Pentagon recognizes Vanguard as “concrete challenge” for its nuclear triad


Recently сообщалосьthat in Russia mass production of the Avangard hypersonic planning winged warhead units began and the first Strategic Missile Forces regiment equipped with them had already taken up combat duty. The Pentagon analyzed the situation, after which Deputy Department Head Alan Shaffer (Alan R. Shaffer) said that the United States should maintain its nuclear deterrence potential and modernize its triad, taking into account the capabilities of the latest Russian weapons.


Schaffer reported this at the conference on nuclear deterrence (not to be confused with the conference on disarmament).

This is a threat to our defense. This is a threat to our triad. And this is why the modernization of the triad is so important. And this is why the Defense Ministry prioritizes hypersonic weapons and protection against hypersonic weapons. This is a specific challenge.

- said a senior US military.

Schaffer explained to those present that Moscow and Beijing are actively developing such weapons, despite the fact that they have a sufficient number of intercontinental ballistic missiles (ICBMs) in their arsenals that are sufficient to accomplish deterrence tasks. Therefore, the United States must take certain steps (measures), since in the absence of effective ways to counter hypersonic weapons, the presence of nuclear potential is of great importance.

China and Russia are deploying new weapons systems in the nuclear deterrence space, in the strategic space. They will challenge us. We must be prepared to defend ourselves against these weapons and we must be prepared to offer retaliation systems

- specified Schaffer.

Nuclear deterrence has proven very effective in keeping us from unleashing a large-scale conflict. And I insist that we must maintain nuclear deterrence potential in the future

- summed up Schaffer.

It should be added that the American president Donald Trump announced in the summer of 2019 that the United States, in the absence of arms control agreements with Russia and China, will create the “most powerful” nuclear forces on the planet. He announced the beginning of the modernization of existing nuclear weapons and the creation of new ones. The planned should be implemented within the next 10 years.

It must be recalled that at present Russia is developing a new heavy Sarmat ICBM. Flight tests are scheduled for 2020.
Photos used: David B. Gleason from Chicago, IL / wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 14 February 2020 14: 02
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    And about their missile defense, the Poles and drones, which are taught to carry nuclear weapons, are modestly silent. And these missiles would be enough, of course, if some had all sorts of sore fantasies about preventive biogas plants again not combed.

Пентагон признал «Авангард» «конкретным вызовом» для своей ядерной триады


Недавно сообщалось, что в России началось серийное производство гиперзвуковых планирующих крылатых боевых блоков «Авангард» и первый полк РВСН, оснащенный ими, уже заступил на боевое дежурство. В Пентагоне проанализировали ситуацию, после чего заместитель главы ведомства Алан Шаффер (Alan R. Shaffer) заявил, что США должны сохранить потенциал ядерного сдерживания и модернизировать свою триаду с учетом возможностей новейшего российского оружия.

Об этом Шаффер доложил на конференции по ядерному сдерживанию (не путать с конференцией по разоружению).



Это оказывающая давление угроза для нашей обороны. Это оказывающая давление угроза для нашей триады. И это то, почему модернизация триады настолько важна. И это то, почему Минобороны ставит приоритетом гиперзвуковое оружие и защиту от гиперзвуковых вооружений. Это конкретный вызов

- сказал высокопоставленный американский военный.

Шаффер пояснил присутствующим, что Москва и Пекин ведут активные разработки подобного оружия, несмотря на то, что в их арсеналах имеется достаточное количество межконтинентальных баллистических ракет (МБР), достаточным для решения задач сдерживания. Поэтому США должны принять определенные шаги (меры), так как при отсутствии действенных способов противодействия гиперзвуковому оружию, наличие ядерного потенциала имеет большое значение.

Китай и Россия размещают новые системы вооружения в пространстве ядерного сдерживания, в стратегическом пространстве. Они бросят нам вызов. Мы должны быть готовы обороняться от этих вооружений и мы должны быть готовы предложить системы ответного удара

- уточнил Шаффер.

Ядерное сдерживание показало себя очень эффективным в удерживании нас от развязывания крупномасштабного конфликта. И я настаиваю на том, что мы должны сохранять ядерный потенциал сдерживания в будущем

- подытожил Шаффер.

Нужно добавить, что американский президент Дональд Трамп еще летом 2019 года заявил, что США, при отсутствии соглашений о контроле над вооружениями с Россией и Китаем, будут создавать «самые мощные» ядерные силы на планете. Он анонсировал начало модернизации имеющихся ядерных вооружений и создание новых. Запланированное должно быть реализовано в течение ближайших 10 лет.

Нужно напомнить, что в настоящее время в России ведется разработка новой тяжелой МБР «Сармат». Проведение летных испытаний запланировано уже в 2020 году.
Использованы фотографии: David B. Gleason from Chicago, IL/wikimedia.org
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 14 февраля 2020 14:02
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    А про свое ПРО, поляков и беспилотники, которые учат таскать ЯО, скромно помалкивают. Хватало бы и этих ракет, конечно, если бы у некоторых всякие воспаленные фантазии о превентивных БГУ опять не расчесались.