NASA has decided not to abandon the Unions


Despite the numerous statements by Elon Musk about the capabilities of the American reusable manned spacecraft Crew Dragon, NASA does not refuse places for its astronauts on Russian Soyuz spacecraft.


This was during a press conference, which was broadcast on the website of the US space department, said its head Jim Bidenstein.

Moreover, he noted that even the successful test of SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft could not cause the Russian Soyuz to refuse to deliver American astronauts to the ISS:

Even with the confidence in our team that we are experiencing, I think it would be unwise to go that route. I consider it important to expand the range of opportunities available to us and to ensure a further American presence on the International Space Station. We are not ready to make any adjustments on this front.

The head of NASA also emphasized that when Crew Dragon is ready for a manned flight, then in terrestrial orbit he can engage in "additional activities that are not yet planned, but may be required depending on what is happening on the ISS."

Judging by the statement by Brydenstein, Space X Ilona Mask is not yet ready to launch the Crew Dragon with a man on board, while the Russian Soyuz have long established themselves as reliable and safe ships.
Photos used: https://www.pikrepo.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Online
    123 (123) 21 January 2020 08: 59
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the absence of prudence, it is difficult to blame the head of NASA. The ship is still raw. They are not going to risk the life of astronauts, for the sake of striving to get rid of "dependence" on foreign carriers at any cost. A year is still flying at the Unions, and by then the ship will be brought to mind.
    1. cmonman Offline
      cmonman (Garik Mokin) 22 January 2020 03: 10
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      The ship is still raw. They are not going to risk the life of astronauts, for the sake of striving to get rid of "dependence" on foreign carriers at any cost.

      I think that NASA comes from a situation where it is better to “overdo” than “not overdo”.
      Today news from NASA:

      A successful test in space of the Crew Dragon spacecraft on January 19 in space increases the likelihood that this spring the spacecraft will be ready for a test flight with a crew called Demo-2. At a press conference, SpaceX chief executive Elon Musk said it was "likely" that the flight would take place in the second quarter of this year.
      On a Demo-2 flight, NASA astronauts Bob Benken and Dag Hurley will fly on a Dragon crew to the ISS. This was originally conceived as a short-term mission, of the order of a couple of weeks, but NASA leaves the door open to extend this mission indefinitely.

      “Do we want this first mission to be short, or do we want it to be longer?” Said NASA administrator Jim Bridenstein at the briefing immediately after Musk offered his assessment of when the mission would be ready to fly. According to him, if NASA decides to extend the Demo-2 mission, astronauts will need additional preparation for operations on the ISS, which will delay the launch.
      The current plan, he said later, is to keep Demo-2 as a short-term mission. But expanding the mission, he said, will allow NASA to get “maximum power” from the station. “We will be able to maintain a greater presence of astronauts at the space station for longer periods of time.”

      According to Bridenstein, the decision to expand Demo-2 will be made in the near future. “These are the decisions that we will make in the coming weeks,” he said.
      1. 123 Online
        123 (123) 22 January 2020 07: 45
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        I think that NASA comes from a situation where it is better to “overdo” than “not overdo”.

        And this is about the same, only in other words.

        A successful test in space of the Crew Dragon spacecraft on January 19 in space increases the likelihood that this spring the spacecraft will be ready for a test flight with a crew called Demo-2.

        Tested the rescue capsule. It seems to have worked normally. Check. Musk is full of optimism, tuned for a manned flight in the 2nd quarter. NASA representative is more cautious in the forecasts (in the video the 40th minute). So far, they are not going to refuse from UNIONS.

НАСА решило не отказываться от Союзов


Несмотря на многочисленные заявления Илона Маска о возможностях американского многоразового пилотируемого корабля Crew Dragon, NASA не отказывается от мест для своих космонавтов на российских кораблях «Союз».


Об этом во время пресс-конференции, трансляция которой велась на сайте космического ведомства США, заявил его руководитель Джим Брайденстайн.

Более того, он отметил, что даже успешное испытание космического корабля Crew Dragon компании SpaceX не может стать причиной отказа от доставки американских астронавтов на МКС российскими «Союзами»:

Даже при той уверенности в нашей команде, которую мы испытываем, я думаю, что будет неразумно пойти таким путем. Я считаю важным наращивать спектр имеющихся у нас возможностей и обеспечивать дальнейшее американское присутствие на Международной космической станции. Мы не готовы делать какие-либо корректировки на этом фронте.

Глава NASA также подчеркнул, что когда Crew Dragon будет готов к осуществлению пилотируемого полета, то на земной орбите он может заняться «дополнительной деятельностью, которая пока не запланирована, но может потребоваться в зависимости от происходящего на МКС».

Судя по заявлению Брайденстайна, компания Space X Илона Маска еще не готова к осуществлению запуска Crew Dragon с человеком на борту, в то время как российские «Союзы» уже давно зарекомендовали себя как надежные и безопасные корабли.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.pikrepo.com/
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 21 января 2020 08:59
    +1
    В отсутствии благоразумия главу НАSA обвинить сложно. Корабль еще сырой. Рисковать жизнью астронавтов, ради стремления любой ценой избавиться от "зависимости" от иностранных перевозчиков не собираются. Годик еще на Союзах полетают, а к тому времени корабль доведут до ума.
    1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
      cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 22 января 2020 03:10
      0
      Корабль еще сырой. Рисковать жизнью астронавтов, ради стремления любой ценой избавиться от "зависимости" от иностранных перевозчиков не собираются.

      Я думаю, что НАСА исходит из ситуации, когда лучше “перебдеть“, чем “недобдеть”.
      Сегодня новости от НАСА:

      Успешное испытание в космосе космического корабля Crew Dragon 19 января в космосе повышает вероятность того, что весной этого года космический корабль будет готов к испытательному полету с экипажем, который называется Demo-2. На пресс-конференции исполнительный директор SpaceX Элон Маск заявил, что «вероятно», что полет состоится во втором квартале этого года.
      На полете Demo-2 астронавты НАСА Боб Бенкен и Даг Херли полетят на экипаже «Дракон» к МКС. Первоначально это было задумано как краткосрочная миссия, порядка пары недель, но НАСА оставляет дверь открытой для продления этой миссии на неопределенное время.

      «Хотим ли мы, чтобы эта первая миссия была короткой, или мы хотим, чтобы она была более продолжительной?», - сказал на брифинге администратор НАСА Джим Бриденстайн сразу после того, как Маск предложил свою оценку того, когда миссия будет готова к полету. По его словам, если НАСА решит продлить миссию «Демо-2», астронавтам потребуется дополнительная подготовка к операциям на МКС, что отодвинет запуск.
      Нынешний план, сказал он позже, состоит в том, чтобы сохранить Demo-2 в качестве краткосрочной миссии. Но расширение миссии, по его словам, позволит НАСА получить «максимальную мощность» из станции. «Мы сможем поддерживать большее присутствие космонавтов на космической станции в течение более длительных периодов времени».

      По словам Бриденстайна, решение о расширении Demo-2 будет принято в ближайшее время. «Это решения, которые мы будем принимать в ближайшие недели», - сказал он.
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 22 января 2020 07:45
        +1
        Я думаю, что НАСА исходит из ситуации, когда лучше “перебдеть“, чем “недобдеть”.

        А это примерно то же самое, только другими словами.

        Успешное испытание в космосе космического корабля Crew Dragon 19 января в космосе повышает вероятность того, что весной этого года космический корабль будет готов к испытательному полету с экипажем, который называется Demo-2.

        Испытали спасательную капсулу. Вроде бы, отработала штатно. Проверяют. Маск полон оптимизма, настроен на пилотируемый полет во 2 квартале. Представитель НАСА более осторожен в прогнозах (на видео 40-я минута). От СОЮЗов пока отказываться не собираются.