Iraq needs modern air defense systems, in view of the ongoing rocket attacks on its territory by an aggressive neighbor. But how will they pay, and can they be entrusted with such a complex technique. Examples of such rash acts are enough.

США грозят Багдаду санкциями в случае покупки С-400 и вывода своих военных


После того, как Иран нанес ракетный удар по военным объектам США в Ираке, в Багдаде заговорили о возобновлении переговоров с Москвой по поводу приобретения российских зенитно-ракетных комплексов (ЗРК) С-300 и проявили заинтересованность в зенитных ракетных системах (ЗРС) С-400. При этом из Вашингтона уже проинформировали, что США могут ввести санкции против Ирака, если эта страна купит у России С-400.


Об этом сообщил заместитель помощника главы Госдепа США по делам Ближнего Востока Джоуи Худ, отвечая на вопрос ТАСС в Институте Ближнего Востока в Вашингтоне.

Что касается С-400, то да: покупка, вероятно, приведет к санкциям. Так что мы советуем своим партнерам не делать таких покупок

- сказал Худ.

Кроме того, Худ упомянул, что вывод американских войск из Ирака может привести к уходу всей международной коалиции с территории страны и она окажется беззащитной перед ИГИЛ (террористическая организация, запрещенная в России).

То есть Вашингтон фактически угрожает Багдаду не только санкциями за С-400, а обещает, что ИГИЛ начнет активную деятельность в этой стране. К слову, до прихода в Ирак американцев, никакого ИГИЛ в помине не существовало.

Более того, стало известно, что США могут сократить военную помощь Ираку на $250 млн, если Багдад реально потребует вывода американских войск из страны. Об этом сообщила американская газета The Wall Street Journal (WSJ), ссылаясь на электронную переписку чиновников из Госдепа США и Пентагона. Как уточняется, Конгресс США уже одобрил (утвердил) выделение указанной помощи, однако Вашингтон готов серьезно пересмотреть вопросы военного характера и экономического сотрудничества в случае негативного развития событий.

При этом ранее президент США Дональд Трамп заявил, что потребует у Ирака большую компенсацию за созданную инфраструктуру, если американским военным укажут на дверь в этой стране.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 15 января 2020 14:07
    +1
    СССР тоже создал огромную инфраструктуру в странах Варшавского договора, но ничего особенно не требовал, когда уходил оттуда.
  2. Архаров Офлайн Архаров
    Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 15 января 2020 15:05
    -2
    Конечно современные комплексы ПВО Ираку нужны, ввиду непрекращающихся ракетных обстрелов своей территории агрессивным соседом. Но чем они будут платить, и можно ли им доверить столь сложную технику. Примеров подобных необдуманных поступков достаточно.