Yellowstone supervolcano reminds of itself again


The Yellowstone Caldera is a North American volcano that poses a serious danger to the inhabitants of the entire planet, giving more and more reasons to talk about yourself. The super geyser under the speaking name “Steamboat”, located nearby, began to show abnormal activity, throwing a column of water to a height of 100 meters. Some experts attribute this to Yellowstone's awakening process.


What the world might face the eruption of a supervolcano, is widely known, thanks to scientific research and publications. It is a gigantic-sized caldera 55 by 72 kilometers, located in the northwestern United States of America. At a depth of many kilometers there is a huge chamber with a bubble of hot magma. Three eruptions of a supervolcano are known to science, and they passed with a certain frequency: approximately once every 600-700 thousand years.

About whether it is possible to expect another unpleasant surprise from Yellowstone, fierce discussions have been ongoing for many years. Optimistic forecasts estimate its probability at 0,00014% per year. However, there are other, more pessimistic opinions. For example, experts from the European Science Foundation called the figure large by several orders of magnitude - 10%. The objective reality is that 640 thousand years have passed since the last eruption, that is, we are located just in the middle of the time interval when peaks of volcanic activity occurred in previous times.

The United States, in whose territory the caldera is located, is continuously monitoring it. For obvious reasons, in the event of an eruption, they will get the first and most of all. In addition to a possible explosion of the crater itself, maximum damage should be expected from the waves of red-hot ash covering everything around the volcano. He is able to quickly reach the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, bombarding cities, roads and fields. In this case, American farmers should not count on the harvest.

But this will not only be their local problem: depending on the power of the explosion and the subsequent eruption of ash particles into the atmosphere, an analogue of the “nuclear winter” with a sharp cooling may occur on the whole planet. Subsequent conflicts between states over living space and resources then become almost inevitable. After Yellowstone, the world will never be the same.

There are other estimates, according to which the scale of the disaster will not be so all-consuming, but this, by and large, is fortunetelling on coffee grounds. For example, Michael Branny, a professor at the University of Leicester, says this:

Volcanoes do not erupt on a schedule or schedule, and the next major eruption may be far in the future, and the consequences will depend on the size of the explosion.


The activation of the volcano may be indicated by the increase in the strength of the giant Steamboat Geyser geyser. He began to prove himself at the end of the last century in 1991, throwing a fountain of hot water to a height of 90 meters. Then there were major eruptions in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2013. In 2018, emissions from the supergaser went more often: March 15, April 19 and April 27.

Now the process has become even more frequent, and over the past two years, “Steamboat” has already erupted 79 times. His strength also increased: the water fountain rises to 100 meters, that is, to the height of a 30-storey building. Some experts explain this with a large amount of meltwater in the soil, but others associate activation with an awakening caldera.

It is noteworthy that Yellowstone may well "bang" and from human hands. Some science enthusiasts suggest "cooling it" by pumping water into it through a pipe system. The project is estimated at 3,5 billion dollars. Skeptics point out that with such manipulations the supervolcano can explode even faster, like an overheated steam boiler.
Photos used: pxfuel.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. The comment was deleted.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  3. Afinogen Offline
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 19 February 2020 17: 35
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    The great Ursula Shipton has such lines in her divination verse.

    All patience by the mountains will run out -
    And the ashes will burst out like a reproach.
    Earth swallows cities in a country
    Which is not yet - I know.


    During her lifetime there was no such country as the USA.
  4. rotkiv04 Offline
    rotkiv04 (Victor) 19 February 2020 17: 42
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    To pump water is very original, as the hero of the famous film used to say -

    We have enough bad roads and fools for 100 years.

    - they have less roads, but there will be more fools.
    1. Nick Offline
      Nick (Nikolai) 19 February 2020 19: 58
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Quote: rotkiv04
      To pump water is very original, as the hero of the famous film used to say -

      We have enough bad roads and fools for 100 years.

      - they have less roads, but there will be more fools.

      Believe me, not everything is so simple with the roads, but in the capital Washington, the roads are much worse than in our First Throne.
    2. g1washntwn Offline
      g1washntwn (George Washington) 20 February 2020 07: 29
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Looking into the gas tank, British scientists always illuminate themselves with a lighter. They are smarter than everyone. smile
  5. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 20 February 2020 06: 36
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    There was a project (or is still being considered. As an option) to relieve tension from the caldera by a series of heavy-duty underground nuclear explosions. But they also postponed it because of high risks, which they can only catastrophe ahead of time. In general, what to be - that cannot be avoided. Maybe that's why Mars and the Moon are in a hurry to colonize?
    1. PSih2097 Offline
      PSih2097 (Alexander Latvian) 20 February 2020 21: 12
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Quote: g1washntwn
      There was a project (or is still being considered as an option) to relieve tension from the caldera by a series of heavy-duty underground nuclear explosions.

      In America, it’s urgent to do this ... There will be, as in the 6th series, the Evacuation from Earth from the National Geographic Channel.
  6. LeftPers Offline
    LeftPers (Anton) 22 February 2020 14: 05
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Come on, volcano, come on, destroy the pus of the planet, so that the tana does not remain even in the memories.

Йеллоустонский супервулкан вновь напомнил о себе


Йеллоустонская кальдера – североамериканский вулкан, представляющий серьезнейшую опасность для обитателей всей планеты, дает все новые и новые поводы говорить о себе. Супергейзер под говорящим названием «Пароход», находящийся неподалеку от него, начал проявлять аномальную активность, выбрасывая столб воды на высоту до 100 метров. Некоторые специалисты связывают это с процессом пробуждения Йеллоустоуна.


Чем всему миру может грозить извержение супервулкана, широко известно, благодаря научным исследованиям и публикациям. Он представляет собой гигантскую по размерам кальдеру 55 на 72 километра, расположенную на северо-западе Соединенных Штатов Америки. На многокилометровой глубине находится огромная камера с пузырем раскаленной магмы. Науке известны три извержения супервулкана, причем проходили они с определенной частотой: примерно раз в 600-700 тысяч лет.

О том, можно ли ожидать очередного неприятного сюрприза от Йеллоустоуна, многие годы ведутся ожесточенные дискуссии. Оптимистичные прогнозы оценивают его вероятность в 0,00014 % в год. Однако есть и иные, более пессимистичные мнения. Например, эксперты Европейского научного фонда называли цифру большую на несколько порядков - 10%. Объективная реальность такова, что с момента последнего извержения прошло уже 640 тысяч лет, то есть, мы находимся как раз посередине того временного отрезка, когда в предыдущие разы происходили пики вулканической активности.

США, на территории которых находится кальдера, ведут непрерывные наблюдения за ней. По понятным причинам, в случае извержения им достанется первыми и больше всех. Помимо возможного взрыва самого кратера, максимального ущерба следует ожидать от волн раскаленного пепла, покрывающих все вокруг вулкана. Он способен быстро дойти до побережья Атлантического океана, засыпая собой города, дороги и поля. На урожай американским фермерам рассчитывать в таком случае не стоит.

Но это будет не только их локальная проблема: в зависимости от мощности взрыва и последующего извержения частиц пепла в атмосферу, на всей планете может наступить аналог «ядерной зимы» с резким похолоданием. Последующие конфликты между государствами за жизненное пространство и ресурсы становятся тогда практически неминуемыми. После Йеллоустоуна мир уже никогда не будет прежним.

Есть и другие оценки, согласно которым масштаб бедствия будет не таким всепоглощающим, но это, по большому счету, гадания на кофейной гуще. Например, Майкл Брэнни, профессор Университета Лестера, говорит следующим образом:

Вулканы не извергаются по расписанию или графику, и следующее крупное извержение может быть далеко в будущем, а последствия будут зависеть от размера взрыва.


Об активизации вулкана может свидетельствовать нарастание силы гигантского гейзера «Пароход» (Steamboat Geyser). Проявлять себя он начал в конце прошлого века в 1991 году, выбросив фонтан горячей воды на высоту в 90 метров. Затем были крупные извержения в 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005 и 2013 годах. В 2018 году выбросы из супергейзера пошли чаще: 15 марта, 19 апреля и 27 апреля.

Теперь процесс участился еще более, и за прошедшие два года «Пароход» извергся уже 79 раз. Увеличилась и его сила: фонтан воды поднимается до 100 метров, то есть, на высоту 30-этажного дома. Одни специалисты объясняют это большим количеством талых вод в почве, но другие увязывают активизацию с пробуждающейся кальдерой.

Примечательно, что Йеллоустоун вполне может «бабахнуть» и от человеческих рук. Некоторые энтузиасты от науки предполагают «остудить его», закачав внутрь него через систему труб воду. Проект оценивается в 3,5 миллиарда долларов. Скептики указывают, что при таких манипуляциях супервулкан может рвануть еще быстрее, как перегретый паровой котел.
Использованы фотографии: pxfuel.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Афиноген Офлайн
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 19 февраля 2020 17:35
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    У великой Урсулы Шиптон есть такие строки в ее стихе-предсказании.

    Иссякнет всё терпение у гор -
    И пепел вырвется наружу, как укор.
    Земля проглотит города в стране,
    Которой нет ещё - известно мне.


    При ее жизни еще не было такой страны, как США.
  4. rotkiv04 Офлайн
    rotkiv04 (Виктор) 19 февраля 2020 17:42
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Закачать воду - это очень оригинально, как говорил герой известного фильма -

    Плохих дорог и дураков у нас лет на 100 хватит.

    - у них с дорогами более менее, а вот дураков побольше будет.
    1. Nick Офлайн
      Nick (Николай) 19 февраля 2020 19:58
      +2
      • 3
      • 1
      Цитата: rotkiv04
      Закачать воду - это очень оригинально, как говорил герой известного фильма -

      Плохих дорог и дураков у нас лет на 100 хватит.

      - у них с дорогами более менее, а вот дураков побольше будет.

      Поверьте, и с дорогами не все так однозначно, а в столичном Вашингтоне дороги гораздо хуже, чем в нашей Первопрестольной.
    2. g1washntwn Офлайн
      g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 20 февраля 2020 07:29
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Заглядывая в бензобак, британские ученые всегда подсвечивают себе зажигалкой. Они же умнее всех. smile
  5. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 20 февраля 2020 06:36
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Был проект (или до сих пор рассматривается. как вариант) снять напряжение с кальдеры серией сверхмощных подземных ядерных взрывов. Но тоже отложили из-за высоких рисков, что могут только раньше времени катаклизм устроить. В общем, чему быть - того не миновать. Может, потому Марс с Луной колонизировать торопятся?
    1. PSih2097 Офлайн
      PSih2097 (Александр Латыш) 20 февраля 2020 21:12
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Цитата: g1washntwn
      Был проект (или до сих пор рассматривается, как вариант) снять напряжение с кальдеры серией сверхмощных подземных ядерных взрывов.

      Во, точно Америке это надо срочно сделать... Будет, как в 6-й серии, Эвакуация с Земли от National Geographic Channel.
  6. LeftPers Офлайн
    LeftPers (Антон) 22 февраля 2020 14:05
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ну давай, вулканчик, давай, уничтожь гной планеты, чтобы тана не осталось даже в воспоминаниях.