Pentagon: Our hypersonic developments have failed


General John Hayten, deputy chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff of the United States Armed Forces, spoke about why the United States lagged behind Russia in the development of hypersonic weapons.


Speaking at the Center for International Strategic Studies in Washington, a Pentagon spokesman said the following:

In the field of hypersound, we are now seriously competing with a number of competitors in the world. We were ahead ten years ago. We had two programs, two prototypes. They did not work very well. What did we do after they failed? We began many years of research into the causes of failure and then canceled these programs.

The general emphasized that the restoration of the results obtained from past studies will take years, and urged representatives of the scientific community and the military-industrial complex to accelerate the process.

Currently, two US developments in the field of hypersound are known - the ARRW air-to-ground missile and the HCSW long-range hypersonic missile.

However, it is hardly worth expecting that in the near future work on these missiles will be completed and they will go into series.

Returning to Hayten’s words about the cancellation of programs, it should be noted that Russia inherited from the USSR unique developments, which still have no analogues in the world, work on which was stopped for one reason or another.

Maybe it's time to think about resuming these developments?
  • Photos used: https://www.defensenews.com/
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. The comment was deleted.
  3. Jar.serge Offline Jar.serge
    Jar.serge (Reznik) 19 January 2020 11: 12
    0
    May God continue. We are only happy for your every failure, sincerely.
  4. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) 19 January 2020 11: 17
    +3
    Well, again, the tears of a crocodile, which means that all these multi-star generals are again begging for money from the State Department for their own needs - for kids for a "milk", or for a yacht "more modest".
    1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 January 2020 12: 09
      -2
      Valentine
      I'm afraid those generals do not have yachts "more modest" and will not be foreseen. Those generals live strictly on their salaries, which, I think, cannot buy especially luxurious yachts.
  5. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 19 January 2020 14: 48
    +1
    The Yankees rushed with the idea of ​​scramjet, in their opinion, for some reason, this is only hypersound. Ours didn’t get hung up on the scramjet because by the mid-80s it was found out that the scramjet had a significant drawback that could not be circumvented, and it did not seem to work out at all, due to the laws of nature. The scramjet engine goes out during active maneuvering, roughly speaking, it can fly only in a straight line. In the realities of modern missile weapons, this is a fatal flaw. A conventional solid fuel rocket in this regard is simpler, cheaper, and devoid of flaws with the same efficiency.
    1. Arkharov Offline Arkharov
      Arkharov (Grigory Arkharov) 20 January 2020 12: 13
      -2
      shinobi
      A wonderful discovery, I just want to add that any ballistic missile is hypersonic, even the FAU-2. And there is no protection from their massive use on either side. Why all this hype is not entirely clear. All this is more like regular show-offs.
      1. shinobi Offline shinobi
        shinobi (Yuri) 21 January 2020 20: 24
        0
        At the time of the start of scamming on the scramjet, the end of the 50s, this engine was considered as a cheaper version of the engine for high-speed cruise missiles. But the development of ballistic missiles went faster, and with the advent of solid fuel acceptable in terms of efficiency, the engine was made non-competitive in rocket technology. They forgot about the scramjet until the mid-80s. We revived the idea in connection with the projects of reusable aircraft-type spacecraft. Why the Yankees decided to step on the old rake again, adding a dvigun to the rocket, is unclear, and when they boasted loudly, the experts already said why nothing would come of it. Our hypersonic devices, as you, in fact, have noted, are classic aeroballistic missiles based on long-known design solutions. All the highlight in the management and guidance on the goal that there is a great state of secrecy. And Zircon, I have such a feeling, straight-through solid propellants brought to mind at the modern level. So to say, a new version of Mosquito.
  6. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 20 January 2020 11: 58
    0
    It's too early to rest on our laurels. Yes, we pulled ahead, but it’s not worth relaxing, there is still much to be done. Remember November 2019

    The frigate "Admiral Gorshkov" went to sea with missiles "Zircon"

    Has anyone read the test completion message?

Пентагон: Наши гиперзвуковые разработки потерпели неудачу


Заместитель председателя Объединенного комитета начальников штабов Вооруженных сил США генерал Джон Хайтен рассказал о том, почему Соединенные Штаты отстали от России в области разработок гиперзвукового оружия.


Выступая в Центре международных стратегических исследований в Вашингтоне, представитель Пентагона рассказал следующее:

В области гиперзвука мы сейчас серьезно соревнуемся с рядом конкурентов в мире. Мы были впереди десять лет назад. У нас были две программы, два прототипа. Они не очень хорошо работали. Что мы сделали после того, как они потерпели неудачу? Мы начали многолетние исследования причин неудач и затем отменили эти программы.

Генерал подчеркнул, что восстановление наработок, полученных в результате прошлых исследований, займет годы, и призвал представителей научных кругов и ВПК ускорить процесс.

В настоящее время известно о двух разработках США в области гиперзвука - ракете ARRW класса «воздух - земля» и гиперзвуковой ракете HCSW дальнего радиуса действия.

Однако вряд ли стоит ожидать, что в ближайшем будущем работа над этими ракетами будет завершена, и они пойдут в серию.

Возвращаясь к словам Хайтена об отмене программ, нужно отметить, что России в наследство от СССР тоже достались уникальные разработки, до сих пор не имеющие аналогов в мире, работа над которыми была прекращена по тем или иным причинам.

Может быть, пришло время подумать о возобновлении этих разработок?
Использованы фотографии: https://www.defensenews.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Jar.serge Офлайн
    Jar.serge (Reznik) 19 января 2020 11:12
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Дай бог так и дальше. Мы только рады каждой Вашей неудаче, искренне.
  4. Валентин Онлайн
    Валентин (Валентин) 19 января 2020 11:17
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Ну вот, опять слёзы крокодильи, а это значит, что все эти многозвёздные генералы опять клянчат деньги у Госдепа на свои собственные нужды - детишкам на "молочишко", или на яхту "поскромнее".
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 января 2020 12:09
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Валентин
      Боюсь, яхт "поскромнее" у тех генералов нет и не предвидится. Те генералы живут строго на зарплату, с нее, думаю, особо роскошных яхт не купишь.
  5. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 19 января 2020 14:48
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Янки носились с идеей ГПВРД, по их мнению, почему-то только это является гиперзвуком. Наши на ГПВРД зацикливаться не стали, так как к середине 80-х выяснили, что у ГПВРД имеется существенный недостаток, обойти который не удалось, и, похоже, не получится совсем, ввиду законов природы. ГПВРД гаснет при активном маневрировании, грубо говоря, летать может только по прямой. В реалиях современных ракетных вооружений это фатальный недостаток. Обычная твёрдотопливная ракета в этом плане проще, дешевле, и лишена недостатков при одинаковой эффективности.
    1. Архаров Офлайн
      Архаров (Григорий Архаров) 20 января 2020 12:13
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      синоби
      Замечательное открытие, только хочу добавить, что любая баллистическая ракета гиперзвуковая, даже ФАУ-2. И защиты от их массированного применения нет ни у одной стороны. К чему весь этот ажиотаж, не совсем понятно. Больше все это похоже на очередные понты.
      1. синоби Офлайн
        синоби (Юрий) 21 января 2020 20:24
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        На момент начала камланий по ГПВРД, конец 50-х, оный движок рассматривался как более дешёвый вариант двигуна для скоростных крылатых ракет. Но развитие баллистических ракет шло быстрее, а с появлением приемлемого по КПД твёрдого топлива сделала двигун неконкурентным в ракетной технике. О ГПВРД забыли до середины 80-х.Реанимировали идею в связи с проектами воздушно космических аппаратов многоразового использования самолётного типа. Почему янки решили вновь наступить на старые грабли, присобачив двигун на ракету, непонятно, и когда они громко хвалились, эксперты уже говорили, почему ничего не выйдет. Наши гиперзвуковые аппараты, как вы, собственно, и отметили, классические аэробаллистические ракеты на давно известных конструкторских решениях. Вся изюминка в управлении и наведении на цель, что большая гостайна сия есть. А Циркон, есть у меня такое чувство, доведённые до ума на современном уровне прямоточные твёрдотопливники. Так сказать, новая версия Москита.
  6. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 20 января 2020 11:58
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Почивать на лаврах рано. Да, вырвались вперед, но расслабляться не стоит, много еще предстоит сделать. Помните, ноябрь 2019 г.

    Фрегат "Адмирал Горшков" вышел в море с ракетами "Циркон"

    Сообщение о завершении испытаний кто-то читал?