Hard choice for the USA: Boeing - “you can’t have mercy on execution”


Watching the actions of the United States authorities in relation to the aircraft giant Boeing, one involuntarily recalls the biblical quote about the left hand, which does not know what the right hand is doing. In this situation, the “hands” of the US federal services and bodies do not seem to act differently, but contrary to each other. The Ministry of Finance, in the person of its head Stephen Mnuchin, is sounding the alarm: in the event not only of the Boeing collapse, but of aggravation of the problems that the corporation has today, the country will experience a drop in GDP in a not weak amount.


At the same time, the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) continues to tear down the business reputation of the concern, finding more and more shortcomings, shortcomings and "problem spots" in its products. At the same time, the hopes that the 737 MAX model, which has become the cause of the current troubles of aircraft manufacturers, will ever return to air, are becoming more and more illusive, turning gloomy prospects for Boeing into simply catastrophic ones.

"Domino effect"


Someone may decide that the head of the US Ministry of Finance, who lamented that last year’s turmoil with the Boeing 737 MAX alone, had already cost the country half a percent of annual GDP, exaggerated the severity of the issue or, as is usual with government officials of this level, has exaggerated. Nothing like this! In order to understand the importance of the aircraft building corporation for the United States, one should delve into how seriously it is “embedded” in the global production and financial chains there. And, by the way, far from there! I would venture to recall some almost well-known things: the engines installed on Boeing aircraft are the products of another industrial giant, General Electric Corporation, which manufactures them together with the French company Safran. United Technologies Corp., Honeywell International - companies with a turnover of tens of billions of dollars per year. Hexcel Corp. Woodward Inc. - firms are more modest. Their sales volumes "just something" exceed a couple of billion dollars. What unites them? Almost everything they produce goes to Boeing factories. The protracted “peak” of aircraft manufacturers is already going sideways for their “allies”. So, Spirit Aerosystems claims to have big problems. It would seem a solid enterprise with sales of $ 7 billion a year. Here are only 80% of its products requested exclusively at the above address. To date, spare parts and accessories for more than 100 Boeing airliners, which had to stop the conveyors that had left the 737 MAX until now, have been stuck in the company's warehouses.

The result is more than logical - Spirit Aerosystems has to lay off about 3 thousand employees of its plant in Kansas. Next in line are similar cuts in Oklahoma. The manual assures: temporarily. However, everyone is well aware that this time can stretch for an indefinitely long period. Here is just one example for you ... Moreover, do not forget that many enterprises in the aviation industry are, without exaggeration, city-forming, or even “dragging” themselves the economy whole counties. After all, they all also have their suppliers, use logistics services, and also “feed” local financiers, insurers, marketers, and many others. In addition, these are still taxpayers who regularly and conscientiously replenish the US budget. Seattle-based workshops for the production of 737 MAX have already caused a strong "domino effect" in the country. It is scary to think about what can happen if the entire corporation collapses. Only in the second quarter, a decrease in sales of their airliners and components to these “put” the total US exports by 7.5%. Indeed, last year Boeing received orders for only 246 vehicles of all types and types, which was the result that has been minimal since 2003. From 200 737 MAX its customers have already refused - who needs a liner whose flights are prohibited? In light of this, it is not surprising that the newly appointed head of the corporation, David Calhoun, whose salary is about one and a half million dollars a year, has already been promised a bonus reward of 7 million if he manages to return 737 MAX to heaven. The prize, of course, is more than tempting, but whether Calhoun or anyone else will be able to achieve the task is a very big question.

"Clowns led by monkeys ..."


This delightful passage is a quote from the internal correspondence of Boeing employees discussing just the new airliner - 737 MAX. In their opinion, to call the car successful was problematic initially. It was her one of the employees who called the plane, which was designed by the workers of the arena under the strict guidance of adoring banana primates. I must say that the expression “My tongue is my enemy”, which fell “under the distribution” of the corporation if it survived the current difficult times, should be cast in bronze and placed over the entrance to each of its own offices. Well, at least hang up in the offices in the form of bright posters for staff. It was in their communication that the employees of the US Federal Aviation Administration found, indeed, a storehouse of not just incriminating, but glaringly scandalous information about the company's activities. For example, it was just a shocking fact: it turns out, back in 2017, one of the airlines turned to Boeing, asking to organize training for pilots who have to fly on the 737 MAX that they recently acquired. The corporation did not find anything better than to “kick off” this request because of the “high cost and labor costs”, in addition to calling the airline representatives “fools” and “idiots”. Everything would be fine, but it's just about the Lion Air company, the liner of which crashed into the Java Sea in October 2018, opening a terrible account for the fatal crashes of the 737 MAX, killing the corporation that gave birth to it today. The FAA investigating officers obtained relevant information from official correspondence, which, fortunately, no one even thought of clearing it up. What other "skeletons" can be hidden in the "cabinets" of Boeing?

The result is a situation in which the federal regulatory authorities “deal” with the aircraft manufacturer not only in all severity, but showing partiality far beyond this limit. As a result, enormous fines are poured on the corporation, as if on an amateur fast drive, caught at the public harassment of the beloved wife of the head of the traffic police. Not so long ago, another 5.4 million dollars were “hung” on them for new potential problems with flaps revealed in the same ill-fated 737 MAX. Something there could go wrong, causing injuries to passengers and emergency situations during landing. However, this is still “flowers” ​​in comparison with what the testers managed to “dig up”, for the hundred thousandth time checking the liner software, which caused two terrifying disasters. They found violations of the monitoring function of this software itself, because of which not all control functions of the system worked properly. What such an “jamb” will result in for the aircraft manufacturer, no one even today can even speculate. After all, it was precisely the corporation’s excessively free circulation with the main computer systems 737 MAX that became the talk of the town, which today allows many to question its ability to ensure the safety of flights of its own production machines as such. A very significant moment - I did not have time to go through the world media news about the crash of the UIA passenger liner in Iran, as the shares of the corporation collapsed immediately by 2%. Not a word has yet been said about the causes of the accident, but the words "disaster" and Boeing, spoken simultaneously, immediately provoked a predictable reaction.

As a result of all this, the US government today faces an extremely difficult choice. On the one hand, the further the investigation of all the causes and circumstances that led to unprecedented air crashes in 2018 and 2019 is moving forward, the more obvious it becomes the fault of what happened precisely to the top management of Boeing, in pursuit of superprofits that frankly did not give a damn about people's lives and acted on the principle: “Maybe it’ll blow!” Not carried. And now I have to answer. The drama of the situation is added by the fact that the story of the 737MAX, more than a thick shadow, is cast on the reputation of the US Federal Aviation Administration. The actions of its employees, who, through their fingers, once looked at rather peculiar actions of the corporation during the certification of this model, suggest at least monstrous gouging and frivolity. If not for something much worse ... FAA experts and inspectors are naturally atrocious today, perhaps not so much because of fears that new accidents will happen, but to save the honor of their uniform. And they will most likely do it exactly up to the moment when the “Postpone!” Command It will sound from the very top. Only then can they be firmly convinced that they themselves will not take up next. And if you “untwist” everything that happened to the end, then, most likely, from the business reputation of Boeing in the end there will be no stone unturned. But, on the other hand, this will mean for the United States such a tsunami of problems in the economy and social sphere that nobody needs in Washington. In particular, to Donald Trump on the eve of either impeachment, or an attempt to be re-elected for a second term. Most likely, the Americans will do everything to save the company, which is one of the national symbols. Save at all costs, regardless of any scandals and incriminating evidence.
Photos used: Aka The Beavh / flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 20 January 2020 14: 14
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Volkswagen was charged a fine of $ 4 billion for falsifying exhaust emission analysis results. Although no one died from this.
    Boeing falsified certification results, and no one pings him with billions of fines. Despite several hundred corpses.
    1. T. Henks Offline
      T. Henks (Igor) 20 January 2020 17: 08
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      The corpses are not American. America is not sorry for such kindness. A fine folksydeychi paid to the treasury of America.
      1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
        Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 21 January 2020 10: 05
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Quote: T. Henks
        A fine folksydeychi paid to the treasury of America.

        Well, Germany could replenish its treasury. That way a couple of trillions, given the losses of German carriers. In case of non-payment, by his own court close the European sky for all Boeings.
  2. bobba94 Offline
    bobba94 (Vladimir) 20 January 2020 21: 38
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    They’re strange, they’re all human, not human, they only torture themselves ..... the Minister of Finance regrets Boeing and complains that the treasury will lose a lot of money, and the Federal Aviation Administration, on the contrary, does not spare at all carries the Boeing in the tail and mane. How good it is with us .... we have a vertical, since lumin is said, that means lumin for everyone, from the prime minister to the college assessor at the Ministry of Public Utilities.
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 21 January 2020 09: 14
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Well, that's right.
    Despite the "BOEING" - America presses it. Forces check and double-check. Late in the afternoon, but even so. 2 aircraft out of only 6 hundred, it seems, died in several years of flight? (compare with superjet)
    - Compare with the state-owned Gazprom, which concluded something, refused, and now it pays and delivers gas.

    Moreover, besides the 737 MAX, and civil aviation in general, Boeing has a lot of things. Will come up.

    A half percent of GDP ??
    So our reassignment of the director of Rosstat is more influential ...
  4. 123 Online
    123 (123) 21 January 2020 22: 31
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Something vague doubts torment me, in general, I doubt Trump’s desire to save the Boeing, if you dig a little deeper, it will probably turn out that the owners of the Boeing (and possibly its largest suppliers) are clearly not his supporters, but rather, on the contrary, active . General Electric, for example, is on the list of the largest party sponsor companies. In the midterm elections, he sponsored a Democratic candidate (link p. 109)

    http://www.minchenko.ru/netcat_files/File/US_midterms(1).pdf

    and in general is a long-time sponsor of the Democratic Party. In general, I do not exclude that these are consequences of the internal political struggle, they say, elections are coming soon ....

Тяжелый выбор для США: Boeing – «казнить нельзя помиловать»


Наблюдая за действиями властей Соединенных Штатов в отношении авиастроительного гиганта Boeing, поневоле вспоминаешь библейскую цитату о левой руке, которая не знает, что делает правая. В данной ситуации «руки» федеральных служб и органов США, похоже, действуют не то что вразнобой, а вопреки друг другу. Министерство финансов в лице своего главы Стивена Мнучина бьет тревогу: в случае не то что краха Boeing, а усугубления имеющихся сегодня у корпорации проблем, страну ждет падение ВВП в неслабом объеме.


В то же самое время Федеральное авиационное управление США (FAA) продолжает разносить в пух и прах деловую репутацию концерна, находя все новые и новые недочеты, недоработки и «проблемные места» в его продукции. При этом надежды на то, что ставшая причиной нынешних бед производителей авиалайнеров модель 737 МАХ когда-нибудь вернется в воздух, становятся все более призрачными, превращая для Boeing мрачные перспективы в просто катастрофические.

«Эффект домино»


Кто-то может решить, что глава американского Минфина, сокрушавшийся по поводу того, что одни только прошлогодние неурядицы с Boeing 737 МАХ уже обошлись стране в полпроцента годового ВВП, несколько преувеличил остроту вопроса или, как это водится у госчиновников такого уровня, сгустил краски. Ничего подобного! Для того, чтобы понять всю важность авиастроительной корпорации для Соединенных Штатов, следует вникнуть в то, насколько серьезно она «встроена» в тамошние глобальные производственные и финансовые цепочки. И, кстати говоря, далеко не только тамошние! Рискну напомнить некоторые едва ли не общеизвестные вещи: двигатели, устанавливаемые на самолетах Boeing, являются продукцией другого промышленного гиганта, корпорации General Electric, которая производит их совместно с французской компанией Safran. United Technologies Corp., Honeywell International – компании с оборотом в десятки миллиардов долларов в год. Hexcel Corp. Woodward Inc. – фирмы поскромнее. Их объемы продаж «всего-то» превышают пару миллиардов долларов. Что их объединяет? Практически все, что они производят, уходит на заводы Boeing. Затяжное «пике» авиастроителей уже выходит их «смежникам» боком. Так, о больших проблемах заявляет компания Spirit Aerosystems. Казалось бы, солидное предприятие с продажами на 7 миллиардов долларов в год. Вот только 80% ее продукции затребована исключительно по указанному выше адресу. На сегодня на складах предприятия «зависли» запасные части и комплектующие к более, чем 100 лайнерам Boeing, вынужденного остановить конвейеры, с которых до нынешнего времени сходили 737 МАХ.

Результат более, чем закономерен – Spirit Aerosystems приходится увольнять около 3 тысяч сотрудников своего завода в Канзасе. На очереди – аналогичные сокращения в Оклахоме. В руководстве уверяют: временно. Однако все прекрасно понимают, что время это может растянуться на неопределенно долгий срок. Вот вам всего один пример... Более того, не стоит забывать, что многие предприятия авиационной отрасли являются, без преувеличения, градообразующими, а то и «тащащими» на себе экономику целых округов. Ведь все они тоже имеют своих поставщиков, пользуются логистическими услугами, а также «подкармливают» местных финансистов, страховщиков, маркетологов и многих прочих. Вдобавок – это все еще и налогоплательщики, исправно и добросовестно пополняющие бюджет США. Остановившиеся в Сиэтле цеха по выпуску 737 МАХ уже вызвали в стране неслабый «эффект домино». О том, что может случиться, если рухнет вся корпорация, страшно подумать. Только во втором квартале снижение продаж их лайнеров и комплектующих к таковым «положило» общий объем экспорта США на 7.5%. Ведь в прошлом году Boeing получил заказы всего на 246 машин всех видов и типов, что стало результатом, минимальным с 2003 года. От 200 737 МАХ его заказчики уже отказались – кому нужен лайнер, полеты которого находятся под запретом? В свете этого совершенно неудивительно, что новоназначенному главе корпорации Дэвиду Калхуну, заработная плата которого составляет около полутора миллионов долларов в год, уже обещано бонусное вознаграждение в 7 миллионов, если он умудрится вернуть 737 МАХ в небо. Приз, конечно, более, чем заманчивый, однако удастся ли добиться поставленной задачи Калхуну либо кому-то еще – очень большой вопрос.

«Клоуны под руководством обезьян...»


Данный восхитительный пассаж – это цитата из внутренней переписки сотрудников Boeing, обсуждавших как раз новый лайнер – 737 МАХ. По их мнению, назвать машину удачной было проблематично изначально. Именно ее один из сотрудников и назвал самолетом, который был спроектирован тружениками манежа под чутким руководством обожающих бананы приматов. Надо сказать, что выражение «Язык мой – враг мой», угодившей «под раздачу» корпорации в случае, если она переживет нынешние тяжкие времена, стоило бы отлить в бронзе и поместить над входом в каждый из собственных офисов. Ну, как минимум, развесить по кабинетам в виде ярких плакатов для персонала. Именно в их общении сотрудники Федерального авиационного управления США нашли, воистину, кладезь не просто компрометирующей, а вопиюще скандальной информации о деятельности компании. К примеру, выяснился просто шокирующий факт: оказывается, еще в 2017 году к Boeing обращалась одна из авиакомпаний, просившая организовать обучение пилотов, которым предстоит летать на недавно приобретенных ею 737 МАХ. В корпорации не нашли ничего лучше, как «отфутболить» этот запрос из-за «высокой стоимости и трудозатратности», вдобавок обозвав представителей авиаперевозчика «глупцами» и «идиотами». Все бы ничего, вот только речь идет о компании Lion Air, лайнер которой в октябре 2018 года рухнул в Яванское море, открыв страшный счет смертельным авариям 737 МАХ, убивающим сегодня породившую его корпорацию. Соответствующую информацию проводящие расследование сотрудники FAA выудили из служебной переписки, которую, к счастью, никто даже не додумался подчистить. Какие еще «скелеты» могут скрываться в «шкафах» Boeing?

В результате складывается ситуация, при которой федеральные контролирующие органы «разбираются» с авиапроизводителем не то что по всей строгости, а проявляя пристрастность далеко сверх этого предела. В результате громадные штрафы сыплются на корпорацию, словно на любителя быстрой езды, попавшегося на публичном приставании к любимой супруге начальника ГИБДД. Не так давно на них «повесили» очередные 5.4 миллиона долларов за выявленные во все том же злосчастном 737 МАХ новые потенциальные проблемы с закрылками. Что-то там могло пойти не так, вызвав травмы пассажиров и нештатные ситуации при посадке. Впрочем, это еще «цветочки» в сравнении с тем, что проверяющим удалось «накопать», в стотысячный раз проверяя ставшее причиной двух ужасающих катастроф программное обеспечение лайнера. Ими были обнаружены нарушения функции мониторинга этого самого ПО, из-за которых не все контрольные функции системы работали должным образом. Во что авиапроизводителю выльется такой «косяк», никто сегодня даже и предполагать не берется. Ведь именно чрезмерно вольное обращение корпорации с основными компьютерными бортовыми системами 737 МАХ, и стало притчей во языцех, позволяющей сегодня многим ставить под вопрос ее способность обеспечить безопасность полетов машин собственного производства как таковую. Весьма показательный момент – не успела в мировых СМИ пройти новость о крушении пассажирского лайнера МАУ в Иране, как акции корпорации обрушились сразу на 2%. Ни слова еще не было сказано о причинах аварии, но слова «катастрофа» и Boeing, прозвучавшие одновременно, немедленно вызвали вполне предсказуемую реакцию.

В результате всего этого, власти США сегодня стоят перед крайне непростым выбором. С одной стороны, чем дальше продвигается расследование всех причин и обстоятельств, приведших к беспрецедентным авиакатастрофам в 2018 и 2019 годах, тем более очевидной становится вина в случившемся именно топ-менеджмента Boeing, в погоне за сверхприбылями откровенно наплевавшего на жизни людей и действовавшего по принципу: «авось, пронесет!» Не пронесло. И вот теперь приходится отвечать. Драматизма ситуации прибавляет то, что историей с 737МАХ, более, чем густая тень, брошена и на репутацию Федерального авиационного управления США. Действия его сотрудников, сквозь пальцы в свое время смотревших на достаточно своеобразные действия корпорации при сертификации этой модели, наводят на мысль, как минимум, о чудовищном раздолбайстве и легкомыслии. Если не о кое-чем гораздо похуже... Эксперты и инспекторы FAA сегодня натуральным образом зверствуют, возможно, не столько из-за опасения за то, что случатся новые аварии, а ради спасения чести собственного мундира. И будут, скорее всего, делать это ровно до того момента, пока команда «Отставить!» прозвучит с самых что ни на есть «верхов». Только тогда они смогут быть твердо уверены в том, что следом не возьмутся уже за них самих. И если «раскручивать» все случившееся до конца, то, скорее всего, от деловой репутации Boeing в конце концов не останется камня на камне. Но, с другой стороны – это будет означать для Соединенных Штатов такое цунами проблем в экономике и социальной сфере, которое не нужно в Вашингтоне никому. В особенности – Дональду Трампу накануне то ли импичмента, то ли попытки переизбраться на второй срок. Скорее всего, американцы сделают все, чтобы спасти компанию, являющуюся одним из национальных символов. Спасти любой ценой, невзирая ни на какие скандалы и компроматы.
Использованы фотографии: Aka The Beavh/flickr.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 20 января 2020 14:14
    +3
    • 4
    • 1
    Фольксвагену вменили штраф в 4 млрд долларов за фальсификацию результатов анализа выбросов выхлопной трубы. Хотя от этого никто не умер.
    Боинг сфальсифицировал результаты сертификации, и никто к нему с миллиардными штрафами не пристаёт. Несмотря на несколько сотен трупов.
    1. T. Henks Офлайн
      T. Henks (Игорь) 20 января 2020 17:08
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      Трупы не американские. Такого добра Америке не жалко. А штраф фольксыдойчи в казну Америки платили.
      1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
        Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 21 января 2020 10:05
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Цитата: T. Henks
        А штраф фольксыдойчи в казну Америки платили.

        Ну, а Германия могла свою казну пополнить. Этак на пару триллионов, учитывая убытки германских авиаперевозчиков. В случае неуплаты - своим судом закрыть для всех Боингов европейское небо.
  2. bobba94 Офлайн
    bobba94 (владимир) 20 января 2020 21:38
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Странные они какие-то, все у них не по-человечески, не по-людски, мучают себя только.....министр финансов жалеет Боинг и сетует, что казна потеряет много денег, а Федеральное авиационное управление наоборот, ничуть не жалеет и разносит Боинг в хвост и гриву. Как хорошо у нас.... у нас вертикаль, коль сказано люминь, значит для всех люминь, от премьера до коллежского асессора в Министерстве коммунально хозяйства.
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 21 января 2020 09:14
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Ну так все верно.
    Несмотря что "БОИНГ" - Америка его прессует. Заставляет проверять и перепроверять. Поздновато спохватились, но хоть так. 2 самолета всего из 6 сотен, вроде, погибло за несколько лет полетов? (сравните с суперджетом),
    - Сравните с гос-ГАзпромом, который что-то назаключал, наотказывался, а теперь и платит, и газ поставляет.

    Тем более, что, кроме 737 МАХ, и вообще гражданской авиации, у Боинга куча всего есть. Выплывет.

    А пол-процента ВВП??
    Так у нас переназначение директора Росстата больше влияет...
  4. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 21 января 2020 22:31
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Что-то меня терзают смутные сомнения, в общем, сомневаюсь в желании Трампа спасать Боинг, если копнуть поглубже, наверняка выяснится, что владельцы Боинга (а возможно, и его крупнейшие поставщики) явно не его сторонники, а скорее наоборот, к тому же активные. General Electric, например, в списке крупнейших компаний спонсоров партий. На промежуточных выборах спонсировал кандидата от демократов (по ссылке стр.109)

    http://www.minchenko.ru/netcat_files/File/US_midterms(1).pdf

    и вообще является давним спонсором Демократической партии. В общем, не исключаю, что это последствия внутренней политической борьбы, говорят, скоро выборы....