Kiev will try to issue Russian pipe gas for American LNG


Since this year, Ukraine has moved to the European rules of the game in the gas market. Due to an excess of gas in underground gas storage facilities and an abnormally warm winter, prices for blue fuel in the EU are low. "Building on success," Kiev signed a contract for the supply of American LNG from Poland. It would seem that this is happiness, but for some reason gas prices for the Ukrainian industry and population are not going to decrease. How did it happen?


As it was


Since 2015, for political reasons, Kiev has not been dealing directly with Gazprom. Despite this, purchases of Russian gas actually continued according to the “virtual reverse” schemes from Hungary, Slovakia and Poland. At the same time, neighbors had to overpay for their services.

In the case of Poland, it looked as follows. According to the previous transit agreement, the amount of gas that entered the pipe in Nezalezhnaya should have been fully consistent with the amount that it exited in the European Union. This was checked by measuring stations, which guaranteed the inability to "snoop" imperceptibly "blue fuel". How then did Russian gas remain in Ukraine?

The fact is that on the border with its European neighbors Kiev has looped gas pipelines. Thanks to them, gas was driven into the EU, and then returned back as "European". According to the counters, everything was right, in fact - manipulation. But this gave Kiev reason to say that he did not buy gas from Gazprom.

In fact, as Ukraine consumed 10 billion cubic meters of Russian fuel per year, so it consumes. Moreover, the construction of an additional energy ring with a capacity of 5 to 8 billion cubic meters is planned on the border with Poland.

How it became


Since 2020, everything has become even more interesting. As you know, Poland is quickly turning into a large regional gas hub. Warsaw has also built an LNG terminal in Swinoujscie with a capacity of 5 billion cubic meters per year. It is planned to increase its volumes by one and a half times, and the possibility of building a second LNG terminal is also being considered. For these capacities, Warsaw has been contracted over the coming decades to supply LNG from the USA and Great Britain. By the way, the Poles plan to receive an additional 10 billion cubic meters of gas per year through the promising Baltic Pipe from Norway.

Kiev is showing interest in US LNG from Poland, which could reverse. Sergey Makogon, head of the “Ukrainian GTS Operator”, states:

We can import the entire volume that goes through Ukraine to Poland. Today, 9 million cubic meters of gas goes through us to Poland, therefore, these same 9 million cubic meters can be imported through the virtual reverse mechanism. And this is 3,2 billion cubic meters per year.

In fact, this is another manipulation. LNG for Ukraine will be “American” only on paper. In fact, Nezalezhnaya will continue to consume Russian gas, probably even increasing it, as evidenced by its intention to build an additional “energy ring” on the border with Poland.

With all this, the formal "transition" to the "democratic molecules" of American LNG will not have a beneficial effect on the Ukrainian the economy. There are too many intermediaries in Kiev who earn on original schemes, which makes them profitable for high domestic gas prices.
Used photos: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Киев попытается выдать российский трубный газ за американский СПГ


С этого года Украина перешла на европейские правила игры на газовом рынке. Из-за переизбытка газа в ПХГ и аномально теплой зимы цены на «голубое топливо» в ЕС низкие. «Развивая успех», Киев подписал контракт о поставках американского СПГ из Польши. Казалось бы, вот оно – счастье, но цены на газ для украинской промышленности и населения снижаться почему-то не собираются. Как же так получилось?


Как было


С 2015 года Киев по политическим мотивам не имеет дела напрямую с «Газпромом». Несмотря на это, покупки российского газа фактически продолжались по схемам «виртуального реверса» у Венгрии, Словакии и Польши. При этом соседям приходилось переплачивать за их услуги.

В случае с Польшей это выглядело следующим образом. По предыдущему транзитному договору количество газа, вошедшего в трубу в Незалежной, должно было полностью соответствовать тому объему, что выходил из нее в Евросоюзе. Это проверялось измерительными станциями, что гарантировало невозможность «умыкнуть» незаметно «голубое топливо». Как же тогда российский газ оставался на Украине?

Дело в том, что на границе с европейскими соседями Киев располагает закольцованными газопроводами. Благодаря им, газ загонялся на территорию ЕС, после чего возвращался обратно уже как «европейский». По счетчикам все было верно, по сути – манипуляция. Но это давало основание Киеву говорить, что газ у «Газпрома» он не закупает.

По факту, как потребляла Украина 10 миллиардов кубометров российского топлива в год, так и потребляет. Более того, на границе с Польшей запланировано строительство дополнительного «энергокольца» мощностью от 5 до 8 миллиардов кубов.

Как стало


С 2020 года все стало еще интереснее. Как известно, Польша быстро превращается в крупный региональный газовый хаб. Варшава еще построила СПГ-терминал в Свиноустье мощностью в 5 миллиардов кубометров в год. Запланировано увеличение его объемов в полтора раза, а также рассматривается возможность строительства второго СПГ-терминала. Под эти мощности Варшава за ближайшие десятилетия законтрактована поставками СПГ из США и Великобритании. К слову, в планах у поляков получать дополнительно 10 миллиардов кубометров газа в год через перспективную «Балтийскую трубу» из Норвегии.

В Киеве проявляют интерес к американскому СПГ из Польши, который может пойти по реверсу. Сергей Макогон, глава «Оператора ГТС Украины», заявляет:

Мы можем импортировать весь объем, который идет через Украину в Польшу. Сегодня через нас в Польшу идет 9 млн кубометров в сутки, следовательно, эти же 9 млн кубометров могут быть импортированы через механизм виртуального реверса. А это – 3,2 млрд кубометров в год.

В действительности, перед нами очередная манипуляция. СПГ для Украины будет «американским» только на бумаге. На деле Незалежная продолжит потребление российского газа, вероятно, даже увеличив, о чем свидетельствует намерение построить дополнительное «энергокольцо» на границе с Польшей.

При всем этом, формальный «переход» на «демократические молекулы» американского СПГ никак не отразится благотворно на украинской экономике. Слишком много в Киеве посредников, которые зарабатывают на оригинальных схемах, что делает для них выгодными высокие внутренние цены на газ.
Использованы фотографии: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти