The British about life in Russia, the enmity of Russian and Anglo-Saxons, and sobering


Russia and Great Britain are two former world empires that traditionally competed with each other in Europe. It is believed that the British and Russians can not stand each other. Is this really so, and what a subject of Her Majesty saw our country, told the portal Ru_Open British actor, producer and translator Tobin Oder.


Interest in Russia


How can an ordinary Englishman have a strange, at first glance, desire to live in Russia? Tobin explains that Russian literature “led us” by the hand. As a child, he read a lot of Tolstoy, Gogol and Dostoevsky. At first in translation, and then decided to study Russian and read in the original. In particular, he mastered Anna Karenina on the great and powerful several times already. However, in the year that he took himself to study the Russian language, he did not meet his needs, because for twenty years he has been living and working in Russia.

Communal horrors


Upon arrival, the Briton was in Russia of the sample of the nineties. He had to live in a communal apartment with several people, and it was hardcore. He rented a room with a family consisting of a mother and daughter, and so he had to move to a closet, where they huddled together. The gallant Englishman suggested that they switch places, but they refused. Even in this communal apartment in a separate room there lived some granny who hated everyone, and there was a continuous war between neighbors. According to Tobin, it was a real school of Russian life.

It is noteworthy that something similar is predicted in the traditionally richer countries of the West, for example, in the USA. Many people are getting poorer and can no longer afford separate housing. They organize "cooperatives" for joint renting and living.

Detoxification


This is another Russian chip, which the Englishman was forced to meet in due time. There is nothing like this in the West, so getting into it was a big surprise for Tobin. Once he was drinking at a friend’s party, and woke up in a sobering-up station, not remembering how he found himself there. Subsequently, he found out that he was drunk with a friend in the yard, and police officers drove up to him. Tobin tried to hit them (!), But instead of shooting him, as the brave American cops are supposed to, they drove him to oversleep.

At the same time, nobody beat him half to death, although he had to be dragged away from the police with the help of a friend. “Sobering services” and valuable experience cost him 73 rubles; he keeps the receipt to this day.

About Russians


Tobin calls our compatriots "forest people" because of their tightness. So, in England it is customary for everyone to smile and say hello, and in Russia this is considered "cretinism":

It seems to me that the Russians are forest people, suddenly someone appears, and you are in the forest, sandwiched people. If you are not a forest man, then seeing how a man is approaching you, you are preparing to say “hello”. This is my theory.

What do you like in Russia


Literature. It was she who brought the Englishman to Russia. He especially emphasizes "Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk", where he saw not only drama, but also sex.

Music. Among domestic pops, the British prefers the Tatu group, which at one time was No. 1 in England and Japan. It was a tremendous international success.

Russian proverbs and sayings, among which the beloved "Work is not a wolf, will not run away into the forest."

Central heating. In Russia, even at minus 30 and minus 40 it is warm in apartments. In the UK, it is cold in houses and apartments; drafts are walking along them. Accustomed in Russia to walk at home without shoes, visiting his parents on the island, he had to wear shoes again in winter.

What do not like in Russia


Tobin does not like our non-punctuality, which he himself contracted. If the Englishman is 10 minutes late for the meeting, it means that he was hit by a car, or something else serious happened. The Russians, in his opinion, are calmer.

The feud of Russians and Anglo-Saxons


There is a myth that the discord between Russia and Britain began after Queen Elizabeth I rejected the proposal for marriage from the Russian Tsar Ivan the Terrible. True, she refused to everyone, earning her the nickname “virgin queen,” and she was under fifty at the time of the match.

Tobin has a humorous attitude towards this version, rightly believing that the reason for the enmity between the two empires was the discrepancy between their national interests. When they coincided, for example, in the Patriotic War of 1812, World War II, the Russians and the British interacted very effectively.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 5 February 2020 07: 15
    +2
    Interpersonal relationships are not at all the same as the global confrontation of different systems. Tell us better why, after a career as a Russophobe, representatives of the same retired Britain, almost all of them suddenly begin to see the light and start talking about "peace, friendship, chewing gum"?
    1. boriz Offline boriz
      boriz (boriz) 29 March 2020 18: 41
      +2
      Not always "after". Both Boris Johnson (when he was mayor of London) and Frederica Mogherini (when she was the Italian Foreign Ministry) spoke quite sane things about relations with Russia. But as soon as they reached the next level, they were told what to say and do. And the repertoire has changed radically.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 February 2020 09: 13
    +3
    For the same reason that children of ardent patriots and anger haters go to English schools ....
    And the oligarchs are suing for Norilsk Nickel in London ...
  3. Yes, our cops for a drunken man forgive a lot! A drunkard is a man of God!
    1. art573 Offline art573
      art573 (Artyom Vladimirovich Yarovikov) 8 February 2020 01: 40
      0
      Now detoxification will open again. Just how will they arrange people without finance? Due to the municipal budget?
      1. And you have to!
  4. Regis Offline Regis
    Regis (Sergey Kopan) 3 March 2020 10: 40
    +2
    Well, yes, smile, because you are not a sincere Anglo-Saxon or Russian, not a very smart copycat. And hostility began when England began to poison Russian tsars, like rats, and climb into the government, that's all.
  5. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 29 March 2020 18: 36
    +1
    Tobin has a humorous attitude towards this version, rightly believing that the reason - the enmity between the two empires - was the mismatch of their national interests. When they coincided, for example, in the Patriotic War of 1812, World War II, ...

    A strange understanding of history and geopolitics.
    From the point of view of Russia's interests, neither these wars, nor the WWI, Russia had to get involved categorically. From the word "absolutely".
    And the feud began after their Moscow company wanted too many preferences in trade through the territory of Russia (in general, they did not want to pay any taxes), and Ivan Vasilyevich threw them out of Russia. As a result, the British poisoned him.
    The British company transformed the British company into the East India. Looking at the style and results of the work of this company (only two Opium wars are worth it), you understand how right Ivan Vasilievich was.

Британец о жизни в России, вражде русских и англосаксов, и вытрезвителях


Россия и Великобритания – две бывшие мировые империи, традиционно соперничавшие друг с другом в Европе. Считается, что англичане и русские терпеть не могут друг друга. Так ли это на самом деле, и какой увидел нашу страну подданный Ее Величества, рассказал порталу Ru_Open британский актер, продюсер и переводчик Тобин Одер.


Интерес к России


Откуда у обычного англичанина может появиться странное на первый взгляд желание жить в России? Тобин объясняет, что его к нам «за руку привела» русская литература. В детстве он много читал Толстого, Гоголя и Достоевского. Вначале в переводе, а потом решил изучить русский и прочитать в оригинале. В частности, «Анну Каренину» он осилил на великом и могучем уже несколько раз. Однако за год, который он отвел себе на изучение русского языка, он не уложился, потому уже двадцать лет живет и работает в России.

Коммунальные ужасы


По приезду, британец оказался в России образца девяностых годов. Ему пришлось жить в коммунальной квартире с несколькими людьми, и это был хардкор. Он снимал комнату у семьи, состоящей из матери и дочери, и тем пришлось переселиться в чулан, где они ютились вдвоем. Галантный англичанин предлагал им поменяться местами, но те отказались. Еще в этой коммуналке в отдельной комнате жила какая-то бабулька, которая всех ненавидела, и между соседями непрерывно шла война. По словам Тобина, это была настоящая школа русской жизни.

Примечательно то, что нечто подобное прогнозируется и в традиционно более богатых странах Запада, например, в США. Многие люди беднеют и более не могут себе позволить отдельное жилье. Они организовывают «кооперативы» для совместного съема и проживания.

Вытрезвители


Это еще одна российская фишка, с которой был вынужден в свое время познакомиться англичанин. Ничего подобного на Западе нет, поэтому попадание в него стало для Тобина большим сюрпризом. Как-то он выпивал в гостях у друга, а проснулся в медвытрезвителе, не помня, как там очутился. Впоследствии он узнал, что стоял подвыпивший с другом во дворе, а ним подъехали сотрудники милиции. Тобин попытался их ударить(!), но те, вместо того, чтобы застрелить его, как полагается бравым американским копам, отвезли его проспаться.

При этом никто его не избил до полусмерти, хотя от милиционеров его пришлось оттаскивать с помощью друга. «Вытрезвительные услуги» и ценный опыт обошлись ему в 73 рубля, квитанцию он хранит по сей день.

О русских


Наших соотечественников Тобин называет «лесными людьми» из-за их зажатости. Так, в Англии принято всем улыбаться и здороваться, а в России это считается «кретинизмом»:

Мне кажется, что русские – лесные люди, вдруг кто-то появляется, а ты в лесу, зажатые люди. Если ты не лесной человек, то видя, как человек к тебе приближается, ты готовишься сказать «здравствуйте». Это моя теория.

Что нравится в России


Литература. Именно она привела англичанина в Россию. Особо он выделяет «Леди Макбет Мценского уезда», где он увидел не только драму, но и секс.

Музыка. Среди отечественной попсы британец предпочитает группу «Тату», которая в свое время была №1 и в Англии, и в Японии. Это был колоссальный международный успех.

Русские пословицы и поговорки, среди которых любимая «Работа не волк, в лес не убежит».

Центральное отопление. В России даже в минус 30 и в минус 40 в квартирах тепло. В Великобритании в домах и квартирах холодно, по ним гуляют сквозняки. Привыкнув в России ходить дома без обуви, в гостях у родителей на острове он зимой должен был опять обуваться.

Что не нравится в России


Не нравится Тобину наша непунктуальность, которой он и сам заразился. Если англичанин опаздывает на встречу на 10 минут, значит, его сбила машина, или случилось что-то еще серьезное. Русские, по его мнению, относятся к этому спокойнее.

Вражда русских и англосаксов


Есть миф, что разлад между Россией и Британией начался после того, как королева Елизавета Первая отвергла предложение о замужестве от русского царя Ивана Грозного. Правда, она всем отказывала, заслужив прозвище «королева-девственница», а ей на момент сватания Ивана Четвертого было под пятьдесят лет.

Тобин с юмором относится к этой версии, справедливо считая, что причина вражда между двумя империями заключалась в несовпадении их национальных интересов. Когда же они совпадали, например, в Отечественную войну 1812 года, Вторую мировую, русские и англичане весьма эффективно взаимодействовали.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.instagram.com/tobin_auber/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 5 февраля 2020 07:15
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Межличностные отношения - это совсем не то же, что глобальное противостояние разных систем. Расскажите лучше, почему после карьеры русофоба представители той же Британии на пенсии почти все вдруг прозревают и начинают говорить про "мир, дружбу, жвачку"?
    1. boriz Офлайн
      boriz (boriz) 29 марта 2020 18:41
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Не всегда "после". И Борис Джонсон (когда был мэром Лондона), и Фредерика Могерини (когда была МИД Италии) говорили об отношениях с Россией вполне вменяемые вещи. Но как только вышли на следующий уровень, им объяснили, что надо говорить и делать. И репертуар сменился радикально.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 февраля 2020 09:13
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    По той же причине, по которой дети ярых патриотов и англоненавистников учатся в английских школах....
    А олигархи судятся за НорНикель в Лондоне...
  3. Да, наши менты пьяному мэну многое прощают! Пьяница - божий человек!
    1. art573 Офлайн
      art573 (Артём Владимирович Яровиков) 8 февраля 2020 01:40
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Сейчас вытрезвители опять откроются. Только как они людей без финансов будут оформлять? За счёт муниципального бюджета?
  4. Regis Офлайн
    Regis (Сергей Копань) 3 марта 2020 10:40
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Ну да, улыбайся, ведь ты не искренний англосакс или русский, не очень умный подражатель. А вражда началась тогда, когда Англия начала травить русских царей, как крыс, и лезть в управление государства, только и всего.
  5. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 29 марта 2020 18:36
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Тобин с юмором относится к этой версии, справедливо считая, что причина - вражда между двумя империями - заключалась в несовпадении их национальных интересов. Когда же они совпадали, например, в Отечественную войну 1812 года, Вторую мировую, ...

    Странное понимание истории и геополитики.
    С точки зрения интересов России ни в эти войны, ни в ПМВ, России влезать было категорически не надо. От слова "совсем".
    А вражда началась после того, как их Московская компания захотела слишком много преференций в торговле через территорию России (вообще никаких податей платить не хотели), и Иван Васильевич их из России выкинул. В результате англичане его отравили.
    Московскую компанию англичане преобразовали в Ост-Индскую. Глядя на стиль и результаты работы этой компании (только две Опиумные войны чего стоят), понимаешь, насколько прав был Иван Васильевич.