"Win the war": the Pentagon outlined the goals of low-power nuclear weapons


The head of the Pentagon, Mark Esper, said why the US submarines are armed with low-power nuclear weapons. In his view, Washington is so “peace-loving” trying to restrain armed conflict. Indeed, thanks to the presence of such weapons, the stronghold of "democracy" can get "different opportunities."


Low-power nuclear weapons provide the president and the supreme commander with various opportunities. We always want to provide different options that allow us to contain the conflict.

- said Esper.

At the same time, he did not go into details about what kind of conflicts in question. He also did not mention any countries. He only specified the readiness of the US to “contain the conflict with any country” and “if necessary, we want to be able to win.”

It should be recalled that for some time (since September 2019), American submarines, on duty and plowing the expanses of the seas and oceans, have been equipped with modernized low-power nuclear warheads W76-2. For clarity, W76-2 is a thermonuclear weapon of reduced power. This is the version of the W76 ammunition (the initial capacity of which is 100 kilotons), which was produced in the 70-80 years of the twentieth century. Naturally, no one conducted a full-scale nuclear test of a new warhead.

W76-2 are equipped with Trident II (D5) intercontinental strategic ballistic missiles, which are located in Ohio-class nuclear submarines. According to the Americans, a limited number of missiles will be equipped with such warheads. The number of warheads, their weight and size is kept secret. It is only reported that their capacity is 5-6 kilotons.

At the same time, the Russian Foreign Ministry has previously expressed Moscow's concern about these low-power nuclear charges. Moscow believes that Washington thus "really lowers the nuclear threshold and allows itself to conduct a limited nuclear war."
  • Photos used: US Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist Seaman Adam K.Thomas / wikipedia.org
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 8 February 2020 14: 02
    0
    At the same time, the Russian Foreign Ministry has previously expressed Moscow's concern about these low-power nuclear charges. Moscow believes that Washington thus "really lowers the nuclear threshold and allows itself to conduct a limited nuclear war."

    Yes, no need to express concern! It must be said right away that any use of nuclear weapons will mean the same answer. And defiantly abandon the production of small charges.
  2. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 8 February 2020 18: 06
    +2
    If the United States believes that they will be able to launch nuclear attacks on countries with nuclear weapons with impunity, then they are mistaken ... In response, US cities will burn!
    1. Igor Pavlovich Offline Igor Pavlovich
      Igor Pavlovich (Igor Pavlovich) 8 February 2020 18: 21
      -2
      Russia may have as many nuclear suitcases as you like, but since $ 500 billion of the Russian elite lies with our banks, you still have to figure out whose elite it is. Yours or ours already.

      Zbigniew Brzezinski. The Great Chessboard. 1997 year
      1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 8 February 2020 18: 44
        +3
        The Tsar’s minister, nicknamed Prince Tsusimsky, didn’t stay in Russia for a long time ... Spit on people is a spit against the wind, and Chubaisov and Sobchak people in the Russian Federation do not consider the elite ... and Putin’s rating tends to zero ... and after of how his talk about improving the well-being of Russians turns out to be just another dummy, neither he nor his party will have anything to catch in Russia ... Putin walks in circles around the rotten Yeltsin swamp and the people in the Russian Federation are tired of this ...
      2. Oleg Rambover Offline Oleg Rambover
        Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 February 2020 15: 53
        0
        Where do you find it? In this book, the word "suitcase" does not appear even once. Although, in fact, it is true.

        http://lib.ru/POLITOLOG/AMERICA/bzhezinskij.txt
  3. Potapov Offline Potapov
    Potapov (Valery) 9 February 2020 10: 13
    +1
    Sorry, but we are barbarians, we have few small charges, we will use the usual ones ...

«Победить в войне»: Пентагон обозначил цели маломощных ядерных зарядов


Глава Пентагона Марк Эспер рассказал, зачем субмарины США вооружаются ядерными зарядами малой мощности. По его мнению, так «миролюбивый» Вашингтон пытается сдерживать вооруженные конфликты. Ведь благодаря наличию такого оружия, оплот «демократии» может получить «разные возможности».

Ядерные заряды малой мощности предоставляют президенту, верховному главнокомандующему разные возможности. Мы всегда хотим предоставлять разные варианты, позволяющие нам сдержать конфликт

- сказал Эспер.



При этом он не стал вдаваться в подробности по поводу каких именно конфликтов идет речь. Также он не стал упоминать какие бы то ни было страны. Он лишь уточнил о готовности США «сдерживать конфликт с любой страной» и «при необходимости мы хотим быть в состоянии победить».

Нужно напомнить, что уже какое-то время (с сентября 2019 года) американские субмарины, выходящие на дежурство и бороздящие просторы морей и океанов, оснащаются модернизированными ядерными боеголовками малой мощности W76-2. Для ясности, W76-2 - термоядерный боеприпас уменьшенной мощности. Это версия боеприпаса W76 (первоначальная мощность которого 100 килотонн), который производился в 70-80 годах ХХ века. Естественно, натурных ядерных испытаний новой боеголовки никто не проводил.

W76-2 оснащаются межконтинентальные стратегические баллистические ракеты Trident II (D5), которые находятся в атомных подводных лодках класса «Огайо». Как утверждают американцы, такими боеголовками будет оснащено ограниченное количество ракет. При этом количество боеголовок, их вес и размеры держится в секрете. Сообщается лишь, что их мощность 5-6 килотонн.

При этом МИД России ранее уже выразил обеспокоенность Москвы по поводу указанных ядерных зарядов малой мощности. В Москве считают, что Вашингтон таким образом «реально понижает ядерный порог и допускает для себя ведение ограниченной ядерной войны».
Использованы фотографии: U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist Seaman Adam K.Thomas/wikipedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 8 февраля 2020 14:02
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    При этом МИД России ранее уже выразил обеспокоенность Москвы по поводу указанных ядерных зарядов малой мощности. В Москве считают, что Вашингтон таким образом «реально понижает ядерный порог и допускает для себя ведение ограниченной ядерной войны».

    Да не надо выражать обеспокоенность! Надо сразу сказать, что любое применение ядерного оружия будет означать такой же ответ. И демонстративно отказаться от производства малых зарядов.
  2. Sapsan136 Онлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 8 февраля 2020 18:06
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Если США считают, что они смогут безнаказанно наносить ядерные удары по странам, имеющим ядерное оружие, то они ошибаются... В ответ начнут гореть города США!
    1. Игорь Павлович (Игорь Павлович) 8 февраля 2020 18:21
      -2
      • 1
      • 3
      Россия может иметь сколько угодно ядерных чемоданчиков, но поскольку 500 млрд долларов российской элиты лежит в наших банках, вы еще разберитесь, чья это элита. Ваша или уже наша.

      Збигнев Бжезинский. «Великая шахматная доска». 1997 г.
      1. Sapsan136 Онлайн
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 8 февраля 2020 18:44
        +3
        • 4
        • 1
        Царский министр, получивший прозвище Князь Цусимский, в России надолго не задержался... Плевать на народ - это плевать против ветра, а Чубайсов и Собчак народ в РФ элитой не считает... да и рейтинг Путина стремится к нулю... а после того, как его речь о повышении благосостояния россиян окажется очередной пустышкой, ни ему, ни его партии ловить в России будет уже нечего... Путин ходит кругами вокруг гнилого ельцинского болота и народ в РФ порядком от этого устал...
      2. Oleg Rambover Офлайн
        Oleg Rambover (Oleg Rambover) 9 февраля 2020 15:53
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        Где это вы находите? В этой книге слово "чемодан" не встречается ни разу. Хотя, по сути, и верно.

        http://lib.ru/POLITOLOG/AMERICA/bzhezinskij.txt
  3. Потапов Офлайн
    Потапов (Valery) 9 февраля 2020 10:13
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Извините, но мы варвары, у нас малых зарядов мало, будем пользовать обычные...